DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-9, 27) in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-16, 28 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term "a subject" in line 2. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same or different than the previously-recited subject of the preamble. For the purposes of examination, the term "a subject" is deemed to claim "the subject".
Claim 1 recites the term "the blood pressure" in lines 6 - 7. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same or different than the previously-recited blood pressure level. For the purposes of examination, the term "the blood pressure" is deemed to claim "the blood pressure level".
Claim 1 recites the term "an autoregulation function state of the subject" in lines 11 - 12. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same or different than the subject's autoregulation state recited in the preamble. For the purposes of examination, the term "an autoregulation function state of the subject" is deemed to claim "the autoregulation function state of the subject."
Claim 6 (line 1), recite "wherein the step of determining". There is no previously-recited named "step". For the purposes of examination, the term "wherein the step of determining" is deemed to claim "wherein determining."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) continuously sensing a tissue region of a subject with a tissue oximeter during a period of time, the sensing producing first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter; continuously measuring a blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time using a blood pressure sensing device, the measuring producing second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject; evaluating the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter using the first signals and the blood pressure level of the subject using the second signals, relative to one another; producing a recent profile of autoregulation data representative of the evaluated said at least one tissue oxygenation parameter and said blood pressure level relative to one another using said first signals and said second signals from a recent portion of the period of time; producing a historical profile of autoregulation data representative of the evaluated said at least one tissue oxygenation parameter and said blood pressure level relative to one another using said first signals and said second signals from a historical portion of the period of time, wherein the historical portion of the period of time is longer than the recent portion of the period of time, and the historical profile of autoregulation data is independent of the recent profile of autoregulation data. The above-identified abstract ideas in each of Independent Claim 1 (and their respective Dependent Claims) are not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified in Claims 1-9, 27), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract ideas to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: "tissue oximeter", "blood pressure sensing device", "near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter", "one or more sensors", "at least one light source", "at least one near detector", "at least one far detector". Additional elements recited include "tissue oximeter", "blood pressure sensing device", "near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter", "one or more sensors", "at least one light source", "at least one near detector", and "at least one far detector". These components are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a tissue oximeter performing a generic function of measuring an oxygenation parameter (the sensing). These generic hardware component limitations for "tissue oximeter", "blood pressure sensing device", "near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter", "one or more sensors", "at least one light source", "at least one near detector", and "at least one far detector" are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and hardware components. As such, these additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
these elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception a using generic computer and hardware components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim(s) is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using "tissue oximeter", "blood pressure sensing device", "near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter", "one or more sensors", "at least one light source", "at least one near detector", "at least one far detector". Additional elements recited include "tissue oximeter", "blood pressure sensing device", "near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter", "one or more sensors", "at least one light source", "at least one near detector", and "at least one far detector" amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic hardware and a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic hardware and a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim(s) is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montgomery et al. (USPN 2016/0345913).
Regarding claims 1, 9, Montgomery et al. discloses a method for providing information regarding a subject's autoregulation function state, comprising: continuously sensing a tissue region of a subject with a tissue oximeter during a period of time, the sensing producing first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter ([0032]-[0034], oxygen saturation measurements derived from the oxygen saturation values 44, figure 2A); continuously measuring a blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time using a blood pressure sensing device, the measuring producing second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject ([0032]-[0034], blood pressure measurements derived from the blood pressure values 48, figure 2B); evaluating the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter using the first signals and the blood pressure level of the subject using the second signals, relative to one another ([0027]-[0028]); producing a recent profile of autoregulation data representative of the evaluated said at least one tissue oxygenation parameter and said blood pressure level relative to one another using said first signals and said second signals from a recent portion of the period of time ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037]); producing a historical profile of autoregulation data representative of the evaluated said at least one tissue oxygenation parameter and said blood pressure level relative to one another using said first signals and said second signals from a historical portion of the period of time, wherein the historical portion of the period of time is longer than the recent portion of the period of time, and the historical profile of autoregulation data is independent of the recent profile of autoregulation data ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Montgomery et al. discloses the historical portion of the period of time extends an entirety of the period of time ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Montgomery et al. discloses the historical portion of the period of time extends less than an entirety of the period of time by an amount substantially equal to the recent portion of the period of time ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Montgomery et al. discloses the period of time extends between a first point in time T1 and a second point in time T2, wherein the second point in time is later that the first point in time T1;wherein the recent profile of autoregulation data is produced using said first signals and said second signals from the recent portion of the period of time, the recent portion of the period of time extending between the second point in time T2 and a third point in time T3, wherein the third point in time is earlier than second point in time T2 and later than the first point in time T1; and wherein the historical profile of autoregulation data is produced using said first signals and said second signals from the historical portion of the period of time, the historical portion of the period of time extending between the first point in time T1 and the third point in time T3 ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Montgomery et al. discloses the period of time extends between the first point in time T1 and a new second point in time NT2, and the new second point in time NT2 is later that the second point in time T2; and updating the historical profile using the recent profile of autoregulation data; and producing a new recent profile of autoregulation data representative of the evaluated said at least one tissue oxygenation parameter and said blood pressure level relative to one another using said first signals and said second signals from a new recent portion of the period of time, the new recent portion of the period of time extending between the new second point in time NT2 and the second point in time T2 ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Montgomery et al. discloses the step of evaluating the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter using the first signals and the blood pressure level of the subject using the second signals, relative to one another includes:determining frequency domain tissue oxygen parameter values by performing a first frequency domain transformation of the first signals; determining frequency domain blood pressure values by performing a second frequency domain transformation of the second signals; and determining coherence (COHZ) values indicative of the subject's autoregulation state using the frequency domain tissue oxygen parameter values and the frequency domain blood pressure values ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Montgomery et al. discloses both the recent profile of autoregulation data and the historical profile of autoregulation data include the COHZ values as a function of the blood pressure level ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Montgomery et al. discloses displaying the historical profile and the recent profile together ([0027]-[0028], [0034], [0037], figure 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 27 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/513,075 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the Patent. As, such, any invention meeting the limitations of the claims of the Patent would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARJAN FARDANESH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791