DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al., US 2015/0179613 (corresponding to US 10,956,353).
In re Claim 1, Tsai discloses a method comprising: forming a layer (106, 228) (Fig. 2) including carbon (silicon carbide, [0015], [0026]) over a substrate 202 including semiconductor material ([0012]); forming a first layer 330 over the layer including carbon (106, 228) (Fig.3); forming a first opening 226 in the first layer 330 (Fig. 3), the first opening 226 having a first lateral dimension 1LD (Fig. A) in a first (horizontal) lateral direction; removing material of the layer 106, 228 including carbon through the first opening 226 to form a cavity 514 in the layer (106, 228) including carbon; forming a sidewall spacer structure 622 (Figs. 5 and 6), wherein the forming a sidewall spacer structure 622 includes performing a material forming process that forms sidewall spacer material on sidewalls of the layer (106, 228) including carbon of the cavity 514, wherein the sidewall spacer material 622 [0035]) is inhibited from forming on a bottom surface portion 212a of the cavity 514 during the material forming process, wherein the sidewall spacer structure 622 defines a second opening (a portion of 514, marked as 2D in Fig. B) exposing the bottom surface portion 212a, the second opening 2D having a second lateral dimension 2LD in the first (horizontal) lateral direction that is less than the first lateral dimension 1LD. (Figs. 1-7, A and B; [0011 – 0043])
Fig. A. Tsai’s Fig. 2 annotated to show the details cited
In re Claim 3, Tsai disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the sidewall spacer material 622 includes at least one of the group consisting of TiN, TiO2, HfO2, Ru, Pt, Al2O3 ([0035]).
Fig. B. Tsai’s Fig. 5 annotated to show the details cited
In re Claim 5, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: after the performing the material forming process, forming a second material 620 in the second opening 514 (Fig. 6).
In re Claim 6, Tsai discloses the method of claim 5 wherein the second material 620 is characterized as a conductive material ([0035]).
In re Claim 8, Tsai discloses the method of claim 5 wherein the second material 620 is inherently characterized as a transistor control electrode material. It is inherently because 620 being a conductive material, such as tungsten, titanium, aluminum, copper, any combinations thereof ([0035]) is nothing else than the transistor control electrode material.
In re Claim 11, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the bottom surface portion 212a is made of a material different than the layer containing carbon (106, 228) ([0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai as applied to claim 1 above.
In re Claim 2, Tsai discloses all limitations of Claim 2 except for that the layer 228 including carbon includes amorphous carbon. The difference between the Applicant’s Claim 2 and Tsai’s reference is in the specified material used in the layer 228. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to substitute the layer made of silicon carbide with amorphous carbon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
In re Claim 4, Tsai discloses all limitations of Claim 4 except for that Tsai does not explicitly indicate that the material forming process is characterized as an atomic layer deposition process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the atomic layer deposition process as the material forming process since it was known in the art that it is well-known and routine practice to use the atomic layer deposition process. (MPEP2144.I.)
In re Claim 19, Tsai discloses a method comprising: forming a layer 106 including carbon over a wafer substrate 200 including semiconductor material ([0012]); forming a first layer 330 over the layer 106 including carbon (silicon carbide, [0015], [0026]); forming a first opening 226 in the first layer using a photolithographic process, the first opening 226 having a first lateral dimension 1LD (Fig. A) in a first (horizontal) lateral direction; removing material of the layer 106 including carbon through the first opening 226 to form a cavity 514 (Fig. 5) in the layer 106 including carbon; forming a sidewall spacer structure 622 using a material forming process that forms sidewall spacer material 622 on sidewalls of the cavity 514 of the material including carbon, wherein sidewall spacer material 622 is inhibited from forming on a bottom surface portion 212a of the cavity 514, wherein the sidewall spacer structure 622 defines a second opening 516 exposing the bottom surface portion 212a, the second opening 516 having a second lateral dimension 2LD in the first (horizontal) lateral direction that is less than the first lateral dimension 1LD;
Tsai does not explicitly indicate that after the forming the sidewall spacer structure 622, singulating the wafer 200 into a plurality of integrated circuits. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to singulate the wafer into a plurality of integrated circuits since it was known in the art that it is a well-known and routine procedure in semiconductor technology (MPEP2144.I.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-10, 12-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for indicating allowable subject matter
In re Claim 7: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 7 as: “the second material is characterized as a semiconductor material”, in combination with limitations of Claims 1 and 5 on which it depends.
In re Claim 9: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 9 as: “the bottom surface portion is a portion of the layer including carbon that was treated with hydrogen after the forming the cavity”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 12: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 12 as: “the bottom surface portion is treated with an inhibitor to inhibit formation of the spacer material during the material forming process”, in combination with limitations of Claims 1 and 11 on which it depends.
In re Claim 14: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 14 as: “using the sidewall spacer structure to form at least one fin including semiconductor material”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 17: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 17 as: “implanting dopants into the substrate through the second opening wherein the sidewall spacer structure inhibits dopants from being implanted into the substrate”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 18: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 18 as: “after the performing the material forming process, removing the layer including carbon”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 20: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 20 as: “after performing the material forming process but prior to the singulating, removing at least a portion of the layer including carbon and the sidewall spacer material formed”, in combination with limitations of Claim 19 on which it depends.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893