DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 2/24/26 and 3/16/26 have been entered. Claims 1-20 and 22-26 remain pending in the application. Claim(s) 1-5, 20, and 22-26 have been withdrawn. Claim(s) 21 has been canceled. Applicant's amendments to the claims and specification have overcome the 112(a)&(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 11/24/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/12/26, 2/11/26, and 5/20/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parenthesis. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozbaysal et al. (US 20220136395 A1), previously cited, in view of Kaiser et al. (EP 2450471 A1), as machine translated.
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 14, Ozbaysal teaches “a method of repairing a component includes removing a damaged portion from the component to leave a first interface surface that is defined by a continuous curve” (which reads upon “a method of repairing a component, the method comprising: removing a to-be-replaced region from a dense base region of the component leaving a first surface on the dense base region”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0005]). Ozbaysal teaches that “in order to repair the blade 30, the damaged portion of the tip 120 is first removed” (paragraph [0073]). Ozbaysal teaches that “the micro-dispensing AM system is then operated to dispense the mixture in a series of layers that define the desired shape of the PSP (step 515) (e.g., replacement piece 250, PSP interface component 290, etc.” (which reads upon “additively manufacturing a porous region on one of the first surface of the dense base region and a second surface of a dense replacement region, the additively manufacturing a porous region further including: forming the first location as a respective first layer of the porous region, the second location as a respective second layer of the porous region, and the third location as a respective third layer of the porous region; and forming the second layer between the first and third layers”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon “wherein the additive manufacturing includes forming the porous region on the second surface of the dense replacement region, and the positioning includes positioning the porous region on the first surface of the dense base region”, as recited in instant claim 10; paragraph [0075]). Ozbaysal teaches that “the heating or sintering step does not melt the base material 66 and leaves at least eighty percent of the volume of the skeleton 85, 90 as base material 66, thereby leaving no more than twenty percent of the skeleton 85, 90 as empty space 68, this is referred to herein as twenty percent porosity or less, and that the amount of binder 67 used, and the sintering temperature are selected to arrive at less than twenty percent porosity and preferably between five percent and twenty percent porosity” (which reads upon “the porous region having a porosity between 2% to 50% open space volume to total volume of the porous region”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0048]). Ozbaysal teaches “to join the replacement tip 140 to the blade 30 being repaired as illustrated in FIG. 19” (which reads upon “positioning the dense replacement region and the dense base region together with the porous region therebetween including: positioning the first layer in contact with the one of the first surface of the dense base region and the second surface of the dense replacement region; positioning the third layer in contact with the other of the first surface of the dense base region and the second surface of the dense replacement region; and maintaining the second layer position between and in contact with the first layer and the third layer, thereby maintaining the second layer separated from the first surface of the dense base region and the second surface of the dense replacement region by respective ones of the first and third layers”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0078]). Ozbaysal teaches that “once the micro-dispensing AM process is completed, the component is removed from the device and is heated to a temperature less than 500 degrees C but hot enough to remove the binder from the component” (paragraph [0108]). Ozbaysal teaches that “the various heating processes described above are then performed, and that during the liquid-phase sintering process, the braze melts and infiltrates the base metal powder of the component” (which reads upon “infiltrating the porous region with a braze material to couple the dense base region, the dense replacement region, and the porous region together”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0113]).
Ozbaysal teaches that “the micro-dispensing AM system is then operated to dispense the mixture in a series of layers that define the desired shape of the PSP (step 515) (e.g., replacement piece 250, PSP interface component 290, etc.” (paragraph [0075]). Ozbaysal is silent regarding a distinct porous region. Ozbaysal is silent regarding wherein the porosity is higher in a first location in the porous region than at a second location in the porous region, and further wherein the porosity is higher at a third location in the porous region than at the second location. Ozbaysal teaches “a system and method for repairing high-temperature gas turbine components” (paragraph [0001]).
Kaiser is similarly concerned with depressions from hollowed-out cracks or larger cracks are filled and repaired using laser welding processes (paragraph [0002]). Kaiser teaches that “the heat input is often too great and cracks form on the connection surface” (paragraph [0002]). Kaiser teaches that “soldering processes can also be used, however the strength of the solder or the bond between the solder material and the substrate is not always sufficient” (paragraph [0003]). Kaiser teaches that the purpose of the invention is to solve the problems by use of the methods of the claims (paragraphs [0004]-[0006]). Kaiser teaches that “the substrate 1 is preferably used for a turbine blade 120, 130 or a combustion chamber or an element 155 of a combustion chamber, these being suitable for use in a steam or gas turbine” (paragraph [0010]). Kaiser teaches that “in a first step, a porous structure 10 is preferably created by means of a rapid prototyping process, preferably directly on the substrate 1 or directly in the depression 7” (which reads upon “additively manufacturing a porous region on one of the first surface of the dense base region and a second surface of a dense replacement region”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0012]; rapid prototyping reads on additively manufacturing). Kaiser teaches that “this process is continued layer by layer until the desired height is reached” (which reads upon “layers”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0013]). Kaiser teaches that “the porous structure 10 can be formed arbitrarily, as is also used in known prior art methods to create porous structures, wherein the porosity is an open porosity, but can exhibit gradients in its shape and distribution in any direction” (which reads upon “wherein the porosity is higher in a first location in the porous region than at a second location in the porous region, and further wherein the porosity is higher at a third location in the porous region than at the second location, the additively manufacturing a porous region further including forming the first location as a respective first layer of the porous region, the second location as a respective second layer of the porous region, and the third location as a respective third layer of the porous region”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads on claim 14; paragraph [0015]). Kaiser teaches that “after the porous structure 10 is created and connected to the substrate, a solder material 13 is preferably applied (Figure 3) and, through heat treatment, the liquid solder material 13 penetrates the porous structure 10 and forms a volume 16 that fills the depression 7” (which reads upon “infiltrating the porous region with a braze material to couple the dense base region, the dense replacement region, and the porous region together”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porous structure of Ozbaysal to include gradients in the porosity such that the outer layers (top and bottom layers) are more porous, as taught by Kaiser to increase bond adhesion by controlling the amount of braze infiltration in the top and bottom (bonding) layers.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Ozbaysal FIGs. 17-19 show the claimed limitations
Regarding claims 8 and 11, modified Ozbaysal teaches the methods of claims 6 and 10 as stated above. Kaiser teaches that “the porous structure 10 can be formed arbitrarily, as is also used in known prior art methods to create porous structures, wherein the porosity is an open porosity, but can exhibit gradients in its shape and distribution in any direction” (paragraph [0015]). Gradients in the porosity such that the outer layers (top and bottom layers) are more porous reads on wherein the porosity is higher in a first location in the porous region than at a second location in the porous region, and further wherein the porosity is higher at a third location in the porous region than at the second location. More braze material will infiltrate into the porous region at the first location than at the second location, because the porosity is higher.
Regarding claims 9 and 12, modified Ozbaysal teaches the methods of claims 6 and 10 as stated above. Ozbaysal teaches that “attachment structures 110 such as pins 145, illustrated in FIG. 17, can be used to enhance the mechanical connection between the replacement tip 140 and the remainder of the blade 30 being repaired, and of course, other features such as protrusions, apertures, bosses, etc. can be used as attachment structures 110” (paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Ozbaysal teaches “removing the binder from the desired shape, solid-state sintering the desired shape to form a replacement piece having a second interface surface that is defined by the continuous curve, and attaching the second interface surface to the first interface surface to replace the damaged portion of the component” (paragraph [0005]; desired shape reads on wherein the porous region and the dense replacement region collectively have a shape and dimensions of the to-be-replaced region).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Ozbaysal teaches that “the finished component having less than 1 percent porosity by volume” (paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Ozbaysal teaches that “any cooling holes 285 or other internal features (e.g., ribs, etc.) are typically preformed in the replacement piece 250 before it is attached to the vane 265” (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Ozbaysal teaches that “additive manufacturing can be relied upon to manufacture replacement components or replacement tips 170 with brazing processes and special braze materials enhancing the operation of the repaired vane or blade 155” (paragraph [0084]). Ozbaysal teaches that “during the brazing process, braze material in the initial layer or layers of the replacement tip 170 facilitates the completion of the braze joint and the attachment of the replacement tip 170” (paragraph [0096]). Ozbaysal discusses brazing generally, but fails to explicitly state using vacuum brazing, induction brazing, or inert gas atmosphere heating. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01. Here, vacuum brazing, induction brazing, or inert gas atmosphere heating are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brazing of Ozbaysal to use vacuum brazing, induction brazing, or inert gas atmosphere heating, because these are well known in the art. Vacuum brazing or inert gas atmosphere heating, for example, reduce unwanted reactions of the heated metal with elements in the atmosphere.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Ozbaysal teaches the method of claim 6 as stated above. Kaiser teaches that “the porous structure 10 can be formed arbitrarily, as is also used in known prior art methods to create porous structures, wherein the porosity is an open porosity, but can exhibit gradients in its shape and distribution in any direction” (paragraph [0015]). Kaiser teaches that “this involves the use of a preferably laser or electron beam” (paragraph [0012]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when 3D printing the porosity is adjusted by adjusting a parameter of the system, such as adjusting an amount of overlap of a melting area of the one or more melting beam sources, adjusting scanning speed, or adjusting at least one of melting beam spot size, to control the porosity of the porous region. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the language of the claim prior to this amendment was interpreted as not excluding one location from spanning multiple layers, and to that end, the claim as it now reads specifically recites that each location is formed as a respective layer of the porous region (remarks, page 14). This amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q3: 6/22-6/26/26; Q4: 9/21-9/30/26.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733