DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 23 July 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 regarding the rejections made under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10 of the remarks, the applicant argues:
“Applicant respectfully submits that, even assuming arguendo that a judicial exception is present in the claims, which Applicant does not acquiesce, the claims are nevertheless eligible under Prong Two of revised Step 2A. In this regard, claim 1 as amended is not directed to an abstract idea and, even assuming arguendo that it were, the combined features of claim 1 integrate any such exception into a practical application. The Office Action contends that the claims recite a mental process of assigning tasks and transitioning CPU states using generic computer components. However, amended claim 1 recites specific, non-generic technical features---namely, a processor configured to perform Radio Access Network (RAN) Base Band (BB) processing, and a CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT). These features are not generic computer components, and instead, define a specific technical environment multi- core, multi-threaded processors executing computationally intensive RAN baseband processing in which the recited task assignment and CPU core transitioning yields a concrete technical improvement.
“A person cannot mentally perform RAN baseband processing, nor can a person mentally transition a physical CPU core comprising a hyperthread from an active state to an idle state. Furthermore, even if the Office Action still maintains that claim 1 is directed to a mental process, the combined features of claim 1 integrate any recited judicial exception into a practical application. In this regard, claim 1, taken as a whole, reflects an improvement to the functioning of multi-core processor resource allocation in a RAN by determining when RAN BB processing tasks of a given type are not scheduled in a slot pattern and transitioning the corresponding hyperthreaded CPU core to an idle state, thereby improving processing efficiency in a resource- constrained baseband processing environment. See Specification at [0022] and [0038].
“Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits the present claims are eligible at Prong Two of revised Step 2A.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding applicant’s allegation that the amended claim 1 recites “specific, non-generic technical features---namely, a processor configured to perform Radio Access Network (RAN) Base Band (BB) processing, and a CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT)”, the examiner respectfully points out while the amended claim comprises additional features of the processor, the processor itself is still generic in nature. In other words, the claim now recites a generic processor that comprises a hyperthread and which is configured to perform Radio Access Network Base Band processing. The generic processor is not actually required to perform Radio Access Network Base Band Processing at any point; it is merely required to be configured to do so. Similarly, the processor does not actually use the at least one hyperthread to execute the scheduled task; it is merely described as comprising an unused hyperthread. In fact, nowhere in the claim is the scheduled task executed or performed at all. For these reasons, the claim fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 regarding the rejections made under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Since they do not address the new reference used to reject the limitations at issue (Applicant Admitted Prior Art as applied below), the applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, in step 1 of the 101 analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the claim recites an apparatus that determines scheduling slots to assign tasks based on task type. An apparatus is one of the four statutory categories of invention.
In step 2A, prong 1 of the 101 analysis set forth in the MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following limitations recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process but for recitation of generic computer components:
i. “determine a first slot of a slot pattern in which a task of a first type is scheduled to be performed” (a person can mentally determine a slot by simply evaluating slot patterns and tasks, and making a judgement of a particular slot (MPEP 2106.04(a)))
ii. “assign at least one task of the first type to be performed by at least one first CPU core…allocated to perform tasks of the first type” (a person can mentally assign tasks to be performed by CPUs by simply evaluating CPUs and making a judgment of a particular one to assign a task to (MPEP 2106.04(a))).
iii. “determine a second slot of the slot pattern in which a task of the first type is not scheduled to be performed” (a person can mentally determine a second slot by simply evaluating slot patterns and making a judgment of a second slot (MPEP 2106.04(a)))
iv. “transition the at least one first CPU core from an active state to an idle state after at least the second slot of the slot pattern” (a person can mentally transition CPU states by simply evaluating conditions and making a determination that a state of the CPU should change to an idle state (MPEP 2106.04(a)))
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
In step 2A, prong 2 of the 101 analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following additional elements do not integrate this judicial exception into a practical application:
v. “An apparatus for idle state central processing unit (CPU) core transitioning, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to perform Radio Access Network (RAN) Base Band (BB) processing, and execute the instructions” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vi. “at least one first CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT) (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
Since the claim does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is “directed” to an abstract idea.
In step 2B of the 101 analysis set forth in the 2019 PEG, the examiner has determined through reanalysis of the following limitations considered in step 2A prong 2, that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
v. “An apparatus for idle state central processing unit (CPU) core transitioning, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vi. “at least one first CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT) (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the additional element “the second slot of the slot pattern occurs after the assigned at least one task of the first type is scheduled to be completed by the at least one first CPU core” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 3, the additional element “the slot pattern is a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 4, the additional element “determine a third slot of the slot pattern in which a task of a second type is scheduled to be performed” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 1, it recites a judicial exception (mental process) (a person can mentally determine a third slot by simply evaluating slot patterns and making a judgment of a third slot (MPEP 2106.04(a))). Further, the additional element “assign at least one task of the second type to be performed by at least one second CPU core during the third slot of the slot pattern” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 1, it recites a judicial exception (mental process) (a person can mentally assign tasks to be performed by CPUs by simply evaluating CPUs and making a judgment of a particular one to assign a task to (MPEP 2106.04(a))). Further, the additional element “wherein the at least one second CPU core comprises at least one HT” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))
Regarding claim 5, the additional element “transition the at least one first CPU from the active state to the idle state while the at least one task of the second type is being performed by the at least one second CPU core” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 1, it recites a judicial exception (mental process) (a person can mentally transition CPU states by simply evaluating conditions and making a determination that a state of the CPU should change to an idle state (MPEP 2106.04(a))).
Regarding claim 6, the additional element “the task of the first type comprises an uplink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either a downlink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element “the task of the first type comprises a downlink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element “the task of the first type comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a downlink task” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element “the idle state corresponds to a C-6 long sleep idle state of the at least one first CPU core” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claims 10-18, and 19-20, they comprise limitations similar to claims 1-9, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 2 4 5 10 11 13 14 19 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWERK Pub. No.: US 2006/0184944 A1 (hereafter SCHWERK), in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (hereafter AAPA), in view of VANKA et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0038813 A1 (hereafter VANKA).
SCHWERK and VANKA were cited previously.
Regarding claim 1, SCHWERK teaches the invention substantially as claimed, including:
An apparatus for idle state central processing unit (CPU) core transitioning, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions ([0014] Computer systems are also described that may include a processor and a memory coupled to the processor. The memory may encode one or more programs that cause the processor to perform one or more of the method acts described herein) to:
determine a first slot of a slot pattern in which a task of a first type is scheduled to be performed ([0024] FIG. 1 illustrates a method 100 that may include, at step 110, receiving a plurality of requests for batch jobs. Each such batch job may correspond to one of a plurality of batch job categories (i.e., “types”). The batch job categories in turn may each have one or more associated time slots. The request may indicate in which of one or more of the associated time slots processing is desired. [0026] The time slots may be recurring or they may be triggered based on processing consumption. For example, a time slot may be 1:15 am to 1:23 am every day (i.e., recurring time slots represent a “pattern” of slots));
assign at least one task of the first type to be performed by at least one first CPU core allocated to perform tasks of the first type ([0031] A processor 320 may process each batch job during the one or more of the selected time slots. Optionally, a scheduler (not shown) may be interposed between the receiver 310 and the processor 320 which schedules the processing to be conducted by the processor 320 (i.e., scheduler schedules, or “assigns” each batch job to conducted by an allocated processor));
determine a second slot of the slot pattern in which a task of the first type is not scheduled to be performed ([0025] The administrator may schedule these special batch jobs at different times (e.g., time slots associated with the batch job category). For example, batch jobs that require lengthy processing might be associated with one batch job category so that they may be processed during off-hours. Batch jobs that require short processing might be placed into another batch job category so that they may be processed during short intervals during peak usage hours (i.e., first type jobs having longer processing times are scheduled to be performed in a first slot during off hours and second type jobs having shorter processing times are scheduled in a second slot during peak hours)); and
While SCHWERK discusses scheduling of tasks into time slots for execution, SCHWERK does not explicitly teach:
at least one processor configured to perform Radio Access Network (RAN) Base Band (BB) processing
at least one first CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT)
However, in analogous work that similarly teaches scheduling of tasks, AAPA teaches:
at least one processor configured to perform Radio Access Network (RAN) Base Band (BB) processing; at least one first CPU core comprising at least one hyperthread (HT) ([0003] In related art, radio access network (RAN) functions, such as distributed units (DUs), incorporate central processing unit (CPU) intensive baseband processing applications and utilize hyperthreading to enhance application performance and utilization (i.e., processors utilizing hyperthreading execute radio access network intensive baseband processing functions)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined AAPA’s teaching of performing CPU intensive baseband processing applications on processors utilizing hyperthreading, with SCHWERK’s teaching of performing tasks using time slots of a processor, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that scheduyles tasks into time slots of processors for execution, as in SCHWERK, where the tasks are CPU intensive Baseband processing applications, and the processors utilize hyperthreading, as in AAPA. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enhance application performance and utilization (AAPA [0003]).
While SCHWERK, and AAPA discusses scheduling of tasks into time slots based on task type, SCHWERK and AAPAdoes not explicitly teach:
transition the at least one first CPU from an active state to an idle state after at least the second slot of the slot pattern
However, in analogous art that similarly teaches scheduling of tasks, VANKA teaches:
transition the at least one first CPU from an active state to an idle state after at least the second slot of the slot pattern ([0046] As would also be understood by one of skill in the art, the different tasks executed by each thread may require different activity levels for one or more cache associated with the cores 120, 122, 124, 126 executing the threads. Using the 0th Core as an example again, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the two tasks executed during Frame 1 require little activity by the cache associated with the 0th Core. [0048] As also illustrated in FIG. 2, after the completion of Frame 1/Period 1, none of cores 120, 122, 124, 126 have any threads or tasks to execute in Frame 2/Period 2. As a result cores 120, 122, 124, 126 will enter an idle state for at least Frame 2/Period 2. In other examples, one or more of cores 120, 122, 124, 126 may remain active during Frame 2/Period 2 while the remaining cores 120, 122, 124, 126 enter the idle state (i.e., 0th core, representing a “first CPU” is transitioned from active to inactive state after a first slot in frame 1 executes an ipEvent task, and a second slot in frame 1 executes a task (xTh2) that is a different type from the ipEvent task))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined VANKA’s teaching of transitioning a CPU to idle after first and second time slots, with SCHWERK, and AAPA’s teaching of executing tasks of different types in different time slots, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that executes tasks in different timeslots, as in SCHWERK and AAPA, which then places the processors in idle state following completion of the time slots, as in VANKA. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to conserve power (VANKA [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 2, SCHWERK further teaches:
the second slot of the slot pattern occurs after the assigned at least one task of the first type is scheduled to be completed by the at least one first CPU (0025] The administrator may schedule these special batch jobs at different times (e.g., time slots associated with the batch job category). For example, batch jobs that require lengthy processing might be associated with one batch job category so that they may be processed during off-hours. Batch jobs that require short processing might be placed into another batch job category so that they may be processed during short intervals during peak usage hours (i.e., one time slot completes before a second time slot occurs, depending on when the peak usage hours and the off hours occur)).
Regarding claim 4, SCHWERK further teaches:
determine a third slot of the slot pattern in which a task of a second type is scheduled to be performed; and assign at least one task of the second type to be performed by at least one second CPU core during the third slot of the slot pattern ([0025] The batch job categories define certain types of batch jobs. The categories may be defined by a system administrator based on any criteria that may be used to differentiate batch job types. In some variations of the subject, the administrator may define special batch jobs that represent the batch job categories (e.g., one batch job per category). In addition, the administrator may schedule these special batch jobs at different times (e.g., time slots associated with the batch job category) (i.e., each of any number of time slots including a first, second, or third time slot is configured for a given category of task respectively)).
Regarding claim 5, VANKA further teaches:
transition the at least one first CPU from the active state to the idle state while the at least one task of the second type is being performed by the at least one second CPU core (([0046] As would also be understood by one of skill in the art, the different tasks executed by each thread may require different activity levels for one or more cache associated with the cores 120, 122, 124, 126 executing the threads. Using the 0th Core as an example again, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the two tasks executed during Frame 1 require little activity by the cache associated with the 0th Core. [0048] As also illustrated in FIG. 2, after the completion of Frame 1/Period 1, none of cores 120, 122, 124, 126 have any threads or tasks to execute in Frame 2/Period 2. As a result cores 120, 122, 124, 126 will enter an idle state for at least Frame 2/Period 2. In other examples, one or more of cores 120, 122, 124, 126 may remain active during Frame 2/Period 2 while the remaining cores 120, 122, 124, 126 enter the idle state (i.e., a first core enters an idle state while a second core performs a task)).
Regarding claims 10-11, 13-14, and 19-20, they comprise limitations similar to claims 1-2, and 4-5, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWERK, in view of AAPA, in view of VANKA, as applied to claims 1, and 10, and in further view of PRATNER et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0326980 A1 (hereafter PRATNER).
Regarding claim 3, while SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA discuss scheduling of tasks, they do not explicitly teach:
the slot pattern is a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern.
However, in analogous art that similarly teaches scheduling of tasks, PRANTNER teaches:
the slot pattern is a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern ([0139] For example FIG. 4 shows an exemplary embodiment of such a given instance of a system configuration with the produced scheduling algorithm…The given system includes five virtual machines, namely VM A, VM B, VMC, VM D and VM E. In other embodiments, the system may also include less or more virtual machines. In the given embodiment each virtual machine has the same processor share or time slice, here for example 20%. All virtual machines include periodic tasks having 2 ms and 5 ms task periods. In other words, each virtual machine must be scheduled every 2 ms and additionally at multiples of 5 ms. The first 4 ms of the cycle period in FIG. 4 shows a standard uniform round robin time division multiplexing scheduling as each virtual machine must be scheduled two times within that period, one after the other in a fixed sequence. After the 4 ms, the virtual machines VM A, VM B, VMC, VM D and VM E are scheduled, such that the 2 ms and 5 ms task periods are met by each virtual machine (i.e., periodic virtual machine tasks are scheduled to time slits based on a time division multiplexing scheduling algorithm)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined PRANTER’s teaching of scheduling tasks based on a time division multiplexing algorithm, with SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA’s teaching of scheduling tasks to time slots, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that schedules tasks to time slots, as in SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA, based on time division multiplexing scheduling algorithms, as in PRANTER. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to optimize scheduling to reduce jitter which ensuring that the system still meets real time requirements (PRANTER [0139]).
Regarding claim 12, it comprises limitations similar to claim 3, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 6-7, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWERK, in view of AAPA, in view of VANKA, as applied to claims 4, and 13, and in further view of BHATT et al. Pub. No.: US 2018/0352557 A1 (hereafter BHATT).
Regarding claim 6, while SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA discuss scheduling of tasks, they do not explicitly teach:
the task of the first type comprises an uplink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either a downlink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses scheduling of tasks, BHATT teaches:
the task of the first type comprises an uplink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either a downlink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task ([0057] FIG. 5D shows an exemplary embodiment of the baseband processing subsystem 130 that illustrates how two simultaneous processing pipelines are implemented. For example, in a first processing pipeline 536, which in an exemplary embodiment can be an uplink process, the PSM 210 schedules jobs for the FFE1, FFE2, PFE3, and FFE4 resources. In a second processing pipeline 552, which in an exemplary embodiment can be a downlink process, the PSM 210 schedules jobs for the PFE4, FFE3, PFE2, and PFE1 resources. For example, the PSM 210 outputs scheduled jobs to the resources through the bus 314 to perform the two processing pipelines 550 and 552 (i.e., tasks to be scheduled on functional element resources include uplink and downlink tasks)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined BHATT’s teaching of scheduling tasks in pipelines including uplink and downlink tasks on resources, with the combination of SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA’s teaching of scheduling tasks in time slots on resources, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that schedules execution of tasks in time slots of resources, as in SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA, which includes uplink and downlink tasks, as in BHATT. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to provide a unified baseband architecture that allows for a wider range of baseband functions to be performed (BHATT [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, while SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA discuss scheduling of tasks, they do not explicitly teach:
the task of the first type comprises a downlink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses scheduling of tasks, BHATT teaches:
the task of the first type comprises a downlink task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a sounding reference signal (SRS) task ([0057] FIG. 5D shows an exemplary embodiment of the baseband processing subsystem 130 that illustrates how two simultaneous processing pipelines are implemented. For example, in a first processing pipeline 536, which in an exemplary embodiment can be an uplink process, the PSM 210 schedules jobs for the FFE1, FFE2, PFE3, and FFE4 resources. In a second processing pipeline 552, which in an exemplary embodiment can be a downlink process, the PSM 210 schedules jobs for the PFE4, FFE3, PFE2, and PFE1 resources. For example, the PSM 210 outputs scheduled jobs to the resources through the bus 314 to perform the two processing pipelines 550 and 552 (i.e., tasks to be scheduled on functional element resources include uplink and downlink tasks)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined BHATT’s teaching of scheduling tasks in pipelines including uplink and downlink tasks on resources, with the combination of SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA’s teaching of scheduling tasks in time slots on resources, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that schedules execution of tasks in time slots of resources, as in SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA, which includes uplink and downlink tasks, as in BHATT. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to provide a unified baseband architecture that allows for a wider range of baseband functions to be performed (BHATT [0005]).
Regarding claims 15-16, they comprise limitations similar to claims 6-7, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWERK, in view of AAPA, in view of VANKA, as applied to claims 4, and 13, and in further view of GHANBARINEJAD et al. Pub. No.: US 2023/0155800 A1 (hereafter GHANBARINEJAD).
Regarding claim 8, while SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA discuss execution of scheduled tasks, they do not explicitly teach:
the task of the first type comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a downlink task.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses execution of scheduled tasks, GHANBARINEJAD discloses
the task of the first type comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) task, and wherein the task of the second type comprises either an uplink task or a downlink task (downlink communications from N to CN and/or UE may follow a beam acquisition process including CSI-RS transmissions by N and {CRI, RSRP} reporting by CN and/or UE. Furthermore, uplink communications transmitted from CN and/or UE to N may follow a separate beam acquisition process including SRS transmissions by CN and/or UE and measurements by N (i.e., at least uplink communication tasks follow beam acquisition processes that include sounding reference signal transmission tasks)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined GHANBARINEJAD’s teaching of scheduling an uplink tasks to be performed following a sounding reference signal task, with SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA’s teaching of scheduling tasks in slots for execution, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that schedules tasks in slots for execution, as in SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA, including first a sounding reference signal task before an uplink task, as in GHANBARINEJAD. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to facilitate beam acquisition in simultaneous communication (GHANBARINEJAD [0098]).
Regarding claim 17, it comprises limitation similar to claim 8, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWERK, in view of AAPA, in view of VANKA, as applied to claims 1, and 10, and in further view of ROTEM et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0064804 A1 (hereafter ROTEM).
Regarding claim 9, while SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA discuss placing CPU cores in idle states, they do not explicitly teach:
the idle state corresponds to a C-6 long sleep idle state of the at least one first CPU core.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses placing CPU cores in idle states, ROTEM teaches:
the idle state corresponds to a C-6 long sleep idle state of the at least one first CPU core ([0036] With regard to power states, an OSPM mechanism may specify different power consumption states, generally referred to as C-states, C0, C1 to Cn states. When a core is active, it runs at a C0 state, and when the core is idle it may be placed in a core low power state, also called a core non-zero C-state (e.g., C1-C6 states), with each C-state being at a lower power consumption level (such that C6 is a deeper low power state than C1, and so forth)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined ROTEM’s teaching of placing a CPU to be idled in a C6 state, with the combination of SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA’s teaching of placing CPUs in idle modes, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that places a CPU in an idle state, as in SCHWERK, AAPA and VANKA, which is a low power C6 state, as in ROTEM. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to conserve power and optimize power consumption.
Regarding claim 18, it comprises limitations similar to claim 9, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W AYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195