DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on July 27th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 27th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the other component is integrally formed” is recited in Lines 20-21, however it is unclear as to what the other component refers since the other component is not clearly defined, thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the examiner will interpret the limitation as --either the first or the second component is integrally formed--.
Regarding claim 1, “the electrode assembly are electrically connected to the components in such a manner that the central electrically conductive portion (11) included in one component forms a first contact of the battery and the first or the other component forms a second contact of the battery”, however it is unclear as to the components refer thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the examiner will interpret the limitation as --the electrode assembly are electrically connected to the first or the second component in such a manner that the central electrically conductive portion (11) included in the first or the second component forms a first contact of the battery and the first or the second component forms a second contact of the battery--.
Claims 2-8 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tagaki et al. (JP2010027436 (A) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Tagaki.
Regarding claim 1, Tagaki discloses a button battery comprising:
- a first component (1) in the form of a cup-shaped container having a base (2) and a sidewall (3) along the outer circumference of the base (i.e., at least case body ref. 20 has a bottomed shape, etc., as disclosed in [0021], such that as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 said case body ref. 20 at least is in the form of a cup-shaped container having a base (2) and a sidewall (3) along the outer circumference of the base, etc., also see [0042] whereby although the case body ref. 20 is molded in a rectangular (box-shaped) form, it is not limited to this shape, and may be cylindrical, for example, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that lacking any further structural distinction thereof, that a cylindrical shape at least encompasses a cup-shaped container and/or button battery, lacking any further structural distinction thereof),
the interior of the container comprising an electrode assembly (4) comprising at least one first electrode (5), one or more separator sheets (7) and at least one second electrode (6) (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0020] as shown in Figs. 1-3, battery ref. 10 typically comprises an electrode body ref. 60 (in this embodiment, a flat-shaped wound electrode body) having predetermined battery constituent materials (active materials for the positive and negative electrodes, current collectors for the positive and negative electrodes, separators, etc.), such that a positive and negative electrode is at least a first/second electrode, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0030]-[0033]),
- a lid-shaped second component (10) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a, also see [0026]-[0027], [0033]-[0036], [0038]), wherein:
- the outer edge of the second component (10) is fixed to the upper rim of the sidewall (3), by at least one electrically conductive connection (21) that seals the interior of the battery (20) from the environment (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a and disclosed in [0020], whereby the molten portion ref. 80 when welded from the side of the case body ref. 20 to the contact area between the lid ref. 30 and the case body ref. 20 of the battery ref. 10, etc., such that the joining the contact portion between the lid ref. 30 and the case body ref. 20 seals the opening ref. 21 of the case body ref. 20, etc., as disclosed in at least [0037], also see [0007]-[0012], [0034]-[0040], Figs. 4a-b, 5-7).
As to the limitation at least one electrically conductive connection, although Tagaki does not explicitly state the connection is electrically conductive, since Tagaki discloses in [0024] the case body ref. 20 is preferably made of a lightweight metal material, etc., and further discloses in [0029] the lid ref. 30 is preferably made of the same material as the case body ref. 20, etc., and further discloses in [0015] when joining the contact area between the case body and the lid by welding (typically laser welding) from the side of the case body, the area melted by the welded extends beyond the open end face to the boundary between the inclined surface and the side surface of the inclined protrusion, thereby enabling a strong joint at the contact area, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection as discussed above (i.e., at least molten portion ref. 80 when welded) is at least one electrically conductive connection so as to be portion that is metal and welded, and as evidenced by the instant specification in [0025] such that “conductive portions may be formed preferably of metal”, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Tagaki discloses the connection (i.e., metal as discussed above), which is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as electrically conductive are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)., II., ) "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
- either the first or the second component comprises a central electrically conductive portion (11) (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0028], terminal(s) ref. 52 and/or 54 electrically connected to the electrode body ref. 60, etc., as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, (also see [0028], [0033], [0044]), lacking any further distinction thereof).
a peripheral electrically conductive portion (12) and an insulating portion (13) that separates and electrically isolates the central portion (11) from the peripheral portion (12) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, (also see [0028] with regards to insulating member ref. 56, etc., and separating the central portion (i.e., at least ref. 52 and/or 54) from peripheral portion, etc., also see [0033], [0044], Fig. 5), lacking any further distinction thereof),
- either the first or the second component is integrally formed of electrically conductive material (i.e., Since Tagaki discloses in [0024] the case body ref. 20 is preferably made of a lightweight metal material, etc., and further discloses in [0029] the lid ref. 30 is preferably made of the same material as the case body ref. 20, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said first/second component(s) as discussed above is at least electrically conductive so as to be metal, and as evidenced by the instant specification in [0025] such that “conductive portions may be formed preferably of metal”, and lacking any further distinction thereof.)
Furthermore, as to the limitation(s) peripheral electrically conductive portion and electrically conductive material, although Tagaki does not explicitly state the peripheral portion is electrically conductive, since Tagaki discloses in [0024] the case body ref. 20 is preferably made of a lightweight metal material, etc., and further discloses in [0029] the lid ref. 30 is preferably made of the same material as the case body ref. 20, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said portion and/or material as discussed above is at least electrically conductive so as to be portion that is metal, and as evidenced by the instant specification in [0025] such that “conductive portions may be formed preferably of metal”, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Tagaki discloses the peripheral portion(s) and said material (i.e., metal as discussed above), which is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as electrically conductive are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)., II., ) "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Tagaki further discloses the electrodes (5,6) of the electrode assembly are electrically connected to the first or the second component in such a manner that the central electrically conductive portion (11) included in the first or the second component forms a first contact of the battery (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0028] terminals ref. 52 and 54 are electrically connected to the electrode body ref. 60 housed within the case body ref. 20, etc., whereby the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the electrode body ref. 60 by connecting one end of the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 to a positive electrode current collector ref. 63 formed at one end of the electrode body ref. 60 in the axial direction (or in the winding direction of the electrode body ref. 60 is a wound type), etc., and similarly one end of the negative electrode terminal ref. 54 is connected to the negative electrode of the electrode body ref. 60, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Figs. 1-2, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate first/second contacts are at least met so as to provide positive/negative electrode terminals),
and the first or the second component forms a second contact of the battery (i.e., at least at least as disclosed in [0028] terminals ref. 52 and 54 are electrically connected to the electrode body ref. 60 housed within the case body ref. 20, etc., whereby the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the electrode body ref. 60 by connecting one end of the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 to a positive electrode current collector ref. 63 formed at one end of the electrode body ref. 60 in the axial direction (or in the winding direction of the electrode body ref. 60 is a wound type), etc., and similarly one end of the negative electrode terminal ref. 54 is connected to the negative electrode of the electrode body ref. 60, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Figs. 1-2, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate first/second contacts are at least met so as to provide positive/negative electrode terminals).
Tagaki further discloses:
- the rim (20') of the sidewall (3) comprises a conical portion (22) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a),
- said outer edge of the second component (10) comprises a conical portion (25) that is complementary to the conical portion (22) of the rim (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a),
- the conical portions (22,25) of the rim and of the second component are in mutual physical contact (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a), and
wherein said rim (20') and said outer edge further comprise a step portion (23,24) and wherein said step portions are also in mutual physical contact (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a).
Annotated Figure 2 (Takagi)
Annotated Figure 4a (Takagi)
Regarding claim 3, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses at least one sealing connection (21) is a welded connection (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a above in claim 1 and disclosed in [0020], whereby the molten portion ref. 80 when welded from the side of the case body ref. 20 to the contact area between the lid ref. 30 and the case body ref. 20 of the battery ref. 10, etc., such that the joining the contact portion between the lid ref. 30 and the case body ref. 20 seals the opening ref. 21 of the case body ref. 20, etc., as disclosed in at least [0037], also see [0007]-[0012], [0034]-[0040], Figs. 4a-b, 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses the base (2) of the cup-shaped container (1) is circular in shape (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0042] whereby although the case body ref. 20 is molded in a rectangular (box-shaped) form, it is not limited to this shape, and may be cylindrical, for example, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that lacking any further structural distinction thereof, that a cylindrical shape at least encompasses a cup-shaped container and/or button battery, lacking any further structural distinction thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 4. Tagaki further discloses the electrode assembly (4) comprises a wound-up stack of at least one first electrode (5), at least one second electrode (6) (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0028] terminals ref. 52 and 54 are electrically connected to the electrode body ref. 60 housed within the case body ref. 20, etc., whereby the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the electrode body ref. 60 by connecting one end of the positive electrode terminal ref. 52 to a positive electrode current collector ref. 63 formed at one end of the electrode body ref. 60 in the axial direction (or in the winding direction of the electrode body ref. 60 is a wound type), etc., and as shown in at least Fig. 2, also see [0030])
and at least one separator sheet (7) (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0030] long sheet-shaped separator, etc., also see [0020], [0032], Fig. 2),
the assembly further comprising current collector strips (8) electrically connected respectively to the at least one first electrode (5) and to the at least one second electrode(6), and to the first contact and the second contact of the battery or vice versa (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0030] positive electrode current collector ref. 63, negative electrode current collector, etc., whereby a positive electrode terminal ref. 52 is joined to the portion where the exposed positive electrode current collector ref. 63 is stacked, and a negative electrode terminal ref. 54 is joined to the portion where the exposed negative electrode current collector is stacked, and these are further electrically connected to the flattened positive electrode sheet or negative electrode sheet, etc. also see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses said electrode assembly (4) is a stacked electrode assembly (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0030] separators placed between the positive electrode sheet and negative electrode sheet and the material is wound up in the order of the positive electrode sheet ref. 62, separator ref. 66, negative electrode sheet, separator ref. 66, etc., such that said positive electrode current collector ref. 63 is stacked on one end of the electrode body ref. 60, etc., and whereby a wound-type electrode body and/or a laminated electrode body may also be used, etc., which at least provides a stacked electrode assembly so as to have separators placed between the positive electrode sheet and negative electrode sheet, etc., and lacking any further structural distinction thereof, also see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses the lid-shaped second component (10) is oriented perpendicularly to the sidewall (3) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses the lid-shaped second component (10) or the sidewall (3) comprises a truncated part (30) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a above in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tagaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimizu et al. (WO 2022/070973 A1 and using U.S. PGPub US 2023/0307749 A1 as Machine translation of English version), hereinafter Shimizu.
Regarding claim 2, Tagaki discloses the battery as discussed above in claim 1. Tagaki further discloses
- the rim (20) is provided with a negative conical portion (22) and the edge is provided with a positive conical portion (25) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a above in claim 1),
- said step portion (23) of the rim (20') is a first step portion lying radially outside the conical portion (22) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4a above in claim 1).
However, Tagaki appears silent as to - the rim (20') comprises an additional step portion (26) radially outside the first step portion (23), - the edge of the second component (10) is essentially level with the additional step portion (26).
Shimizu teaches electricity storage device and method for producing electricity storage device (Title). Shimizu further teaches the following:
- the rim (20') comprises an additional step portion (26) radially outside the first step portion (23) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2),
- the edge of the second component (10) is essentially level with the additional step portion (26) (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2).
Shimizu further teaches in [0007] according to the present disclosure, an electricity storage device is obtained, the electricity storage device configured to suppress the configuration of a sealing material from becoming complicated, to be low in production cost, and to be easily connected with an external lead wire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Tagaki with the teachings of Shimizu, whereby the battery including the first/second component(s), rim, stepped portion, etc., as disclosed by Tagaki further includes the rim comprises an additional step portion radially outside the first step portion, and the edge of the second component is essentially level with the additional step portion as taught by Shimizu so as to provide an electricity storage device configured to suppress the configuration of a sealing material from becoming complicated, to be low in production cost, and to be easily connected with an external lead wire, etc.
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimizu)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koyama et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0252648 A1) discloses a coin-type battery and manufacturing method thereof (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0035] embodiments that are considered suitable for realizing an increased capacity and excellent sealing properties in a coin-type battery that is formed by a manufacturing method of a coin-type battery according to the present invention will be specifically described below.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727