DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-15, and 17-24 are pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-15, and 17-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/833302/US 12343009 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus, comprising: a selector lever configured to rotate to a locked position and an unlocked position; and a selector cam coupled to the selector lever to enable a trigger to electrically activate a motor depending on the position of the a selector lever.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for having a selector lever in the locked position to have the trigger configured to be electrically deactivated, does not reasonably provide enablement for having “the selector lever and the selector cam are in the locked position, the protrusion on the selector cam contacts a switch of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus enabling energy to flow to a drive train of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. As claimed when the selector lever is locked and unlocked, energy is allowed to flow to drive. How can the selector lever be in the same locked position and cause two different functions (power and no power)? The instant application discloses when the selector lever is in a locked position power is deactivated and when unlocked energy is allowed to flow to drive train (instant/applicant’s specification [0053-0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 20220031321 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. discloses a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (10/12), comprising: a selector lever (safety toggle assembly 36/38) configured to rotate to a locked position and an unlocked position (firing to non-firing state) in response to a user exerting a force on the selector lever ([0108], figs. 1-5 and 25-33); and a selector cam (164) coupled to the selector lever and including a protrusion (abutment member 182), wherein the selector cam (164/182) and the selector lever (36/38) are in a first stable position in response to the selector lever being in the locked position and in a second stable position in response to the selector lever being in the unlocked position (stop 196 puts in firing state [0107-0108]) such that the selector lever remains in the locked position or the unlocked position after the user stops exerting the force on the selector lever (biasing members 170/172 secure toggle 36/38 in locked and unlocked position [0104-0108])
an electric motor (40/42); and
a power trigger (18) configured to selectively activate the electric motor (activates switches 56a and 57 on PCB 56 [0082-0085, 0105]), wherein the power trigger (18) is configured to be electrically deactivated while the selector lever is in the locked position and spaced apart from the power trigger ([0083-0085, 0104-0108], figs. 1-5 and 25-33);
wherein, when the selector lever and the selector cam are in the locked position, the protrusion (abutment member 182) on the selector cam contacts a switch (57) of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus enabling energy to flow to a drive train of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus ([0104-0108], figs. 1-5 and 25-33).
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A).
Regarding claim 1, Pitzen et al. discloses a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (10, figs. 1-3), comprising: a selector lever (72) configured to rotate to a locked position and an unlocked position (forward or reverse or stop/off modes) in response to a user exerting a force on the selector lever (rotary switch 72, turned to positions 73, fig. 4); and a selector cam (ribbed control knob with detent mechanisms 62/63) coupled to the selector lever and including a protrusion (62/63), wherein the selector cam and the selector lever are in a first stable position in response to the selector lever being in the locked position and in a second stable position in response to the selector lever being in the unlocked position such that the selector lever remains in the locked position or the unlocked position after the user stops exerting the force on the selector lever (detent mechanism 63 - forward, off and reverse positions);
an electric motor (12); and
a power trigger (40) configured to selectively activate the electric motor (12), wherein the power trigger is configured to be electrically deactivated (off) while the selector lever is in the locked position (off/stop position) and spaced apart from the power trigger (col. 6, lines 46, col. 13, line 34-67, figs. 1-9);
wherein, when the selector lever and the selector cam are in the locked position, the protrusion (62/63) on the selector cam contacts a switch (61, figs. 2 and 21) of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus enabling energy to flow to a drive train of the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (col. 6, lines 46, col. 13, line 34-67, figs. 1-9 and 21).
Pitzen et al. states: “causing the motor 12 to rotate the drive member 18 either in forward or reverse (clockwise or counterclockwise) directions, or to prevent any rotation by the motor 12 even when the trigger 40 is moved to its inner position. Indicia 73 indicate when the device is in the forward, reverse or stop modes… knob 72 with an attached magnet 62 and a detent mechanism 63 with three positions that correspond to the forward, off and reverse positions. When the knob is rotated fully clockwise, the magnet 62 by its magnetic field, activates one of two hall sensors 61 to run the motor counter-clockwise when facing the output shaft. When the knob is rotated fully counter-clockwise, it will reverse the motor. A center, neutral (off) position is also included” (col. 13, lines 38-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 21, and 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sun et al. (US 20220031321 A1) in view of Shelton, IV et al. (US 20140001231 A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, 21, and 24, Sun et al. fails to discloses a movable handle rotatable between a proximal and distal position, configured to clamp and unclamp a jaw assembly, wherein the movable handle is allowed to clamp and unclamp the jaw assembly while the selector lever is in the locked position and a jaw assembly is closed in response to the movable handle being in the proximal position.
Shelton, IV et al. discloses motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (2500) having a movable handle (closure trigger 2530) rotatable between a proximal and distal position configured to clamp and unclamp a jaw assembly, wherein the movable handle is allowed to clamp and unclamp the jaw assembly while the selector lever is in the locked position and a jaw assembly (1000) is closed in response to the movable handle being in the proximal position ([0354-0367], figs. 118-120 and 124-128).
Given the teachings of Sun et al. to have a trigger with a selector lever/selector cam that contacts a power switch on a circuit board, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the movable handle rotatable between a proximal and distal position to be configured to clamp and unclamp a jaw assembly, wherein the movable handle is allowed to clamp and unclamp the jaw assembly while the selector lever is in the locked position and a jaw assembly is closed in response to the movable handle being in the proximal position to safely prevent incorrect firing of the device, reverse a drive member, ensure proper clamping before firing and/or safety purposes (ensure steps are done in correct order) as taught by Shelton, IV et al.
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-15, and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sun et al. (US 20220031321 A1) in view of Dey, IV et al. (US 20180091145 A1) and further in view of Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A).
Regarding claims 10-11, 13-15, and 17, Sun et al. discloses a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (12) for a surgical stapler (10), the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus comprising: a drive train (40, fig. 6); a drive assembly wherein the drive assembly comprises a gear rack (pinion 70/drive rack 77); a circuit board (PCB 56) having switches (56a/57), distance switches and manual retraction [0032, 0088, 0109];
a selector cam (abutment member 182) positioned adjacent to the circuit board (PCB 56) and having a protrusion; and a selector lever (safety toggle assembly 36/38) coupled to the selector cam and configured to rotate to a locked position in which the drive train is disabled from advancing the drive assembly in a distal direction,
an unlocked position (stop 196 firing state) in which the drive train is enabled to advance the drive assembly in the distal direction and thereby cause firing of staples, wherein the locked position and the unlocked positions are stable positions such that the selector lever remains in the locked position or the unlocked position after a user stops exerting force on the selector lever and a spring (biasing members 170/172) configured to move the selector cam and the selector lever to the locked position after a user stops exerting force on the selector lever after rotating the selector lever to the reverse position, wherein the spring (170/172) is configured to push the selector cam in a downward direction (stop 196 puts in firing state and 182 moves down) and teaches having a plurality of switches (56a/57, figs. 4-5) that are contacted by the trigger and selector cam on the PCB ([0083-0085, 0104-0108], figs. 1-5 and 25-33).
Sun et al. fails to explicitly disclose the circuit board with having a reverse switch and a reverse position in which the drive train is enabled to retract the drive assembly in a proximal direction, wherein the reverse position is a momentary position such that the selector lever is biased away from the reverse position when the selector lever is in the reverse position, the protrusion of the selector cam contacts the reverse switch of the circuit board such that the drive train is enabled to retract the drive assembly in the proximal direction and wherein the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus is placed in a ready-to-fire mode in response to a second protrusion on the selector cam contacting a second switch on the circuit board.
Dey, IV et al. teaches a power tool (10) with a printed circuit board (“PCB”) 42 [0019] and control circuit (motor control unit 82) having trigger assembly (22) a circuit board (42) with a selector lever (trigger 26) configured to rotate (via pivot 30) to a locked/unlocked position and a reverse position, wherein the selector lever (trigger 26) remains in the locked position or the unlocked position after a user stops exerting force on the selector lever (torsion spring 40 biased trigger 26 toward a neutral or “home” position after actuating [0018-0029], figs. 1-7) wherein the reverse position is a momentary position such that the selector lever is biased by a spring (torsion spring 40) away from the reverse position (biased to neutral) to push a cam portion (conductors 34, 38) downward and wherein and Dey, IV et al. also teaches a trigger assembly 322 (fig. 8) with a selector cam (326) including a separate direction switch to switch to reverse [0031] and the selector cam (326) is biased/locked to neutral and also slides to unlocked positions to control speed is placed in a ready-to-fire mode in response to a second protrusion (conductors 34, 38) on the selector cam contacting a second switch on the circuit board and a drive train (motor) configured to run in reverse in response to the protrusion contacting the reverse switch of the circuit board (move and/or stop positions between 336/370 and reverse [0029-0032], figs. 1-9).
Pitzen et al. also teaches a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus (10, figs. 1-3), with selector lever (72 with ribbed control knob with detent mechanisms 62/63) with a reverse switch and a reverse position (figs. 2 and 21) the protrusion of the selector cam (62/63) contacts the reverse switch (cam contacts a switch 61, col. 6, lines 46, col. 13, line 34-67, figs. 1-9 and 21).
Pitzen et al. states: “causing the motor 12 to rotate the drive member 18 either in forward or reverse (clockwise or counterclockwise) directions, or to prevent any rotation by the motor 12 even when the trigger 40 is moved to its inner position. Indicia 73 indicate when the device is in the forward, reverse or stop modes… knob 72 with an attached magnet 62 and a detent mechanism 63 with three positions that correspond to the forward, off and reverse positions. When the knob is rotated fully clockwise, the magnet 62 by its magnetic field, activates one of two hall sensors 61 to run the motor counter-clockwise when facing the output shaft. When the knob is rotated fully counter-clockwise, it will reverse the motor. A center, neutral (off) position is also included” (col. 13, lines 38-55).
Given the teachings of Sun et al. to have a trigger with a selector lever/selector cam that contacts a power switch on a circuit board, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the circuit board with having a reverse switch and a reverse position in which the drive train is enabled to retract the drive assembly in a proximal direction, wherein the reverse position is a momentary position such that the selector lever is biased away from the reverse position when the selector lever is in the reverse position, the protrusion of the selector cam contacts the reverse switch of the circuit board such that the drive train is enabled to retract the drive assembly in the proximal direction and the motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus is placed in a ready-to-fire mode in response to a second protrusion on the selector cam contacting a second switch on the circuit board to safely prevent incorrect firing of the device, reverse a drive member, (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece), safety return to neutral position purposes and/or for better electrical circuit board control with activated switches and/or automated purposes (automatic return) or desired amount of return as taught by Dey, IV et al. and Pitzen et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if a proper and if a Terminal Disclaimer is filed for copending Application No. 17/833302/US 12343009 B2.
Claims 18-21 would be allowable if a proper Terminal Disclaimer is filed for copending Application No. 17/833302/US 12343009 B2.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a motorized surgical handle assembly apparatus comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a selector lever configured to rotate to a locked position and an unlocked position, a selector cam coupled to the selector lever, wherein the selector cam and the selector lever are in a first stable position in response to the selector lever being in the locked position and in a second stable position in response to the selector lever being in the unlocked position, a power trigger configured to selectively activate the motor, wherein the power trigger is configured to be deactivated while the selector lever is in the locked position and spaced apart from the power trigger movable, the selector lever having a reverse cam, wherein the selector cam comprises a first surface configured to rest against the reverse cam when the selector lever is in the locked position. Though Shelton, IV et al. (US 20140001231 A1) teaches a selector lever with a cam, Shelton, IV et al. lacks having the selector lever with having a reverse cam, wherein the selector cam comprises a first surface configured to rest against the reverse cam when the selector lever is in the locked position and it would not be obvious to modify the sector lever to add another cam to the selector lever without having to modify the firing member, clamping member and handle and one of ordinary skill would recognize that a selector lever having a reverse cam, wherein the selector cam comprises a first surface configured to rest against the reverse cam when the selector lever is in the locked position would require substantial modification. Having the efficiency and speed of the added cam an effective safety feature for preventing accidental activation and provide adjustment of the device safely with the handles locked in place.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 13-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references and new object applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: ARICH (US 20230118960 A1) rotatable mode selection actuator 116 detent locking in mode selections and see references cited, form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731