DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 7 is withdrawn. Claim 7 is currently amended.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A in the reply filed on 01/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner notes that while the applicant resolved any possible issues with respect to 35 USC 112(d) in the amended dated 01/29/2026, claim 7 would not be eligible for rejoinder upon allowance of claim 1 as currently presented, and presents possible 35 USC 112(a) written description issues, as it does not appear that a combination of elements from the two distinct species/embodiments in the disclosure would be adequately supported, given that the two species provide for different physical geometric arrangements of the pawl and direction control unit, and given how some of the structure recited in claim 7 is used in an disclosed arrangement where structure from claim 1 is explicitly omitted. Applicant is invited to provide comments with respect to this issue, should the applicant desire for the claim to be rejoined, otherwise the claim may be canceled upon allowance, as the applicant elected species A without traverse as provided as in MPEP 821.02.
Priority
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
It appears that the applicant may claim foreign priority to TW 111131973 A, filed Aug. 25, 2022. A petition for a delayed priority claim may be necessary, should the applicant desire to make a foreign priority claim to the corresponding application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is respectfully reminded of the requirement found in MPEP 2001.16(a), including with respect to the prior art cited in the TW 111131973 A application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the mounting portion is a polygonal recess for mounting a screw member” (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
In claim 1, consider:
-- the second receiving recess has a diameter less than [[that]] a diameter of the first receiving recess--;
--each of the two first side faces [[is]] are a flat plane--;
-- an angle is defined between an axis of the fourth receiving recess and [[that]] an axis of the third receiving recess--
-- [[T]]the cutout is connected to the third receiving recess--
-- the angle defined between the two first sides is ranged between 55° and 65°; the angle defined between the two first sides is close to 60°--
-- each of the two first faces [[is]] are located at [[the]] a deepest position of the cavity--
-- each of the two first faces [[has]] have a concave shape with a single diameter--
--each of the two third faces [[is]] are tangent to one of the two first faces--
-- each of the two third faces [[has]] have a concave shape with a single diameter, the single diameter more than [[that]] a diameter of each of the two first faces--
-- the projection is [[close]] proximate to the closed end--
-- when the pawl member is received in the second receiving recess, one of the two second side faces rests on one of the two first side faces, and the other one of the two second side faces is distant from another one of the two first side faces--
-- examiner note, duplicate limitation], and each of the two second side faces [[has]] have a convex shape, so that when one of the two second side faces rests on one of the two first side faces, a contact between one of the two second side faces and one of the two first side faces defines a line segment--
-- the thrust portion has a reduced diameter by provision of the conic face, so that the reduced diameter of the thrust portion mates with [[a]] the single diameter of each of the two first faces--
In claim 3, consider -- The ratchet wrench as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
[examiner note: duplicate limitation that is retained below]
the engaging portion has a first end provided with a first toothed part and a second end provided with a second toothed part;
the diameter of the engaging portion is slightly more than [[that]] a diameter of the ratchet portion, so that when the pawl member is received in the second receiving recess, a gap is defined between the first toothed part or the second toothed part and the ratchet portion; and
the gap is increased gradually from a middle of the engaging portion toward the first toothed part or the second toothed part--.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first elastic member” in claim 1; corresponding to first elastic member 43;
“second push member” in claim 1; corresponding to second push member 70;
“second elastic member” in claim 1; corresponding to second elastic member 71.
The terms “direction control unit”, “pawl member”, “rotation member”, “first push member”, despite reciting nonce terms such as “unit” and “member” is provided with sufficient structure so as to not invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the angle is ranged between 55° and 65°”;
and the claim also recites the “angle is close to 60°” which is [or can be interpreted to be] a narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Furthermore, the recitation of “close to 60°” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite, as “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree (other than that it may be between 55° and 65°”), and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. When both “the angle is ranged between 55° and 65°” and “angle is close to 60°” are recited in the claim, it raises doubt to what the applicant intended to claim, as there appears to be two conflicting limitations with respect to the angle. The examiner will interpret the claim to require an angle between 55° and 65°. Claims 2-6 rejected as dependent.
With respect to claim 1, as used in “the pawl member is pivoted slightly with the line segment serving an axis so that the engaging portion engages the ratchet portion easily” the terms “slightly” and “easily’ are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of “slightly” or “easily”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, the instant figures and specification do not provide an example of “slightly” in line or what would be considered “easily”, and additionally, the term “easily” is dependent on individual perspective, and varies from person to person. The examiner will interpret the limitation to mean “the pawl member is pivoted
In claim 3, the term “slightly more” in “the diameter of the engaging portion is slightly more than that of the ratchet portion” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of “slightly more” and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, the instant figures and specification do not provide an example of what “slightly more” would mean in the context of the invention, other than that the “diameter of the engaging portion is
In claim 5, the term “slightly rests” in “wherein the cover slightly rests on the end face or a gap is defined between the cover and the end face” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of “slightly rests” and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, the instant figures and specification do not provide an example of what “slightly rests” means, and does not clearly show how the cover 50 rests on an end face or gap to be able to ascertain the meaning of the claim. The examiner will interpret this to mean “wherein the cover
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson-336 (US 20210031336 A1) in view of Anderson-259 (US 20140083259 A1), Lai (US 20180015595 A1), Chang (US 20130118317 A1), Mitcheltree (US 20170361430 A1), and Chen (US 20060000317 A1).
Ann. fig. 3 (Anderson-336)
Ann. fig. 4 (Anderson-336)
Ann. fig. 11 (Anderson-336)
With respect to claim 1, Anderson-336 discloses:
1. A ratchet wrench comprising:
a wrench body (Anderson-336, 23, ann. fig. 4; [0037]),
a ratchet wheel (Anderson-336, 100, fig. 12; [0040]),
a pawl member (Anderson-336, 201, fig. 12; [0041]),
a direction control unit (Anderson-336, 203, fig. 12; [0044]),
a cover (Anderson-336, 4, fig. 2, [0040])
and a snap ring (Anderson-336, 5, fig. 2; [0036]);
wherein:
the wrench body has an end provided with a first receiving recess (Anderson-336, proximate to 10, ann. fig. 4; [0037]);
the first receiving recess has a circular shape (Anderson-336, see shape in ann. fig. 4; consistent with instant disclosure);
the first receiving recess has an open end (Anderson-336, recess is open as in in ann. fig. 4; consistent with instant disclosure);
the wrench body is provided with a second receiving recess beside the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, proximate to 12, ann. fig. 4; [0037])
the second receiving recess has a diameter less than that of the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, second recess is smaller having a “diameter” less than the first receiving recess constant with instant disclosure);
the second receiving recess has a center disposed in the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4 second receiving recess has a shape constant with instant disclosure);
the second receiving recess is connected to the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4 the first and second receiving recess is connected/open to each other);
the second receiving recess has an open end (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, the second receiving recess is shown open);
the second receiving recess has two first side faces (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4; see two instances of first side faces);
the two first side faces are arranged symmetrically relative to the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4);
each of the two first side faces is a flat plane (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4);
the second receiving recess is provided with two arcuate faces (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, the bottom arcuate face is annotated, but symmetrically, there is one on the top)
each of the two arcuate faces connects one of the two first side faces and the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4 shows the connection between the first receiving recess, the arcuate face and the side face);
the wrench body is provided with a third receiving recess beside the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, proximate to 7; [0037]);
the third receiving recess is connected to the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, shows connection as the third receiving recess is open to the second receiving recess);
the third receiving recess has an open top and an open bottom (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, shows open top, and another opening 11, [0037]);
the third receiving recess is a circular hole penetrating the wrench body (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, shows the circular hole/arrangement with the open top and opening 11, consistent with instant disclosure);
the wrench body is provided with a fourth receiving recess beside the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, at 8, ann. fig. 4; [0037])
the fourth receiving recess is connected to the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, as shown in ann. fig. 4, the fourth receiving recess is open to the third receiving recess, see also side view in fig. 9);
an angle is defined between an axis of the fourth receiving recess and that of the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, the recess is angled as shown by the dashed line 22, fig. 9, [0039], the line extends into the third receiving recess, and because of the physical nature of the recesses, an angle would exist, the claim does not define the angle);
the fourth receiving recess has a circular shape (Anderson-336, see circular shape in ann. fig. 4);
the wrench body has an open top provided with a cover groove (Anderson-336, cover groove indicated at ann. fig. 4 which is open as shown in the annotated fig, consistent with the depiction of cover groove 15 in instant figs. 1 and 3);
the cover groove extends through the first receiving recess, the second receiving recess, and the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, the recesses are shown with an open end, cover is shown as 4, fig. 3; and the cover groove is otherwise consistent with the cover groove 15 in instant figs. 1, and 3, as previously noted);
the wrench body has a bottom provided with a closed end (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, closed end is a closed/solid surface consistent with instant closed end 16, fig .1; see closed arrangement in figs. 3 and 11 of Anderson-336);
the closed end extends through the first receiving recess and the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, the closed surface extends through the first and second recess);
the wrench body is provided with a snap ring groove (Anderson-336, 9, ann. fig. 4; described as interior channel 8 [apparent error in reference], in [0037] that receives locking ring 5, fig. 2]);
the cover groove is arranged between the first receiving recess and the snap ring groove (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 4, see also arrangement of cover 4 in the cover groove in fig. 2 with the locking ring on top, [0036]);
the snap ring groove has an annular shape (Anderson-336, 9, ann. fig. 4, shows the annular shape, consistent with the instant disclosure);
the wrench body is provided with a cutout (Anderson-336, 17, fig. 3; [0036]); The cutout is connected to the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, 206 fits through opening 11, figs. 3-4, providing the connection at opening 11; [0038]);
the cutout is close to the closed end (Anderson-336, see closed end/closed surface pointed to at the end of the leader line of 23, fig. 3; [0038]);
the cutout is provided with two resting faces (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 3)
each of the two resting faces is a plane or an arcuate face (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 3 shows an arcuate face);
an angle is defined between the two first side faces (Anderson-336, an angle physically exists between the first two side faces as shown in ann. fig. 4);
the ratchet wheel is pivotally mounted in the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, gear 103 of ratchet wheel 100 rotates, fig. 15 as in [0041], providing for pivoting);
the ratchet wheel has a periphery provided with a ratchet portion (Anderson-336, 104, fig .15; [0041]);
the ratchet portion is a toothed portion having an annular shape (Anderson-336, 104, fig .15; [0041] shows a plurality of teeth, annularly arranged);
the ratchet wheel is provided with a mounting portion (Anderson-336, 101, fig. 15; [0041]);
the ratchet wheel has an end provided with an end face (Anderson-336, end face shown in ann. fig. 11);
the end face faces the cover groove (Anderson-336, faces the cover/cover groove at 4, fig. 12, fully assembled as in fig. 2; [0040]);
the ratchet wheel is provided with a recessed portion facing the closed end (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 11);
the recessed portion is an arcuate depression (Anderson-336, ann. fig. 11, round ring shape);
the recessed portion decreases a friction area between the ratchet wheel and the closed end when the ratchet wheel is rotated in the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, the recessed portion decreased a friction/contact area against the closed end as it is of a ring shape that is depressed with limited areas as opposed to a large flat area against the closed end);
the pawl member is received in the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, see sectional view of 201, fig. 11; [0041] and see fig. 24);
the pawl member is controlled and is movable leftward and rightward in the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, against wall 13, figs. 25 and 26; [0048-0049], see wall 13, fig. 24);
the pawl member has a front side provided with an engaging portion engaging the ratchet portion (Anderson-336, 202, fig. 24, [0045]);
the engaging portion has a diameter (Anderson-336, 202, fig. 24, it is arranged around a curve consistent with instant disclosure);
the pawl member has two second side faces (Anderson-336, each side face alternately abuts against wall 13, figs. 25 and 26; [0048-0049], see wall 13, fig. 24);
when the pawl member is received in the second receiving recess, one of the two second side faces rests on one of the two first side faces, and the other one of the two second side faces is distant from the other one of the two first side faces (Anderson-336, each side face alternately abuts against wall 13, figs. 25 and 26; [0048-0049], see wall 13, fig. 24);
each of the two second side faces has a convex shape (Anderson-336, each side face alternately abuts against wall 13, figs. 25 and 26; [0048-0049], the side faces have a flat convex shape consistent with the instant disclosure of side faces 36, fig. 5);
each of the two first side faces is a flat plane, and each of the two second side faces has a convex shape (Anderson-336, each side face alternately abuts against wall 13, figs. 25 and 26; [0048-0049], the side faces have a flat convex shape consistent with the instant disclosure of side faces 36, fig. 5), so that when one of the two second side faces rests on one of the two first side faces, a contact between one of the two second side faces and one of the two first side faces defines a line segment (Anderson-336, figs. 25 and 26, show how the wall 13 interacts with the side faces to form a line segment);
the pawl member is pivoted slightly with the line segment serving an axis so that the engaging portion engages the ratchet portion easily (Anderson-336, figs. 25 and 26, show how the pawl engages with the engaging portion at 202, easily as understood by the instant structure);
the direction control unit is pivotally mounted in the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, direction control unit 203, fig. 12; [0044], is mounted in the third recess as shown in fig. 24) and is rotated to move the pawl member leftward or rightward in the second receiving recess (Anderson-336, figs. 25 and 26 show the pawl being moved left and right)
the direction control unit includes a rotation member (Anderson-336, the body of 203, fig .12; [0045]),
a first elastic member (Anderson-336, 210, fig .17, [0045], 112(f) equivalent as spring),
the rotation member is provided with a cylindrical block (Anderson-336, 220, fig .17; [0046], cylindrical within the understanding that it has a partially round shape as shown in fig. 13, consistent with instant block 411, fig. 7);
the cylindrical block is pivotally mounted in the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, sectional view in fig. 11, rotates as in figs. 25-26);
the cylindrical block is provided with a restriction hole (Anderson-336, 22, fig. 21, [0046])
the restriction hole has a circular shape (Anderson-336, 22, fig. 21, [0046]);
the rotation member is provided with a drive knob received in the cutout (Anderson-336, 206, fig. 21, [0036], see sectional view of cutout in fig. 11);
the drive knob has a first side abutting one of the two resting faces (Anderson-336 see side of drive knob against resting face in ann. fig. 3, a corner of the drive know abuts against one of the two resting faces; see also fig. 11, consistent with the instant disclosure);
when the rotation member is rotated, the drive knob has a second side abutting the other one of the two resting faces (Anderson-336, the arrangement is symmetrical, see side of drive knob against resting face in ann. fig. 3, a corner of the drive knob abuts against one of the two resting faces; see also fig. 11);
the cylindrical block is provided with two first slots (Anderson-336, 217, 218, fig. 20; [0047] for receiving the second push member 204, fig. 17 in two positions) and
one of the two first slots aligns with the fourth receiving recess (Anderson-336, the first slots hold the second push member 204, fig. 17 which is in the fourth receiving recess as in fig. 11);
the two first slots are distant from the restriction hole (Anderson-336, the slots 217 and 218 are spaced apart from restriction hole 211) ;
the cylindrical block has a second end provided with a second annular groove (Anderson-336, 219, fig. 20; [0046]);
the second annular groove has a concave ring shape (Anderson-336, 219, fig. 20; [0046], see concave ring shape);
the cover is received in the cover groove (Anderson-336, 4, fig. 2, [0040], is received in a cover groove consistent with the instant disclosure);
the cover closes the first receiving recess, the second receiving recess, and the third receiving recess (Anderson-336, cover 4, fig. 2, [0040] closes the recesses);
the snap ring has a C-shaped configuration (Anderson-336, c shaped ring 5, fig. 2; [0036]);
the snap ring is retained in the snap ring groove and rests on the cover (Anderson-336, described as interior channel 8 [apparent error in reference, as it is shown as 9, fig. 4], in [0037] that receives locking ring 5, fig. 2]);
the cover is restricted by the snap ring and cannot be detached from the cover groove (Anderson-336, see arrangement when assembled in fig. 2; the snap ring is on top of the cover and therefore restricts the cover).
the ratchet wrench further comprises a second push member and a second elastic member (Anderson-336, second push member 204 with elastic member/spring 205, fig. 11; [0047]; 204 is a 112(f) equivalent to a second push member as a spring biased pin; 205 is 112(f) equivalent to second elastic member as spring);
the second push member and the second elastic member are assembled and received in the fourth receiving recess (Anderson-336, second push member 204 with elastic member/spring 205, fig. 11; [0047] is inside fourth receiving recess 8) ;
the second push member is pushed by an elastic force of the second elastic member and presses one of the two first slots (Anderson-336, engages/presses 217, 218, [0047], fig. 20); and
the second push member is used to position the direction control unit (Anderson-336, [0047] positions the direction control unit by pressing against it).
Anderson-336 does not explicitly disclose:
a first ring, the angle is ranged between 55° and 65°, the angle is close to 60°, the cover groove is provided with a first annular groove, the first annular groove is arranged between the ratchet portion and the mounting portion, the first annular groove has a ring shape, the first ring is received in the first annular groove, the first ring surrounds the mounting portion, the first ring is made of resilient material, the pawl member has a rear side provided with a cavity, the cavity has an arcuate shape, the cavity has two first faces, a second face, and two third faces, the two first faces are arranged at two corners of the cavity, each of the two first faces is located at the deepest position of the cavity, each of the two first faces is arranged between the second face and one of the two third faces, each of the two first faces has a concave shape with a single diameter, the second face is disposed at a middle of the cavity, the second face has a convex shape, the two first faces are arranged symmetrically relative to the second face, the two third faces are arranged at two end openings of the cavity, the two third faces are arranged symmetrically relative to the second face, each of the two third faces is tangent to one of the two first faces, each of the two third faces has a concave shape with a single diameter, each of the two third faces has a diameter more than that of each of the two first faces, the pawl member is provided with a projection received in the cavity, the projection is close to the closed end, the pawl member is provided with a first abutting portion arranged between the projection and the cavity, the first abutting portion has a planar shape, the pawl member is provided with a second abutting portion facing the open end of the second receiving recess, the cavity is arranged between the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion, the second abutting portion has a planar shape, a first push member, a second ring, the restriction hole aligns with the cavity, the cylindrical block has a first end provided with three third abutting portions, each of the three third abutting portions is directed toward the pawl member, when the rotation member is rotated, at least one of the three third abutting portions rests on the second abutting portion, so that the pawl member is restricted by the three third abutting portions of the rotation member and cannot be detached from the second receiving recess of the wrench body, the cylindrical block is provided with a second slot, when the direction control unit is rotated, and the pawl member is moved to a middle position of the second receiving recess, the second slot aligns with the fourth receiving recess, the second slot is arranged between the two first slots, the second annular groove is distant from the three third abutting portions, the first push member and the first elastic member are assembled and received in the restriction hole, the first push member has a first end provided with a thrust portion, when the first push member is pushed by an elastic force of the first elastic member, the thrust portion presses one of the two first faces, the thrust portion is restricted by one of the two third faces and will not be detached from the cavity, the first push member has a second end provided with a pillar, the pillar has a peripheral face abutting the first abutting portion, the first push member is restricted by the first abutting portion, the pillar has a column shape, the first push member is provided with a conic face located between the thrust portion and the pillar, the thrust portion has a reduced diameter by provision of the conic face, so that the reduced diameter of the thrust portion mates with a diameter of each of the two first faces, when the rotation member is rotated, the thrust portion presses and passes the second face, and the first elastic member is compressed by the first push member, so that the first elastic member has an elastic resisting force when the rotation member is turned, the second ring is retained in the second annular groove, the second annular groove seals a gap between the rotation member and the third receiving recess, the first ring is biased between the first annular groove and the cover, the first ring seals the wrench body, the ratchet wheel, and the cover without a gap defined therebetween, so that the ratchet wrench has a waterproof effect.
Anderson-259, in the same field of endeavor, related to ratchet wrenches teaches:
a first ring (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, abutting against cover 28, for smooth movement, [0041]),
the cover groove is provided with a first annular groove (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in [first] annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, abutting against cover 28, for smooth movement, [0041], this arrangement is consistent with the instant disclosure in that there is a annular groove between the cover and the ratchet wheel),
the first annular groove is arranged between the ratchet portion and the mounting portion (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in [first] annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, abutting against cover 28, for smooth movement, [0041], this arrangement is consistent with the instant disclosure in that there is an annular groove, shown as instant 24, fig. 1, between the cover and the ratchet wheel);
the first annular groove has a ring shape (Anderson-259, the nature of annular groove is that it is a ring shape);
the first ring is received in the first annular groove (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in [first] annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, abutting against cover 28, for smooth movement, [0041]);
the first ring surrounds the mounting portion (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in [first] annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, around a mounting portion at 56, fig. 6b; [0040]) the first ring is made of resilient material (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in [first] annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, around a mounting portion at 56, fig. 6b; rubber as in [0041]),
the first ring is biased between the first annular groove and the cover (Anderson-259, lower o ring 66, in annular groove 60, figs. 3b, and 6b, abutting against cover 28, for smooth movement, [0041], since the ring is rubber or pliable in [0041] and it is sandwiched between the first annular groove and the cover, there is a biasing effect);
the first ring seals the wrench body, the ratchet wheel, and the cover without a gap defined therebetween, so that the ratchet wrench has a waterproof effect (Anderson-259, [0041], the o rings seal to reduce debris, and thus is understood to minimize or reduce water intrusion, providing a “waterproof effect” in a way that is structurally consistent with the instant disclosure ).
Anderson-259 teaches this arrangement provides for smooth movement and reduces dirt and debris (Anderson-259, [0041]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 with the first ring and first annular groove of Anderson-259 to provide for smooth movement and reduction of intrusion of dirt and debris.
Regarding the limitations that the angle is ranged between 55° and 65°; the angle is close to 60°, Anderson-259 further teaches that the angle between a plane (99, fig. 4c, [0045]) bisecting two analogous two first sides (Anderson-259, 98 and 100, fig. 4a; [0045]) of a second receiving recess (Anderson-259, 18, fig. 4b; [0045]) is a result effective variable in that it is chosen to “preferably provides the best combination of gear/pawl tooth loading and clearance for the pawls during ratcheting and reversing” (Anderson-259, [0045]).
MPEP 2144.05 provides that discovering workable ranges would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, if the range has been shown to be a result effective variable, and if it has not been demonstrated that the range is critical. The instant disclosure does not demonstrate criticality of the angle, only providing that “An angle 19 is defined between the two first side faces 121. The angle 19 is ranged between fifty-five and one sixty-five degrees. The angle 19 is close to sixty degrees (60°)” (instant spec, [0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 such that the angle [between the two first side walls] is ranged between 55° and 65°; the angle is close to 60°, as a optimization of a result effective variable to provide the best combination of gear/pawl tooth loading and clearance for the pawls during ratcheting and reversing. The examiner notes that the claimed angle is analogous to two times the angle of Anderson-259, as Anderson-259 simply provides that there is an imaginary plane that bisects the center between the two first side walls.
Ann. fig. 4 (Lai)
Lai, in the same field of endeavor, related to ratchet wrenches, teaches:
a pawl member that has a rear side provided with a cavity (Lai, 342, between 343 and 344, figs. 2, 4 and 6; [0047-0048], which provides for better teeth engagement with a torque load ([0003,0054-0055]);
the cavity has an arcuate shape (Lai, 342, between 343 and 344, figs. 2 and 4; [0047-0048], the shape is arcuate consistent with the instant disclosure at instant 32, fig. 4);
the cavity has two first faces, a second face, and two third faces (Lai, ann. fig. 4 shows the faces, which are symmetrical across a vertical line at the center of the ann. fig)
the two first faces are arranged at two corners of the cavity (Lai, ann. fig. 4 shows two first faces at/adjacent a corner consistent with the instant disclosure at instant 321, fig. 4);
each of the two first faces is located at the deepest position of the cavity (Lai, ann. fig. 4 shows two first faces with an end that is the deepest portion of the cavity, consistent with the instant disclosure at instant 321, fig. 4);
each of the two first faces is arranged between the second face and one of the two third faces (Lai, ann. fig. 4 shows two first faces between the second faces and one of the third faces)
each of the two first faces has a concave shape with a single diameter (Lai, ann. fig. 4 shows a concave curved first face [curvature implies having a diameter, see enlarged view in ann. fig. 4]);
the second face is disposed at a middle of the cavity (Lai, ann. fig. 4, between the two first faces);
the second face has a convex shape (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the second face has a convex pointed shape);
the two first faces are arranged symmetrically relative to the second face (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the two first faces are symmetrical around the second face);
the two third faces are arranged at two end openings of the cavity (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the two third faces are at an end of the cavity);
the two third faces are arranged symmetrically relative to the second face (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the two first faces are symmetrical around the second face);
each of the two third faces is tangent to one of the two first faces (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the two third faces continue as a curve/are tangent to the two first faces);
each of the two third faces has a concave shape with a single diameter (Lai, ann. fig. 4, the third faces are concave, and curved, therefore having a [single] diameter);
each of the two third faces has a diameter more than that of each of the two first faces (Lai, appears to be the case in ann. fig. 4)
the pawl member is provided with a projection received in the cavity (Lai, 343, fig. 2; [0048]);
the projection is close to the closed end (Lai, 343, fig. 2; [0048] has a closed or solid end);
the pawl member is provided with a first abutting portion arranged between the projection and the cavity (Lai, 343, fig. 2; [0048] has bottom facing surface);
the first abutting portion has a planar shape (Lai, 343, fig. 2; [0048] has a top/visible surface with a flat shape);
the pawl member is provided with a second abutting portion facing the open end of the second receiving recess (Lai, 344, fig. 2; [0048], would an open end towards the rectangular prism [mounting portion] of the ratchet wheel 20 in Lai, see exploded view in fig. 2, [0049]);
the cavity is arranged between the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion (Lai, the cavity is between 343 and 344, figs. 2, 4 and 6; [0047-0048])
the second abutting portion has a planar shape (Lai, 344, fig. 2; [0048], see flat top facing [visible] surface);
a first push member (Lai, 43, fig. 2; [0049], together with a spring 42, fig. 2, [0049], part of the direction control unit, provides for a complete engagement of the teeth for handling a higher torque load as in [0056])
the restriction hole aligns with the cavity (Lai, 42, fig. 2, [0049] aligns with cavity through the first push member)
the first push member and the first elastic member are assembled and received in the restriction hole (Lai, push member 43, fig. 2; [0049], together with a spring 42, fig. 2, [0049]; would be located in the restriction hole to press the pawl against the rotation wheel)
the first push member has a first end provided with a thrust portion (Lai, pointed tip of push member 43, fig. 2);
when the first push member is pushed by an elastic force of the first elastic member, the thrust portion presses one of the two first faces (Lai, [0049] describes the spring force against face, for example in fig. 6)
the thrust portion is restricted by one of the two third faces and will not be detached from the cavity (Lai, the arrangement is understood, structurally consistent with the instant disclosure to prevent inadvertent detachment) ;
the first push member has a second end provided with a pillar (Lai, cylindrical body of push member 43, fig. 2)
the pillar has a peripheral face abutting the first abutting portion (Lai, peripheral face as outer cylindrical surface, push member 43; the abutment is described because of limitation of movement of member 43 be edges of first and second abutting portions 343 and 344 “pressing member 43 is limited by the first and second restricting edges 343 and 344 to unable disengaging from the first recessed portion 341 or the second recessed portion 342”, [0049]);
the first push member is restricted by the first abutting portion (Lai, restriction described in [0049]), and the rotation member is restricted by the first push member, so that the rotation member is pivotally mounted and limited in the third receiving recess (the overall assembly, being contained in a cover, and body would provide for this; see also Anderson-336, overall assembly in fig. 11, rotation member pivotally mounted as in Anderson-336, figs. 25-26)
the pillar has a column shape (Lai, cylindrical body of push member 43, fig. 2);
the first push member is provided with a conic face located between the thrust portion and the pillar (Lai, conical portion between tip and cylindrical body of push member 43, fig. 2);
the thrust portion has a reduced diameter by provision of the conic face, so that the reduced diameter of the thrust portion mates with a diameter of each of the two first faces (Lai, figs. 6 shows the thrust portion mating with the pawl, as the ratchet is switched, it will move to mate against the two first faces by the spring that pushes the thrust portion out , [0049] explains the mating with 341 and 342 and the reversibility);
when the rotation member is rotated, the thrust portion presses and passes the second face, and the first elastic member is compressed by the first push member, so that the first elastic member has an elastic resisting force when the rotation member is turned (Lai, figs. 6 shows the thrust portion of the first push member mating with the pawl, pressed by the elastic member in the groove, and the reversal of the ratchet switch would result in passing through the second face [0049] explains the mating with 341 and 342 and the reversibility).
Lai teaches the arrangement of the cavity first and second abutting portions, and first push member provides for better teeth engagement with a torque load (Lai, [0003,0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 with the arrangement of Lai for the purpose of providing for better teeth engagement with a torque load.
Regarding the limitation of each of the two third faces has a diameter more than that of each of the two first faces, the examiner respectfully submits that it appears to be the case, as taught by Lai, above. (Lai, ann. fig. 4).
Alternatively, MPEP 2144.04 provides that changes in size/proportion would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, providing that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art”
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 (incorporating the arrangement of Lai, as noted above), such that each of the two third faces has a diameter more than that of each of the two first faces, as a change in relative dimensions, with predictable results.
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, related to ratchet wrenches, teaches:
a second ring (Chang; o-ring 62 in annular groove 462, [0021], to seal against water and dust in [0022], part of analogous direction control member 40)
the second ring is retained in the second annular groove (Chang; o-ring 62 in annular groove 462, [0021], to seal against water and dust in [0022]; examiner notes that the second annular groove in Anderson-336 at 219, fig. 20 is to provide a gasket for sealing as in [0046])
the second annular groove seals a gap between the rotation member and the third receiving recess (Chang; o-ring 62 in annular groove 462, [0021], to seal against water and dust in [0022]).
Chang teaches the arrangement of a second ring and second annular groove seals against water and dust.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 with the second ring and second annular groove arrangement of Chang, for sealing against water and dust, thus keeping the inside of the ratchet wrench clean.
Mitcheltree, in the same field of endeavor, related to ratchet wrenches, teaches:
the cylindrical block has a first end provided with three third abutting portions (Mitcheltree, abutting portions 330, figs. 2 and 8; [0041] provides for control as in, [0042] with multiple portions consistent with 413 in instant fig. 6);
each of the three third abutting portions is directed toward the pawl member (Mitcheltree, towards pawl 200, [0041]);
when the rotation member is rotated, at least one of the three third abutting portions rests on the second abutting portion, so that the pawl member is restricted by the three third abutting portions of the rotation member and cannot be detached from the second receiving recess of the wrench body (Mitcheltree, see fig. 8, resting on surface of pawl proximate to 230, and description in [0041], the arrangement is understood to functionally limit detachment of the rotation member when fully assembled by restricting the rotation member from being pulled out with a flat surface; “rest” interpreted consistent with instant fig. 14);
the second annular groove is distant from the three third abutting portions (incorporating the slot of Mitcheltree would result in the second annular groove of Anderson-336 at 219, fig. 20, being spaced apart from the third abutting portions at different positions on the direction control unit as the third abutting portions would be on an opposite end, opposite that of a drive knob, which is shown at 310, fig. 2 of Mitcheltree; [0037]).
Mitcheltree teaches that this arrangement of three third abutting portions provides for better control ([0042]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 with the arrangement of Mitcheltree with three third abutting portion of Mitcheltree for the purpose of providing better control.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, related to ratchet wrenches, teaches:
an arrangement engaging using a spring against a surface (Chen; spring 23, [0020-0025]) and including a second slot (Chen; there are three slots 28, 29, and 38, fig. 2, [0025] the arrangement would provide the switch with a neutral position for the ratchet and restrain the spring).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Anderson-336 to have included a second slot (in addition to the two first slots in the cylindrical block), using the teachings of Chen, which when applied, would provide for further restraint of the second push member, and additionally for the reason fo providing a neutral position to the ratchet wrench. The arrangement would have resulted in:
when the direction control unit is rotated, and the pawl member is moved to a middle position of the second receiving recess, the second slot aligns with the fourth receiving recess (Chen; the modification would result in a middle second slot, therefore, the second slot would align with the fourth receiving recess that is between the first two slots); and
the second slot is arranged between the two first slots (Chen; the modification would result in a middle second slot, between the first slots, as Chen teaches of three slots), the second slot are distant from the restriction hole (like the first two slots of Anderson-336, the second slot in between the first two slots would be distant from the restriction hole)
With respect to claim 2, Anderson-336, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches:
the mounting portion protrudes from the first receiving recess (Anderson-336, 101, fig. 11, [0048]);
the mounting portion is a tetragonal head (Anderson-336, fig. 2 shows a tetra [4 sided] prism); or
the mounting portion is a polygonal recess for mounting a screw member (limitation in the alterative not addressed, examiner notes that instant figures do not show this aspect).
With respect to claim 3, Anderson-336, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches:
the diameter of the engaging portion is slightly more than that of the ratchet portion (Anderson-336, see interface at 202, fig. 12);
the engaging portion has a first end provided with a first toothed part and a second end provided with a second toothed part (Anderson-336, the two ends at 202, fig. 14 are considered toothed parts, also see figs. 25 and 26 for where different halves are engaged with the ratchet wheel at 202, this is consistent with the instant disclosure in that there are a series of teeth at 312, fig. 5);
the diameter of the engaging portion is slightly more than that of the ratchet portion (Anderson-336, see interface at 202, fig. 12);, so that when the pawl member is received in the second receiving recess, a gap is defined between the first toothed part or the second toothed part and the ratchet portion (Anderson-336, see figs. 25 and 26 for where different halves are engaged with the ratchet wheel at 202; and there would be gaps on the half not engaged)
the gap is increased gradually from a middle of the engaging portion toward the first toothed part or the second toothed part (Anderson-336, see figs. 25 and 26 for where different halves are engaged with the ratchet wheel at 202; and there would be increasing gaps on the half not engaged).
With respect to claim 4, Anderson-336, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches:
wherein each of the two first slots has an arcuate shape (Anderson-336, 217, 218, fig. 20; [0047], shows arcuate rounded slots)
With respect to claim 5, Anderson-336, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches:
wherein the cover slightly rests on the end face or a gap is defined between the cover and the end face (Anderson-336, [0040], cover 4, fig. 2 rests on gear 103 [end face] as shown in the sectional view in fig. 11)
With respect to claim 6, Anderson-336, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches:
wherein:
the cover is provided with a through hole (Anderson-336, cover 4 fig. 2, has a hole to allow the mounting portion 101 to penetrate);
the through hole has a circular shape hole (Anderson-336, cover 4 fig. 2, the hole through mounting portion 101 is protruded is round); and
the mounting portion protrudes from the through hole (Anderson-336, cover 4 fig. 2, mounting portion 101 protrudes through the hole).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi (TW I825944 B) is a corresponding foreign publication.
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723