DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by DeMuth et al. (US 20170144224).
Regarding claim 1, DeMuth et al. discloses “a laser manufacturing system” (fig.1A), comprising
“a laser patterning unit” (fig.1A, 116) having “an optically addressed light valve” ([0058], i.e., This combined beam can be directed at an energy patterning unit that includes either a transmissive or reflective pixel addressable light valve. [0059], i.e., an energy patterning unit 116);
“an image relay” (fig.1A, 120) able to direct “a patterned laser beam from the laser patterning unit” (from energy patterning unit 116) against “a part” (workpiece or powder at around 144 (i.e., material));
wherein “the patterned laser beam” (122) “can ablatively remove material from the part” (claim 8, i.e., The part of claim 6, wherein the manipulation point is a temporary structure projecting from the part that is removable with a directed energy beam).
Regarding claim 3, DeMuth et al. discloses the patterned laser beam can further induce selected chemical reactions in part material. ([0080], i.e., the article processing unit 340 can have a controlled atmosphere. This allows reactive materials to be manufactured in an inert gas, or vacuum environment without the risk of oxidation or chemical reaction, or fire or explosion (if reactive metals are used).
Regarding claim 5, DeMuth et al. discloses “the laser patterning unit provides one-dimensional patterning” (Abstract, i.e., An additive manufacturing system including a two-dimensional energy patterning system. [0070] a patterned image (typically two-dimensional) from the energy patterning unit 116. Examiner noted that two-dimensional energy patterning for tow-dimensional image inherently include one dimensional laser patterning (i.e., laser processing along a single line or a straight line)).
Regarding claim 6, DeMuth et al. discloses “the laser patterning unit provides two-dimensional patterning” ((Abstract, i.e., An additive manufacturing system including a two-dimensional energy patterning system. [0070] a patterned image (typically two-dimensional) from the energy patterning unit 116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMuth et al. (US 20170144224) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2018/0229332).
Regarding claim 2, DeMuth et al. discloses “the part has multiple material layers” ([0080] When using a powdered ceramic or metal material in this additive manufacturing system 300, the powder can be spread in a thin layer, approximately 1-3 particles thick, on top of a base substrate (and subsequent layers) as the part is built.)
DeMuth et al. is silent regarding with selected layers being removable.
Tsai et al. teaches “with selected layers being removable” (fig.2 shows the selected layers being removed. [0090], i.e., whereas the removal/cutting laser is applied at a power between about 1 and about 100 watts, such as about 10 watts. [0010], i.e., removing material away from one or more of the n alloy foil sheets to shape said one or more of the n alloy foil sheets to correspond in shape with one or more respective slices of the metal alloy component). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify DeMuth et al. with Tsai et al., by incorporate DeMuth et al.’s cutting method or step to modify Tsai et al.’s object, to allow user or creators to shape the 3D layers into desired shape with high precision structural details.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMuth et al. (US 20170144224) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 10759084).
Regarding claim 4, DeMuth et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the patterned laser beam can further laser peen part material.
Sullivan et al. teaches “the patterned laser beam can further laser peen part material” (col.6 at lines 15-28, i.e., New methods produce composites comprised of core-shell and/or multilayer core-shell nanomaterials and micromaterials by means of shock consolidation, with and without nanoparticle additives for improved mechanical and multifunctional properties, using conventional shock consolidation approaches as well as additive manufacturing methods). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify DeMuth et al. with Sullivan et al., by adding Sullivan et al.’s laser penning step to DeMuthe et al.’s layers or object, for improving mechanical and multifunctional properties, using convention shock consolidation (col.6 at lines 15-28) as taught by Sullivan et al.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761