DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 recites “the compartment accommodating the packaging element”, since claim 1 has been amended to only functionally recite the packaging element, the aforementioned portion of claim 9 should be amended as follows: “the compartment being able to accommodate
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended as follows: “The device for dispensing a plurality of
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended as follows: “A method for using the device for dispensing a plurality of”.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended as follows: “The device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 8, wherein”.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended as follows: “The device for…”.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 recites “The system for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 10”; however, claim 10 recites “The device for dispensing a plurality of cosmetic products according to claim 1”. Since claim 19 recites “The system” it is suggested to amend claim 19 to depend from claim 10.
Line 2 recites “the first and second reversible fastening elements”; since no second fastening element has yet been recited, it is suggested to amend the aforementioned portion of line 2 as follows: “the first reversible fastening element and a second reversible fastening element[[s]]”.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended as follows: “The system for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim [[11]] 19…” since a first and second magnetic contact surfaces have not been recited until claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossnass et al. (US2009/0232578) in view of Kim et al. (KR101893891B1).
Regarding claim 1, Grossnass discloses a device (10, Figures 1-15) for dispensing a plurality of products (“the cosmetic applicator 10 disclosed herein can be used for retaining and applying multiple members of a wide variety of cosmetic materials, including, by way of example and not limitation, lip pencil leads, eye pencil leads, lipstick, mascara, and substantially any other cosmetic material that might be desired.”, refer to Paragraph [0054]) comprising:
a body (12) comprising a lateral wall (referring to at least Figure 1, the body is depicted as being substantially cylindrical, wherein the height/long dimension of the cylinder defines a lateral wall) and a dispensing opening (30);
a selector (22) comprising a product support comprising at least two compartments (34; referring to Figure 5, there are three compartments; additionally refer to Paragraph [0036] which states that there may be more than three compartments), each compartment being able to accommodate a packaging element reversibly closed by a packaging cap (the limitation “each compartment being able to accommodate a packaging element reversibly closed by a packaging cap” is interpreted as an intended use limitation; Grossnass’ compartments are defined by a hollow interior and are therefore fully capable of, without modification, being used to accommodate a packaging element that is reversibly closed by a packaging cap; additionally, refer to Paragraph [0054] which recites that mascara may be accommodated in the compartment and mascara is a well-known cosmetic that is stored within a packaging element with a reversibly closed packaging cap), the product support being movably housed in the body (“chamber 22 is rotatably retained within the tubular housing 12”, refer to Paragraph [0036]);
wherein the selector is configured to move the product support in order to move each compartment between a dispensing position in which said compartment faces the dispensing opening (refer to Paragraph [0044]), and a storage position in which said compartment is brought away from the dispensing opening (referring to Figures 3 and 4, the body comprises a single dispensing opening, 30, and at least three compartments that are selectively aligned with the dispensing opening; thus, at any given time, at least two compartments will be out of alignment with the dispensing opening, and these two compartments are in the storage position).
Grossnass does not disclose:
a body cap cooperating with the body in order to reversibly close the dispensing opening;
the body cap comprises a first reversible fastening element configured to cooperate, when the compartment is in the dispensing position, with the packaging cap so that a removal of the body cap off the dispensing opening simultaneously causes a removal of the packaging cap off the packaging element in the dispensing position. Rather, Grossnass does not disclose any type of cap.
Kim discloses a similar device (100, Figures 1-8) for dispensing a plurality of products, the device comprising a body (120) comprising a lateral wall (vertical wall of body 120, refer to Figure 2), a dispensing opening (any of the three openings disposed in a top surface of body 120, as best shown in Figure 4), and a body cap (110) cooperating with the body in order to reversibly close the dispensing opening (refer to Figure 1, wherein body cap is disposed on the body and Figure 2, wherein the body cap is separated from the body), the body cap being provided in order to prevent any debris from entering a top surface of the device; a plurality of packaging elements (130), each packaging element comprising a packaging wall (interior cylindrical wall of each compartment, 130), an open end (top end of 130 with respect to Figure 4), and a packaging cap (141), where the packaging element contains a fluid therein (“cosmetic compositions of the liquid or gel type”, refer to Page 4, second full paragraph) and where the packaging cap cooperates with said packaging element in order to reversibly close the open end of said packaging element to prevent the fluid contents of the individual packaging elements from spilling (“the cap 141 closes the container 130 to prevent the cosmetics from flowing out of the container 130”, refer to Page 5, sixth paragraph). The packaging element further comprises an applicator (142 + 143) coupled to the packaging cap to provide a convenient means for applying the liquid cosmetic. To actuate the packaging cap and applicator, the packaging element may be elevated (“the fastening means 160 may be fastened to each other by pushing fastening means 151 corresponding to the buttons provided on the lid 110”, refer to Page 6, fifth paragraph), similar to that of Grossnass’ device, in order to engage with the body cap, where the body cap comprises a first reversible fastening element (151) configured to cooperate, when the compartment is in the dispensing position, with the packaging cap so that a removal of the body cap off the dispensing opening simultaneously causes a removal of the packaging cap off the packaging element in the dispensing position (“The lid 110 may be coupled to the cap 141 among the components of the brush assembly 140”, refer to Page 5, eight paragraph; additionally refer to Figure 5 which depicts the coupling means of the body cap and the packaging cap; additionally refer to Page 5, tenth paragraph and Page 6, fifth and seventh paragraphs), thereby permitting a user to conveniently access a liquid cosmetic using an applicator brush provided therewith. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Grossnass’ device to include a body cap cooperating with the body in order to reversibly close the dispensing opening, as taught by Kim, since such a modification would have involved combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of preventing debris from depositing at a top of the device.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the combination of Grossnass and Kim such that the body cap comprises a first reversible fastening element configured to cooperate, when the compartment is in the dispensing position, with the packaging cap so that a removal of the body cap off the dispensing opening simultaneously causes a removal of the packaging cap off the packaging element in the dispensing position, as taught by Kim, since such a modification provides the advantage of permitting a user to conveniently access a cosmetic contained within the packaging element, using a brush applicator supplied therewith while simultaneously preventing the product from spilling out of each of the packaging elements.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 1, as applied above. Grossnass further discloses wherein the body has a body axis (referring to Grossnass Figure 4, the body axis is defined as an axis extending into the page, through a center of 32), the dispensing opening is comprised in a first end (end proximate 20, refer at least to Grossnass Figure 1) of the body and has a dispensing axis (the dispensing axis is defined as an axis extending into the page, through a center of 30, refer to Grossnass Figure 4) substantially parallel to the body axis (referring to Grossnass Figure 4, both the body axis and the dispensing axis extend in the same direction/into the page, and are offset, thereby providing a parallel relationship), each compartment has a compartment axis (referring to Grossnass Figure 6, the compartment axis is an axis extending into the page, at a center of each compartment, 34), said compartment axis being, in the dispensing position, aligned with the dispensing axis (in the dispensing position, one of the compartments is rotated to align with the dispensing opening, thereby providing the axes of the compartment and the dispensing opening to be aligned), and said compartment axis being offset from the dispensing axis in the storage position (since only a single compartment is aligned with the dispensing axis at any time, the remaining compartments’ axes will be offset from the dispensing axis during storage).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 2, as applied above. Grossnass further discloses wherein each compartment is positioned around a pivot axis (axis extending through a center of 22) parallel to the body axis (the body axis also extends through a center of the body; when the device is assembled, the body axis and the pivot axis are substantially the same/parallel), the compartment axis is parallel to the pivot axis (refer to Figure 4, wherein the compartment axes are offset from the pivot axis, thereby providing the axes to be parallel) and the selector comprises a rotary ring (14) allowing moving each compartment between the dispensing position and the storage position by rotation of the product support about the pivot axis (refer to Paragraph [0046] which describes a coupling between the rotary ring and the selector, via a key 48; i.e. rotation of the rotary ring affects rotation of the selector due to key 48, best shown in Figure 8, engaging with keyhole, 40, best shown in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 1, as applied above. Per the modification addressed in claim 1, the body cap of Kim was incorporated into Grossnass’ device, wherein Grossnass’ body comprises a separator (per applicant’s specification, a separator may be a wall of the device; per this interpretation, Grossnass discloses a wall/separator defined by tip portion 20) configured to apply a shear force on the packaging cap when switching from the dispensing position into the storage position of the compartment that is configured to accommodate the packaging element since Kim discloses that the cap may be rotated to disengage the coupling between the body cap and the packaging cap (see Kim Page 5, twelfth paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 1, as applied above. Grossnass further discloses wherein: each compartment comprises a bottom (referring to Grossnass Figure 6, a bottom of each compartment is defined by the arcuate surface of 34, disposed a terminal bottom end of the product support) substantially perpendicular to a compartment axis (the terminal bottom end extends about the lower surface of the opening and is therefore substantially perpendicular to an axis passing through each compartment) opposite the dispensing opening (the dispensing opening is disposed at a top/upper right of the device, and the bottom is disposed at a bottom/lower left of the device, with respect to the orientation of Figure 1, and are therefore oppositely disposed), the device comprises a lifting element (18) configured to urge the packaging element towards a top position away from the bottom (refer to Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the device for dispensing a plurality of cosmetic products according to claim 1, as applied above. The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the body comprises a second open end and the device further comprises a base able to reversibly close said second end, the product support could be dislodged from the body through the second open end. The combination does however disclose that rotary ring 14 is engaged to a bottom end of the body via a snap-fit (refer to Grossnass Paragraph [0034]), where snap-fit connections are either intended to be releasable or not. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of the combination of Grossnass and Kim such that the snap-fit between the rotary ring and the body is a releasable snap-fit, since such a modification would have involved choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, those solutions being a releasable snap-fit or a non-releasable snap-fit, with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying the rotary ring 41 to be releasably snap-fit provides a configuration wherein the body comprises a second open end (end at bottom/lower left of the body, refer to Grossnass Figure 1) and the device further comprises a base (41) able to reversibly close said second end, the product support could be dislodged from the body through the second open end (with the base/rotary ring being removed, the product support could be removed).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses a system for dispensing a plurality of products comprising: the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection to claim 1 above). The combination does not thus far disclose: and at least two packaging elements respectively received in the compartments of the product support, each packaging element comprises a packaging wall, a packaging axis, an open end substantially perpendicular to the packaging axis and a packaging cap cooperating with said packaging element in order to reversibly close the open end of said packaging element.
Kim discloses at least two packaging elements (130, see Kim Figure 2), each packaging element comprises a packaging wall (referring to Kim Figure 2, there are three packaging elements shown, each having a cylindrical shape, wherein the vertical wall of each cylinder defines a packaging wall), a packaging axis (not labeled, but is an axis extending through a center of each cylindrically shaped packaging element), an open end (top end, refer to Kim Figure 2) substantially perpendicular to the packaging axis (refer to Kim Figure 2) and a packaging cap (141) cooperating with said packaging element in order to reversibly close the open end of said packaging element (refer to Kim Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of the combination of Grossnass and Kim to include at least two packaging elements, each packaging element comprises a packaging wall, a packaging axis, an open end substantially perpendicular to the packaging axis and a packaging cap cooperating with said packaging element in order to reversibly close the open end of said packaging element, as taught by Kim, since such a modification provides the advantage of increasing the utility of the device by including cosmetic products therein.
Modifying the combination to include at least two packaging elements, as claimed, provides a configuration wherein the at least two packaging elements respectively received in the compartments of the product support, since the product support is disclosed as being the area for housing cosmetic products.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses a method for reloading a system for dispensing a plurality of products comprising: selecting at least one product by a user (referring to Grossnass paragraph [0054], the system, 10, can be used for any number of cosmetic products including lip pencils, eye pencils, lipstick, mascara, etc. where a selection between the aforementioned list is required prior to placing the cosmetic into the device), for each selected product, preparing the product (since the device comprises cosmetic products therein, such as a mascara bottle, the product is prepared when it is rotated into the dispensing position), receiving the product by the user (when the product is raised up through the dispensing opening, it is received by the user) and placing each product in one of the compartments of the device for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection to claim 1).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Grossnass and Kim, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gueret (US2011/0100866).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the system for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 10, as applied above. The combination does not disclose wherein the first reversible fastening element and a second reversible fastening element are respectively first and second magnetic contact surfaces.
Gueret discloses an applicator (30, Figures 1-64) similar to the packaging cap of the combination of Grossnass and Kim, wherein a body cap (30) comprises a first magnetic contact surface (122) in order to detachably couple with a packaging cap (24), having a second magnetic contact surface (128). The releasable connection may be made by a number of mechanical means including “clamping, by snap-fastening, by screw-fastening” (refer to Gueret Paragraph [0033]) or alternatively, by “magnetic attraction” (refer to Gueret Paragraph [0033]), as a matter of design choice based on a user’s preference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the combination of Grossnass and Kim such that the first and second reversible fastening elements are respectively first and second magnetic contact surfaces, as taught by Gueret, since such a modification would have involved combining prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve the predictable result of releasably connecting two cosmetic caps.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Grossnass and Kim discloses the system for dispensing a plurality of products according to claim 19, as applied above. Per the modification addressed in claim 6, the coupling surfaces of the body cap and the packaging cap were modified to be magnetic contact surfaces, as taught by Gueret, wherein Gueret’s magnetic contact surfaces are configured to be transverse to one another as best shown in Gueret Figures 18-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, 15, 17-18, 21-22, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Specification
Applicant’s amendments to the specification overcome all previous objections; all previous objections are withdrawn.
Drawings
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings overcome all previous objections; all previous objections are withdrawn.
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH WOODHOUSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772