DEATAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 01/29/26.
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 21, 29 & 35 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Drawing
The drawings filed on 10/27/23 are accepted by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 03/12/26, regarding a specification objection (title) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the specification objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments/remarks filed on 03/12/26, regarding a 112, 2nd paragraph rejection (21-40) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the 112, 2nd paragraph rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 03/12/26, regarding to a 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are moot with the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 21-25 & 27-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bin et al. (hereinafter referred as Bin) European Patent Application No. EP 3 393 055 A1, in view of SU et al. (hereinafter referred as SU) U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0127396 A1.
Regarding claims 21 & 35: Bin discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 7; a remote UE)/a method, comprising:
at least one processor (See FIG. 15; a device (i.e., remote UE) includes a processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 15; a device (i.e., remote UE) includes a memory) storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform:
sending first configuration information to a second communication device (See FIG. 7; a relay UE), wherein the first configuration information comprises identifier information used by the first communication device (See FIG. 7 & Para. 0142-0145; the remote terminal encapsulates data into a MAC PDU which contains layer-2 identifier of the remote terminal and sends to the relay UE), and wherein the first configuration information is configured to be used for communication between the second communication device and an access network device (See FIG. 7; eNB) (See Para. 0145-0150; the relay terminal receives the MAC PDU which contains layer-2 identifier from the remote UE and sends the MAC PDU to eNB); and
sending first information to the second communication device, wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: uplink transmission data, and wherein the first information is configured to be used for the communication between the second communication device and the access network device (See FIG. 3 & Para. remote terminal equipment transmits the uplink data to network equipment through relay terminal equipment); and wherein the first communication device is a remote user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 7; a remote UE), and the second communication device is a relay UE (See FIG. 7; a relay UE).
Bin does not explicitly discloses sending a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to a second communication device (See FIG. 24 & Para. 0409-0410; a remote UE transmits a first PUSCH to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits the PUSCH to a base station).
However, SU from the same field of endeavor discloses sending a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a configuration of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a second communication device (See FIG. 24 & Para. 0409-0410; a remote UE transmits a first PUSCH to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits the PUSCH to a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a configuration of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a second communication device as taught by SU in the system of Bin to reduce processing complexity in relay transmission and reduce a data delay (See Para. 0005; lines 2-4).
Regarding claims 22 & 36: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method/an apparatus.
Furthermore, Bin discloses a method/an apparatus, wherein the identifier information used by the apparatus comprises a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used by the apparatus/first communication device (See Para. 0140; layer-2 identifier with the RNTI of the remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the identifier information used by the apparatus comprises a cell radio network temporary identifier as taught by SU in the system of Bin to reduce processing complexity in relay transmission and reduce a data delay (See Para. 0005; lines 2-4).
Regarding claims 23 & 37: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method/an apparatus.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method/an apparatus, wherein the uplink transmission data comes from a media access control (MAC) layer of the apparatus/first communication device, and is sent to the second communication device via a coordinating link between the apparatus/ first communication device and the second communication device (See FIG. 18 & Para. 0340-0342; The remote UE transmits the first PUSCH to the relay UE, the PUSCH carries the uplink data of the remote UE) OR (See Bin; claim 4; layer 2 of each of the remote terminal equipment and the network equipment comprises an Adaptation (ADP) layer, the ADP layer is located between the MAC layer and the PDCP layer, and the layer-2 identifier of the remote terminal equipment is configured in the ADP layer).
Regarding claims 24 & 38: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method/an apparatus.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method/an apparatus, receiving information about a first frequency band of the second communication device, wherein the information about the first frequency band is uplink transmission frequency band information supported by the second communication device (See Para. 0310 & ; the first PDCCH may use the information of PDCCH configuration for the relay UE itself, and may also use the information of PDCCH configuration for the remote UE, the information of configuration includes information such as search space configuration, maximum number of repetitions, and time-frequency domain resource configuration where the search space is located. The second PDCCH can only use the information of PDCCH configuration for the remote UE); and
sending second information to the access network device, wherein the second information comprises the information about the first frequency band of the second communication device and information about a second frequency band of the apparatus, and the information about the second frequency band is uplink transmission frequency band information supported by the apparatus (See FIG. 18 & Para. 0310 & 0337-0341; relay UE transmits a second PUSCH to the base station, and the PUSCH forwards the uplink data of the remote UE carried by the first PUSCH. the information of configuration includes information such as search space configuration, maximum number of repetitions, and time-frequency domain resource configuration).
Regarding claims 25 & 39: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method/an apparatus.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method/an apparatus, wherein the second information further indicates that the second frequency band is a primary component carrier (See Para. 0310; the information of configuration includes information such as search space configuration, maximum number of repetitions, and time-frequency domain resource configuration).
Regarding claim 27: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method, receiving second configuration information from the access network device, wherein the second configuration information comprises one or more of the following: a bearer configuration, a configuration of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the configuration of the PUSCH, or the configuration of the PDCCH (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0271 & 0311-0312; the relay UE not only forwards the PUCCH/PUSCH to the remote UE but also forwards the PDCCH/PDSCH to the remote UE).
Regarding claim 28: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method, receiving first scheduling information from the access network device, wherein the first scheduling information comprises the uplink scheduling information and the assistance information required for the uplink transmission data (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0321-0323; the base station transmits a first PDCCH to the relay UE, the PDCCH signaling scheduling information of the first PDSCH).
Regarding claim 29: Bin discloses a method, applied to a second communication device (See FIG. 7; a relay UE), the method comprising:
receiving first configuration information from a first communication device (See FIG. 7; a remote UE), wherein the first configuration information comprises identifier information used by the first communication device (See FIG. 7 & Para. 0142-0145; the remote terminal encapsulates data into a MAC PDU which contains layer-2 identifier of the remote terminal and sends to the relay UE), and the first configuration information is configured to be used for communication between the second communication device and an access network device (See FIG. 7; eNB) (See Para. 0145-0150; the relay terminal receives the MAC PDU which contains layer-2 identifier from the remote UE and sends the MAC PDU to eNB);; and
receiving first information from the first communication device, wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: uplink transmission data device and the first information is configured to be used for the communication between the second communication device and the access network device (See FIG. 3 & Para. remote terminal equipment transmits the uplink data to network equipment through relay terminal equipment; and
communicating with the access network device based on the first configuration information and the first information (See FIG. 10; The radio bearer may include a cellular data transmission channel between access network equipment and the relay terminal equipment and a D2D data transmission channel between the relay terminal equipment and the remote terminal equipment); and
wherein the first communication device is a remote user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 7; a remote UE), and the second communication device is a relay UE (See FIG. 7; a relay UE).
Bin does not explicitly discloses receiving a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to a second communication device.
However, SU from the same field of endeavor discloses receiving a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to a second communication device (See FIG. 24 & Para. 0409-0410; a remote UE transmits a first PUSCH to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits the PUSCH to a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a configuration of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to a second communication device as taught by SU in the system of Bin to reduce processing complexity in relay transmission and reduce a data delay (See Para. 0005; lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 30: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, Bin discloses a method, wherein the identifier information used by the apparatus comprises a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used by the apparatus/first communication device (See Para. 0140; layer-2 identifier with the RNTI of the remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the identifier information used by the apparatus comprises a cell radio network temporary identifier as taught by SU in the system of Bin to reduce processing complexity in relay transmission and reduce a data delay (See Para. 0005; lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 31: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, Bin discloses a method, wherein the uplink transmission data comes from a media access control (MAC) layer of the apparatus/first communication device, and is sent to the second communication device via a coordinating link between the apparatus/ first communication device and the second communication device (See FIG. 18 & Para. 0340-0342; The remote UE transmits the first PUSCH to the relay UE, the PUSCH carries the uplink data of the remote UE) OR (See Bin; claim 4; layer 2 of each of the remote terminal equipment and the network equipment comprises an Adaptation (ADP) layer, the ADP layer is located between the MAC layer and the PDCP layer, and the layer-2 identifier of the remote terminal equipment is configured in the ADP layer).
Regarding claim 32: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method, wherein the uplink transmission data in the first information is obtained by the second communication device through physical layer processing (See Para. 0532-0534; PDCCH).
Regarding claim 33: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method, sending information about a first frequency band to the first communication device, wherein the information about the first frequency band is uplink transmission frequency band information supported by the second communication device, and is configured to be used for transmitting the uplink transmission data (See Para. 0310; the information of configuration includes information such as search space configuration, maximum number of repetitions, and time-frequency domain resource configuration).
Regarding claim 34: The combination of SU and Bin disclose a method.
Furthermore, SU discloses a method, further comprising: receiving first scheduling information from the access network device, wherein the first scheduling information comprises the uplink scheduling information and the assistance information required for the uplink transmission data (See FIG. 16, Para. 0115 & 0321-0323; the base station transmits a first PDCCH to the relay UE, the PDCCH signaling time/scheduling information of the first PDSCH).
12. Claims 26 & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bin, in view of SU, further in view Wang et al. (hereinafter referred as Wang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0351918 A1.
Regarding claims 26 & 40: The combination of SU and Bin disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the second information further comprises a transmission latency between the apparatus and the second communication device.
However, Wang from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the second information further comprises a transmission latency between the apparatus and the second communication device (See Para. 0006; receiving information indicating scheduling information related to one or more variable delays for an uplink transmission between devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second information further comprises a transmission latency between the apparatus and the second communication device as taught by Wang in the combined system of Bin and SU in order to schedule delays for non-terrestrial networks (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
14. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Shrestha et al. 2022/0321206 A1 (Title: Preconfigured uplink resource validation…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Wang et al. 2022/0264593 A1 (Title: Method, system and device of wireless communication) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Shrestha et al. 2021/0360469 A1 (Title: Buffer status report transmission..) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469