DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a first folded state that one surface of the support is rotated to against a half of the back surface of the display device; and a second folded state that the other surface of the support is rotated to abut against another half of the back surface of the display device” in claim 1
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first folded state that one surface of the support is rotated to against a half of the back surface of the display device; and a second folded state that the other surface of the support is rotated to abut against another half of the back surface of the display device”. Note that Figs. 1 and 8 shows the support is hinged off-center with a surface area less than half of the back surface. It does not appear that the surfaces of the support is capable to against “a half” or “another half” of the back surface. Thus, the new limitation is considered as new matter. Do applicant meant left abutting surface and right abutting surface similar to limitation from cancelled claim 2? Further clarification is required.
Claims 3, 5-10 and 14-20 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2005/0257341; hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Chen et al. (US 9,013,865; hereinafter “Chen ‘865”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an expanded screen (see note below regarding preamble), wherein the expanded screen comprises:
a display device (31, 3, Figs. 1-3; [0006]);
a rotating assembly (21, 11, Figs. 1-2); and
a support (1, Figs. 1-3) configured to support the display device on a platform (see Fig. 2; [0012]); the rotating assembly is connected to the display device and the support, and the support is in damped rotation (same as friction connection mentioned in [0018]) with the display device through the rotating assembly on a back surface (back surface of 3, Fig. 1) of the display device;
wherein the support comprises a first folded state that one surface of the support is rotated to abut against a half of the back surface of the display device (abut bottom surface of 3 as shown in Fig. 1); and a second folded state that the other surface of the support is rotated to abut against another half of the back surface of the display device (not explicitly shown, but 1 can rotate on pin 21, thus, the other surface of 1 can inherently rotate upward and abut against the top surface of 3), and the support is capable of being rotated between the first folded state and the second folded state to support the display device, so that a viewing angle can be changed (not explicit, but self-explanatory from Figs. 1-3 that angle from 0 to 180 degree can be achieve); and
wherein the support is provided with a holding port (see T-shaped structure inside 1 in Figs. 1-2), the holding port is provided with an opening (see opening above, bottom left and/or bottom right of the T-shaped structure in Figs. 1-2), and the opening is arranged on a first side surface (inner side surface of 1, Figs. 1-2) of the support.
Chen does not teach wherein one end of the first side surface of the support, beside the opening, is provided with a gap; a wiring slot is arranged on the back surface of the display device corresponding to a position below the gap, the wiring slot is provided with a shell covering the wiring slot, and the shell is arranged in the gap. However, Chen ‘865 teaches one end of a first side surface (end of 211, Figs. 1A-3) of a support (2, Figs. 1A-3), beside an opening (opening between the two 21, Figs. 2A-3), is provided with a gap (gap at where 22 occupies, see Figs. 2A-3); a wiring slot (not explicit, but wiring slot inherently must be inside 22 in order to electrically connect the connection port 23 to the electronic device E in Fig. 2B; col. 3, lns. 4-9), the wiring slot is provided with a shell (see cover shell of 22 in Figs. 2A-3) covering the wiring slot, and the shell is arranged in the gap (as shown in Figs. 2A-3); wherein the support comprises more than one interface (23, Fig. 2B; col. 3, lns. 4-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one end of the first side surface of the support, beside the opening, is provided with a gap; a wiring slot is arranged on the back surface of the display device corresponding to a position below the gap (note this is true after modifying Chen ‘865 to Chen, since Chen’s hinge is on the back surface of the display device), the wiring slot is provided with a shell covering the wiring slot, and the shell is arranged in the gap in Chen, as taught by Chen ‘865, in order to provide electrical connection port on the support by routing wire from the display device.
Note: The recitation “An expanded screen” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of the limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein when one surface of the support abuts against one abutting surface of the back surface of the display device, a fourth side surface (bottom surface of 1 where 13 is arranged, Figs. 1-2) of the support is arranged close to a bottom surface of the display device (close to bottom surface of 3 and 4, Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the expanded screen further comprises a spacer (same as 2, Figs. 1-2); the spacer is arranged on a first side surface (inner side surface of 1, Figs. 1, 2) of the support; and the rotating assembly is arranged on the spacer to form a space (inherently have a small gap in order to rotate 11 unobstructed and prevent scratch against back panel 3) between the rotating assembly and the display device.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and the modified Chen further teaches wherein the expanded screen further comprises more than one interface; each interface is arranged on the support; the interface is electrically connected to the display device through a wire (as modified by Chen ‘865 in above claim 1; note again that 22 in Fig. 2B of Chen ‘865 must inherently have wire for electrical connection; also see col. 3, lns 4-9 of Chen ‘865).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 6. Chen does not teach wherein each interface is arranged on an inner side wall of the holding port. However, Chen ‘865 further teaches each interface (23, Fig. 2B) is arranged on an inner side wall of a holding port (inner side wall of 2 as shown in Fig. 2B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each interface is arranged on an inner side wall of the holding port in Chen in view of Chen ‘865, as taught by Chen ‘865, in order to prevent external impact from damaging the interfaces.
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein a second side surface (such as left side surface of 1 in Figs. 1-2) of the support and a third side surface (such as right side surface of 1 in Figs. 1-2) of the support are arranged on two adjacent sides of a first side surface (top or bottom side surface of 1 in Figs. 1-2) of the support; a width from the second side surface of the support to the third side surface of the support is a width of the support; the width of the support is less than a width of the display device (as shown in Figs. 1-2); and a width central axis of the support is arranged close to a width central axis of the display device (as shown in Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein a first antiskid pad (13, Fig. 1) is arranged on a fourth side surface (bottom side surface of 1 in Figs. 1-2) of the support opposite to the first side surface (top side surface of 1 in Figs. 1-2) of the support.
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein a bottom surface of the display device is provided with more than one second antiskid pad (4, 41, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein a hand groove is arranged on a fourth side surface (curved “hand groove” along bottom side of 1 as shown in Figs. 1, 2) of the support.
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 18, and Chen further teaches wherein the hand groove is close to a middle position of the fourth side surface of the support along a length (curved “hand groove” along middle position of bottom 1 in Figs. 12-).
Claims 7-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen ‘865, and further in view of Ashcraft et al. (US 8,964,382; hereinafter “Ashcraft”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 6. Chen does not teach wherein a first side surface of the support is provided with a first threading hole; the back surface of the display device is provided with a second threading hole; the second threading hole is located below the first side surface of the support; and the wire passes through the second threading hole and the first threading hole in the display device and is connected to each interface. However, Ashcraft teaches wherein a first side surface (top side surface of 504B, Fig. 5) of the support is provided with a first threading hole (512B, Fig. 5); the back surface of the display device is provided with a second threading hole (not shown, but inherent in order to electrically communicate with electronic components inside the computing device 500); the second threading hole is located below the first side surface of the support (can be considered as below depending on orientation of the computing device 500); and the wire passes through the second threading hole and the first threading hole in the display device and is connected to each interface (col. 4, lns. 50-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a first side surface of the support is provided with a first threading hole; the back surface of the display device is provided with a second threading hole; the second threading hole is located below the first side surface of the support; and the wire passes through the second threading hole and the first threading hole in the display device and is connected to each interface in Chen in view of Chen ‘865, as taught by Ashcraft, in order to provide electrical communication between ports in the support and the electronic components within the display device.
Regarding claims 8-10, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 and Ashcraft teaches the expanded screen according to claim 7. Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second threading hole is arranged in the wiring slot; the first threading hole is arranged on a side surface of the gap; the shell is provided with a third threading hole; the wire passes through the second threading hole, the third threading hole, and the first threading hole; and a part of the wire is arranged in the wiring slot, wherein the first threading hole is arranged at a joint of two adjacent side surfaces of the gap, and the third threading hole is arranged on an end surface of the shell close to the first threading hole, wherein a top surface of the shell is set to be an outwards convex arc; a groove is arranged on one surface of the gap rotating around the top surface of the shell; and a top of the top surface of the shell is arranged in the groove. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second threading hole is arranged in the wiring slot; the first threading hole is arranged on a side surface of the gap; the shell is provided with a third threading hole; the wire passes through the second threading hole, the third threading hole, and the first threading hole; and a part of the wire is arranged in the wiring slot, wherein the first threading hole is arranged at a joint of two adjacent side surfaces of the gap, and the third threading hole is arranged on an end surface of the shell close to the first threading hole, wherein a top surface of the shell is set to be an outwards convex arc; a groove is arranged on one surface of the gap rotating around the top surface of the shell; and a top of the top surface of the shell is arranged in the groove in Chen in view of Chen ‘865 and Ashcraft, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, adding a shell in order to cover up and protect the wire and provide wire routing to the display device from the stand yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Chen ‘865 teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1. Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the expanded screen further comprises an audio port, an expanded screen on/off button, and a volume adjustment button; and the audio port, the expanded screen on/off button, and the volume adjustment button are arranged on the support. However, Ashcraft teaches the expanded screen further comprises an audio port or on/off button; and the audio port and/or the expanded screen on/off button are arranged on the support (see circular audio port or circular button on 510 in Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the expanded screen further comprises an audio port, an expanded screen on/off button, and a volume adjustment button; and the audio port, the expanded screen on/off button, and the volume adjustment button are arranged on the support in Chen in view of Chen ‘865, as taught by Ashcraft, in order to save space typically occupied by ports and buttons on the display device and move it to the support instead.
The modified Chen above does not explicitly teach an audio port, an expanded screen on/off button, and a volume adjustment button; and the audio port, the expanded screen on/off button, and the volume adjustment button are arranged on the support. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an audio port, an expanded screen on/off button, and a volume adjustment button; and the audio port, the expanded screen on/off button, and the volume adjustment button are arranged on the support in Chen in view of Ashcraft, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the concept of putting different traditional input and/or output elements from the display device to the stand was already taught by Ashcraft, and rearranging additional elements such as audio port, on/off button, and volume adjustment button would have provide additional space saving in the display device, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Varadarajan et al. (US 9,459,664) disclose an expanded screen, wherein the expended screen comprises: a display device; a rotating assembly; and a support comprises a first folded state that one surface of the support is rotated to abut against a portion of the back surface of the display device; and a second folded state that the other surface of the support is rotated to abut against another portion of the back surface of the display device (Figs. 1-4B).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841