Claims 1-6, 11-13, 15-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myung (Journal of Chromatography A 1997) in view of Musumeci (Masters Thesis 2013, newly cited and applied) and further in view of Kawahara (Analytical Chemistry 1968), Floberg (Journal of Chromatography 1980), Wu (Journal of Chromatography 1981), Funazo (Journal of Chromatography 1985), Lam (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 1996, newly cited and applied), Halket (European Journal of Mass Spectrometry 2004), Maity (Journal of Molecular Catalysis A: Chemical 2006), Mateo-Vivaracho (Journal of Chromatography A 2007) or Anderson (Organometallics 2008, newly cited and applied). In the paper Myung teaches a gas chromatographic–mass spectrometric method for developed for the determination of mercaptan odorants (dimethyl sulfide, tert-butylmercaptan, tetrahydrothiophene) in natural gas. The gas sample was introduced into the 0.5 ml volume of a sampling loop, separated on a 50 m capillary column coated with 5% phenylmethylsilicone and detected by a mass spectrometer. Natural gas samples collected from 124 sites were analyzed and the concentration of added odorants was found to be between 9.7 and 66.2 ppm (w/w). The detection limit of each odorant was below 1 ppm (w/w). The advantages of the developed technique were lower detection limits, elimination of interference peaks by introducing into the sampling loop system and selected-ion monitoring mode and reduced total analysis time. The intra-day and inter-day precision of the established method was R.S.D.,5% (n55). Myung does not teach contacting the gas sample or liquefied petroleum gas sample comprising one or more sulfur-containing compounds with a derivatization agent to form one or more derivatized sulfur-containing compounds prior to the analyzing step.
In the thesis Musumeci studied the quantification of odorous thiols in wine with an extractive alkylation followed by gas chromatography and mass spectrometric detection. Page 5 discusses the difficulties in thiol quantification as being that most thiols are not easily detected by mass spectrometry, thiols do not have characteristic ions high m/z that would differentiate them from other compounds in the complex wine matrix, the thiol functional group results in tailing peaks on a gas chromatograph due to adsorptive properties of the functional group with the chromatography column, resulting in loss of resolution, sensitivity, and precision and thiols are highly reactive and unstable compounds (the thiol functional group is prone to oxidation and can also readily form complexes with transition metals). The paragraph bridging pages 5-6 teaches that different methods have been developed because of these difficulties including selective extraction, direct solid-phase microextraction and solid phase extraction and derivatization. Pages 6-8 describe the extraction methods with their benefits and disadvantages. The first paragraph on page 9 teaches that derivatization can improve stability, detectability by mass spectrometry, and chromatographic behavior by yielding compounds that can have mass spectral peaks at higher mass regions, where there is less potential for background interference, and compounds with better adsorption properties. As these improvements solve many of the quantification difficulties previously described for thiols, derivatization is the most suitable strategy for thiol quantification. The final paragraph on page 9 teaches that the most utilized derivatizing agent for thiols in wine is pentafluorobenzyl bromide (PFBBr). With this derivatizing agent, the thiol proton is first removed by a base. The negatively charged sulfur undergoes nucleophilic substitution with the PFBBr derivatizing agent, allowing for the concurrent loss of the bromine leaving group (see Figure 4 on page 10). The paragraph bridging pages 10-11 teaches that quantification of hydrogen sulfide using PFBBr as a derivatizing agent has been demonstrated in a blood matrix. This method achieved an acceptable LOD for hydrogen sulfide, indicating the potential to extend the use of this derivatization agent for quantification of low-molecular weight thiols in wine. Much of the above information is repeated in the paragraph bridging pages 22- 23. Beginning on page 24, the assessment/optimization of 6 different derivatization parameters was described. The parameters investigated were agitation time, buffer reconstitution volume, organic solvent volume, sample pH, sample volume, and concentration of the 18-crown-6 ether phase transfer catalyst. The optimized derivatization is taught on page 27. Figure 11 on page 52 shows a chromatogram of pentafluorobenzyl derivatives for 4-MMP, 3-MH, 3-MHA, H2S, and CH3SH obtained using the optimized protocol.
In the paper Kawahara teaches the microdetermination of derivatives of mercaptans by means of electron capture gas chromatography. The second paragraph on page 1009 teaches the detection of mercaptans by gas chromatography using a silver ion titration cell. This method had a sensitivity of 1 ppm of mercaptan sulfur. The paragraph bridging the columns of page 1009 teaches that because of the numerous contaminants in the weak acid fraction, a highly selective method is required. Thus, the conversion of phenol and mercaptan to a derivative which can exhibit electron capture response seemed desirable for their measurement. The paragraph prior to the experimental section starting on page 1009 teaches that ethers and thioethers, derived from phenols and mercaptans, respectively, with a-bromo-2,3,4,5,6-pentafluorotoluene, exhibit excellent electron capture response. This property accounts for excellent measurements in the presence of impurities. Only phenols, mercaptans, and acids will react rapidly with the fluoro-organic reagent under the described conditions. Derivatives of phenols and mercaptans are stable in water and are amenable to gas-liquid chromatographic separations. The paragraph bridging pages 1009-10010 teaches the preparation of the thioethers. The last paragraph on page 1010 teaches that the derivatives provide the following advantages: excellent stability in aqueous solution, excellent response to electron capture detectors and specificity in presence of impurities, suitability to gas chromatographic separations, and analyses at trace concentrations of phenols and mercaptans.
In the paper Floberg teaches a gas chromatography-mass spectrometry method for quantitation of the thyreostatic agent methimcola in plasma (see the structure given in figure 1). The drug was transferred from the plasma sample and derivatized in one step by extractive alkylation. Either of two alkylating agents benzyl chloride or pentafluorobenzyl bromide were used. The first full paragraph on page 65 teaches the extractive alkylation method used.
In the paper Wu teaches the electron capture gas chromatographic determination of sulfide as a pentafluorobenzyl derivative. The second paragraph on page 312 teaches that the are several methods for measuring sulfide in water including a gas chromatography method. in addition to this, the paragraph teaches that there is still a need for a specific and more sensitive method for quantitation of sulfide in complicated matrices. The following paragraph teaches that a new approach based on detector-oriented derivatization of sulfide, as bis(pentatluorobenzy1) sulfide, is described for quantitative analysis of inorganic sulfide (S2-) down to ppb* levels. The results indicate that the method is specific and highly sensitive. The procedure section on page 313 describes the room temperature derivative formation.
In the paper Funazo teaches a new derivatizing agent, pentafluorobenzyl p-toluenesulphonate, has been synthesized and is designed to enhance the volatility of analytes and introduce a detector-oriented tag into the molecules for gas chromatography (GC) with electron-capture detection. The derivatization of several inorganic anions was studied, and a new GC method for their simultaneous determination has been developed. Bromide, iodide, cyanide, thiocyanate, nitrite, nitrate and sulfide can be simultaneously derivatized to their pentafluorobenzyl derivatives using tetra-n-amylammonium chloride as the phase transfer catalyst. The derivatives were subsequently determined by GC with flame ionization detection. This method has also been applied to the determination of carboxylic acids or phenols, the derivatives of which were identified using mass spectrometry. The derivatives from bromide, iodide, cyanide, thiocyanate, nitrite, nitrate and sulfide were pentafluorobenzyl bromide, pentafluorobenzyl iodide, pentafluorobenzyl cyanide, pentafluorobenzyl thiocyanate, a-nitro-2,3,4,5,6-pentafluorotoluene, pentafluorobenzyl nitrate and bis(pentafluorobenzy1) sulfide, respectively. The effects of added acid or base, and of the reaction time, on the pentafluorobenzylation were discussed. The paragraph bridging pages 27-218 teaches the room temperature derivatization method.
In the paper Lam teaches the synthesis of cyclic ureas. Scheme 1 on page 3515 and schemes 2 and 3 on page 3517 show the synthesis of different ureas. Steps f-I and j-m in scheme 1, step a in scheme 2 and step 4 in scheme 3 include or are an alkylation step using a halide. The first three and 5th full paragraphs of the right column on page 3516 teach alkylation of compounds 7 and 75 with different halides: p-cyanobenzyl bromide, m-nitrobenzyl bromide, b-naphthylmethyl bromide and benzyl bromide. Cyclic ureas 3 to 61 were synthesized through scheme 1 as described/exemplified in the first two full paragraphs of the right column on page 3516. Table 2 on page 3518 identifies different symmetric cyclic urea compounds that would have included a alkylation step with a halide compound synthesized through scheme 1. Of relevance to the instant claims are the various benzyl and naphthylmethyl groups listed for compounds 33 and 37-61 showing the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize similar alkylating agents expected to be useful in a similar reaction or synthesis step. Table 3 on page 3519 provides a similar teaching for the unsymmetrical cyclic ureas made through scheme 2 (see compounds 38, 67 and 70-73).
In the paper page 7 of Halket teaches that for alkylation of mercapto groups (SH – thiols), these groups possess a more acidic character than analogous alcohols and are more easily alkylated by the same reagents. The paragraph bridging pages 1-2 teaches that a number of reagents have been suggested for the preparation of alkyl derivatives: among these are alkyl (methyl, ethyl, propyl etc.) bromides or iodides and benzyl bromide and its substituted or fluorinated analogs. With respect to alkylation of alcoholic OH groups, page 7 teaches that pentafluorobenzyl ethers of alcohols may be obtained by the reaction of an alcohol with pentafluorobenzyl bromide in the presence of anhydrous K2CO3 (see the similar reaction of acids). Other benzyl ethers may be prepared in a similar way. In addition to K2CO3, other basic compounds (KOH, NaOH) may be involved.
In the paper Maity investigated the reaction of benzyl chloride with ammonium sulfide under liquid–liquid phase transfer catalysis. The reaction between benzyl chloride and aqueous ammonium sulfide was carried out in an organic solvent – toluene, using tetrabutylammonium bromide (TBAB) as phase transfer catalyst (PTC). Two products, namely dibenzyl sulfide (DBS) and benzyl mercaptan (BM), were identified in the reaction mixture. The selectivity of DBS was maximized by changing various parameters such as NH3/H2S mole ratio, stirring speed, catalyst loading, concentration of benzyl chloride, volume of aqueous phase, and temperature. Section 2.5 on page 115 teaches that all the samples from the organic phase were analyzed by gas–liquid chromatography.
In the paper Mateo-Vivaracho teaches the quantitative determination of wine polyfunctional mercaptans at nanogram per liter level by gas chromatography–negative ion mass spectrometric analysis of their pentafluorobenzyl derivatives. A fast method for the determination of aroma-powerful polyfunctional thiols at nanogram per liter level has been developed and applied to wine. A small volume of wine (6 mL) was extracted with 1.5mL of benzene containing four internal standards. Pentafluorobenzyl derivatives of mercaptans were formed in the extract by adding small amounts (100 mg L-1) of pentafluorobenzyl bromide and a strong alkali: 1,8-diazabicyclo[5.4.0]undec-7-ene (DBU). After washing with a water:methanol (5:1) solution 0.5M in HCl, 20 L of the extract was directly injected into a gas chromatograph. Derivatives were detected by negative ion mass spectrometry. The method makes it possible to simultaneously determine 2-furfurylthiol (2-furanmethanethiol) (FFT), 4-mercapto-4-methyl-2-pentanone (MP), 3-mercaptohexylacetate (MHA) and 3-mercaptohexanol (MH). Section 2.2 on page 243 teaches the derivatization method. The conclusion of page 250 teaches that the present method resolves some of the limitations of previous procedures for the analysis of polyfunctional mercaptans at an ultratrace level. Although the method is not fully automated, it is relatively fast and simple, requires a small volume of sample and the number of compounds that can be determined simultaneously is higher than that of a previous report. Leaving aside 2-methyl-3-furanthiol, for which inconsistent results were found, the linear range is satisfactory, and the sensitivity is very good. The proposed procedure makes use of the formation of derivatives in a benzene extract, and although the procedure has been validated for wine, it should be expected that it be useful for the analysis of these compounds in different matrixes.
In the paper Anderson investigated the asymmetric alkylation of bis(secondary) phospines through schemes 1 and 2. The lower box in scheme 4 on page 4994 shows the different halides used. Similar information is given in tables S1 and S3-S4 of the included supporting information. Anderson shows the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize alkylating agents expected to be useful in a similar reaction or synthesis step.
With respect to the above claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Myung by contacting the sulfur compounds in the gas or liquefied gas with a derivatizing agent such as benzyl chloride, benzyl bromide or pentafluorobenzyl bromide as taught by one or more of Musumeci, Kawahara, Floberg, Wu, Funazo, Halket, Maity or Mateo-Vivaracho or the halide alkylating agents of Lam or Anderson because of the expected increase in sensitivity and/or stability afforded by the derivatives as taught by Kawahara, Floberg, Wu, Funazo, Halket, Maity or Mateo-Vivaracho and the additional advantages taught by Musumeci for the use of benzyl derivatives compared to direct analysis of the sulfur compounds by gas chromatography.
Claims 22-26 are allowed.
Claims 14 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest that some of the derivatives would be insoluble in the derivatization agent or require a treatment to solubilize them prior to and in combination with a second analysis step. As part of this interpretation the derivatization agent is being treated as covering the specifically claimed compounds and their formulation in some form of a solvent or solution suitable to facilitate contact with the gas sample or liquified petroleum gas sample to form one or more derivatized sulfur containing compounds. The limitation of claims 14, 17-18 and 22 that one or more of the derivatized sulfur-containing compounds are insoluble in the derivatization agent is being treated by examiner as requiring that the derivatization agent is formulated so that one or more of the derivatized sulfur containing compounds are insoluble in the derivatizing agent. Thus, if there are chemical(s) present in the derivative agent formulation or the derivatization agent is held at a temperature that prevents the formation of an insoluble derivatized sulfur containing agent, it is not within the scope of these claims.
Applicant's arguments filed September 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the claim amendments and arguments the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and over 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been withdrawn by examiner. Thus, arguments directed toward these previous rejections are moot. Additionally, due to the application of newly cited and applied art, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been modified and the indication that the subject matter of previous claim 9 was allowable has been withdrawn. Also, examiner’s reasons for indicating allowable subject matter has been modified to more fully explain how certain claim limitations are being treated so that they do not have problems with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and to give some explanation of what examiner considers to outside of the scope of those limitations.
With respect to obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant has argued that in the previously applied reference combination, Myung teaches direct analysis of the sulfur containing compounds without derivatization, Li, while teaching the benefits of derivatization compared to direct analysis, does not teach forming derivatives with derivatization agents within the scope being claimed and the remaining references, while teaching derivatization agents within the claimed scope, do not teach why one of ordinary skill in the art would use those derivatization agents rather than the derivatization agent taught by Li.
The current rejection has replaced the Li paper with the newly cited Musumeci thesis which provides teachings similar to Li with respect to the benefits of derivatization compared to direct chromatographic analysis and teaches pentafluorobenzyl bromide as the derivatization agent of choice for derivatives of sulfur containing compounds in the samples being measured. Additionally, Musumeci teaches that use of and results from the use of that derivatization agent with one sample matrix (blood) indicated the potential to extend the use of this derivatization agent for quantification of low-molecular weight thiols in in another sample matrix (wine). This teaching amounts to motivation based on an expectation of success. Thus, Musumeci performs the function of showing that there are recognized benefits to using a derivatization agent in detection of sulfur containing compounds in a sample matrix and clearly teaches a benzyl halide agent that is also taught by other applied references that teach one or of the derivatization agents of claim 1. Additionally, the newly cited and applied Lam and Anderson references show that those of ordinary skill in the art would have understood and expected additional derivatization agents within the scope of previous claims 8-10 to undergo reactions similar to that of the Musumeci derivatization agent and the other currently applied secondary reference derivatization agents. Based on these teachings derivatizing the sulfur compounds in the Myung sample with all/any of the specifically claimed derivatization agents of claim 1 would have been considered as an obvious modification of the Myung method. Thus, the arguments against the obviousness rejection are not persuasive because of the teachings in the newly cited and applied references replacing those by the previously cited Li paper and the and adding to the scope of compounds considered as obvious derivatization agents.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art is related to various alkylating agents and their use for sulfur containing compounds and the chromatographic analysis of sulfur compounds in natural gas and/or liquified petroleum gas samples.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797