DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 21, 25, 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail (Pub No 20210359818) further in view of Chen (Pub No 20180176828)
Regarding claim 1 and 21 and 25,
Zewail teaches a method, comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network
device, cause the network device to: (see processor and memory para [0011])
selecting, by a network device, a target reliability from a table that includes a list of target reliabilities; and (interpreted as the base station may select 1% as the target BLER, see para [0070])
providing, by the network device, the target reliability to a user equipment, wherein the user equipment is configured to associate the target reliability with a channel quality indicator (CQI) process that computes CQI values that satisfy the target reliability. (interpreted as the UE may be aware of BLERs associated with different CQI tables. Thus, when the UE receives an indication that a first CQI table is to be used by the UE for reporting channel quality information, the UE may determine that the target BLER to be used for wireless communication is the BLER associated with that specific first CQI table, see para [0073])
However Zewail does not teach not associated with a default reliability;
Chen teaches not associated with a default reliability; (interpreted as For example, the electronic communication device may decide based on a determination whether target BLERs of the electronic communication device and the serving network node deviates from a predetermined default target BLER, or from each other, see para [0071])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the target BLER taught by Zewail with the default BLER taught by Chen with the motivation being to choose the most optimal BLER.
Regarding claim 6 and 30,
Zewail teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the target reliability overrides the default reliability.
Chen teaches wherein the target reliability overrides the default reliability.(interpreted as For example, the electronic communication device may decide based on a determination whether target BLERs of the electronic communication device and the serving network node deviates from a predetermined default target BLER, or from each other, see para [0071])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the target BLER taught by Zewail with the default BLER taught by Chen with the motivation being to choose the most optimal BLER.
Regarding claim 7 and 31,
Zewail teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment is configured to associate the target reliability with a CQI table. (interpreted as the UE may be aware of BLERs associated with different CQI tables. Thus, when the UE receives an indication that a first CQI table is to be used by the UE for reporting channel quality information, the UE may determine that the target BLER to be used for wireless communication is the BLER associated with that specific first CQI table, see para [0073])
Regarding claim 8 and 32,
Zewail teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the target reliability overrides a default reliability associated with the CQI table.
Chen teaches wherein the target reliability overrides the default reliability.(interpreted as For example, the electronic communication device may decide based on a determination whether target BLERs of the electronic communication device and the serving network node deviates from a predetermined default target BLER, or from each other, see para [0071])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the target BLER taught by Zewail with the default BLER taught by Chen with the motivation being to choose the most optimal BLER.
Claim(s) 2-3, 22-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail (Pub No 20210359818) further in view of Chen (Pub No 20180176828) and Panchal (Pub No 20250126020)
Regarding claim 2 and 22 and 26,
Zewail in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the target reliability includes a target initial block error rate (iBLER) value.
Panchal teaches wherein the target reliability includes a target initial block error rate (iBLER) value. (interpreted as a reliability value for the carrier on the sector, such as, for example, a value for a downlink initial Block Error Rate (BLER) percentage, see para [0067])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the BLER taught by Zewail in view of Chen with the iBLER taught by Panchal to use the parameters for determining communication requirements.
Regarding claim 3 and 23 and 27,
Zewail teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the table includes a list of target initial block error rate (iBLER) values. (interpreted as As a specific example, a target BLER associated with a first and/or second CQI table may be 10%, and a target BLER for a third CQI table may be 10{circumflex over -5) para [0071])
However Zewail did not teach iBLER
Panchal teaches iBLER (interpreted as a reliability value for the carrier on the sector, such as, for example, a value for a downlink initial Block Error Rate (BLER) percentage, see para [0067])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the BLER taught by Zewail in view of Chen with the iBLER taught by Panchal to use the parameters for determining communication requirements.
Claim(s) 4, 24, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail (Pub No 20210359818) further in view of Chen (Pub No 20180176828) and Elshafie (Pub No 20240388341)
Regarding claim 4 and 24 and 28,
Zewail in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein providing the target reliability to the user equipment comprises: determining an index associated with the target reliability; and providing the index associated with the target reliability to the user equipment.
Eishafie teaches wherein providing the target reliability to the user equipment comprises: determining an index associated with the target reliability; and providing the index associated with the target reliability to the user equipment. (interpreted as Receiving the control signaling indicating the configuration for the CSI reporting may include receiving control signaling that may identify an index of the set of indices, and the index may correspond to the first target BLER and the second target BLER of the set of target BLERs, see para [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the BLER taught by Zewail in view of Chen with the iBLER taught by Panchal to use the parameters for determining communication requirements.
Claim(s) 5 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail (Pub No 20210359818) further in view of Chen (Pub No 20180176828), Panchal (Pub No 20250126020), and Chen (CN 113992314 B)
Regarding claim 5 and 29,
Zewail in view of Chen and Panchal teaches the method of claim 4, however does not teach wherein the index includes a field added to a channel state information report configuration information element.
Chen’14 teaches wherein the index includes a field added to a channel state information report configuration information element. (interpreted as the configuration message may configure a radio resource control (RRC)message including a CQI bit width format indicator and a plurality of target BLER values obtained by the base station using the newly added field configuration for the channel state information (CSI)report, see pg. 9 line 15-20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the index for the BLER taught by Zewail in view of Chen and Panchal with the field for such information as taught by Chen’14 with the motivation being to use fields to transmit information.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461