DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in the current application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a size adjusting means that changes a back length of the harness main body in a plurality of stages”. The examiner interprets size adjusting means to include a releasably coupled two-part harness (#50 back plate and #60 center panel) and a series of vertically aligned indexing holes 58a-58e and 59a-59c on back plate #50 and corresponding vertically aligned indexing holes 63a, 63b and 65a, 65b and 68a, 68b in center panel 60 that allow the back plate 50 and center panel 60 to be vertically adjusted as shown in Fig.7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka, US 5363790. Matsuoka discloses a buoyancy compensator jacket having an up-down direction, a width direction, and a front-rear direction intersecting one another (see Figs. 1 and 3), and comprising a harness (3 parts #22, #63 & #71) for fastening an air cylinder, the harness including shoulder belts #26a, #26b, a harness main body #22 disposed to face a back side of a diver, and a size adjusting means #44, #45 that adjusts the effective length of the harness in a plurality of stages. The examiner considers the size adjusting means to be the adjustable positions of coupler plates 63 and 71 on the harness main body body #22 through indexing holes #47 (See Fig. 3). Matsuoka does not disclose that the size adjusting means changes a back length of the harness main body. The examiner contends that the apparatus of Matsuoka achieves identical fitment of the buoyancy compensator as the current invention by changing the “effective back length” to accommodate users of different sizes. Applicants size adjusting means allow vertical separation of back plate #50 (including shoulder straps #11) from center plate #60 (includes waist fastening means 40) allowing the position of the shoulder straps to move with respect to the waist fastening means.
Matsuoka achieves the same vertical separation of shoulder straps and waist fastening means by vertically moving coupler plate #71 (includes shoulder straps #26) away from coupler plate #63 which includes waist straps #24.
Regarding claim 2: Matsuoka discloses waist belts #24 and a lower back pad #31, wherein the waist fastening means and the harness main body #22 are separated bodies and the waist fastening means moves in the up-down direction by a sliding mechanism (see Fig. 4 and Column 2, lines 47-56; Column 5 lines 36-55).
Regarding claim 3: the examiner considers the main harness of Matsuoka to include parts #22, #63 & #71. Part #22 being the back plate and part #71 being a center panel releasably coupled to the back plate.
Regarding claim 4: The examiner considers the waist belts #24 as connected to the harness main body #22 and to constitute rotatable side panels that are coupled with the shoulder belts (See Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5: The examiner considers the side panels #24 to constitute weight means, in that weights can be attached to the waist belt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the apparatus of Matsuoka and the corresponding size adjusting means to allow size adjustment of the buoyancy compensator to accommodate varying sizes of users. Doing so achieves the same results of the current invention with a slightly varied size adjusting means comprising three releasably coupled parts instead of tow releasably coupled parts to achieve the same effect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5562513 discloses a buoyancy compensator device including an adjustable harness. US 6477709 discloses a buoyancy compensator jacket including a back plate and cushion pad.
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615