Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, “the second friction clutch” should be changed to --the first friction clutch-- to make it consistent with claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “the gear is rotationally coupled to a sun gear in the planetary gearset” unclear. Which gear is it? Is it one of the two gears? Is the sun gear a different gear from the second gear? As best understood, the gear is one of the two gears and the sun gear and the second gear is the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serrao (US 20200391582 A1) in view of Yamamoto (US 20230040408 A1) and in further view of Bebeti (US 20210164193 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Serrao discloses (in annotated fig. 2) an electric driveline system (fig. 2), comprising: a first gear (FG) that directly meshing with two gears (EM1G, EM2G) that are rotationally coupled to a first electric machine (EM1) and a second electric machine (EM2), respectively; the first gear (FG) is rotational coupled to a shaft (transmission shaft 6a) and an output shaft (6b) including a first output interface (FOI).
Serrao does not disclose a planetary gearset including a second gear that is rotationally coupled to the first gear via a shaft; the output shaft is rotationally coupled to the planetary gearset; and a first clutch configured to selectively rotationally couple the first gear to the output shaft.
Yamamoto teaches (in annotated fig. 3) a planetary gearset (4) including a second gear (11) that is rotationally coupled to the first gear (Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear but it would be to the right of the transmission shaft 2) via the shaft (transmission shaft 2); the output shaft (3) is rotationally coupled to the planetary gearset (4); and a first clutch (40) configured to selectively rotationally couple the first gear (Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear but it would be to the right of the transmission shaft 2) to the output shafts (3). (While Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear, the combination would allow the second gear 11 of Yamamoto to be rotationally coupled to the first gear FG of Serrao via transmission shaft 6a of Serrao. The first clutch 40 of Yamamoto would be configured to selectively rotationally couple the first gear FG of Serrao to the output shaft 3 of Yamamoto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the transmission of Serrao with the transmission, as taught by Yamamoto, as it is substituting one known generic transmission with another known specific transmission for the purpose of shifting between two gear ratio using a simple transmission.
Serrao in view of Yamamoto does not teach the output shaft including a first output interface and a second output interface that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft; wherein the first output interface and the second output interface are rotationally coupled to distinct drive axles.
Bebeti teaches (in annotated fig. 1) the output shaft (9) including a first output interface (IF1) and a second output interface that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft (9); wherein the first output interface (IF1) and the second output interface (IF2) are rotationally coupled to distinct drive axles (10, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single output interface of Serrao in view of Yamamoto with the first and second output interface, as taught by Bebeti, in order to be able to have a connection that can go to the rear axle to provide more vehicle control.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, wherein the gear (Serrao EM1G, EM2G) is rotationally coupled to a sun gear (Yamamoto 11) in the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4).
Regarding claim 3, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, further comprising a second clutch (Yamamoto 41) configured to selectively ground a ring gear (Yamamoto 12) in the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4).
Regarding claim 4, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 3, wherein the second clutch (Yamamoto 41) is a friction clutch (41 is a brake and brakes are friction clutches).
Regarding claim 6, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, wherein the first clutch (Yamamoto 40) is a friction clutch (Yamamoto para. [0104] discloses 40 is a friction engaging device).
Regarding claim 7, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, wherein the electric driveline system is included in an all-electric vehicle (Serrao para. [0002] discloses the invention is a dual or multi-motor electric driveline for an electric vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, wherein the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4) is a simple planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4).
Regarding claim 10, Serrao discloses a method for operation of an electric driveline system, comprising: directly transferring rotational energy from two gears (EM1G, EM2G) which are rotationally coupled to a first electric machine (EM1) and a second electric machine (EM2), respectively, to a first gear (FG) that is rotationally coupled to a shaft (transmission shaft 6a) and there being an output shaft (6b) with a first output interface (FOI).
Serrao does not disclose a first gear that is rotationally coupled to a second gear in a planetary gearset via a shaft; and shifting into a first gear configuration via engagement of a first clutch to rotationally couple the first gear and an output shaft;
wherein the output shaft is rotationally coupled to the planetary gear set.
Yamamoto teaches (in annotated fig. 3) a first gear (Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear but it would be to the right of the transmission shaft 2) that is rotationally coupled to a second gear (11) in a planetary gearset (4) via a shaft (transmission shaft 2); and shifting into a first gear configuration via engagement of a first clutch (40) to rotationally couple the first gear (11) and an output shaft (3, para. [0155] discloses the first mode, which is the first gear configuration, where the first clutch 40 is engaged); wherein the output shaft (3) is rotationally coupled to the planetary gear set (4). (While Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear, the combination would allow the second gear 11 of Yamamoto to be rotationally coupled to the first gear FG of Serrao).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the transmission of Serrao with the transmission, as taught by Yamamoto, as it is substituting one known generic transmission with another known specific transmission for the purpose of shifting between two gear ratio using a simple transmission.
Serrao in view of Yamamoto does not teach the output shaft includes a first output interface and a second output interface that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft; and wherein the first output interface and the second output interface are rotationally coupled to distinct drive axles.
Bebeti teaches (in annotated fig. 1) the output shaft (9) includes a first output interface (IF1) and a second output interface (IF2) that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft (9); and wherein the first output interface (IF1) and the second output interface (IF2) are rotationally coupled to distinct drive axles (10, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single output interface of Serrao in view of Yamamoto with the first and second output interface, as taught by Bebeti, in order to be able to have a connection that can go to the rear axle to provide more vehicle control.
Regarding claim 11, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the method of claim 10, wherein shifting into the first gear configuration includes disengaging a second clutch (Yamamoto 41 and Yamamoto para. [0155] discloses the first mode, which is the first gear configuration, and 41 is in free mode, which means it is disengaged).
Regarding claim 12, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second clutch (Yamamoto 41) is configured to brake a ring gear (Yamamoto 12) in the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4) when engaged (Yamamoto para. [0158] discloses a second mode, where the second clutch 41 is engaged. When the second clutch is engaged, it which would break the ring gear in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first clutch (Yamamoto 40) and the second clutch (Yamamoto 41) are friction clutches (Yamamoto para. [0104] discloses 40 is a friction engaging device and 41 is a brake, which is a friction clutch).
Regarding claim 14, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising shifting into a second gear configuration via disengagement of the first clutch and engagement of the second clutch (Yamamoto para. [0158] discloses a second mode, which is the second gear configuration, where the first clutch is disengaged and the second clutch 41 is engaged).
Regarding claim 15, Serrao teaches an electric driveline system, comprising: a first gear (FG) that is rotationally coupled to a first electric machine (EM1) and a second electric machine (EM2) and a shaft (transmission shaft 6a) and an output shaft (6b) with a first output interface (FOI).
Serrao does not disclose a planetary gearset including a second gear that is rotationally coupled to the first gear via a shaft; a first friction clutch configured to brake a ring gear in the planetary gearset; and a second friction clutch configured to rotationally couple the first gear and the output shaft.
Yamamoto teaches (in annotated fig. 3) a planetary gearset (4) including a second gear (11) that is rotationally coupled to the first gear (Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear but it would be to the right of the transmission shaft 2) via a shaft (2); a first friction clutch (41) configured to brake a ring gear (12) in the planetary gearset (4); and a second friction clutch (40) configured to rotationally couple the first gear (11) and the output shaft (3). (While Yamamoto does not disclose the first gear, the combination would allow the second gear 11 of Yamamoto to be rotationally coupled to the first gear FG of Serrao and allow the second friction clutch 40 of Yamamoto to be rotationally coupled to the first gear FG of Serrao).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the transmission of Serrao with the transmission, as taught by Yamamoto, as it is substituting one known generic transmission with another known specific transmission for the purpose of shifting between two gear ratio using a simple transmission.
Serrao in view of Yamamoto does not teach an output shaft including a first output interface and a second output interface that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft; wherein the first output interface and the second output interface are rotationally coupled to a first drive axle and a second drive axle, respectively; wherein the first output interface and the second output interface are rotationally coupled to distinct axles.
Bebeti teaches an output shaft (9) including a first output interface (IF1) and a second output interface (IF2) that are arranged on opposing ends of the output shaft (9); wherein the first output interface (IF1) and the second output interface (IF2) are rotationally coupled to a first drive axle (11) and a second drive axle (12), respectively; wherein the first output interface (IF1) and the second output interface (IF2) are rotationally coupled to distinct axles (11, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single output interface of Serrao in view of Yamamoto with the first and second output interface, as taught by Bebeti, in order to be able to have a connection that can go to the rear axle to provide more vehicle control.
Regarding claim 17, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 15, further comprising a mechanical power take-off (Serrao 11) coupled to the output shaft (Serrao 7b) of the first electric machine or the second electric machine (Serrao EM2).
Regarding claim 18, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 17, further comprising a PTO clutch (Serrao C2) coupled to the output shaft (Serrao 7b) of the first electric machine or the second electric machine (Serrao EM2).
Regarding claim 19, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 15, wherein a carrier (Yamamoto 13) in the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4) is directly coupled to the output shaft (Yamamoto 3).
Regarding claim 20, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 19, wherein the planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4) is a simple planetary gearset (Yamamoto 4).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serrao (US 20200391582 A1) in view of Yamamoto (US 20230040408 A1) and in further view of Bebeti (US 20210164193 A1) and in further in view of Mordukhovich (US 20150158382 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 3 but does not disclose a synchronizer selectively rotationally coupled to the ring gear and the second clutch.
Mordukhovich teaches a synchronizer (Fig. 1, 48) selectively rotationally coupled to the ring gear (40) and the second clutch (58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the synchronizer as taught by Mordukhovich in the drive assembly of Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti in order to eliminate friction and inertia losses associate with rotating the friction plates.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 15 but does not disclose a synchronizer selectively rotationally coupled to the ring gear and the second friction clutch.
Mordukhovich teaches a synchronizer (Fig. 1, 48) selectively rotationally coupled to the ring gear (40) and the second friction clutch (58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the synchronizer as taught by Mordukhovich in the drive assembly of Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti in order to eliminate friction and inertia losses associate with rotating the friction plates.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serrao (US 20200391582 A1) in view of Yamamoto (US 20230040408 A1) and in further view of Bebeti (US 20210164193 A1) and in further view of Futahashi (US 20110056755 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti teaches the electric driveline system of claim 1, but does not teach a third electric machine mechanically driving a lubricant pump.
Futahashi teaches drive system (Fig.1) having first electric motor (23), second electric motor (24); a third motor (25) mechanically driving a lubricant pump (27) because pressure oil can supply to steering hydraulic system to perform steering operation when idling without having to use electric power from main motors (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third electric machine mechanically driving a lubricant pump as taught by Futahashi to the electric driveline system of Serrao in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Bebeti because pressure oil can supply to steering hydraulic system to perform steering operation when idling without having to use electric power from main motors (para. [0087]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-14, filed 12/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617