DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14-15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer-Ul-Islam et al. (“Naseer”, US 20230397073 A1, on the record) in view of Wifvesson et al. (“Wifvesson”, US 20240388897 A1). 1) Regarding claim 1, Naseer discloses a security configuration method in a handover scenario (Fig. 3), comprising: receiving, by a target access network node (Figs. 2-3: Target Cell (gNB 2)), a first message that indicates a terminal device (Figs. 2-3: user equipment (UE) 1) to be handed over from a source access network node to the target access network node (Fig. 3: S315-320), the first message comprises first information that indicates a terminal device to be handed over from a source access network node to the target access network node (¶171; Fig. 3: 320). As per the limitation the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration same as a user plane security configuration a first data radio bearer of the source access network node. Naseer discloses, in ¶¶27, 153, that during handover (HO) procedures that the source and target perform packet data convergence protocol PDCP protocols. Fig. 2 illustrates the source cell and target cell as network nodes (gNB). Wifvesson discloses, in ¶¶304, 310, the concept of configuring a gNB nodes to use using PDCP protocol steps to provide a message indicating to a new radio access node that the new radio access node should activate the user plane (UP) IP mode for a data radio bearer established with the UE and further sending a request to the new radio access node for the new radio access node to activate the UP IP mode for the data radio bearer established with the UE, and response receiving a response from the new radio access node that indicates that the UP IP mode for the data radio bearer established with the UE will be activated, and initiating a reconfiguration procedure with the UE that includes indicating to the UE to activate the UP IP mode for the data radio bearer established with the new radio access node. As per the limitation sending, by the target access network, a response message of the first message node, wherein the response message comprises second information that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of the target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is the same as a user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node (Wifvesson: ¶310)), wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the source access network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310), and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310) between the terminal device and the target access network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310). 2) Regarding claims 3 and 18, wherein the first information comprises identification information and a dual active protocol stack handover indication of the first data radio bearer, and the dual active protocol stack handover indication indicates the first data radio bearer to use dual active protocol stack handover (Naseer: ¶¶66-79; claim 10; Wifvesson: ¶268). 3) Regarding claim 14 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is from the source access network node, and the sending the response message comprises: sending, by the target access network node, the response message to the source access network node (Naseer: Fig. 3; Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310); or the first message is from a core network node and the sending the response message comprises: sending, by the target access network node, the response message to the core network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310). 4) Regarding claim 15, Naseer and Wifvesson with the same motivation as presented in the rejection of claim 1, teach a security configuration method in a handover scenario performed by a source access network node or an access and mobility management node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), comprising: sending, by a source access network node a first message that indicates a terminal device to be handed over from the source access network node to a target access network node (Naseer: Fig. 3: S315-S320; ), the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration same as a user plane security configuration of a first data radio bearer of the source access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); As per the limitation the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration of radio bearer of the source access network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310), and a response message of the first message, wherein the response message a response message of the first message, wherein the response message comprises second information that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of the target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is the same as a user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1; also see Nakarmi: Figs. 1 & 17; Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310), wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the source access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the target access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1; Wifvesson: ¶¶304-305, 310).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 20210136635 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claims 2 and 16, wherein the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is a data radio bearer used after the first data radio bearer is handed over from the source access network node to the target access network node. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer (corresponding to establishing a new/second radio data bearer) using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 4 the method according to claim 3, wherein the first message comprises the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 310) and the method further comprises: determining, by the target access network node based on the dual active protocol stack handover indication, that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer. Naseer discloses, in ¶69, the performing dual active stack protocol stack HO procedures. Wifvesson discloses, in ¶¶265-268, performing dual connectivity communication procedures. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enabling a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer uses the same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system. As per the limitation configuring, by the target access network node based on the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, user plane security of the second data radio bearer, or configuring user plane security of a data radio bearer in a protocol data unit session corresponding to the second data radio bearer, Wifvesson discloses, in ¶¶295, 301, the concept of creating a session procedure to establish a default bearer configuration based on received indication of user plane IP mode, when another user plane integrity policy takes precedence over the indicated UP IP mode. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of creating a session procedure to establish a default bearer configuration based on received indication of user plane IP mode, when another user plane integrity policy takes precedence over the indicated UP IP mode, with the motivation to enhance the data communication features of the system. 3) Regarding claim 10 the method according to claim 1, wherein the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer of the target access network node, the user plane security configuration is the same as that of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node; or the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enabling a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enabling a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Sharma et al. (“Sharma”, EP 3662698 B1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 5 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises a user plane security activation state, and the user plane security activation state indicates a user plane security activation state of the first data radio bearer or a user plane security activation state of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the first data radio bearer. Sharma discloses, in ¶44, the concept of providing the handover information regarding the active state of a UE user plane security to enable activation of the security if a target is able conduct the integrity protection. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing the handover information regarding the active state of a UE user plane security to enable activation of the security if a target is able conduct the integrity protection, with the motivation to enhance the security and handover features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 6 the method according to claim 5, further determining, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer based on the user plane security activation state (Sharma: ¶44: S6-8).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Ben et al. (“Ben”, US 20240284178 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 7 the method according to claim 5, wherein the first message comprises the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, and the method further comprises: comparing, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer with the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, wherein if a comparison result is that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is different from the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer; or if a comparison result is that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer, a user plane security configuration that is the same as that of the first data radio bearer. Ben discloses, in ¶¶114-132, the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures, with the motivation to enhance security features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 8 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a first user plane security policy, and the first user plane security policy that is a user plane security policy of the first data radio bearer, or the first user plane security policy is a user plane security policy of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the first data radio bearer. Ben discloses, in ¶¶114-132, the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures, with the motivation to enhance security features of the system.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, Sharma and Ben, and in further view of Sammour et al. (“Sammour”, US 20100002883 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 9, method according to claim 8, wherein the first user plane security policy indicates that security protection is recommended to be used. Sammour discloses, in abstract; Fig, 3: step 235, the concept of indicating required/algorithm (corresponding to a terminal device) supported during handovers. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of indicating required/algorithm supported during handovers, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Yoo et al. (“Yoo”, US 20190253942 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 11 the method according to claim 1, further comprising: after the target access network node receives a radio resource control reconfiguration complete message from the terminal device, updating, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer according to a second user plane security policy that is a user plane security policy of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node or a user plane security policy of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the second data radio bearer. Yoo discloses, in claim 12, the concept of receiving handover completion messages to facilitate radio bearer service adaptation protocol.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving handover completion messages to facilitate radio bearer service adaptation protocol, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 12 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Wang et al. (“Wang”, US 20140194127 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claims 12 and 17, further comprising: sending, by the target access network node, an updated user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node to the terminal device. Wang discloses, in ¶92, the concept of configuring a target base station to send updated user plane information. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of configuring a target base station to send updated user plane information, with the motivation to enhance the communication features of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson and Wang, and in further view of Velev et al. (“Velev”, US 20230292399 A1, on the record) and Hu (WO 2009132550 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 13 the according to claim 12, wherein the updated user plane security configuration is carried in a resource release message. Velev discloses, in ¶40, the concept of using resource release message. Hu discloses, on page 9, the concept of associating resource release messages with user plane information when configuring a bearer during handovers. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of associating resource release messages with user plane information when configuring a bearer during handovers, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Wifvesson, and in further view of Lee et al. (“Lee”, US 20180124865 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claim 19, Naseer and Wifvesson with the same motivation as presented in the rejection of claim 1, teach a security configuration method in a handover scenario ( see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), comprising: receiving, by a communication apparatus (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 306, 310), a radio resource configuration message from a source access network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 306, 310),wherein the radio resource configuration message comprises second information that that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of a target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as a user plane security configuration of a first data radio bearer of a source access network node (Wifvesson: ¶¶304, 306, 310),wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the communication apparatus and the source access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting the data packet between the communication apparatus and the target access network node ( see analysis of the rejection of claim 1). As per the limitation receiving, by the communication apparatus, a resource release message from the target access network node, wherein the resource release message comprises third information that indicates an updated user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node. Lee discloses, in ¶79, the concept of performing use plane data reconfiguration steps. ¶¶102-112 discloses the concept of transmitting a message to a UE during radio bearer release operation when performing a new radio bearer configuration step, and in response to the received message the UE performs involves a, UE, source and target component, respectively, and ¶¶102-111, involves At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using user equipment (UE) identifiable security configuration and bearer-type information element (IE) via Radio Resource Control (RRS) messages received from an access network entity for communication configuration to enable communication between devices, with the motivation to enhance the connection configuration features. 2) Regarding claim 20 the method according to claim 19, wherein the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer of the target access network node, a user plane security configuration that is the same as that of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node; or the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer. Lee illustrates, in Fig. 3, that the UE (corresponding to a terminal device) receives connection reconfiguration messages associated with user plane security configurations, in order to synchronizes with the target. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Final rejection has been withdrawn. However, in view of the teachings by new reference Wifvesson in combination with other prior art of record, a new Non-Final rejection has been formulated. For full details see action above.
Conclusion
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685