DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II drawn to claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 1/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all groups would not create a burden. This is not found persuasive because as stated in the restriction requirement: the inventions require separate field of search due to their different subclasses; the prior art that is applicable to one invention would not likely to be applicable to another invention; and the inventions have different statutory patent-eligible subject matter categories: one group of claims directed to a process and another group of claims directed to a machine.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016009083 A to Tanaka et al.
Regarding Claim 8. Tanaka discloses a head-worn display (HWD), comprising: a projector configured to emit light representing an image (Fig. 7 projector 45); and a lightguide configured to direct the light representing the image to an eye of a user (See at least lens Fig. 13C lens 1), wherein the lightguide comprises: a substrate (Fig. 13C substrate 2); a plurality of reflective structures disposed on the substrate (See Fig. 13C reflecting layer 4); and an overcoat material disposed over the plurality of reflective structures so as to form at least a portion of a first surface of the lightguide (See Fig. 13C resin 5).
Regarding Claim 13. Tanaka further discloses the lightguide further comprises a first mirror coating disposed on a first reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures (See at least Fig. 13C reflecting layer 4, para 46 “The light reflecting layer 4 may not be a single layer but may be a laminated structure of a plurality of reflecting layers”).
Regarding Claim 14. Tanaka further discloses the lightguide further comprises a second mirror coating disposed on a second reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures, wherein the first mirror coating is different from the second mirror coating (See at least Fig. 13C reflecting layer 4, para 97 “discontinuously arranging a plurality of light-reflecting layers 4”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016009083 A to Tanaka et al.
Regarding Claim 9. As stated above Tanaka discloses all the limitations of base claim 8.
Tanaka does not specifically disclose that a thickness of the substrate between a first end of a reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and the first surface of the lightguide is less than 1 micron.
The thickness of the substrate between a first end of a reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and the first surface of the lightguide is result-effective variable. In that, there is a general design incentive to reduce the thickness of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a thickness of the substrate between a first end of a reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and the first surface of the lightguide is less than 1 micron, to reduce the thickness of the light guide based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 10. Tanaka does not specifically disclose that a thickness of the substrate between a second end of the reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and a second, opposing surface of the lightguide is less than 1 micron.
The thickness of the substrate between a second end of the reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and a second, opposing surface of the lightguide is result-effective variable. In that, there is a general design incentive to reduce the thickness of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a thickness of the substrate between a second end of the reflective structure of the plurality of reflective structures and a second, opposing surface of the lightguide is less than 1 micron, to reduce the thickness of the light guide based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016009083 A to Tanaka et al. as applied to claim 10 in view of US 20180354212 A1 to Padiou et al.
Regarding Claim 11. As stated above Tanaka renders obvious all the limitations of base claim 10.
Tanaka does not specifically disclose that the lightguide further comprises a hydrophobic coating disposed on the second, opposing surface of the lightguide.
However, Padiou discloses coating an optical device with a hydrophobic coating, among a list of desirable functional coatings to improve the optics of the device (para 137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the lightguide further comprises a hydrophobic coating disposed on the second, opposing surface of the lightguide.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016009083 A to Tanaka et al. as applied to claim 8 in view of US 20180354212 A1 to Padiou et al.
Regarding Claim 12. As stated above Tanaka discloses all the limitations of base claim 8.
Tanaka does not specifically disclose that the lightguide further comprises a hard coating deposited on the first surface of the lightguide.
However, Padiou discloses coating an optical device with a hard coating, to improve durability and scratch resistance (para 89).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the lightguide further comprises a hard coating deposited on the first surface of the lightguide.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871