DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14-15 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer-Ul-Islam et al. (“Naseer”, US 20230397073 A1, on the record) in view of Nakarmi et al. (“Nakarmi”, US 20230362635 A1) and Lee et al. (“Lee”, US 20180124865 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claim 1, Naseer discloses a security configuration method in a handover scenario (Fig. 3), comprising: receiving, by a target access network node (Figs. 2-3: Target Cell (gNB 2)), a first message that indicates a terminal device (Figs. 2-3: user equipment (UE) 1) to be handed over from a source access network node to the target access network node (Fig. 3: S315-320), the first message comprises first information that indicates a terminal device to be handed over from a source access network node to the target access network node (¶171; Fig. 3: 320). As per the limitation the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration same as a user plane security configuration a first data radio bearer of the source access network node. Nakarmi discloses, in ¶¶8, 66-74; Figs. 1; 9-11, 15 & 17, the concept of configuring different distributed unit of a radio network to serve different respective ones of the data radio bearers of a wireless device using PDCP protocol corresponding to uplink/downlink transmissions. Nakarmi discloses, in ¶215, that the “user plane traffic that is for the second CU-UP (Block 1540), and transmitting, on the interface between the first CU-UP and the DU, the user plane traffic received from the second CU-UP together with user plane traffic for the first CU-UP”, corresponding to ensuring that the same user plane configuration is used. Nakarmi further discloses, in ¶¶224-227, that the user plane security keys of a data radio bearer serving a wireless device is provided to another data radio bearer that is to serve the wireless device, and that the process can be done at the PDCP protocol layer. Naseer discloses, in ¶116, that invention may implement specific security scheme support features. Also notice, in ¶59, that Naseer discloses the use of user plane connection to indicate connection configuration and indication of data radio bearer information for performing handovers, and using PDCP protocol, see ¶38. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of configuring different distributed unit of a radio network to serve different respective ones of the data radio bearers of a wireless device using PDCP protocol corresponding to uplink/downlink transmissions, with the motivation to enhance the connection configuration features. As per the limitation sending, by the target access network, a response message of the first message node, wherein the response message comprises second information that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of the target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is the same as a user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node Nakarmi discloses, and transmitting and receiving user plane security configuration of data radio bearers between data radio bearers, as addressed above. Nakarmi also discloses, in ¶64, using RRS protocols. Nakarmi illustrates, in Fig. 1 a disaggregated radio network node providing access interfacing between data bearers (16-1 through 16-N) to serve a wireless device. Lee discloses, in ¶¶14, 103-110, 113-119, 136, 145-147 with reference to Figs. 3-6; step 665, the concept of using user equipment (UE) identifiable security configuration and bearer-type information element (IE) via Radio Resource Control (RRS) messages received from an access network entity. Fig. 3 illustrates, in steps 370 or 375 that the messaging enables a receiving entity to identify security configuration with data radio bearer information. Notice that ¶114 discloses that either the UE or another device may determine the security configuration via received messages. Also notice, in Fig. 6, the process involves a, UE, source and target components, respectively; and providing response messages comprising user plane security configuration of data bearers. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using user equipment identifiable security configuration and bearer-type information element via Radio Resource Control messages received from an access network entity, with the motivation to enhance the connection configuration features. As per the limitation wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the source access network node (Nakarmi: Fig. 1: disaggregated radio network node 14), and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet (Nakarmi: ¶16) between the terminal device and the target access network node (Nakarmi: Figs. 1, 17). 2) Regarding claims 3 and 18, wherein the first information comprises identification information and a dual active protocol stack handover indication of the first data radio bearer, and the dual active protocol stack handover indication indicates the first data radio bearer to use dual active protocol stack handover (Naseer: ¶¶66-79; claim 10; Lee: ¶¶19, 79, 157, 203-227, 240). 3) Regarding claim 14 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is from the source access network node, and the sending he response message comprises: sending, by the target access network node, the response message to the source access network node (Naseer: Fig. 3;: Lee: Figs. 3 & 6); or the first message is from a core network node and the sending the response message comprises: sending, by the target access network node, the response message to the core network node. 4) Regarding claim 15, Naseer, Nakarmi and Lee with the same motivation as presented in the rejection of claim 1, teach a security configuration method in a handover scenario performed by a source access network node or an access and mobility management node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), comprising: sending, by a source access network node a first message that indicates a terminal device to be handed over from the source access network node to a target access network node (Naseer: Fig. 3: S315-S320), the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration same as a user plane security configuration of a first data radio bearer of the source access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); As per the limitation the first message comprises first information that indicates to use a user plane security configuration of radio bearer of the source access network node, and a response message of the first message, wherein the response message a response message of the first message, wherein the response message comprises second information that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of the target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is the same as a user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1; also see Nakarmi: Figs. 1 & 17), wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the source access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the terminal device and the target access network node (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1; also see Nakarmi: Figs. 1 & 17; and Lee discloses, in ¶145-147; 154-156, the concept of using response messaging to indicate proper handover configuration related to user plane security and bearer configuration during UE handover procedures). 5) Regarding claim 19, Naseer, Nakarmi and Lee with the same motivation as presented in the rejection of claim 1, teach a security configuration method in a handover scenario ( see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), comprising: receiving, by a communication apparatus (Lee: Fig. 6: S655), a radio resource configuration message from a source access network node (Lee: ¶145-147: Nakarmi: Fig. 1),wherein the radio resource configuration message comprises second information that that indicates a user plane security configuration of a second data radio bearer of a target access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as a user plane security configuration of a first data radio bearer of a source access network node. Naseer discloses, in ¶116, that invention may implement specific security scheme support features. Also notice, in ¶59, that Naseer discloses the use of user plane connection to indicate connection configuration and indication of data radio bearer information for perform handovers. Lee discloses, in ¶¶14, 108-110, 113-119, 136- with reference to Figs. 3-6, the concept of using user equipment (UE) identifiable security configuration and bearer-type information element (IE) via Radio Resource Control (RRS) messages received from an access network entity. Fig. 3 illustrates, in steps 370 or 375 that the messaging enables a receiving entity to identify security configuration with data radio bearer information for communication configuration to enable communication between devices. Notice that ¶114 discloses that either the UE or another device may determine the security configuration via received messages. Also notice, in Fig. 6, the process involves a, UE, source and target component, respectively. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using user equipment (UE) identifiable security configuration and bearer-type information element (IE) via Radio Resource Control (RRS) messages received from an access network entity for communication configuration to enable communication between devices, with the motivation to enhance the connection configuration features. As per the limitation wherein the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer is for transmitting a data packet between the communication apparatus and the source access network node, and the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is for transmitting the data packet between the communication apparatus and the target access network node ( see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), and receiving, by the communication apparatus, a resource release message from the target access network node (Lee: ¶¶102-111), wherein the resource release message comprises third information that indicates an updated user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node (Lee: ¶¶102-111, 145-148; Fig. 6: S655-660).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10, 16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi and Lee, and in further view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 20210136635 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claims 2 and 16, wherein the second data radio bearer of the target access network node is a data radio bearer used after the first data radio bearer is handed over from the source access network node to the target access network node. Nakarmi illustrates, in Fig. 1, that the access nodes provide communication interfacing between multiple data radio bearers. Lee illustrates, in Fig. 3, that the UE (corresponding to a terminal device) receives connection reconfiguration messages associated with user plane security configurations, in order to synchronizes with the target. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer (corresponding to establishing a new/second radio data bearer) using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 4 the method according to claim 3, wherein the first message comprises the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer (Lee: ¶¶79, 94-96; Fig. 3), and the method further comprises: determining, by the target access network node based on the dual active protocol stack handover indication, that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer. Lee illustrates, in Fig. 3, that the UE (corresponding to a terminal device) receives connection reconfiguration messages associated with user plane security configurations, in order to synchronizes with the target. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system. As per the limitation configuring, by the target access network node based on the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, user plane security of the second data radio bearer, or configuring user plane security of a data radio bearer in a protocol data unit session corresponding to the second data radio bearer (Lee: abstract; ¶¶5-13, 79, 95-111). 3) Regarding claim 10 the method according to claim 1, wherein the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer of the target access network node, the user plane security configuration is the same as that of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node; or the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer. Lee illustrates, in Fig. 3, that the UE receives connection reconfiguration messages associated with user plane security configurations, in order to synchronizes with the target. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system. 4) Regarding claim 20 the method according to claim 19, wherein the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer of the target access network node, a user plane security configuration that is the same as that of the first data radio bearer of the source access network node; or the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer. Lee illustrates, in Fig. 3, that the UE (corresponding to a terminal device) receives connection reconfiguration messages associated with user plane security configurations, in order to synchronizes with the target. Kim discloses, in ¶70-99, the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enable a UE to receive messages indicating a new bearer using same bearer identifiers to enable handover operations, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi and Lee, and in further view of Sharma et al. (“Sharma”, EP 3662698 B1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 5 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises a user plane security activation state, and the user plane security activation state indicates a user plane security activation state of the first data radio bearer or a user plane security activation state of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the first data radio bearer. Sharma discloses, in ¶44, the concept of providing the handover information regarding the active state of a UE user plane security to enable activation of the security if a target is able conduct the integrity protection. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing the handover information regarding the active state of a UE user plane security to enable activation of the security if a target is able conduct the integrity protection, with the motivation to enhance the security and handover features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 6 the method according to claim 5, further determining, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer based on the user plane security activation state (Sharma: ¶44: S6-8).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi, Lee and Sharma, and in further view of Ben et al. (“Ben”, US 20240284178 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 7 the method according to claim 5, wherein the first message comprises the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, and the method further comprises: comparing, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer with the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, wherein if a comparison result is that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is different from the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, the second information comprises the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer; or if a comparison result is that the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer is the same as the user plane security configuration of the first data radio bearer, the second information indicates to use, for the second data radio bearer, a user plane security configuration that is the same as that of the first data radio bearer. Ben discloses, in ¶¶114-132, the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures, with the motivation to enhance security features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 8 the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a first user plane security policy, and the first user plane security policy that is a user plane security policy of the first data radio bearer, or the first user plane security policy is a user plane security policy of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the first data radio bearer. Ben discloses, in ¶¶114-132, the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving and determining user plane security policies via reception of data packet messages with status indication to determine the security policy of a data radio bearer doing a communication configuration procedures, with the motivation to enhance security features of the system.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi, Lee, Sharma and Ben, and in further view of Sammour et al. (“Sammour”, US 20100002883 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 9, method according to claim 8, wherein the first user plane security policy indicates that security protection is recommended to be used. Sammour discloses, in abstract; Fig, 3: step 235, the concept of indicating required/algorithm (corresponding to a terminal device) supported during handovers. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of indicating required/algorithm supported during handovers, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi, Lee, and in further view of Yoo et al. (“Yoo”, US 20190253942 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 11 the method according to claim 1, further comprising: after the target access network node receives a radio resource control reconfiguration complete message from the terminal device, updating, by the target access network node, the user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer according to a second user plane security policy that is a user plane security policy of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node or a user plane security policy of a protocol data unit session corresponding to the second data radio bearer. Yoo discloses, in claim 12, the concept of receiving handover completion messages to facilitate radio bearer of service adaptation protocol.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of receiving handover completion messages to facilitate radio bearer of service adaptation protocol, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Claim(s) 12 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi, Lee, and in further view of Wang et al. (“Wang”, US 20140194127 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claims 12 and 17, further comprising: sending, by the target access network node, an updated user plane security configuration of the second data radio bearer of the target access network node to the terminal device. Wang discloses, in ¶92, the concept of configuring a target base station to send updated user plane information. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of configuring a target base station to send updated user plane information, with the motivation to enhance the communication features of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer in view of Nakarmi, Lee and Wang, and in further view of Velev et al. (“Velev”, US 20230292399 A1, on the record) and Hu (WO 2009132550 A1, on the record). 1) Regarding claim 13 the according to claim 12, wherein the updated user plane security configuration is carried in a resource release message. Velev discloses, in ¶40, the concept of using resource release message. Hu discloses, on page 9, the concept of associating resource release messages with user plane information when configuring a bearer during handovers.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of associating resource release messages with user plane information when configuring a bearer during handovers, with the motivation to enhance the handover features of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 02/02/2026 have been considered but are moot because the amendment change the scope. Furthermore, the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of prior art reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2684
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685