DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 09/17/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/17/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 15-20, and 22 are pending
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 12, 16 and 18-20 are amended
Claims 3, 10, 14, and 21 are canceled
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 15-20, and 22 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 15-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUTZ et al. (US 20220393709 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kutz, in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023140641 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lee.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kutz teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Para. [0006-0007]-Kutz discloses wireless communication device may include a transceiver, a memory, and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory. The processor may be configured to determine a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit that includes a digital pre-distorter. The processor may also be configured to transmit an indication of the change in the non-linearity model to a second wireless communication device via the transceiver ... method for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device is disclosed. The method may include determining a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit that includes a digital pre-distorter. The method may also include transmitting an indication of the change in the non-linearity model to a second wireless communication device) to cause the UE to:
transmit a message indicating a capability of the UE associated with estimating non-linear characteristics of a power amplifier of a network entity (Fig. 17, Para. [0188]-Kutz discloses the receiving device 1704 informs the transmitting device that the receiving device 1704 is able to calculate DPD information. For example, the receiving device 1704 may transmit a capability message including a DPD capability bit. Para. [0237]-Kutz discloses the first wireless communication device may receive a first message from the second wireless communication device ... the first message indicates that the second wireless communication device has a capability to compute the digital pre-distortion information ... the digital pre-distortion information is received from the second wireless communication device after the transmission of the second message ... the second message further requests the second wireless communication device to compute digital post-distortion information in conjunction with the digital pre-distortion information);
receive, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether to update, …, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication/update} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit. Fig. 9, Para. [0139]-Kutz discloses upon receiving the indication 924, the receiving device 904 may update {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication/update} its locally stored non-linearity model. For example, the receiving device 904 may update its estimate of the effective power amplifier model that is used by the DPoD component 920 to apply DPoD to a received signal. Fig. 16, Para. [0030]-Kutz discloses example of signaling to indicate a change in a non-linearity model. Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0092]-Kutz discloses the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels ... the various REs 406 within an RB 408 may be scheduled to carry one or more physical channels, including control channels, shared channels, data channels, etc. Other REs 406 within the RB 408 may also carry pilots or reference signals. These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB 408. Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols),
the respective control signaling is received via a control channel of the slot (Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling. Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0092]-Kutz discloses the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels ... the various REs 406 within an RB 408 may be scheduled to carry one or more physical channels, including control channels, shared channels, data channels, etc. Other REs 406 within the RB 408 may also carry pilots or reference signals. These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB 408. Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)), and
whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on whether a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfies a threshold (Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0105]-Kutz discloses efficient channel estimation at the receiver and provide greater flexibly in utilizing the available time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to thresold time limit/duration}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
whether a time duration between a previous data signaling to the UE and respective data signaling during the slot satisfies a threshold (Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols ... A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols in some examples. A subframe may refer to a duration of 1 millisecond (ms). Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame. Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion between data signaling, with the time length indicating the threshold}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0163]-Kutz discloses resulting y.sub.corrected value is scaled by 1/α, converted to the frequency domain (e.g., to obtain the constellation representation of the OFDM symbol), and then sliced (e.g., to estimate a value of the signal) using knowledge of the modulation (e.g., 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc.) used by the transmitting device. This result is converted back to the time domain to get the estimated signal x {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time units/lengths}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
whether a transmit antenna of the network entity is reselected, or any combination thereof (Para. [0096]-Kutz discloses system information transmitted in the MIB may include ... a cell reselection indicator. Para. [0063]-Kutz discloses in a cell that is divided into sectors, the multiple sectors within a cell can be formed by groups of antennas {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the reselected transmit antenna following a cell reselection} with each antenna responsible for communication with UEs in a portion of the cell. Fig. 7, Para. [0119]-Kutz discloses the transmit chain includes ... at least one antenna 710 for transmitting a signal 714 to the receiving device 704 ... the receive chain includes at least one antenna 716, ..., a DPoD component 720 ... that generates an estimate of the non-linear distortion {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced estimation of non-linear characteristins}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced update of} non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}); and
decode respective data signaling during each slot of the plurality of slots based at least in part on whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {control channel} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal {data channel} from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0134]-Kutz discloses the DPoD process iteratively removes an estimate of the non-linear distortion component d to restore the original data signal x by using a correction step, a slicing step, and a non-linear distortion estimation step. Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
the decoding uses an updated estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier when the respective control signaling indicates to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier (Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0141]-Kutz discloses estimation of the non-linearity model G(x) ... the receiving device may apply a least-squares estimation). The resulting new set of kernels and coefficients provides the updated G(x) that the DPoD component 920 will use in the non-linearity distortion estimation phase. Para. [0134]-Kutz discloses the DPoD process iteratively removes an estimate of the non-linear distortion component d to restore the original data signal x by using a correction step, a slicing step, and a non-linear distortion estimation step. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)), and
the decoding uses a previous estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier when the respective control signaling indicates not to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier (Para. [0133]-Kutz discloses the receiving device 904 may maintain a local copy of the non-linearity model (e.g., an estimate of the effective power amplifier model) for use by the DPoD component 920. Para. [0143]-Kutz discloses the transmitting device 902 may transmit the indication 924 and the non-linearity parameters 926 {for when change in parameter is zero} in the same transmission (e.g., in a single message). Table 1, Figs. 9 and 12, Para. [0156-0163]-Kutz discloses the DPoD process of a receiving device, ..., a receiving device may receive a data signal y that includes a non-linear distortion component d ... the DPoD process is based on modeling the non-linear distortion as an additive signal ... the output of a power amplifier (PA) 1202 of a transmitting device may be represented by y=G(x)=ax+d ... y(x) is the received signal at a receiving device after channel equalization. The signal y(x) (i.e., y) is based on the original data signal x at the transmitting device ... the original data signal x is subject to non-linear distortion (e.g., at the CFR 908, the DPD 910, and the PA 912 of FIG. 9). The term G(x) represents this non-linear distortion model ... The parameter {circumflex over (d)} in Table 1 may represent the non-linear distortion that occurred at the transmitting device. The DPoD reconstruction procedure involves estimating the non-linear distortion {circumflex over (d)} in the received signal. With each iteration of the loop, a more accurate estimate of x and {circumflex over (d)} can be obtained ... Initially, {circumflex over (d)} is set to 0. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)).
Kutz fails to explicitly teach receive, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity.
However, Lee teaches receive, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Table 1, Para. [0114]-Lee discloses transmit 1-bit information indicating the need to change the NC {nonlinear compensator} model to the receiver, and the receiver may learn the NC model whenever information indicating the need to change {Corresponding to indicating whether to update, or not to update} the NC model is received. Para. [0124]-Lee discloses the receiver always performs the NC model learning in every slot in a scheduling unit. Para. [0181]-Lee discloses it is natural to learn or apply the changed NC model from the frame, subframe or slot in which the NSI is transmitted. Para. [0197]-Lee discloses the base station may transmit the NSI (e.g., NSI #Y) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity to the terminal. In this case, similarly, the base ... station may transmit an RS necessary for learning the NC model to be changed, and the corresponding NSI (e.g., NSI #Y) may be related to the RS. The NSI may be transmitted through a DCI, MAC CE, RRC message, or a combination thereof according to the frequency or period in which the nonlinearity is changed. In this case, the message or information through which the NSI is transmitted may include information indicating a related RS (e.g., RS resource index, or the like). Para. [0194]-Lee discloses the base station may transmit the NSI (e.g., NSI #X) related to the RS together with an RS required for NC model learning. The NSI may be transmitted through a DCI, MAC CE, RRC message, or a combination thereof according to the frequency or period in which the nonlinearity is changed. In this case, the message or information through which the NSI is transmitted may include information indicating a related RS (e.g., RS resource index, or the like)),
whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on whether a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfies a threshold (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same),
whether a time duration between a previous data signaling to the UE and respective data signaling during the slot satisfies a threshold, whether a transmit antenna of the network entity is reselected, or any combination thereof (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same); and
Kutz and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for efficient data transmission between a base station and a terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kutz to incorporate the teachings of Lee on non-linear characteristics of power amplifiers, with a motivation to indicate whether to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics, and support communication via one or more cells, (Kutz, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 12 respectively,
Kutz further teaches receive one or more demodulation reference signals with the respective data signaling during a first slot of the plurality of slots (Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
estimating the updated non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity for the first slot is based at least in part on performing a digital post-distortion correction to the one or more demodulation reference signals (Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0134]-Kutz discloses the DPoD process iteratively removes an estimate of the non-linear distortion component d to restore the original data signal x by using a correction step, a slicing step, and a non-linear distortion estimation step).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 15 and 22, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, The network entity of claim 5 and The method of claim 12 and the method of claim 16 respectively,
Kutz fails to teach one bit indicator.
However, Lee teaches the respective control signaling comprises a one bit indicator of whether to update, or not to update, the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Table 1, Para. [0114]-Lee discloses transmit 1-bit information indicating the need to change the NC {nonlinear compensator} model to the receiver, and the receiver may learn the NC model whenever information indicating the need to change the NC model is received).
Kutz and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for efficient data transmission between a base station and a terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kutz to incorporate the teachings of Lee on non-linear characteristics of power amplifiers, with a motivation to indicate changes using 1-bit indicator, and support high data rates in wider coverage, and smooth cooperation between a terminal and a base station, (Lee, Para. [0008-0009]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kutz teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Para. [0006-0007]-Kutz discloses wireless communication device may include a transceiver, a memory, and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory. The processor may be configured to determine a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit that includes a digital pre-distorter. The processor may also be configured to transmit an indication of the change in the non-linearity model to a second wireless communication device via the transceiver ... method for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device is disclosed. The method may include determining a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit that includes a digital pre-distorter. The method may also include transmitting an indication of the change in the non-linearity model to a second wireless communication device) to cause the network entity to:
Kutz further teaches receive a message indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) associated with estimating non-linear characteristics of a power amplifier of the network entity (Fig. 17, Para. [0188]-Kutz discloses the receiving device 1704 informs the transmitting device that the receiving device 1704 is able to calculate DPD information. For example, the receiving device 1704 may transmit a capability message including a DPD capability bit. Para. [0237]-Kutz discloses the first wireless communication device may receive a first message from the second wireless communication device ... the first message indicates that the second wireless communication device has a capability to compute the digital pre-distortion information ... the digital pre-distortion information is received from the second wireless communication device after the transmission of the second message ... the second message further requests the second wireless communication device to compute digital post-distortion information in conjunction with the digital pre-distortion information);
transmit, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether the UE is to update, …, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit. Fig. 9, Para. [0139]-Kutz discloses upon receiving the indication 924, the receiving device 904 may update its locally stored non-linearity model. For example, the receiving device 904 may update its estimate of the effective power amplifier model that is used by the DPoD component 920 to apply DPoD to a received signal. Fig. 16, Para. [0030]-Kutz discloses example of signaling to indicate a change in a non-linearity model. Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0092]-Kutz discloses the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels ... the various REs 406 within an RB 408 may be scheduled to carry one or more physical channels, including control channels, shared channels, data channels, etc. Other REs 406 within the RB 408 may also carry pilots or reference signals. These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB 408. Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols),
the respective control signaling is transmitted via a control channel of the slot (Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling. Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0092]-Kutz discloses the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels ... the various REs 406 within an RB 408 may be scheduled to carry one or more physical channels, including control channels, shared channels, data channels, etc. Other REs 406 within the RB 408 may also carry pilots or reference signals. These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB 408. Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)), and
whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on whether a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfies a threshold (Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0105]-Kutz discloses efficient channel estimation at the receiver and provide greater flexibly in utilizing the available time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to thresold time limit/duration}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
whether a time duration between a previous data signaling to the UE and respective data signaling during the slot satisfies a threshold (Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols ... A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols in some examples. A subframe may refer to a duration of 1 millisecond (ms). Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame. Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion between data signaling, with the time length indicating the threshold}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0163]-Kutz discloses resulting y.sub.corrected value is scaled by 1/α, converted to the frequency domain (e.g., to obtain the constellation representation of the OFDM symbol), and then sliced (e.g., to estimate a value of the signal) using knowledge of the modulation (e.g., 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc.) used by the transmitting device. This result is converted back to the time domain to get the estimated signal x {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time units/lengths}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)),
whether a transmit antenna of the network entity is reselected, or any combination thereof (Para. [0096]-Kutz discloses system information transmitted in the MIB may include ... a cell reselection indicator. Para. [0063]-Kutz discloses in a cell that is divided into sectors, the multiple sectors within a cell can be formed by groups of antennas {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the reselected transmit antenna following a cell reselection} with each antenna responsible for communication with UEs in a portion of the cell. Fig. 7, Para. [0119]-Kutz discloses the transmit chain includes ... at least one antenna 710 for transmitting a signal 714 to the receiving device 704 ... the receive chain includes at least one antenna 716, ..., a DPoD component 720 ... that generates an estimate of the non-linear distortion {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced estimation of non-linear characteristins}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced update of} non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}); and
transmit respective data signaling during each slot of the plurality of slots. (Para. [0091]-Kutz discloses slots 410 illustrates the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels. Of course, a slot may contain all DL, all UL, or at least one DL portion and at least one UL portion. The structure illustrated in FIG. 4 is merely an example, and different slot structures may be utilized, and may include one or more of each of the control region(s) and data region(s). Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0134]-Kutz discloses the DPoD process iteratively removes an estimate of the non-linear distortion component d to restore the original data signal x by using a correction step, a slicing step, and a non-linear distortion estimation step. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols).
Kutz fails to explicitly teach transmit, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether the UE is to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity.
However, Lee teaches transmit, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether the UE is to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity (Table 1, Para. [0114]-Lee discloses transmit 1-bit information indicating the need to change the NC {nonlinear compensator} model to the receiver, and the receiver may learn the NC model whenever information indicating the need to change {Corresponding to indicating whether to update, or not to update} the NC model is received. Para. [0124]-Lee discloses the receiver always performs the NC model learning in every slot in a scheduling unit. Para. [0181]-Lee discloses it is natural to learn or apply the changed NC model from the frame, subframe or slot in which the NSI is transmitted. Para. [0197]-Lee discloses the base station may transmit the NSI (e.g., NSI #Y) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity to the terminal. In this case, similarly, the base ... station may transmit an RS necessary for learning the NC model to be changed, and the corresponding NSI (e.g., NSI #Y) may be related to the RS. The NSI may be transmitted through a DCI, MAC CE, RRC message, or a combination thereof according to the frequency or period in which the nonlinearity is changed. In this case, the message or information through which the NSI is transmitted may include information indicating a related RS (e.g., RS resource index, or the like). Para. [0194]-Lee discloses the base station may transmit the NSI (e.g., NSI #X) related to the RS together with an RS required for NC model learning. The NSI may be transmitted through a DCI, MAC CE, RRC message, or a combination thereof according to the frequency or period in which the nonlinearity is changed. In this case, the message or information through which the NSI is transmitted may include information indicating a related RS (e.g., RS resource index, or the like)),
whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on whether a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfies a threshold (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same.,
whether a time duration between a previous data signaling to the UE and respective data signaling during the slot satisfies a threshold, whether a transmit antenna of the network entity is reselected, or any combination thereof (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same); and
Kutz and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for efficient data transmission between a base station and a terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kutz to incorporate the teachings of Lee on non-linear characteristics of power amplifiers, with a motivation to indicate whether to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics, and support communication via one or more cells, (Kutz, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the network entity of claim 5 and the method of claim 16 respectively,
Kutz further teaches transmit the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on a temperature change of the network entity satisfying a threshold (Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the network entity of claim 5 and the method of claim 16 respectively,
Kutz further teaches transmit the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates (Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0105]-Kutz discloses efficient channel estimation at the receiver and provide greater flexibly in utilizing the available time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to thresold time limit/duration}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)); while
Lee also further teaches transmit the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the network entity of claim 5 and the method of claim 16 respectively,
Kutz further teaches transmit, during each slot of the plurality of slots, the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling during the slot satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling (Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols ... A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols in some examples. A subframe may refer to a duration of 1 millisecond (ms). Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame. Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion between data signaling, with the time length indicating the threshold}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0163]-Kutz discloses resulting y.sub.corrected value is scaled by 1/α, converted to the frequency domain (e.g., to obtain the constellation representation of the OFDM symbol), and then sliced (e.g., to estimate a value of the signal) using knowledge of the modulation (e.g., 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc.) used by the transmitting device. This result is converted back to the time domain to get the estimated signal x {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time units/lengths}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs)); while
Lee also further teaches transmit, during each slot of the plurality of slots, the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling during the slot satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling (Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Kutz in view of Lee teaches the network entity of claim 5 and the method of claim 16 respectively,
Kutz further teaches reselect the transmit antenna of the network entity (Para. [0096]-Kutz discloses system information transmitted in the MIB may include ... a cell reselection indicator. Para. [0063]-Kutz discloses in a cell that is divided into sectors, the multiple sectors within a cell can be formed by groups of antennas {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the reselected transmit antenna following a cell reselection} with each antenna responsible for communication with UEs in a portion of the cell),
the respective control signaling for a first slot of the plurality of slots indicates the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on reselecting the transmit antenna of the network entity (Fig. 7, Para. [0119]-Kutz discloses the transmit chain includes ... at least one antenna 710 for transmitting a signal 714 to the receiving device 704 ... the receive chain includes at least one antenna 716, ..., a DPoD component 720 ... that generates an estimate of the non-linear distortion {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced estimation of non-linear characteristins}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced update of} non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/17/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 15-20, and 22 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [8-15], Applicant argues that, “…the cited sections relied upon by the Office Action, Kutz describes "the non-linearity model may change over time," as well as "an indication of a change in a nonlinearity model for a power amplifier circuit." Kutz ,i [0135] and [0011]. However, the Office Action has not demonstrated that either such features, or other features in Kutz, teach or suggest "a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates," where "whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on whether a time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfies a threshold," as recited in amended independent claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…transmit the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between non-linear characteristic estimation updates,” as recited in the incumbent claim 7, in Para. [0135]-KUTZ et al. (US 20220393709 A1) discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0105]-Kutz discloses efficient channel estimation at the receiver and provide greater flexibly in utilizing the available time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to thresold time limit/duration}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs); while
In Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee et al. (WO 2023140641 A1) discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [17-19], Applicant argues that, “…the Office Action has not demonstrated that Kutz teaches or suggests control signaling that indicates to update an estimation, or not to update an estimation, based on such a threshold.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…receive, during each slot of a plurality of slots scheduled for one or more data transmissions, respective control signaling indicating whether to update, or not to update, an estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1, in Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication/update} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit. Fig. 9, Para. [0139]-Kutz discloses upon receiving the indication 924, the receiving device 904 may update {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication/update} its locally stored non-linearity model. For example, the receiving device 904 may update its estimate of the effective power amplifier model that is used by the DPoD component 920 to apply DPoD to a received signal. Fig. 16, Para. [0030]-Kutz discloses example of signaling to indicate a change in a non-linearity model. Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0092]-Kutz discloses the slot 410 including a control region 412 and a data region 414. In general, the control region 412 may carry control channels, and the data region 414 may carry data channels ... the various REs 406 within an RB 408 may be scheduled to carry one or more physical channels, including control channels, shared channels, data channels, etc. Other REs 406 within the RB 408 may also carry pilots or reference signals. These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB 408. Para. [0095]-Kutz discloses the base station may further allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., in the control region 412 or the data region 414) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols.
In the remarks, on page 12, Lines [6-10], Applicant argues that, “…the Office Action also fails to demonstrate that Kutz teaches or suggests "wherein whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on ... whether a time duration between a previous data signaling to the UE and respective data signaling during the slot satisfies a threshold," as recited in amended independent claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…transmit, during each slot of the plurality of slots, the respective control signaling indicating the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling during the slot satisfying the threshold associated with the time duration between the previous data signaling to the UE and the respective data signaling,” as recited in the incumbent claim 8, in Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols ... A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols in some examples. A subframe may refer to a duration of 1 millisecond (ms). Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame. Para. [0135]-Kutz discloses non-linearity model may change over time. For example, one or more attributes (e.g., temperature, etc.) associated with the power amplifier 912 may change over time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time duratiion between data signaling, with the time length indicating the threshold}. A change in such an attribute may affect the power amplifier state, thereby resulting in a change in the non-linearity imparted on a signal by the power amplifier 912. Para. [0163]-Kutz discloses resulting y.sub.corrected value is scaled by 1/α, converted to the frequency domain (e.g., to obtain the constellation representation of the OFDM symbol), and then sliced (e.g., to estimate a value of the signal) using knowledge of the modulation (e.g., 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc.) used by the transmitting device. This result is converted back to the time domain to get the estimated signal x {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time units/lengths}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication ... receiving a signal from the second wireless communication device ... using the digital post-distortion to compensate for non-linear distortion in the signal. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs); while
In Fig. 27, Para. [0244]-Lee et al. (WO 2023140641 A1) discloses NSI {nonlinear state information} timers may expire at the transmitter and the receiver ..., because the NSI timer has expired even if the network configurations of operation S2760 are the same as those of operation S2710, when the nonlinearity of the transmitter is changed according to network configurations, the transmitter may transmit NSI (e.g., NSI #X) corresponding to the changed nonlinearity. In addition, after receiving a new NSI (e.g., NSI #X), the receiver may change to an NC model corresponding to the corresponding NSI and apply the same.
In the remarks, on page 13, Lines [1-4], Applicant argues that, “…the Office Action fails to demonstrate that Kutz teaches or suggests "wherein whether the respective control signaling indicates to update, or not to update, the estimation is based at least in part on ... whether a transmit antenna of the network entity is reselected," as recited in amended independent claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, as recited in the incumbent claim 9, Kutz teaches reselect the transmit antenna of the network entity (Para. [0096]-Kutz discloses system information transmitted in the MIB may include ... a cell reselection indicator. Para. [0063]-Kutz discloses in a cell that is divided into sectors, the multiple sectors within a cell can be formed by groups of antennas {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the reselected transmit antenna following a cell reselection} with each antenna responsible for communication with UEs in a portion of the cell), wherein the respective control signaling for a first slot of the plurality of slots indicates the UE is to update the estimation of the non-linear characteristics of the power amplifier of the network entity based at least in part on reselecting the transmit antenna of the network entity (Fig. 7, Para. [0119]-Kutz discloses the transmit chain includes ... at least one antenna 710 for transmitting a signal 714 to the receiving device 704 ... the receive chain includes at least one antenna 716, ..., a DPoD component 720 ... that generates an estimate of the non-linear distortion {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced estimation of non-linear characteristins}. Para. [0011]-Kutz discloses receiving, from a second wireless communication device, an indication {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication} of a change in a non-linearity model for a power amplifier circuit comprising a digital pre-distorter of the second wireless communication device ... updating {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced update of} non-linearity information for a digital post-distorter of the first wireless communication device after the receiving the indication. Para. [0094]-Kutz discloses the scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) may allocate one or more REs 406 (e.g., within the control region 412) to carry DL control information including one or more DL control channels, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs). Para. [0059]-Kutz discloses the uplink control information 118, downlink control information 114, downlink traffic 112, and/or uplink traffic 116 may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. Para. [0078]-Kutz discloses control function can be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions ..., for network control and signaling {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced control signaling}).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472