DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Korean foreign priority document(s) 10-2023+0117223, submitted under 35
U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on December 4, 2023 and placed of
record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed October 22, 2024, November 19, 2024 & February 21, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, 15-17 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIKAWA et al. US-20200212499-A1 in view of LUO et al. CN-113488627-A.
With respect to claim 1, HORIKAWA teaches a dry cathode film (the positive-electrode active material include particulate and thin film shapes; [0066]), configured to be on a cathode current collector (all-solid battery includes a positive-electrode layer having a positive-electrode current collector and a positive-electrode mixture layer; See the Abstract), the dry cathode film comprising: a first dry cathode active material layer adjacent to the cathode current collector (first positive-electrode mixture layer 12a disposed closer to positive-electrode current collector 11; [0134]; Fig. 1); and a second dry cathode active material layer on the first dry cathode active material layer (second positive-electrode mixture layer 12b on first positive-electrode mixture layer 12a; [0134]; Fig. 1), wherein the first dry cathode active material layer and the second dry cathode active material layer each independently comprise a dry cathode active material (oxide active material (lithium-containing transition metal oxide) is used as positive-electrode active material 1; 1 is in layers 12a & 12b; Fig.1), and a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (sulfide-based solid electrolyte in positive-electrode mixture layer 12; [0070]), a dry binder (binder plays a role of binding between positive-electrode active materials 1 in positive-electrode mixture layer 12; [0078]; Fig.1), and a content of the dry cathode active material in the first dry cathode active material layer is greater than a content of the dry cathode active material in the second dry cathode active material layer (12a is thicker than 12b, thus more material; Fig. 1; the active material volume proportion may be larger from the boundary of the solid electrolyte layer of the positive-electrode mixture layer toward the boundary of the positive-electrode current collector, in the thickness direction of the positive-electrode mixture layer; [0019]; the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the positive-electrode current collector is larger than the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the solid electrolyte layer; [0019]), and a content of the dry solid electrolyte in the first dry cathode active material layer is less than a content of the dry solid electrolyte in the second dry cathode active material layer (in the portion close to the solid electrolyte layer of the positive-electrode mixture layer, the volume proportion of the solid electrolyte is relatively large; [0022]).
With respect to claim 2, a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer is different from a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer (12a is thicker than 12b; Fig, 1; the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the positive-electrode current collector is larger than the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the solid electrolyte layer; [0019]), and the thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer is either less than or greater than the thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer (12a is thicker than 12b; Fig, 1; the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the positive-electrode current collector is larger than the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the solid electrolyte layer; [0019]). With respect to claim 7, the dry cathode film has a gradient of a dry cathode active material concentration in a thickness direction of the dry cathode film, the dry cathode active material concentration continuously or discontinuously decreasing in the thickness direction of the dry cathode film from a first surface of the dry cathode film, the first surface being adjacent to the cathode current collector (the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the positive-electrode current collector is larger than the local active material volume proportion of the portion closer to the solid electrolyte layer; [0019]), the dry cathode film has a gradient of a dry sulfide-based solid electrolyte concentration in the thickness direction of the dry cathode film, the dry sulfide-based solid electrolyte concentration continuously or discontinuously increasing in the thickness direction of the dry cathode film from the first surface adjacent to the cathode current collector (in the portion close to the solid electrolyte layer of the positive-electrode mixture layer, the volume proportion of the solid electrolyte is relatively large; [0022]). With respect to claim 10,. wherein the dry sulfide-based solid electrolyte comprises at least one selected from among: Li2S-P2S5 ; Li2S-P2S-LiX, wherein X is a halogen element; Li2S-P2Ss-Li2O; Li2S-P2Ss-Li2O-Lil; Li2S-SiS2; Li2S- SiS2-Lil; Li2S-SiS2-LiBr; Li2S-SiS2-LiCI; Li2S-SiS2-B2S3-Lil; Li2S-SiS2-P2S-Lil; Li2S-B2S3; Li2S-P2S5-ZmSn, wherein m and n are each a positive number, and Z is one of Ge, Zn, and Ga; Li2S-GeS2; Li2S-SiS2-Li3PO4; Li2S-SiS2-LipMOq, wherein p and q are each a positive number, and M is one of P, Si, Ge, B, AI, Ga, and In; wherein 0<x<2; Li.sub.7−xPS.sub.6−xBr.sub.x, wherein 0<x<2; and Li.sub.7−xPS.sub.6−xI.sub.x, wherein 0≤x≤2, and is an argyrodite-type solid electrolyte, and wherein the argyrodite-type solid electrolyte comprises at least one selected from among Li6PS5Cl, Li2PS5Br, and Li6PS5I, and has a density of about 1.5 g/cc to about 2.0 g/cc (Li2S-SiS2; Li2S-P2S5; [0071]). With respect to claim 13, a dry cathode comprising: a cathode current collector (first positive-electrode mixture layer 12a disposed closer to positive-electrode current collector 11; [0134]; Fig. 1); and the dry cathode film as claimed in claim 1 on at least one surface of the cathode current collector (first positive-electrode mixture layer 12a disposed closer to positive-electrode current collector 11; [0134]; Fig. 1). With respect to claim 15, an all-solid secondary battery ([0001] & [0002]) comprising: a cathode (positive-electrode layer; [0007]); an anode (a negative-electrode layer; [0007] ); and an electrolyte layer between the cathode and the anode (solid-electrolyte layer; [0007]; Fig. 1), wherein the cathode is the dry cathode as claimed in claim 13, and the anode comprises an anode current collector and a first anode active material layer on a surface of the anode current collector (negative-electrode mixture layer 14 formed on negative-electrode current collector 13; [0095]; Fig. 1). With respect to claim 16, the first anode active material layer comprises an anode active material and a binder (binder contained in negative-electrode mixture layer 14; [0098]), and wherein the anode active material is in a form of particles [0102]). With respect to claim 17, the anode active material comprises at least one selected from among a carbon-based anode active material and a metal or metalloid anode active material (negative-electrode active material 3 a metal such as tin, and hard carbon; [0102]), wherein the carbon-based anode active material comprises amorphous carbon, crystalline carbon, porous carbon, or a combination thereof (negative-electrode active material 3 a metal such as tin, and hard carbon; [0102]), and the metal or metalloid anode active material comprises gold, platinum, palladium, silicon, silver, aluminum, bismuth, tin, zinc, or a combination thereof (negative-electrode active material 3 a metal such as tin, and hard carbon; [0102]), and wherein the anode active material comprises a mixture of first particles containing amorphous carbon and second particles containing a metal or metalloid (negative-electrode active material 3 a metal such as tin, and hard carbon; [0102]). With respect to claim 19, the electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte, a gel electrolyte, or a combination thereof, and wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, an oxide-based solid electrolyte, a polymer solid electrolyte, or a combination thereof, and the gel electrolyte comprises a polymer gel electrolyte (sulfide-based solid electrolyte; [0071]).
HORIKAWA does not teach or suggest: the dry cathode active material comprising a composite of Li2S, a lithium salt, and a carbon-based material (claim 1); a ratio of a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer to a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer is in a range of about 9:1 to about 1:9 (claim 3); further comprising at least one third dry cathode active material layer between the first dry cathode active material layer and the second dry cathode active material layer (claim 4); wherein a thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer is different from a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or is different from a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer, and the thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer is either less than or greater than the thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or is either less than or greater the thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer (claim 5); a ratio of a thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer to a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or to a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer is in a range of about 9:1 to about 1:9 (claim 6); the composite of the Li2S, the lithium salt, and the carbon-based material is represented by Li2S —LiaXb —C (wherein 1≤a≤5 and 1≤b≤5), and wherein X is I, Br, Cl, F, H, O, Se, Te, N, P, As, Sb, Al, B, OCl, PF6, BF4, SbF6, AsF6, ClO4, AlO2, AlCl4, NO3, CO3, BH4, SO4, BO3, PO4, NCl, NCl2, BN2, or a combination thereof, a size of a Li2S crystallite obtained from an X-ray diffraction (XRD) spectrum of the composite is 20 nm or less, and the composite comprises a solid solution of the Li2S and the lithium salt (claim 8); the carbon-based material comprises a fibrous carbon-based material, the fibrous carbon-based material comprises carbon nanostructures, the carbon nanostructures comprising carbon nanofibers, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanobelts, carbon nanorods, or a combination thereof, and a content of the carbon-based material is in a range of about 1 wt % to about 20 wt % of a total weight of the composite (claim 9); the dry cathode film is a self-standing film, is free of a residual process solvent, and has a thickness of about 50 μm to about 500 μm (thickness of positive-electrode mixture layer 12 is, for example, preferably in the range of 1 μm to 300 μm inclusive; [0133])and a tensile strength of about 500 kPa to about 5,000 kPa (claim 12); negative-electrode mixture layer having an average particle diameter of 4 μm or less (claim 16); a content of the second particles being in a range of about 1 wt % to about 60 wt % with respect to a total weight of the mixture (claim 17).
LUO teaches that its well known in the at to employ: dry cathode active material comprising a composite of Li2S, a lithium salt, and a carbon-based material (carbon nano tube and lithium salt of benzophenone loaded lithium sulphide composite positive electrode; See the Abstract; claim 1). The material provides improved ion conductivity of the positive electrode, improving the circulation stability of the electrode. See the Abstract.
HORIKAWA and LUO are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating rechargeable lithium batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the dry cathode active material comprising a composite of Li2S, a lithium salt, and a carbon-based material of LUO, in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA, in order to increase ion conductivity and the circulation stability of the positive electrode.
With respect to a ratio of a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer to a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer is in a range of about 9:1 to about 1:9 (claim 3); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the first dry cathode active material component. HORIKAWA teaches the thickness of positive-electrode mixture layer 12 is, for example, preferably in the range of 1 μm to 300 μm. See paragraph [0133]. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to at least one third dry cathode active material layer between the first dry cathode active material layer and the second dry cathode active material layer (claim 4); it would have been obvious to add to the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase capacity of the electrode. Furthermore, duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to a thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer is different from a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or is different from a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer, and the thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer is either less than or greater than the thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or is either less than or greater the thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer (claim 5); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the first dry cathode active material component. HORIKAWA teaches the thickness of positive-electrode mixture layer 12 is, for example, preferably in the range of 1 μm to 300 μm. See paragraph [0133]. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to a ratio of a thickness of the at least one third dry cathode active material layer to a thickness of the first dry cathode active material layer or to a thickness of the second dry cathode active material layer is in a range of about 9:1 to about 1:9 (claim 6); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the first dry cathode active material component. HORIKAWA teaches the thickness of positive-electrode mixture layer 12 is, for example, preferably in the range of 1 μm to 300 μm. See paragraph [0133]. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the composite of the Li2S, the lithium salt, and the carbon-based material is represented by Li2S —LiaXb —C (wherein 1≤a≤5 and 1≤b≤5), and wherein X is I, Br, Cl, F, H, O, Se, Te, N, P, As, Sb, Al, B, OCl, PF6, BF4, SbF6, AsF6, ClO4, AlO2, AlCl4, NO3, CO3, BH4, SO4, BO3, PO4, NCl, NCl2, BN2, or a combination thereof, a size of a Li2S crystallite obtained from an X-ray diffraction (XRD) spectrum of the composite is 20 nm or less, and the composite comprises a solid solution of the Li2S and the lithium salt (claim 8); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase ion conductivity and the circulation stability of the positive electrode. LUO teaches carbon nano tube and lithium salt of benzophenone loaded lithium sulphide composite positive electrode. See the Abstract. HORIKAWA teaches LiI—Li2S—SiS2. See paragraph [0071]. Examiner’s Note: Li2S —LiaXb —C is yielded by the combination of HORIKAWA in view of LUO. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the carbon-based material comprises a fibrous carbon-based material, the fibrous carbon-based material comprises carbon nanostructures, the carbon nanostructures comprising carbon nanofibers, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanobelts, carbon nanorods, or a combination thereof, and a content of the carbon-based material is in a range of about 1 wt % to about 20 wt % of a total weight of the composite (claim 9); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase ion conductivity and the circulation stability of the positive electrode. LUO teaches carbon nano tube and lithium salt of benzophenone loaded lithium sulphide composite positive electrode. See the Abstract. LUO teaches the carbon nano-tube loaded with lithium sulphide, pyromellitic anhydride and N, N-dimethyl formamide is 10: 5 to 7: 30 to 35. See teaching claim 9. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the dry cathode film being a self-standing film, is free of a residual process solvent, and has a thickness of about 50 μm to about 500 μm and a tensile strength of about 500 kPa to about 5,000 kPa (claim 12); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the first dry cathode active material component. HORIKAWA teaches the thickness of positive-electrode mixture layer 12 is, for example, preferably in the range of 1 μm to 300 μm inclusive. See paragraph [0133]. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the negative-electrode mixture layer having an average particle diameter of 4 μm or less (claim 16); it would have been obvious in negative-electrode mixture layer of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, to increase utilization of the electrode. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a content of the second particles being in a range of about 1 wt % to about 60 wt % with respect to a total weight of the mixture (claim 17); it would have been obvious in negative-electrode mixture layer of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, to increase capacity of the electrode. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIKAWA et al. US-20200212499-A1 in view of LUO et al. CN-113488627-A, and further in view of Kwon et al. US-20230187637-A1.
HORIKAWA in view of LUO teach a dry cathode film (the positive-electrode active material include particulate and thin film shapes; [0066]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
HORIKAWA does not teach or suggest: the dry binder comprises a fibrillized binder and a fluorine-based binder, a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the dry binder is in a range of about 15° C. to about 130° C., and a content of the dry binder is in a range of about 0.1 wt % to about 5 wt % with respect to a total weight of the dry cathode film (claim 11).
Kwon teaches that its well known in the at to employ: the dry binder comprises a fibrillized binder and a fluorine-based binder, (The dry binder may be, for example, a fibrillized binder; polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a polyvinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-HFP) copolymer, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) or one or more copolymers thereof; [0050]; claim 11).
HORIKAWA, LUO and Kwon are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating rechargeable lithium batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fibrillized and fluorine-based binders of Kwon, in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase the structural integrity of the electrode material. With respect to a glass transition temperature (Tg) of the dry binder is in a range of about 15° C. to about 130° C; it would be reasonable to expect the binder of HORIKAWA in view of LUO and Kwon, as “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
With respect to a content of the dry binder being in a range of about 0.1 wt % to about 5 wt % with respect to a total weight of the dry cathode film (claim 11); it would have been obvious in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO and Kwon, in order to increase the structural integrity of the electrode material. Kwon teaches the bindr is present in an amount of about 1 wt % to about 10 wt %, or about 1 wt % to about 5 wt %, based on the total weight of the electrode active material layer. See paragraph [0050]. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIKAWA et al. US-20200212499-A1 in view of LUO et al. CN-113488627-A, and further in view of Holme et al. US-20140272564-A1.
HORIKAWA in view of LUO teach a dry cathode film (the positive-electrode active material include particulate and thin film shapes; [0066]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to the dry cathode further comprising an interlayer between the cathode current collector and the dry cathode film, the interlayer comprising a carbon-based conductive material (interlayer 5; HORIKAWA at Fig. 1; claim 14).
HORIKAWA does not teach or suggest: the cathode current collector comprising a base film and a metal layer on at least one surface of the base film, wherein the base film comprises a polymer, the polymer comprising polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene terephthalate, polyimide (PI), or a combination thereof, and the metal layer comprises indium, copper, magnesium, stainless steel, titanium, iron, cobalt, nickel, zinc, aluminum, germanium, lithium, or an alloy thereof (claim 14).
Holme teaches that its well known in the art to employ: a cathode current collector (positive current collector; [0187]), comprising a base film and a metal layer on at least one surface of the base film (the current collector is a polymer substrate such as polyimide, optionally coated with a conductive overlayer such as aluminum, copper, or otherwise; [0187]), wherein the base film comprises a polymer, the polymer comprising polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene terephthalate, polyimide (PI), or a combination thereof (the current collector is a polymer substrate such as polyimide, optionally coated with a conductive overlayer such as aluminum, copper, or otherwise; [0187]), and the metal layer comprises indium, copper, magnesium, stainless steel, titanium, iron, cobalt, nickel, zinc, aluminum, germanium, lithium, or an alloy thereof the current collector is a polymer substrate such as polyimide, optionally coated with a conductive overlayer such as aluminum, copper, or otherwise; [0187] (claim 14).
HORIKAWA, LUO and Holme are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating rechargeable lithium batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the cathode current collector comprising a base film and a metal layer on at least one surface of the base film of Holme, in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase conductivity of the current collector. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIKAWA et al. US-20200212499-A1 in view of LUO et al. CN-113488627-A, and further in view of Li et al. CN 116247277.
HORIKAWA in view of LUO teach a dry cathode film (the positive-electrode active material include particulate and thin film shapes; [0066]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
HORIKAWA does not teach or suggest: a second anode active material layer between the anode current collector and the first anode active material layer or between the anode current collector and the electrolyte layer, wherein the second anode active material layer is a metal layer, the metal layer comprising lithium or a lithium alloy (claim 18).
Li teaches that its well known in the art to employ: a second anode active material layer between the anode current collector and the first anode active material layer or between the anode current collector and the electrolyte layer, wherein the second anode active material layer is a metal layer, the metal layer comprising lithium or a lithium alloy (the negative electrode material comprises one or more of metal lithium, alloy lithium composite metal lithium pre-lithiated silicon-based negative electrode’ Contents of the Invention, paragraph 5; Examiner Note: composites show conventionality of multilayer anode materials including lithium alloys claim 18).
HORIKAWA, LUO and Li are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating rechargeable lithium batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the a second anode active material metal layer comprising lithium or a lithium alloy of Li, in the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to increase conductivity of the anodic material. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIKAWA et al. US-20200212499-A1 in view of LUO et al. CN-113488627-A, and further in view of LEE et al. EP 4086983.
HORIKAWA in view of LUO teach a dry cathode film (the positive-electrode active material include particulate and thin film shapes; [0066]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
HORIKAWA does not teach or suggest: at least one of a first inactive member on one side surface of the cathode or a second inactive member on another surface of the anode current collector opposite the surface of the anode current collector on which the first anode active material layer is disposed, wherein the first inactive member and the second inactive member each comprise a conductive flame-retardant inactive member (claim 20).
LEE teaches that its well known in the art to employ: at least one of a first inactive member on one side surface of the cathode or a second inactive member on another surface of the anode current collector opposite the surface of the anode current collector on which the first anode active material layer is disposed, wherein the first inactive member and the second inactive member each comprise a conductive flame-retardant inactive member (the flame retardant inactive member (40) is around the cathode layer (10); teaching claim 7; claim 20).
HORIKAWA, LUO and LEE are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating rechargeable lithium batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the conductive flame-retardant inactive member of LEE, around the dry cathode film of HORIKAWA in view of LUO, in order to protect the battery from fire. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723