DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 01/21/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 20220322123) in view of Sergeev et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210175950), further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160065389).
Regarding claim 11 Kang discloses, a user equipment (UE) read as: “first wireless device 1000” in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver read as: “transceivers 1060”; and at least one processor read as: “processor 1020”, see para. 632, functionally coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a message comprising configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report from a base station read as: “base station 2000”, receive a plurality of CSI-reference signals (CSI-RSs) on different beams from the base station para. 312, “the user equipment (UE) receives a CSI-ResourceConfig IE including a CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList including SSB resources used for BM from the base station”.
Kang does not specifically discloses, generate a precoding matrix for the plurality of CSI-RSs, based on the configuration information. However, Sergeev teach “UE 202 can perform recoding matrix calculations and generate a precoding matrix (PM) based on the first and second configuration signaling”, see para. 93.
Sergeev further disclose, transmit the CSI report calculated based on the precoding matrix to the base station para. 77, “A CSI report may be transmitted from a UE to a base station (e.g., a gNB or an eNB). There are three main components of the CSI report… (c) precoding matrix indicator (PMI) contains information on the precoding matrix recommended by the UE for DL transmission”, and
Kang and Sergeev does not specifically discloses, wherein the CSI report comprises information on a CSI-RS allowing an expected throughput to have a maximum value among the plurality of CSI-RSs. However, Lee teach para. 77, “Channel state information (CSI) feedback is used in LTE and 5G NR systems to assist scheduling, link adaptation, precoding, and spatial multiplexing operations for downlink (DL) transmission. A CSI report may be transmitted from a UE to a base station (e.g., a gNB or an eNB) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”.
wherein the CSI report comprises information indicating a CSI-RS selected from the plurality of CSI-RSs para. 29, “The method includes maintaining a maximum number of CSI processes supported by the UE; receiving CSI process report information”, and
wherein the CSI-RS is associated with a maximum value of an expected throughput para. 29, “determining a number of CSI to be updated based on the maximum number of CSI processes supported by the UE”.
Kang, Cai Lee and are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel state information reporting configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai and Lee in the system of Kang to be able to provide more accurate feedback information of the channel conditions to the base station. The motivation for doing so would have been to boost network performance and quality of the signal.
Regarding claim 12 Kang discloses, wherein the plurality of CSI-RSs comprise at least one CSI-RS set including two or more CSI-RSs para. 393, “the configuration for S≥1 CSI resource set includes each CSI resource set including CSI-RS resources”, and
wherein a plurality of CSI-RSs included in different CSI-RS sets from the at least one CSI-RS set have different values of at least one of a bandwidth part identity (BWP-ID) para. 393, “Each CSI resource setting is positioned in a DL BWP (bandwidth part) identified by a higher layer parameter bwp-id. In addition, all CSI resource settings linked to CSI reporting setting have the same DL BWP”, a density, or a number of antenna ports.
Regarding claim 13 Kang discloses, wherein the configuration information further comprises configuration information on the at least one CSI-RS set para. 392, “the configuration for S≥1 CSI resource set includes each CSI resource set including CSI-RS resources”, and
wherein the two or more CSI-RSs included in one CSI-RS set have a same value of at least one of the bwp-Id, the density, or the number of antenna ports para. 393, “Each CSI resource setting is positioned in a DL BWP (bandwidth part) identified by a higher layer parameter bwp-id. In addition, all CSI resource settings linked to CSI reporting setting have the same DL BWP”.
Regarding claim 14 Kang discloses, wherein the configuration information further comprises information indicating a type of precoding scheme for generating the precoding matrix and information on a method for generating the precoding matrix for each type para. 425, “The channel state information (CSI) may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), an SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), and L1-RSRP”.
Regarding claim 15 Kang discloses, wherein, in case that the configuration information comprises a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI for each of the plurality of CSI-RSs is calculated based on the PMI para. 461, “The UE should calculate (or operate) the CSI parameters (if reported) assuming the following dependencies between the CSI parameters (if reported). [0462] LI should be calculated according to the reported PMI”, and
wherein the expected throughput is determined based on an offset of a measurement indicator for a channel state between the UE and the base station para. 77, “Channel state information (CSI) feedback is used in LTE and 5G NR systems to assist scheduling, link adaptation, precoding, and spatial multiplexing operations for downlink (DL) transmission. A CSI report may be transmitted from a UE to a base station (e.g., a gNB or an eNB) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”.
Kang, Cai and Lee are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel state information reporting configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai and Lee in the system of Kang so the system enables a more accurate estimation of the potential throughput under different beamforming and channel conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance scheduling flexibility and reduce terminal processing.
Claim 1 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 11 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-10 and 17-20 the limitations of claims 2-5, 7-10 and 17-20, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 12-15, respectively.
Regarding claim 6 the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 16 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 6 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20250324423) which disclose(s) base station-aided user equipment (UE) antenna selection.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471