DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 13, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed multifunctional hard layers and multifunctional layers must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Namely, claim 1 appears to claim a multifunctional hard layer 2 and multifunctional layer 3 on each side of lens base 1. However, this is not accurately reflected in the Figures and in particular Figure 1 has only one multifunctional hard layer and one multifunctional layer labeled. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalyankar et al. (US 2024/0402394 A1) in view of Han (CN 112147786, of which an English translation is attached).
In regard to claim 1, Kalyankar et al. discloses a multifunctional resin lens 66 (denoted “supplemental lens”, see e.g. Figures 4-5 and paragraph [0049]) for AR glasses (see e.g. paragraph [0027] for AR) capable of correcting vision (see e.g. paragraph [0049] where it is noted lens 66 may match a user’s prescription), comprising (see e.g. Figures 4-5):
a lens base 78 (denoted “substrate”, see e.g. Figure 5 and paragraph [0051]),
wherein multifunctional hard layers 80 (denoted “hard coats”, see e.g. Figure 5 and paragraph [0051]) are disposed on both upper and lower end faces of the lens base 78 (see e.g. Figure 5 and note layer 80 is on both sides of element 78);
a multifunctional film layer 82 and/or 84 (see e.g. Figure 5 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] for antireflection coatings 82 and environmental layers 84) is disposed on the other side of each of the multifunctional hard layers 80 (see e.g. Figure 5 and note layers 82 and 84 are disposed layers 80);
the lens 66 consisting of the lens base 78, the multifunctional hard layers 80, and the multifunctional film layers 82 and/or 84 is a structure having a flat upper end face and a curved lower end face (see e.g. Figure 5 where one side of the lens 66 is flat and the other is curved).
Kalyankar et al. fails to disclose
an optical waveguide sheet is disposed on the upper multifunctional film layer of the lens base.
However, Han discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
an optical waveguide sheet 2 (denoted “waveguide substrate”, see e.g. page 4, fifth full paragraph and Figure 1) is disposed on the upper portion of the lens base 5 (denoted “myopia adjusting optical element”, see e.g. page 4, fifth full paragraph and Figure 1).
Given the teachings of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kalyankar et al. with an optical waveguide sheet is disposed on the upper multifunctional film layer of the lens base.
Combining the lens structure integrally with a waveguide structure allows for the augmented reality system to be reduced in size (see e.g. abstract of Han).
In regard to claim 4, Kalyankar et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the multifunctional film layer 82 and/or 84 comprises any one or more of a light anti-reflection film (see e.g. paragraph [0052] for antireflective coating), an anti-electromagnetic radiation film, a waterproof film, and an anti-fog film (see e.g. paragraph [0053]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalyankar et al. (US 2024/0402394 A1) in view of Han (CN 112147786) and further in view of Mai et al. (US 2021/0223574 A1).
In regard to claim 2, Kalyankar et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
a material of the lens base 78 includes any one of acrylate, polyurethane, polycarbonate, and allyl carbonate (see e.g. paragraph [0051] for polycarbonate).
Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, fails to disclose
wherein the lens base is a multifunctional resin base, the multifunctional resin base comprises any one or more of an anti-blue light base, a color change base, a dyeable base, and an anti-infrared light base.
However, Mai et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1a):
wherein the lens base 1 (denoted “eyeglass lens”, see e.g. paragraph [0019] and Figure 1a) is a multifunctional resin base (see e.g. paragraphs [0008], [0025]-[0026] for resin base), the multifunctional resin base comprises any one or more of an anti-blue light base, a color change base, a dyeable base, and an anti-infrared light base (see e.g. Figure 1a and paragraph [0019] for incorporation of blue light blocking material into the base).
Given the teachings of Mai et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, with wherein the lens base is a multifunctional resin base, the multifunctional resin base comprises any one or more of an anti-blue light base, a color change base, a dyeable base, and an anti-infrared light base.
Providing blue light blocking capability to the lens base prevents unwanted blue light from reaching the user.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalyankar et al. (US 2024/0402394 A1) in view of Han (CN 112147786) and further in view of Ito et al. (US 2005/0046792 A1).
In regard to claim 3, Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the multifunctional hard layers comprises one or more of an anti-scratch hardened layer, an anti-impact hardened layer, and a dyeable hardened layer.
However, Ito et al. discloses
wherein the multifunctional hard layers comprises one or more of an anti-scratch hardened layer, an anti-impact hardened layer, and a dyeable hardened layer (see e.g. paragraphs [0103] and [0127] for anti-scratch properties).
Given the teachings of Ito et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, with wherein the multifunctional hard layers comprises one or more of an anti-scratch hardened layer, an anti-impact hardened layer, and a dyeable hardened layer.
Providing a hard coating layer that reduced scratches would prevent unwanted damage that may be detrimental to a viewer’s vision.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalyankar et al. (US 2024/0402394 A1) in view of Han (CN 112147786) and further in view of Jenkins et al. (US 2024/0369839 A1).
In regard to claim 5¸ Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the optical waveguide sheet is adhered using an OCA, and an adhesive thickness of the optical waveguide sheet is less than 200 microns.
However, Jenkins et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 4):
wherein the optical waveguide sheet 404 (denoted “substrate”, see e.g. paragraph [0033]) is adhered using an OCA 406 (see e.g. paragraph [0033]), and an adhesive thickness of the optical waveguide sheet is less than 200 microns (see e.g. paragraph [0035] for thickness of 50-100 microns, which falls within applicant’s claimed range).
Given the teachings of Jenkins et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kalyankar et al., in view of Han, with wherein the optical waveguide sheet is adhered using an OCA, and an adhesive thickness of the optical waveguide sheet is less than 200 microns.
Providing an optically clear adhesive (OSA) as the adhesive for adhering the materials would prevent unwanted detrimental optical effects due to the high clarity of those materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference is cited for disclosing related limitations of the applicant’s claimed and disclosed invention: Tomoda et al. (US 2014/0347625 A1).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871