DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/495,896 filed on 02/19/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 14-17 and 19-21 have been considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and would like to provide a further clarification regarding the interpretation of the cited references.
In response to the argument on page 8 of Applicant’s Remark, “a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the TA (Time advance value) for the new transmission to the target cell can be indicated in a MAC CE (wherein MAC CE comprises TA value) in PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches (switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration”. according to Leng’s disclosure.
As stated in Leng’s – page 11, par (0144-0145), line 5-10, the TA(Time advance value) for the new transmission to the target cell can be indicated in a MAC CE(wherein MAC CE comprises TA value) in PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Leng’s is directed to “page 8, par (0111), line 1-20, the network can send the MAC CE including a TAG ID and TA value and/or a CORESET pool ID and/or TCI state ID, where the TAC is intended for the indicated TCI state ID or a CORESET pool ID associated with the indicated TAG. The single TimeAlignmentTimer is restarted when any one TA for the serving cell is updated or resynchornized, e.g., by MAC CE or random-access procedure.
In response to the argument on page 9 of Applicant’s Remark, “receiving, via the source cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a preamble transmission for timing advance acquisition associated with a first candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell, a PDCCH order is triggered by source cell, then the UE sends preamble to a candidate cell, the indication of candidate cell are included in PDCCH order, the configuration of RACH resource for candidate cell is provided prior to the PDCCH order; and TA updating (wherein TA is timing advance acquisition associated with the candidate cell)”. according to Guo’s disclosure.
As stated in Guo’s – page 3, par (0063), line 1-5, UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell, page 36, par (0428), line 5-10, a PDCCH order is triggered by source cell, then the UE sends preamble to a candidate cell, the indication of candidate cell are included in PDCCH order, the configuration of RACH resource for candidate cell is provided prior to the PDCCH order; and TA updating(wherein TA is timing advance acquisition associated with the candidate cell).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Guo’s is directed to “page 41, par (0502-0503), line 1-20, the UE identifies and determines, from a S-Cell of a cellular network, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) Tx related to timing advance (TA) acquisition, the UE transmits, based on the PDCCH Tx, a random access channel (RACH) Tx to a target cell, the UE identifies and determines, based on the RACH Tx, an indication of a TA value, which is performed by a source cell. However, it should be noted that process can be performed by any of the electronic device(s), where the S-Cell identifies and determines that early timing advance (TA) acquisition of a C-Cell by a UE is to occur, the S-Cell transmits, to the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) Tx related to the early TA acquisition.
In response to the argument on page 10 of Applicant’s Remark, “after the transmitting the preamble skipping, based on the transmitted preamble being associated with the LTM procedure, monitoring of a random access response (RAR) associated with the preamble”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell”. according to Guo’s disclosure.
As stated in Guo’s – page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Ching’s is directed to “page 20, par (0250), line 1-20, cell to move the UE based on Ll measurements receives successful ACK for the Ll/2 HO CMD sent to the UE. The candidate cells configuration has been successfully configured to the UE before, so the purpose of this Ll/2 HO CMD command the UE to handover to which cell among pre-configured., where the former (RACH) skipped and the latter (RRC Reconfiguration Complete) later be decided unnecessary pending RAN2 progress. Continuing the mobility procedure before the optional RACH or RRC Reconfiguration Complete would work fine for this Ll/L2 mobility.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Thus, Guo’s and Leng’s disclosure still covers the limitations of claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 14-17 and 19-21. Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 14-17 and 19-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gua et al. (U.S 20230388871, Nov. 30, 2023) in view of in view of Leng et al. (US 20230362986, Nov. 9, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Gua discloses a method comprising receiving, by a wireless device and via a source cell, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising at least one parameter of at least one candidate cell for a layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2)-triggered mobility (LTM) procedure (page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, a UE (wherein UE is a wireless device) in RRC_CONNECTED mode sends a Measurement Report message to a RAN node (source cell), and the RAN node decides to use LTM and initiates LTM candidate preparation. The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM));
receiving, via the source cell (page 3, par (0063), line 1-5, UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell),
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a preamble transmission for timing advance acquisition associated with a first candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell (page 36, par (0428), line 5-10, a PDCCH order is triggered by source cell, then the UE sends preamble to a candidate cell, the indication of candidate cell are included in PDCCH order, the configuration of RACH resource for candidate cell is provided prior to the PDCCH order; and TA updating(wherein TA is timing advance acquisition associated with the candidate cell)); transmitting, based on the PDCCH order, a preamble via the first candidate cell (page 36, par (0429), line 5-10, UE initiates RACH towards the candidate target cell, candidate cell receives the preamble and evaluates the TA value, source cell gets required TA value from target cell and sends it to the UE over source cell (wherein transmitting the TA value based on the PDCCH preamble));
based on the transmitting the preamble, completing a random access (RA) procedure associated with the preamble (page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell);
and receiving, via the source cell (page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, receiving an RA response from the T-Cell (wherein T-cell (target cell) receiving the RA via S-cell (source cell)).
Guo discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell.
Leng is the same field of invention teaches a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell(page 11, par (0144-0145), line 5-10, the TA(Time advance value) for the new transmission to the target cell can be indicated in a MAC CE(wherein MAC CE comprises TA value) in PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration).
Guo and Leng analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure the teaching of Guo to include the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration the teaching of Leng because it is providing wireless broadband access to the network for a second plurality of UEs within a coverage area of the gNB.
Regarding Claim 3, Gua discloses the PDCCH order indicates a preamble transmission for timing advance acquisition associated with the first candidate cell (page 1, par (0036-0038), line 1-10, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order procedure of separate random access channel configuration for early timing advance (TA) acquisition of preamble Resources of TA estimation based on a preamble sent towards another candidate cell (associated with the first candidate cell)).
Regarding Claim 4, Gua discloses switching, based on the receiving the MAC CE and for a primary cell (PCell) change, from the source cell to the first candidate cell, wherein the switching comprises transmitting, based on the timing advance value and via the first candidate cell, an uplink signal (page 1, par (0042-0044), line 1-10, source cell indication of TA of a candidate cell to a UE(wherein the source cell to the candidate cell) of synchronization of remaining validity time of a candidate cell's TA of a timing advance command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for a candidate cell).
Regarding Claim 5, Gua discloses receiving, via the source cell, downlink control information (DCD indicating an uplink grant associated with the MAC CE, wherein the DCI is scrambled based on a value of a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the wireless device (page 41, par (0500), line 1-10, Timing Advance Command field that indicates the index value TA the Timing Advance Command field of MAC CEs UL Grant field that indicates the resources to be used on the uplink in Temporary C-RNTI field that indicates the temporary identity that is used by the MAC entity during Random Access).
Regarding Claim 9, Gua discloses before the receiving the MAC CE, transmitting, via the source cell, a layer 1 (L1) measurement report associated with the at least one candidate cell (page 14, par (0185), line 5-10, the UE sends a measurement report to the DU, and the DU sends an uplink (UL) message transfer to provide the measurement report to the CU-CP which decides on Ll/L2 mobility).
Regarding Claim 10, Gua discloses receiving at least one RRC message indicating a plurality of candidate target primary cells (PCells), wherein each candidate target primary cell (PCell) of the plurality of candidate target PCells is associated with cell-specific configuration parameters comprising a cell configuration index(page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, a UE (wherein UE is a wireless device) in RRC_CONNECTED mode sends a Measurement Report message to a RAN node (source cell), and the RAN node decides to use LTM and initiates LTM candidate preparation. The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM)).
Regarding Claim 11, Gua discloses a method comprising during a radio resource control (RRC)-connected state with a source cell, receiving, by a wireless device and via the source cell, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising at least one parameter of at least one candidate cell for a cell switching procedure (page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, a UE (wherein UE is a wireless device) in RRC_CONNECTED mode sends a Measurement Report message to a RAN node (source cell), and the RAN node decides to use LTM and initiates LTM candidate preparation. The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM));
transmitting, based on the RRC message, a response message (page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM));
receiving, via the source cell (page 3, par (0063), line 1-5, UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell), downlink control information (DCD indicating a preamble transmission for timing advance acquisition associated with a first candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell;
transmitting, based on the DCI, a preamble via the first candidate cell (page 36, par (0429), line 5-10, UE initiates RACH towards the candidate target cell, candidate cell receives the preamble and evaluates the TA value, source cell gets required TA value from target cell and sends it to the UE over source cell (wherein transmitting the TA value based on the PDCCH preamble));
without receiving a random access response (RAR) associated with the preamble and based on the transmitted preamble being associated with the cell switching procedure (page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell),
receiving, via the source cell (page 3, par (0063), line 1-5, UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell);
and transmitting, via the first candidate cell and based on the MAC CE, an uplink message for switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell(page 1, par (0042-0044), line 1-10, source cell indication of TA of a candidate cell to a UE(wherein the source cell to the candidate cell) of synchronization of remaining validity time of a candidate cell's TA of a timing advance command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for a candidate cell).
Guo discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell.
Leng is the same field of invention teaches a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell(page 11, par (0144-0145), line 5-10, the TA(Time advance value) for the new transmission to the target cell can be indicated in a MAC CE(wherein MAC CE comprises TA value) in PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration).
Guo and Leng analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure the teaching of Guo to include the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration the teaching of Leng because it is providing wireless broadband access to the network for a second plurality of UEs within a coverage area of the gNB.
Regarding Claim 14, Gua discloses before the receiving the MAC CE, transmitting, via the source cell and for selection of the first candidate cell, a layer 1 (L1) measurement report associated with the at least one candidate cell(page 14, par (0185), line 5-10, the UE sends a measurement report to the DU, and the DU sends an uplink (UL) message transfer to provide the measurement report to the CU-CP which decides on Ll/L2 mobility).
Regarding Claim 15, Gua discloses the L1 measurement report comprises a L1 channel state information (CSI) report for the first candidate cell (page 73, par (0700), line 1-10, channel state information reports to be transmitted on PUCCH on the serving cell in which CSI-Meas Config(CSI Report) is included and channel state information reports on PUSCH triggered by DCI received on the serving cell in which CSI-Meas Config(CSI report) is included).
Regarding Claim 16, Gua discloses the RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message, and wherein the response message is a message indicating completion of an RRC reconfiguration(page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell).
Regarding Claim 17, Gua discloses a method comprising receiving, by a wireless device and via a source cell, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising at least one parameter of at least one candidate cell for a layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2)-triggered mobility (LTM) procedure(page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, a UE (wherein UE is a wireless device) in RRC_CONNECTED mode sends a Measurement Report message to a RAN node (source cell), and the RAN node decides to use LTM and initiates LTM candidate preparation. The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM));
receiving, via the source cell (page 3, par (0063), line 1-5, UE receives a measurement configuration from a source cell), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a preamble transmission for timing advance acquisition associated with a first candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell;
transmitting, based on the PDCCH order, a preamble via the first candidate cell (page 36, par (0428), line 5-10, a PDCCH order is triggered by source cell, then the UE sends preamble to a candidate cell, the indication of candidate cell are included in PDCCH order, the configuration of RACH resource for candidate cell is provided prior to the PDCCH order; and TA updating (wherein TA is timing advance acquisition associated with the candidate cell));
and after the transmitting the preamble skipping, based on the transmitted preamble being associated with the LTM procedure, monitoring of a random access response (RAR) associated with the preamble(page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell);
and receiving, via the source cell(page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, receiving an RA response from the T-Cell (wherein T-cell (target cell) receiving the RA via S-cell (source cell)).
Guo discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a medium access control (MAC) control element(CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell.
Leng is the same field of invention teaches a medium access control (MAC) control element(CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell(page 11, par (0144-0145), line 5-10, the TA(Time advance value) for the new transmission to the target cell can be indicated in a MAC CE(wherein MAC CE comprises TA value) in PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration).
Guo and Leng analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure the teaching of Guo to include the UE apply the TA for the target cell in the Ll /L2 mobility configuration at operation, the UE switches(switches from the source cell to the target cell) to the target cell and applies the target cell configuration the teaching of Leng because it is providing wireless broadband access to the network for a second plurality of UEs within a coverage area of the gNB.
Regarding Claim 19, Gua discloses the skipping monitoring of the RAR associated with the preamble comprises at least one of not receiving the RAR; not starting an RAR window associated with the preamble; not starting a timer associated with the RAR window for monitoring a PDCCH for reception of the RAR; or completing a random access (RA) procedure associated with the preamble(page 5, par (0089), line 1-10, the number of good beams is better than a threshold times within a period of time, the threshold, and time length are configured by network. This period of time can be managed by a timer, when the number of good beams is better than a threshold and the timer is not running).
Regarding Claim 20, Gua discloses the at least one parameter of the at least one candidate cell for the LTM procedure comprises a parameter indicating whether to receive an RAR associated with a preamble transmitted to the at least one candidate cell page 37, par (0432), line 1-5, a UE (wherein UE is a wireless device) in RRC_CONNECTED mode sends a Measurement Report message to a RAN node (source cell), and the RAN node decides to use LTM and initiates LTM candidate preparation. The RAN node transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells ((wherein RRC message comprises parameter of candidate target cell for LTM), and wherein the method further comprises completing, based on the parameter indicating whether to receive the RAR, a random access (RA) procedure associated with the preamble(page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell).
Regarding Claim 21, Gua discloses the skipping the monitoring of the RAR comprises based on a parameter indicating not to receive the RAR, skipping monitoring of the RAR(page 3, par (0063), line 5-10, S-Cell (source cell) sends an HO command to the UE 5402, and UE performs random access channel (RACH) procedure to get access to target cell (T-Cell), which includes sending a random access (RA) preamble to the T-Cell).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 2 or 6 or both claims 4 and 5 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 11 would be allowable if (i) claim 12 or both claims 14 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 11.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claim 18 or both claims 20 and 21 are incorporated into the independent claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
PENG et al. (US 20230156005, May 18, 2023) teaches Service Processing Method, Apparatus, Device, and System.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464