DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the reply filed on 12/30/2025. Claims 1-3,5-6,8,10 and 14-20 are pending.
Prior Art Relied Upon
This action references the following issued US Patents and/or Patent Application Publications:
US PATENT or PUBLICATION NUMBER
HEREINAFTER
US-20170297699-A1
“ALBER”
US-20210387741-A1
“TAMIR”
US-20170129617-A1
“SHAH”
US-20200361601-A1
“MIKIC”
*Effectively filed date of 03/26/2020
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALBER in view of TAMIR.
Re Claim 1, ALBER teaches an aircraft (Figure 3) having a computing system (flight control computer, ¶0033) which cause the computing system to:
generate a control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of a first operating point and [commanded operating point for 12, 14] a second operating point [commanded operating point for 13, 15] (¶¶0035-0036); and
operate the aircraft by rotating a plurality of fans of a suction fan array [12, 14] and a plurality of fans of a pressure fan array [13, 15] through one or more controllable devices (¶¶0034-0036), the plurality of fans of the suction fan array and the plurality of fans the pressure fan array each being mounted to a wing 30 of the aircraft (¶0010, ¶0032), the plurality of fans of the suction fan array being positioned primarily above a top surface of the wing and the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below a bottom surface of the wing (Figure 3), wherein at least one fan in one of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array [13 or 15] is positioned between two fans in the other of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array on the wing (Figure 3), and wherein operating the aircraft comprises operating the aircraft in a takeoff operating mode, a climb operating mode, or both (¶¶0035-0036); and
wherein operating the aircraft comprises operating the plurality of fans of the suction fan array and the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array to decrease a pressure above the wing and increase a lift on the wing while operating the aircraft in the takeoff operating mode, the climb operating mode, or both (generates thrust/lift, ¶¶0028, 0031- 0035 – see also NOTE 1),
wherein decreasing the pressure above the wing and increasing the lift on the wing comprises adjusting the operation of the plurality of fans of the suction fan array of the aircraft to the first operating point and adjusting the operation of the plurality of fans the pressure fan array of the aircraft to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command (collective and differential thrust commands, cyclical commands for the respective fans; ¶¶0035-0036 – See also NOTE 1 and ¶¶0028, 0031-0033). NOTE 1 - One of ordinary skill will appreciate lift is generated by the wing and lift is controlled by differential thrust/pitch in ¶0035. Pressure difference between the top and bottom surfaces across the area of the wing result in lift. In ¶0035, where lift is increased the velocity increases / pressure decreases on the top side of the wing while pressure increases / velocity decreases on the bottom side. Conversely, where lift is decreased the velocity decreases / pressure increases on the top side of the wing while pressure decreases / velocity increases on the bottom side. This is foundational principle of aerodynamics. This aircraft has a rotor blown wing configuration, ¶0028, 0033 which takes further advantage of this effect. Rotor blown wing configurations utilize momentum from slipstream air, in this case from the fans of the arrays, to further decrease pressure above the wing(s) and further increases a lift on the wing(s) as result of air velocity being ‘rotor blown’ as compared to a non-rotor blown configuration.
However, ALBER as discussed fails to expressly the aircraft having a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors of the computing system for the aircraft, cause the one or more processors of the computing system to : receive one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft; generate the control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point.
TAMIR teaches an aircraft (¶0105) having a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions (¶¶0081-0085, 0106, 0115, 0134), which, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system [130, 140] for the aircraft, cause the one or more processors of the computing system to: receive one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft (¶0113, 0125); generate a control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft (¶¶0113-0133), the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of a first operating point and a second operating point (¶¶0117, 0119-0123; see also various first/second operating points as discussed at ¶¶0168-0286). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft having a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system for the aircraft, cause the one or more processors of the computing system to: receive one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft; generate the control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point, in order to provide improved control, improved efficiency, improved simplification, safe handling of aircraft flight, reduced pilot fatigue, reduced complexity of intervention and/or increased automation (TAMIR ¶¶0056-0065).
Re Claim 2, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
TAMIR further teaches wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of an altitude, a change in altitude, an attitude of the aircraft, an ambient pressure, and an airspeed (TAMIR ¶¶0125-0132, 0155-0164). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of an altitude, a change in altitude, an attitude of the aircraft, an ambient pressure, and an airspeed, in order to provide improved control, improved efficiency, improved simplification, safe handling of aircraft flight, reduced pilot fatigue, reduced complexity of intervention and/or increased automation (TAMIR ¶¶0056-0065).
Re Claim 3, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
TAMIR further teaches wherein the one or more parameters include sensed values associated with one or more power converters or one or more fan drive units (TAMIR ¶¶0125-0132, 0155-0157, 0173, 0272). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein the one or more parameters include sensed values associated with one or more power converters or one or more fan drive units, in order to provide improved control, improved efficiency, improved simplification, safe handling of aircraft flight, reduced pilot fatigue, reduced complexity of intervention and/or increased automation (TAMIR ¶¶0056-0065).
Re Claim 5, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
ALBER further teaches wherein in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of a suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of a pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed (¶0035-0036). ALBER controls thrust, roll pitch and yaw of the aircraft and as will be understood by those of ordinary skill in a horizontal configuration increasing the thrust as taught will increase the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby increasing the pressure in the streamline under the wing’s airfoil and decreasing the pressure in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby generating lift and thus when at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed. See NOTE 1 above. TAMIR teaches generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed, for the purpose of using the rotors to control the aircraft’s pitch, yaw and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 6, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraftincreased so that lift on the wing is increased” is a functional recitation of a desired result accorded little patentable weight.
ALBER further teaches in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of the suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of the pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that the pressure ratio is increased so that lift on the wing is increased (¶0035-0036). ALBER controls thrust, roll pitch and yaw of the aircraft and as will be understood by those of ordinary skill in a horizontal configuration increasing the thrust as taught will increase the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby increasing the pressure in the streamline under the wing’s airfoil and decreasing the pressure in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby generating additional lift and thus when at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted the pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is increased such that lift is increased. See NOTE 1 above. TAMIR teaches wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that the pressure ratio is increased so that lift on the wing is increased, for the purpose of using the rotors to control the aircraft’s pitch, yaw and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 8, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
ALBER further teaches in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of the suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of the pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, the second operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline below a bottom surface of the wing is decreased so that the pressure ratio is increased (¶0035-0036, see also claim 5 above). (ALBER teaches providing increasing and decreasing thrust commands to the propellers; it is well known in the art that in a horizontal configuration decreasing the thrust will decrease the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil. As the velocity over the top of the airfoil decreases, the pressure increases, thereby reducing lift and reducing pressure ratio. Likewise the differential thrust at the bottom rotor, being less will result in lower velocity/higher pressure – See NOTE 1 and ALBER ¶0035). TAMIR teaches wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the second operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline below a bottom surface of the wing is decreased so that the pressure ratio is increased, for the purpose of controlling the aircraft’s yaw, pitch and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 14, ALBER teaches an aircraft (Figure 3) having a controller (flight control computer, ¶0033), the aircraft comprising
a wing 30 having a top surface and a bottom surface (Figure 3, ¶0030),
a suction fan array having a plurality of fans [12, 14] mounted to the wing, the plurality of fans of the suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the wing (Figure 3, ¶¶0010, 0032, 0034-0036), and
a pressure fan array having a plurality of fans [13, 15] mounted to the wing, the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the wing (Figure 3, ¶¶0010, 0032, 0034-0036),
wherein at least one fan in one of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array [13 or 15] is positioned between two fans in the other of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array on the wing (Figure 3), and
wherein the controller comprises instructions for a control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of a first operating point [commanded operating point for 12, 14] and a second operating point [commanded operating point for 13, 15] (¶¶0035-0036);
operate the aircraft by rotating the plurality of fans of the suction fan array and the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array through one or more controllable devices, wherein operating the aircraft comprises operating the aircraft in a takeoff operating mode, a climb operating mode, or both (¶¶0034-0036); and
wherein operating the aircraft comprises operating the plurality of fans of the suction fan array and the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array to decrease a pressure above the wing and increase a lift on the wing while operating the aircraft in the
wherein decreasing the pressure above the wing and increasing the lift on the wing comprises adjusting the operation of the plurality of fans of the suction fan array of the aircraft to the first operating point and adjusting the operation of the plurality of fansOne of ordinary skill will appreciate lift is generated by the wing and lift is controlled by differential thrust/pitch in ¶0035. Pressure difference between the top and bottom surfaces across the area of the wing result in lift. In ¶0035, where lift is increased the velocity increases / pressure decreases on the top side of the wing while pressure increases / velocity decreases on the bottom side. Conversely, where lift is decreased the velocity decreases / pressure increases on the top side of the wing while pressure decreases / velocity increases on the bottom side. This is foundational principle of aerodynamics. This aircraft has a rotor blown wing configuration, ¶0028, 0033 which takes further advantage of this effect. Rotor blown wing configurations utilize momentum from slipstream air, in this case from the fans of the arrays, to further decrease pressure above the wing(s) and further increases a lift on the wing(s) as result of air velocity being ‘rotor blown’ as compared to a non-rotor blown configuration.
However, ALBER fails to teach wherein the controller has memory and one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the controller to execute instructions, the instructions comprising: receiving one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft; generating the control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point.
TAMIR teaches an aircraft (¶0105) with a controller [130, 140] has memory and one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the controller to execute instructions (¶¶0081-0085, 0106, 0115, 0134), the instructions comprising: receiving one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft (¶0113, 0125); generating the control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft (¶¶0113-0133), the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of a first operating point and a second operating point (¶¶0117, 0119-0123; see also various first/second operating points as discussed at ¶¶0168-0286). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft such that the controller has memory and one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the controller to execute instructions, the instructions comprising: receiving one or more parameter values for one or more parameters associated with the aircraft; generating the control command based at least in part on the one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the control command indicating instructions for adjusting at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point, in order to provide improved control, improved efficiency, improved simplification, safe handling of aircraft flight, reduced pilot fatigue, reduced complexity of intervention and/or increased automation (TAMIR ¶¶0056-0065).
Re Claim 15, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
TAMIR further teaches wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of an altitude, a change in altitude, an attitude of the aircraft, an ambient pressure, and an airspeed (TAMIR ¶¶0125-0132, 0155-0164). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of an altitude, a change in altitude, an attitude of the aircraft, an ambient pressure, and an airspeed, in order to provide improved control, improved efficiency, improved simplification, safe handling of aircraft flight, reduced pilot fatigue, reduced complexity of intervention and/or increased automation (TAMIR ¶¶0056-0065).
Re Claim 16, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft of claim 14, but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed. The recitation “such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed” is a functional recitation of a desired result accorded little patentable weight.
ALBER further teaches wherein in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of a suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of a pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed (¶0035-0036). ALBER controls thrust, roll pitch and yaw of the aircraft and as will be understood by those of ordinary skill in a horizontal configuration increasing the thrust as taught will increase the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby increasing the pressure in the streamline under the wing’s airfoil and decreasing the pressure in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby generating lift and thus when at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed. See NOTE 1 above. TAMIR teaches generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that a pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is changed, for the purpose of using the rotors to control the aircraft’s pitch, yaw and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 17, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft
ALBER further teaches in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of the suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of the pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that the pressure ratio is increased so that lift on the wing is increased (¶0035-0036). ALBER controls thrust, roll pitch and yaw of the aircraft and as will be understood by those of ordinary skill in a horizontal configuration increasing the thrust as taught will increase the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby increasing the pressure in the streamline under the wing’s airfoil and decreasing the pressure in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil thereby generating additional lift and thus when at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted the pressure ratio of an air pressure below a wing to an air pressure above a top surface of the wing is increased such that lift is increased. See NOTE 1 above. TAMIR teaches wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, at least one of the first operating point and the second operating point is adjusted such that the pressure ratio is increased so that lift on the wing is increased, for the purpose of using the rotors to control the aircraft’s pitch, yaw and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 18, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft of claim 16, but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the first operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline above the top surface of the wing is increased so that the pressure ratio is increased. The recitation “such that a velocity of an airflow streamline above the top surface of the wing is increased so that the pressure ratio is increased” is a functional recitation of intended use that has been accorded little patentable weight.
TAMIR teaches in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the first operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). The recitation “such that a velocity of an airflow streamline above the top surface of the wing is increased so that the pressure ratio is increased” is a functional recitation of intended use that has been accorded little patentable weight.
ALBER further teaches wherein in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of the suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of the pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, the first operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline above the top surface of the wing is increased so that the pressure ratio is increased (see ALBER ¶¶0035-0036; ALBER teaches providing increasing and decreasing thrust commands to the propellers; it is well known in the art that in a horizontal configuration increasing/decreasing the thrust will increase/decrease the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil. As the velocity over the top of the airfoil increases, the pressure decreases, thereby increases lift and pressure ratio – See NOTE 1). TAMIR teaches in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the first operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the first operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline above the top surface of the wing is increased so that the pressure ratio is increased, for the purpose of controlling the aircraft’s pitch yaw, and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Re Claim 19, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraftvelocity of an airflow streamline below a bottom surface of the wing is decreased so that the pressure ratio is increased” is a functional recitation of a desired result accorded little patentable weight.
ALBER further teaches in operating the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of one or more fans of the suction fan array to the first operating point and adjust operation of one or more fans of the pressure fan array to the second operating point based at least in part on the control command, the second operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline below a bottom surface of the wing is decreased so that the pressure ratio is increased (¶0035-0036, see also claim 5 above). (ALBER teaches providing increasing and decreasing thrust commands to the propellers; it is well known in the art that in a horizontal configuration decreasing the thrust will decrease the velocity of fluid in the streamline over the wing’s airfoil. As the velocity over the top of the airfoil decreases, the pressure increases, thereby reducing lift and reducing pressure ratio. Likewise the differential thrust at the bottom rotor, being less will result in lower velocity/higher pressure – See NOTE 1 and ALBER ¶0035). TAMIR teaches wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the second operating point is adjusted (TAMIR ¶¶0154-0168). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wherein in generating a control command based at least in part on one or more parameter values for the one or more parameters associated with the aircraft, the second operating point is adjusted such that a velocity of an airflow streamline below a bottom surface of the wing is decreased so that the pressure ratio is increased, for the purpose of controlling the aircraft’s yaw, pitch and roll (ALBER ¶0035).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALBER in view of TAMIR as applied above, further in view of SHAH.
Re Claim 10, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the one or more controllable devices comprises power converters associated with fan drive units.
SHAH teaches the one or more controllable devices comprises power converters associated with fan drive units (¶¶0025, 0036). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the one or more controllable devices comprises power converters associated with fan drive units, to control the amount and/or waveform of power (¶¶0025, 0036).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALBER in view of TAMIR as applied above, further in view of MIKIC.
Re Claim 20, ALBER in view of TAMIR teaches the aircraft of claim 14, as discussed above, wherein the wing is a first wing, the suction fan array is a first suction fan array mounted to the first wing, the pressure fan array is a first pressure fan array mounted to the first wing (see Claim 1 and ALBER above). ALBER further teaches the aircraft may have a single wing or dual wing configuration having second wing having a top surface and a bottom surface and extending outward from a fuselage opposite the first wing, (¶¶0009-0012, Fig. 2).
However, ALBER in view of TAMIR as discussed so far fails to teach wherein the aircraft further comprises a second suction fan array having a plurality of fansthe second wing, the plurality of fans of the second suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the second wing, and a second pressure fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the second wing, the plurality of fans of the second pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the second wing, wherein the control command further indicates instructions for adjusting at least one of a third operating point and a fourth operating point; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors of the controller to: operate the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of the plurality of fans of the second suction fan array to the third operating point and adjust operation of the plurality of fans the second pressure fan array to the fourth operating point based at least in part on the control command.
MIKIC teaches a suction fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to a first wing, the plurality of fans of the suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the first wing, and a pressure fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the first wing, the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the first wing (see annotations below), wherein at least one fan in one of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array [annotated “FAN A”] is positioned between two fans in the other of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array [annotated “FAN B” and “FAN C”] on the first wing, and a second suction fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the second wing, the plurality of fans of the second suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the second wing, and a second pressure fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the second wing, the plurality of fans of the second pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the second wing (see annotations below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft such that the suction fan array has a plurality of fans mounted to a first wing, the plurality of fans of the suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the first wing, and the pressure fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the first wing, the plurality of fans of the pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the first wing, wherein the at least one fan in one of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array is positioned between two fans in the other of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array on the first wing, and a second suction fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the second wing, the plurality of fans of the second suction fan array each being positioned primarily above the top surface of the second wing, and a second pressure fan array having a plurality of fans mounted to the second wing, the plurality of fans of the second pressure fan array each being positioned primarily below the bottom surface of the second wing, in order to provide a larger rotor disk area for additional lift generation, reduced whirl flutter, reduced aircraft drag, reduced acoustic profile, minimal points of failure and/or minimal control system with respect to thrust generated (MIKIC ¶¶0052-0060). Further, as noted above with respect to ALBER in Claim 14 above and the control command indicates wherein the control command indicates instructions for adjusting operating points of the fans, which according to MIKIC as discussed so far includes third fourth, fifth and six operating points (for each wing). As such, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aircraft wherein the control command further indicates instructions for adjusting at least one of a third operating point and a fourth operating point; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors of the controller to: operate the one or more controllable devices to adjust operation of the plurality of fans of the second suction fan array to the third operating point and adjust operation of the plurality of fans the second pressure fan array to the fourth operating point based at least in part on the control command, in order to control roll, pitch and yaw by controlling the operating points of each of the fans while providing larger rotor disk area for additional lift generation, reduced whirl flutter, reduced aircraft drag, reduced acoustic profile, minimal points of failure and/or minimal control system with respect to thrust generated (ALBER ¶¶0035-0036; MIKIC ¶¶0052-0060).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendment overcame the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112.
With respect to the prior art rejections, the examiner notes the amended claims are taught as set forth fully above. Moreover, in ALBER the aircraft of Figure 3 is a single-wing aircraft (see ¶¶0010, 0042). As such, applicant’s arguments that “30, 32” are ‘respective wings’ is in conflict with the express teachings of ALBER and are not persuasive.
Additionally, the ALBER Figure 2 embodiment includes two wings and MIKIC teaches rotors on two wings wherein at least one fan in one of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array is positioned between two fans in the other of the suction fan array or the pressure fan array on one wing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
JASON H DUGER
PRIMARY EXAMINER, ART UNIT 3741
PHONE (313) 446 6536
FAX (571) 270 9083
DATE
April 3, 2026
/JASON H DUGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741