DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonici (US 2020/0329759).
Regarding claim 1, Bonici teaches an aerosol-generating article (rod-shaped non-combustion-heating-type tobacco) comprising a tobacco rod portion 20 and a mouthpiece portion 30, wherein the mouthpiece portion 30 includes a filter segment including a filter element 32 [Fig. 1; 0060, 0064], the filter element being composed of a fiber, a cross section of the fiber taken in a circumferential direction being Y-shaped, the fiber having a filament denier of 8 [0037, 0071 and Table 1: Samples 12, 13, 15].
Regarding claim 2, Bonici teaches the filter has a density of 0.12 g/cm3 [Table 2, sample 12].
Regarding claim 3, Bonici teaches the filter element has a radial hardness of 90% or greater [0021]. The formula for determining radial hardness [0016] corresponds approximately to the instant formula for determining compression change. Bonici further teaches the filter element has all of the physical parameters of the claimed filter element, including fiber shape, filament denier, density, and airflow resistance. For the above reasons, the filter of Bonici is interpreted to inherently have the claimed compression change.
Regarding claim 5, Bonici teaches an RTD (airflow resistance) of 206 mmWG (or mmH20) for a rod length of 126 mm [0072 and Table 2: Sample 12, 13, 15], which equals 1.6 mmH20/mm.
Regarding claim 6, Bonici teaches a flavoring agent capsule is disposed inside the filter element [0052].
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dubey (US 2022/0295872).
Regarding claim 1, Dubey [0047; Fig. 1] teaches a rod-shaped non-combustion-heating-type tobacco comprising a tobacco rod portion 3 and a mouthpiece portion 2, wherein the mouthpiece portion includes a filter segment including a filter element 4, the filter element being composed of a fiber, a cross section of the fiber taken in a circumferential direction being Y-shaped [0056], the fiber having a filament denier of 8 [0055].
Regarding claim 2, Dubey teaches the filter has a density of 0.09 to 0.13 g/cm3 [0054].
Regarding claim 3, Dubey teaches the filter element has a hardness of 90-94% [Table 1.0]. The formula for determining hardness [0060-0065] corresponds approximately to the instant formula for determining compression change. Dubey teaches the filter element has all of the physical parameters of the claimed filter element, including fiber shape, filament denier, density, and airflow resistance. For the above reasons, the filter of Dubey is interpreted to inherently have the claimed compression change.
Regarding claim 4, Dubey teaches a length of the filter element 4 in a longitudinal direction is 7 mm [0049].
Regarding claim 5, Dubey teaches a pressure drop (airflow resistance) of the filter segment in a longitudinal direction is 1.05 to 1.70 mmH20/mm [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonici.
Bonici teaches the filter has a length between 15 mm and 40 mm [0057]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use any filter length within the range disclosed by Bonici, such as a length of 15-20 mm, to achieve predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonici as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braunshteyn (US 2007/0074734).
Bonici teaches the non-combustion-heating-type tobacco is heated to form an aerosol [0060] but does not teach the claimed electric heating device. Braunshteyn teaches an electric heating device including a heater member [0026], a battery unit serving as a power source for the heater member [0025], and a control unit for controlling the heater member [0027]; and a smoking article 22 being inserted in the electric heating device so as to come into contact with the heater member 52 [0032; Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this electric heating device with the article of Bonici for the purpose of forming an aerosol [Braunshteyn 0039] as desired by Bonici.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braunshteyn.
Dubey teaches the non-combustion-heating-type tobacco is heated to form an aerosol [0021] but does not teach the claimed electric heating device. Braunshteyn teaches an electric heating device including a heater member [0026], a battery unit serving as a power source for the heater member [0025], and a control unit for controlling the heater member [0027]; and a smoking article 22 being inserted in the electric heating device so as to come into contact with the heater member 52 [0032; Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this electric heating device with the article of Dubey for the purpose of forming an aerosol [Braunshteyn 0039] as desired by Dubey.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755