DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Makal does not explicitly disclose the flange leg including a leg portion and a flange portion as now required by claim 1. However, as shown below, Makal does disclose flange 72 on the flange leg portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the flange leg comprises an outer cone connection.” However, this is not in the specification. The specification repeatedly states that the cone leg has an “outer cone connection” (see at least paragraphs 0007 and 0012), but is silent as to the flange leg having an outer cone connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makal et al. (“Makal”; US 5,393,240).
Regarding claim 1: Makal discloses a medium voltage connector (Fig. 2), comprising:
a flange leg (horizontal leg in Fig. 2); and
a cone leg (vertical leg in Fig. 2);
wherein the flange leg is connected to the cone leg (as shown in Fig. 2);
wherein a central longitudinal axis of the flange leg (at 28) is angled to a central longitudinal axis of the cone leg (at 26, as shown in Fig. 2);
wherein the flange leg is configured to be connected to a part of a medium voltage switchgear (8);
wherein the flange leg includes a leg portion (14) extending along the central longitudinal axis of the flange leg and a mounting flange (72, Fig. 3) extending radially outward from the leg portion for securing the flange leg to the switchgear;
wherein the cone leg comprises an outer cone connection (25); and
wherein an outer surface of the flange leg and an outer surface of the cone leg comprise comprises an electroconductive coating (50).
Regarding claim 10: Makal discloses the central longitudinal axis of the flange leg is angled to the central longitudinal axis of the cone leg at an angle of one of: 45 degrees, 50 degrees, 55 degrees, 60 degrees, 65 degrees, 70 degrees, 75 degrees, 80 degrees, 85 degrees, 90 degrees, 95 degrees, 100 degrees, 105 degrees, 110 degrees, 115 degrees, or 120 degrees (in this case 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 11: Makal discloses the connector is an L shaped bushing (14, shown in Fig. 2, abstract).
Regarding claim 13: Makal discloses a length of the flange leg is configured based on a required current rating of the connector (inherent as this is required for operation).
Regarding claim 14: Makal discloses a length of the cone leg is configured based on a required current rating of the connector (inherent as this is required for operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makal, in view of Sanchez Ruiz et al. (“Sanchez Ruiz”; US 2019/0146006).
Regarding claim 3: Makal discloses the flange leg and the cone leg, but does not explicitly disclose the flange leg comprises one or more field control and/or wherein the cone leg comprises one or more field control electrodes.
However, Sanchez Ruiz discloses one or more field control electrodes (6, 7, Fig. 2, paragraph 0032) and/or wherein the cone leg comprises one or more field control electrodes (6 is located closer to the cone in Fig. 4, paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flange and cone legs of Makal to include the field control electrodes of Sanchez Ruiz in order to order to precisely measure the voltage (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 4: Makal modified by Sanchez Ruiz discloses the one or more field control electrodes, Sanchez Ruiz further discloses the one or more field control electrodes (7) of the flange leg are connected to the electroconductive coating (11) on the outer surface of the flange leg (shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5: Makal modified by Sanchez Ruiz discloses the one or more field control electrodes, Sanchez Ruiz further discloses the one or more field control electrodes of the cone leg (6) are connected to the electroconductive coating (11) on the outer surface of the cone leg (paragraph 0031, the electrode 6 is grounded, inherently connected to an electroconductive coating).
Regarding claim 6: Makal modified by Sanchez Ruiz discloses the one or more field control electrodes, Sanchez Ruiz further discloses the one or more field control electrodes (7) of the flange leg are configured for voltage signal detection (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 7: Makal modified by Sanchez Ruiz discloses the one or more field control electrodes, Sanchez Ruiz further discloses the one or more field control electrodes of the cone leg (6) are configured for voltage signal detection (paragraph 0034: detecting presence/absence of voltage).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makal.
Regarding claim 12: Makal discloses the connector is rated, but does not explicitly disclose the connector is rated for one of: 630A, 1250A, 2000A, or 2500A.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to design the connector to be rated at a specific current in order to ensure system parameters can be met.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luzzi (US 2006/0286837) teaches that it is known to have connectors capable of connecting to transformers or switchgears (paragraph 0003).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834