DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 13-14, 16-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macro [US 2017/0070435] in view of Wippenbeck [US 5546389].
As claims 1 and 13, Macro [US 2017/0070435] discloses a method at a first wireless device, comprising: enqueuing high-priority data into an input queue [Fig 4, Ref 418, a high priority packet is inserted into transmit queue, Fig 3, the high priority of ref 323 forwards to transmit queue 324]; selectively enqueuing low-priority data into the input queue based on a current volume of data in the input queue [Fig 4, Ref 418, a low priority packet is insert into transmit queue based on a volume of data in the transmit queue, Par. 0045, Fig 3, low priority of Ref 322 inserts into Ref 324 based on the stored volume of Ref 324], dequeuing data from the input queue for application of one or more pre-transmission processes prior to wirelessly transmitting the dequeued data for receipt by a second wireless device [Fig 3, the packets in the transmit queue 324 is dequeued into PDCP for pre-processing prior transmitting to destination device]. However, Macro fails to disclose selectively enqueuing the low-priority data includes: initiating enqueuing of low-priority data into the input queue responsive to the current volume of data meeting a first criteria and ceasing enqueuing of low-priority data into the input queue responsive to the current volume of data meeting a second criteria. In the same field on endeavor, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses selectively enqueuing the low-priority data includes: initiating enqueuing of low-priority data into the input queue responsive to the current volume of data meeting a first criteria [Col. 1:64-3:2, if queue length meet lower priority threshold, then enqueueing the packet, Col. 2:25-40] and ceasing enqueuing of low-priority data into the input queue responsive to the current volume of data meeting a second criteria [Col. 1:64-3:2 discloses if queue length meet higher threshold then dropping “ceasing” packet, Col. 2:25-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for enqueuing or ceasing the enqueueing packet based on the queue length as disclosed by Wippenbeck [US 5546389] into the teaching of Macro. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claim 2, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses the first criteria includes the current volume of data falling to a first threshold [Col. 1:64-3:2, queue length less than lower threshold].
As claim 3, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses the second criteria includes the current volume of data rising to a second threshold, the second threshold greater than the first threshold [Col. 2:25-40, Higher threshold is greater than lower threshold so, queue length increases to higher from lower].
As claim 16, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses the first criteria includes the current volume of data falling to a first threshold [Col. 1:64-3:2, queue length less than min threshold]; and the second criteria includes the current volume of data rising to a second threshold, the second threshold greater than the first threshold [Col. 2:25-40, Higher threshold is greater than lower threshold so, queue length increases to higher from lower].
As claims 4 and 17, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses the determining a current efficiency of data transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device [Col. 3:12-21 discloses adjusting threshold based on output traffic and input traffic]; and dynamically adjusting at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold based on the current efficiency [Col. 3:12-21 discloses adjusting threshold based on output traffic and input traffic].
As claims 9 and 21, Wippenbeck [US 5546389] discloses the second criteria includes the current volume of data rising to a threshold [Col. 2:25-40, Higher threshold is greater than lower threshold so, queue length increases to higher from lower].
As claim 11, Macro discloses buffering low-priority data in a low-priority queue prior to enqueuing the low-priority data into the input queue [Fig 3, Ref 322].
As claim 14, Macro discloses the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) of a cellular network [Fig 1, Ref 110].
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macro [US 2017/0070435] in view of Wippenbeck [US 5546389] as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Iwamura [US 2012/0195273].
As claims 5 and 18, Macro and Wippenbeck fail to disclose what Iwamura [US 2012/0195273] determining the current efficiency of data transmission includes monitoring a use of padding in the data transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device [Par. 0039 discloses if padding in the buffer mean input traffic is not efficient to output].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the padding in the buffer in order to determine input traffic as disclosed by Iwamura [US 2012/0195273] into the teaching of Macro [US 2017/0070435] in view of Wippenbeck [US 5546389]. The motivation would have been to optimize the system.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macro [US 2017/0070435] in view of Wippenbeck [US 5546389] as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Billuri [US 2022/0150173];
As claims 10 and 22, Macro discloses the one or more pre-transmission processes include at least a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) process [Fig 3, Ref 330]. And ARQ or Harq [Par. 0023]. However, Macro and Wippenbeck fail to disclose what Billuri [US 2022/0150173] discloses the high-priority data includes at least one of acknowledgement packets [Par. 0098], Domain Name Service (DNS) data, or Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) data [Par. 0107, PING is ICMP];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using PING as priority data as disclosed by Billuri [US 2022/0150173] into the teaching of Macro [US 2017/0070435] in view of Wippenbeck [US 5546389]. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claims 6 and 19, The prior arts in the record fail to disclose monitoring a use of padding in the data transmission includes determining a current padding ratio representing a ratio of transmission padding to total uplink data; and dynamically adjusting at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold includes: increasing at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold when the current padding ratio meets a third criteria; and decreasing at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold when the current padding ratio meets a fourth criteria.
Conclusion
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414