DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2011/0091167 (“NISHIMURA”) in view of US 2007/0196057 (“SUZUKI”).
Regarding claim 1, NISHIMURA teaches an optical structure (21) capable of increasing return loss, comprising a light transmission body (26) and a plurality of juxtaposed optical fibers (4), wherein, a plurality of juxtaposed insertion holes (11) are disposed on the light transmission body, the plurality of optical fibers are inserted into the insertion holes one to one (par. [0088]), a reflection surface (25a) aligned with end surfaces of the optical fibers is disposed inside the light transmission body, an avoiding opening (26b) for accommodating an optical communication chip (2) is disposed at a front bottom of the light transmission body, a plurality of focusing lenses (28) in one-to-one correspondence with the optical fibers are disposed on a top wall of the avoiding opening, the focusing lenses are located below the reflection surface (FIG. 11), an optical signal emitted from the front end of the optical fibers is firstly reflected by the reflection surface and then passed through the focusing lenses into the optical communication chip (par. [0075]).
NISHIMURA does not teach an inclined end surface inclined at a preset angle relative to a vertical surface is formed at a front end of the optical fibers. SUZUKI teaches that an inclined end surface inclined at a preset angle relative to a vertical surface is formed at a front end of an optical fiber (par. [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the structure of NISHIMURA with the inclined end surface of SUZUKI. The motivation would have been to reduce reflection loss (par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, NISHIMURA teaches that the focusing lenses are non-spherical focusing lenses (FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 5, NISHIMURA teaches a glue dispensing opening (8) is disposed at a rear end of the light transmission body, a plurality of optical fibers run through the glue dispensing opening (FIG. 9), and a fixing glue is filled in the glue dispensing opening (par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, NISHIMURA teaches that the light transmission body is a plastic body (par. [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, NISHIMURA teaches method of manufacturing the optical structure, comprising the following steps: at step S1, prefabricating a light transmission body (26) and preparing a plurality of optical fibers (4), wherein a plurality of juxtaposed insertion holes (11) are disposed on the light transmission body, a reflection surface (25a) is disposed in the light transmission body, an avoiding opening (26b) is disposed at a front bottom of the light transmission body, a plurality of focusing lenses (28) are disposed on a top wall of the avoiding opening; at step S2, inserting the plurality of optical fibers into the insertion holes one to one (par. [0088]), and the end surfaces of the optical fibers are aligned with the reflection surface (par. [0051]); at step S3, covering the avoiding opening above an optical communication chip (2); at step S4, when an optical signal is emitted from a front end of the optical fibers, reflecting the optical signal by the reflection surface and then transmitting the optical signal through the focusing lenses to the optical communication chip (par. [0075]).
NISHIMURA does not teach an inclined end surface is disposed at a front end of the optical fibers, wherein the inclined end surfaces are inclined at a preset angle relative to a vertical surface. SUZUKI teaches that an inclined end surface inclined at a preset angle relative to a vertical surface is formed at a front end of an optical fiber (par. [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the method of NISHIMURA with the inclined end surface of SUZUKI. The motivation would have been to reduce reflection loss (par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, NISHIMURA teaches that a glue dispensing opening (8) is disposed at a rear end of the light transmission body, and the method further comprises a glue dispensing step: filling a fixing glue in the glue dispensing opening such that a plurality of optical fibers (4) are fixed by the fixing glue in the glue dispensing opening (par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, NISHIMURA teaches that in the step S1, the light transmission body is formed by processing a plastic material (par. [0035]), and the focusing lenses are non-spherical focusing lenses (FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 13, NISHIMURA teaches that the focusing lenses are non-spherical focusing lenses (FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 14, NISHIMURA teaches that a glue dispensing opening (8) is disposed at a rear end of the light transmission body, a plurality of optical fibers (4) run through the glue dispensing opening, and a fixing glue is filled in the glue dispensing opening
(par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, NISHIMURA teaches that the light transmission body is a plastic body (par. [0035]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 9, 11, and 12, NISHIMURA in view of SUZUKI renders obvious the limitations of the respective base claims. The additional limitations appear to involve mere optimization of the inclination angle. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to optimize the inclination angle of NISAHIMURA in view of SUZUKI, as set forth in the instant claims. The motivation would have been to further reduce reflection loss.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874