DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed August 13, 2026. Currently, claims 1-15, 17-20 are pending. Claims 8-10, 14, 18-20 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, and a combination of TBX6 gene deletion and hypomorphic haplotype mutations of two SNP sites and microdeletion 0.6Mb in the paper filed August 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to
The application also claims priority to two foreign applications CN 201410284657 and 201410572962, filed June 24, 2014 and October 24, 2014 respectively. It is noted that a translation of the foreign document has not been received.
The instant application is a CIP. The newly added limitations of performing surgical intervention is not part of the original applications. Thus, the instant claims are entitled to the benefit of October 26, 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7, 11-13, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A) The claims are directed to a method of treating a subject with congenital scoliosis by determining whether the subject has a mutation and performing surgical intervention on the patient. “The patient” in the final step of the method appears to refer back to only subjects who have a TBX6 associated congenital scoliosis (TACS). However, the preamble is directed to treating a subject. Thus it is unclear if the patient and the subject are the same. Merely changing “the patient” to “the subject” will not clarify because then it will be confusing whether all subjects are treated or only TACS subjects. Clarification is required.
B) Claim 13 is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires performing QPCR with all six of the recited primers. It is unclear whether the primers consist of SEQ ID NO: 1-6 or the primers may be longer than the recited primers, i.e. comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-6. The language “the sequences of the primers are as follows:” is not clear. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Frontiers in Medicine, Vol. 9, No. 941468, August 11, 2022).
Zhang teaches a method for determining whether a subject has a mutation in TBX6 gene by genotyping and molecularly diagnosing TACS (abstract). Zhang teaches the clinical characteristics and surgical treatment options were collected and surgery was performed and postoperative prognoses was followed (abstract). Zhang teaches eight patients were molecularly diagnosed with TACS and the patients receive posterior hemivertebra resection combined with segmental fusion, a surgical intervention (abstract)(limitations of Claim 17). Zhang teaches performing exon sequencing from peripheral blood samples (page 2, col. 2)(limitations of Claims 11-12). Zhang teaches rs3809624 and rs3809627 were haplotyped and sequenced (page 3, col. 2).
Zhang also teaches detecting 16p11.2 deletions in 4 patients as well as nonsense mutations and frameshifts (limitations of Claim 5).
Zhang teaches that TBX6 deletions are microdeletions of about 0.6 Mb in length (limitations of Claim 6). Patients 2-5 have 16p11.2 deletions and C-A haplotypes (limitations of Claim 7)(Table 1).
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Am. College of Medical Genetics and Genomics, Vol. 21, No. 7, pages 1548-1558, July 2019).
Liu teaches TBX6-associated congenital scoliosis (TACS) as a subtype of congenital scoliosis. Liu teaches determining the genotype in patients for TBX6 genotypes. Liu teaches developing a TACScore (abstract) to assist in clinical recognition of TBX6-associated CS. Liu teaches performing genetic analysis on subjects to detect 16p11.2 deletions as well as TBX6 gene and its upstream regions (page 1549, col. 2). Liu teaches patients with deletion CNV results in deletion of 0.6Mb 16p11.2 deletion CNV (page 1556, col. 2).
In a particular case Liu teaches patient XH101 was diagnosed as having CS with an L2 hemivertebra at 3 years of age, and molecular testing indicated that she had a frameshift variant in TBX6 with the in trans T-C-A risk haplotype. The TACS diagnosis was made by integrating the molecular testing and clinical phenotypes (page 1556, col. 2). Liu teaches performing L2 hemivertebra resection with short segment internal fixation and removed the instrument at 3 years post operation when she had a balanced spine (page 1556, col. 2). Thus Liu teaches each limitation of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Frontiers in Medicine, Vol. 9, No. 941468, August 11, 2022) in view of Wu et al. (US 2017/0226584, August 2017).
Zhang teaches a method for determining whether a subject has a mutation in TBX6 gene by genotyping and molecularly diagnosing TACS (abstract). Zhang teaches the clinical characteristics and surgical treatment options were collected and surgery was performed and postoperative prognoses was followed (abstract). Zhang teaches eight patients were molecularly diagnosed with TACS and the patients receive posterior hemivertebra resection combined with segmental fusion, a surgical intervention (abstract)(limitations of Claim 17). Zhang teaches performing exon sequencing from peripheral blood samples (page 2, col. 2)(limitations of Claims 11-12). Zhang teaches rs3809624 and rs3809627 were haplotyped and sequenced (page 3, col. 2).
Zhang also teaches detecting 16p11.2 deletions in 4 patients as well as nonsense mutations and frameshifts (limitations of Claim 5).
Zhang teaches that TBX6 deletions are microdeletions of about 0.6 Mb in length (limitations of Claim 6). Patients 2-5 have 16p11.2 deletions and C-A haplotypes (limitations of Claim 7)(Table 1).
Zhang does not teach primers for amplifying the 16p11.2 deletion in TBX6.
However, Wu teaches primers for amplifying microdeletions in 16p11.2 for diagnosis. Wu teaches SEQ ID NO: 1-6 of the instant application.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used known primers of SEQ ID NO: 1-6 for amplifying the TBX6 microdeletions of 0.6Mb taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have used known primers taught in the art.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khalchitsky et al. (Pediatric Traumatology, Orthopaedics and Reconstructive Surgery, Vol. 9, No. 3, 2021) teaches a review of the TBX6 gene on the development of congenital spinal deformities in children.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682 October 27, 2026