DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. In response to the amendments filed 01/08/2026, claims 1, 12 and 19 were amended and no new claims were canceled and/or added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-10, 11-15 and 18-23 of US Patent No. 11,830,362. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because “predicting at least one ice hazard on a road in a geographic segment of the locations, wherein the predicting of the at least one ice hazard on the road is based at least in part on rain fall detected by one of the vehicles in the geographic segment and a temperature of the geographic segment”, “updating a map to indicate the weather hazard statuses, wherein the update to the map is configured to cause at least one of the plurality of vehicles at a location with a weather hazard status to, based on the update to the map, reduce speed, change a driving mode, or change a configuration of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), or any combination thereof.” and “the operating conditions are related to activation of windshield wipers of the plurality of vehicles” are conventional prior art features and the use of such feature in claims 1-4, 6-10, 11-15 and 18-23 of US Patent No. 11,830,362 would have been obvious (see the analysis in the prior art rejection) and would not have involved a patentable invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velusamy (US 2016/0042644) in view of Raul et al. (Raul; US 2022/0205807) and further in view of Lorenz et al. (Lorenz; US 2020/0066144).
For claim 1, Velusamy discloses a device [Fig. 1], comprising:
at least one processor [E.g. 0018, 0029]; and
memory [E.g. 0026-0027, 0030], storing instructions configured to instruct the at least one processor to:
communicate with a plurality of vehicles to receive data configured to identify locations of the vehicles and operating conditions of the vehicles [E.g. 0009, 0024: a TCU device may provide substantially all of the data relating to the vehicle and its location, motion, or acceleration. The TCU device may collect large amounts of data regarding the vehicle 116 to which it is attached, including: location (GPS, GLONASS), engine status, speed, stops, starts, temperature, acceleration values, nearby Wi-Fi signals, accelerometer data, brake applications, gyroscope sensor information, height information from an altimeter, visual information from a camera communicatively coupled to the TCU device, audio from a microphone, or revolutions per minute (RPM) of the vehicle's engine, for example. Data may be gathered from multiple TCU devices on multiple vehicles, and it should be appreciated that “TCU device” may refer to “one or more TCU devices.” Such data may be gathered anonymously. The data may be gathered in response to a command from user 110. The data may be automatically gathered at regular intervals. The data may be gathered based on remote signals received from conditions server 102. The TCU device may include a number of sensors including an accelerometer, barometer, altimeter, and gyroscope, for example. Sensors within mobile device 130 may similarly include an accelerometer, gyroscope, or GPS sensor, for example; 0025: Exemplary data that may be captured by the TCU device over a period of time includes location (e.g., latitude, longitude and/or altitude), heading (e.g., degrees), weather conditions (e.g., degrees, precipitation), whether the window wipers are on/off, vehicle speed, vehicle status, whether the headlights are on/off, application of brakes, wheel slippage, skidding, sliding, rate of acceleration (measured in g's in the x, y, z directions, for example), pressure values (e.g., kPa), altitude, grade (rate of incline/decline), forces at wheels, use of the vehicle's horn, damping forces, fuel consumption, etc. All or a subset of this data may be used by the conditions server 102 to determine road conditions and generate alerts, 0034, 0036-0038];
determine, from the operating conditions of the vehicles, weather hazard statuses at the locations [0024: a TCU device may provide substantially all of the data relating to the vehicle and its location, motion, or acceleration. The TCU device may collect large amounts of data regarding the vehicle 116 to which it is attached, including: location (GPS, GLONASS), engine status, speed, stops, starts, temperature, acceleration values, nearby Wi-Fi signals, accelerometer data, brake applications, gyroscope sensor information, height information from an altimeter, visual information from a camera communicatively coupled to the TCU device, audio from a microphone, or revolutions per minute (RPM) of the vehicle's engine, for example. Data may be gathered from multiple TCU devices on multiple vehicles, and it should be appreciated that “TCU device” may refer to “one or more TCU devices.” Such data may be gathered anonymously. The data may be gathered in response to a command from user 110. The data may be automatically gathered at regular intervals. The data may be gathered based on remote signals received from conditions server 102. The TCU device may include a number of sensors including an accelerometer, barometer, altimeter, and gyroscope, for example. Sensors within mobile device 130 may similarly include an accelerometer, gyroscope, or GPS sensor, for example; 0025: Exemplary data that may be captured by the TCU device over a period of time includes location (e.g., latitude, longitude and/or altitude), heading (e.g., degrees), weather conditions (e.g., degrees, precipitation), whether the window wipers are on/off, vehicle speed, vehicle status, whether the headlights are on/off, application of brakes, wheel slippage, skidding, sliding, rate of acceleration (measured in g's in the x, y, z directions, for example), pressure values (e.g., kPa), altitude, grade (rate of incline/decline), forces at wheels, use of the vehicle's horn, damping forces, fuel consumption, etc. All or a subset of this data may be used by the conditions server 102 to determine road conditions and generate alerts].
Velusamy fails to expressly disclose wherein a determination of the weather hazard statuses comprises predicting at least one ice hazard on a road in a geographic segment of the locations, wherein the predicting of the at least one ice hazard on the road is based at least in part on rain fall detected by one of the vehicles in the geographic segment and a temperature of the geographic segment.
However, as shown by Raul, it was well known in the art of vehicle collected weather data to include wherein a determination of weather hazard statuses comprises predicting at least one ice hazard on a road in a geographic segment of the locations, wherein the predicting of the at least one ice hazard on the road is based at least in part on rain fall detected by one of the vehicles in the geographic segment and a temperature of the geographic segment [E.g. 0018, 0026, 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle collected weather data before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Velusamy with the teaching of Raul in order to enable vehicles to collect weather data that can affect the driving condition so that a more cautious driving can be performed when necessary and thereby improve the overall safety on the road.
Velusamy in view of Raul fails to expressly disclose update a map to indicate the weather hazard statuses, wherein the update to the map is configured to cause at least one of the plurality of vehicles at a location with a weather hazard status to, based on the update to the map, reduce speed, increase a following distance to another vehicle, change a driving mode, or change a configuration of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), or any combination thereof.
However, as shown by Lorenz, it was well known in the art of vehicle collected weather data to include update a map to indicate the weather hazard statuses [E.g. 0043, 0063-0064, 0069, 0094], wherein the update to the map is configured to cause at least one of the plurality of vehicles at a location with a weather hazard status to, based on the update to the map, reduce speed [E.g. 0078], increase a following distance to another vehicle, change a driving mode, or change a configuration of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle collected weather data before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Velusamy in view of Raul with the teaching of Lorenz in order to enable transmitting weather data that can affect the driving condition to vehicles on the road so that the vehicles are driven accordingly and thereby improve the overall traffic and safety on the road.
For claim 2, Velusamy discloses an interface configured to send a communication to a vehicle in a geographic segment that contains the locations, the communication configured to identify the weather hazard statuses [E.g. 0025-0026, 0034-0040, 0064].
For claim 3, Velusamy discloses wherein the interface is further configured to receive the data configured to identify the locations of the vehicles and the operating conditions of the vehicles [E.g. 0025-0026, 0034-0040, 0064].
For claim 4, Velusamy discloses wherein the operating conditions are related to activation of windshield wipers of the plurality of vehicles [E.g. 0025: Exemplary data that may be captured by the TCU device over a period of time includes location (e.g., latitude, longitude and/or altitude), heading (e.g., degrees), weather conditions (e.g., degrees, precipitation), whether the window wipers are on/off, vehicle speed, vehicle status, whether the headlights are on/off, application of brakes, wheel slippage, skidding, sliding, rate of acceleration (measured in g's in the x, y, z directions, for example), pressure values (e.g., kPa), altitude, grade (rate of incline/decline), forces at wheels, use of the vehicle's horn, damping forces, fuel consumption, etc. All or a subset of this data may be used by the conditions server 102 to determine road conditions and generate alerts].
For claim 5, Velusamy in view of Raul further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive information indicative of temperatures in the geographic segment; and the weather hazard statuses are determined based at least in part on the temperatures and the operating conditions that are indicative of rain at the locations [E.g. Raul, 0018, 0026, 0044].
For claim 6, Velusamy in view of Raul further teaches wherein the information indicative of temperatures in the geographic segment is received from the plurality of vehicles [E.g. Raul, 0018, 0026, 0044].
For claim 7, Velusamy in view of Raul further teaches wherein the weather hazard statuses relate to ice hazards [E.g. Raul, 0018, 0026, 0044].
For claim 8, Velusamy in view of Raul further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to predict the ice hazards based on rain fall in the geographic segment, indicated by the operating conditions of the vehicles, and temperatures in the geographic segment [E.g. Raul, 0018, 0026, 0044].
For claim 9, Velusamy in view of Raul and Lorenz further teaches wherein the communication is configured to cause the vehicle to reduce speed [E.g. Lorenz; 0078], change a route, change a driving mode, increase a following distance to another vehicle, or change a configuration of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), or any combination thereof.
For claim 10, Velusamy discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to predict entry of the vehicle into the geographic segment; and the communication is sent in response a prediction of the entry of the vehicle into the geographic segment [E.g. 0009, 0035-0040, 0063-0064].
For claim 11, Velusamy discloses wherein the processing device is further configured to determine a location of the vehicle being in the geographic segment; and the communication is sent in response to the location of the vehicle being determined to be in the geographic segment [E.g. 0009, 0035-0040, 0063-0064].
For claim 12, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 13, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 2.
For claim 14, Velusamy discloses wherein the operating conditions are related to activation of windshield wipers of the plurality of vehicles [E.g. 0025].
Velusamy fails to expressly disclose receiving, in the computing device, information indicative of temperatures in the geographic segment; wherein the weather hazard statuses are determined based at least in part on the temperatures and the operating conditions that are indicative of rain at the locations.
However, as shown by Raul, it was well known in the art of vehicle collected weather data to include receiving, in a computing device, information indicative of temperatures in geographic segment; wherein weather hazard statuses are determined based at least in part on the temperatures and the operating conditions that are indicative of rain at the locations [E.g. 0018, 0026, 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle collected weather data before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Velusamy with the teaching of Raul in order to enable vehicles to collect weather data that can affect the driving condition so that a more cautious driving can be performed when necessary and thereby improve the overall safety on the road.
For claim 15, Velusamy in view of Raul further teaches wherein the weather hazard statuses relate to ice hazards; and the method further comprises: predicting, by the computing device, the ice hazards based on rain fall in the geographic segment, indicated by the operating conditions of the vehicles, and temperatures in the geographic segment [E.g. Raul, 0018, 0026, 0044].
For claim 16, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 9.
For claim 17, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 10.
For claim 18, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 11.
For claim 19, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 20, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 4.
Response to Remarks
6. The Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689