DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 01/12/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/06/2025. Independent claims 1, 7 and 14 are amended. Claims 13 and 20 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-12 and 14-19 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (2023/0291441, provisional 63/050,550 before the EFD of the instant application, used in the instant office action, see PTO-892), Muruganathan550 hereinafter, in view of TOSATO et al. (2023/0412225), TOSATO hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 7, Muruganathan550 teaches a communication method (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0040/¶0042/¶0079/¶0088-¶0089), and a communication apparatus (Fig. 15), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 15, 1502), and one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1504) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 15 & ¶0104-¶0105) comprising: receiving first information, that indicates first group configuration information and second group configuration information (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0040 - methods for signaling a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set of FD basis and/or a selected subset of CSI-RS ports among a full set of CSI-RS ports by gNB to a UE are proposed. Solutions based on both medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling and downlink control information (DCI) signaling are proposed to reduce overhead associated with signaling the subset of FD basis vectors and/or CSI-RS ports. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - A method for signaling to the UE from the network a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set N3 of frequency domain (FD) basis, wherein the FD basis vectors are a set of orthogonal complex vectors with length equal to N3, the method comprising: the UE using the indicated FD basis vectors to compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0088 - ports with non-zero power are always mapped to the first L CSI-RS ports in the N-port NZP CSI-RS resource. Thus, the value of either L or N-L is signaled to the UE. Since the NZP CSI-RS resource can always be selected such that L > N-L, signaling N-L can have a smaller overhead. Considering N=4,8,12,16,24,32 are supported in NR for Type II port selection codebook, maximum 3 bits are enough in DCI to signal N-L inactive ports. Fig. 11 & ¶0089 - The signaling can be done in either DCI or MAC CE. In case of MAC CE, alternatively a bitmap of Pcsi-Rs/2 bits may be used, where each bit is associated with a CSI-RS port in each of the two polarizations. A pair of non-zero power CSI-RS ports in different polarizations can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit to "1" in the Pcsi-Rs/2 bits. This would provide more flexibility in case the N CSI-RS ports may be shared by multiple UEs and different UEs may use different CSI-RS ports.), the first group configuration information indicates a correspondence between P reference signal ports and Z layers (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0088 - ports with non-zero power are always mapped to the first L CSI-RS ports in the N-port NZP CSI-RS resource. Thus, the value of either L or N-L is signaled to the UE. Since the NZP CSI-RS resource can always be selected such that L > N-L, signaling N-L can have a smaller overhead. Considering N=4,8,12,16,24,32 are supported in NR for Type II port selection codebook, maximum 3 bits are enough in DCI to signal N-L inactive ports. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0089 - The signaling can be done in either DCI or MAC CE. In case of MAC CE, alternatively a bitmap of Pcsi-Rs/2 bits may be used, where each bit is associated with a CSI-RS port in each of the two polarizations. A pair of non-zero power CSI-RS ports in different polarizations can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit to "1" in the Pcsi-Rs/2 bits. This would provide more flexibility in case the N CSI-RS ports may be shared by multiple UEs and different UEs may use different CSI-RS ports.), and the second group configuration information indicates a correspondence between N frequency domain base vectors and the Z layers (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - A method for signaling to the UE from the network a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set N3 of frequency domain (FD) basis, wherein the FD basis vectors are a set of orthogonal complex vectors with length equal to N3, the method comprising: the UE using the indicated FD basis vectors to compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers.), wherein P, N, and Z are positive integers greater than or equal to 1 (See ¶0088-¶0089, ¶0042/¶0079/¶0088-¶0089 along with Fig.8-9/Fig.11, CSI-RS does have plurality of ports, along with as shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers as disclosed supra); and sending a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponding to the Z layers, wherein the PMI is determined based on the first information (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0025 - Frequency-domain compression matrix wf,l: wf,l is a size N3 x Mv FD-domain compression matrix for layer l, where: For each layer, FD basis selection is indicated with a r logz (Z: = ~) l bit combinatorial indicator. In TS 38.214, the combinatorial indicator is given by the index i1,6, l where l corresponds to the layer index. This combinatorial index is reported by UE to the gNB per layer per PMI. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - where the UE uses a subset of the indicated FD basis vectors to compute the CSI. 10. The method of 9, where the UE may report one or more of the indices i1,5 and i1,6, l as part of the enhanced type II port selection PMI report. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0072 - If the UE indicates an RI equal to either 3 or 4, then the UE will use a subset of the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE for type II port selection CSI feedback. Hence, in this case, the UE performs FD basis selection from only among the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE instead of the total number N3 of frequency-domain bases which reduces the complexity at the UE. Note that in this case, the UE may report one or more of the indices i1,5 and i1,6, l as part of the rel-16 type II port selection PMI report. ¶0074 - when a subset of FD basis vectors among the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE are selected by the UE, the combinatorial coefficient 10 table C(x,y) in Table 5.2.2.2.5-4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 is used when identifying the one or more i1,6, l which are to be reported by the UE as part of the Rel-16 type II port selection PMI report.).
Yet, Muruganathan550 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information is determined based on K angle-delay pairs obtained by performing channel decomposition on uplink channel information, and K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, in the analogous art, TOSATO explicitly discloses wherein the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information is determined based on K angle-delay pairs obtained by performing channel decomposition on uplink channel information, and K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0006 - a method for multi-channel communications, the method comprising: precoding, based on sounding reference signal received from a communication device, reference signal ports in spatial and frequency domain by determining pairs of spatial and frequency domain components where the frequency domain components are arranged in clusters comprising one or more frequency domain components, and pairing of at least one of the spatial domain components with at least two clusters of frequency domain components is enabled; sending information of the precoding to the other communication device; and combining the precoding with a report of precoding received in response from the other communication device. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0036 - a partial channel reciprocity can be assumed based on certain properties such as angles of departure (AoD), angles of arrival (AoA) and delays of the propagation multipath. UL-DL partial reciprocity properties can be taken into consideration in signalling between communicating devices. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0037 - to enhance MIMO CSI feedback operation by exploiting partial uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reciprocity of certain channel statistics such as the angle(s) and delay(s). It has already been suggested that enhancement on CSI measurement and reporting can be based on evaluation and, if needed, specifying port selection codebook enhancement (e.g. based on existing 3GPP Rel.15/16 Type II port selection) where information related to angle(s) and delay(s) are estimated at the gNB based on SRS by utilizing DL/UL reciprocity of angle and delay, and the remaining DL CSI is reported by the UE. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0055 - Enhancing FDD CSI reporting can be based on assumption of reciprocity of cluster delays and angles in FDD operations so that the gNB can estimate a set of dominant SD-FD component pairs and use them to precode the CSI-RS ports. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0056 - The gNB can estimate the UL channel by measuring the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) and determine P SD-FD pairs of vectors. These are denoted below by (v.sub.i.sub.p.sup.(UL),y.sub.f.sub.p.sup.(UL)), where v.sub.i.sub.p.sup.(UL) is an N.sub.t×1 vector and v.sub.f.sub.p.sup.(UL) is an N.sub.3×1 vector containing the precoding weights in the spatial and frequency domain, respectively. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0072 - In order to determine the linear combination coefficients for each SD-FD pair and receive antenna, the UE can form a P×N.sub.3 matrix, W′.sub.2.sup.(r), for r=0, . . . , N.sub.r−1 … W′.sub.2.sup.(r)=[ĥ.sub.0,r′,ĥ.sub.1,r′, . . . ,ĥ.sub.N.sub.a.sub.−1,r′]..(9) and calculate the coefficients by applying (8) to (9). This yields the P×1 vector (or P×M.sup.(DL) matrix, in general for M.sup.(DL)≥1). Fig. 1-10 & ¶0073 - At this stage the UE can determine the strongest spatial layers from linear combinations of the receive antennas. This operation can be performed by applying a single singular value decomposition (SVD) to the P×N.sub.r matrix, [{tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(0), {tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(1), . . . , {tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(N.sup.r.sup.−1)], (or PM.sup.(DL)×N.sub.r matrix) and obtaining the strongest v left eigenvectors:);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan550’s invention of a system and a method for signaling for frequency and spatial domain bases indication to aid enhanced NR type II CSI feedback using angle and delay reciprocity in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include TOSATO’s invention of a system and a method for signalling port information between communication devices in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and flexible mechanism, which allows in reducing number of spatial-domain (SD-FD) pairs used by a gNB in precoding CSI-RS ports (channel state information reference signal ports), in turns, reduces reference signalling overhead, therefore, accuracy of precoder matrix reconstruction from a PMI reports from a UE and the gNB own reciprocity-based calculations is improved, enables the gNB in providing more accurate estimation while operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0005/¶0043, TOSATO)
Re. claim 14, Muruganathan550 teaches a communication apparatus (Fig. 12), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 12, 1204), and one or more memories (Fig. 12, 1206) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 12 & ¶0098) comprising: sending first information, that indicates first group configuration information and second group configuration information (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0040 - methods for signaling a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set of FD basis and/or a selected subset of CSI-RS ports among a full set of CSI-RS ports by gNB to a UE are proposed. Solutions based on both medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling and downlink control information (DCI) signaling are proposed to reduce overhead associated with signaling the subset of FD basis vectors and/or CSI-RS ports. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - A method for signaling to the UE from the network a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set N3 of frequency domain (FD) basis, wherein the FD basis vectors are a set of orthogonal complex vectors with length equal to N3, the method comprising: the UE using the indicated FD basis vectors to compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0088 - ports with non-zero power are always mapped to the first L CSI-RS ports in the N-port NZP CSI-RS resource. Thus, the value of either L or N-L is signaled to the UE. Since the NZP CSI-RS resource can always be selected such that L > N-L, signaling N-L can have a smaller overhead. Considering N=4,8,12,16,24,32 are supported in NR for Type II port selection codebook, maximum 3 bits are enough in DCI to signal N-L inactive ports. Fig. 11 & ¶0089 - The signaling can be done in either DCI or MAC CE. In case of MAC CE, alternatively a bitmap of Pcsi-Rs/2 bits may be used, where each bit is associated with a CSI-RS port in each of the two polarizations. A pair of non-zero power CSI-RS ports in different polarizations can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit to "1" in the Pcsi-Rs/2 bits. This would provide more flexibility in case the N CSI-RS ports may be shared by multiple UEs and different UEs may use different CSI-RS ports), the first group configuration information indicates a correspondence between P reference signal ports and Z layers (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0088 - ports with non-zero power are always mapped to the first L CSI-RS ports in the N-port NZP CSI-RS resource. Thus, the value of either L or N-L is signaled to the UE. Since the NZP CSI-RS resource can always be selected such that L > N-L, signaling N-L can have a smaller overhead. Considering N=4,8,12,16,24,32 are supported in NR for Type II port selection codebook, maximum 3 bits are enough in DCI to signal N-L inactive ports. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0089 - The signaling can be done in either DCI or MAC CE. In case of MAC CE, alternatively a bitmap of Pcsi-Rs/2 bits may be used, where each bit is associated with a CSI-RS port in each of the two polarizations. A pair of non-zero power CSI-RS ports in different polarizations can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit to "1" in the Pcsi-Rs/2 bits. This would provide more flexibility in case the N CSI-RS ports may be shared by multiple UEs and different UEs may use different CSI-RS ports.), and the second group configuration information indicates a correspondence between N frequency domain base vectors and the Z layers (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - A method for signaling to the UE from the network a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set N3 of frequency domain (FD) basis, wherein the FD basis vectors are a set of orthogonal complex vectors with length equal to N3, the method comprising: the UE using the indicated FD basis vectors to compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers.), wherein P, N, and Z are positive integers greater than or equal to 1 (See ¶0088-¶0089, ¶0042/¶0079/¶0088-¶0089 along with Fig.8-9/Fig.11, CSI-RS does have plurality of ports, along with as shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers as disclosed supra); and receiving a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponding to the Z layers, wherein the PMI is determined based on the first information (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0025 - Frequency-domain compression matrix wf,l: wf,l is a size N3 x Mv FD-domain compression matrix for layer l, where: For each layer, FD basis selection is indicated with a r logz (Z: = ~) l bit combinatorial indicator. In TS 38.214, the combinatorial indicator is given by the index i1,6, l where l corresponds to the layer index. This combinatorial index is reported by UE to the gNB per layer per PMI. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0042 - where the UE uses a subset of the indicated FD basis vectors to compute the CSI. 10. The method of 9, where the UE may report one or more of the indices i1,5 and i1,6, l as part of the enhanced type II port selection PMI report. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0072 - If the UE indicates an RI equal to either 3 or 4, then the UE will use a subset of the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE for type II port selection CSI feedback. Hence, in this case, the UE performs FD basis selection from only among the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE instead of the total number N3 of frequency-domain bases which reduces the complexity at the UE. Note that in this case, the UE may report one or more of the indices i1,5 and i1,6, l as part of the rel-16 type II port selection PMI report. ¶0074 - when a subset of FD basis vectors among the Mmax FD basis vectors indicated in the MAC CE are selected by the UE, the combinatorial coefficient 1.0 table C(x,y) in Table 5.2.2.2.5-4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 is used when identifying the one or more i1,6, l which are to be reported by the UE as part of the Rel-16 type II port selection PMI report).
Yet, Muruganathan550 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information is determined based on K angle-delay pairs obtained by performing channel decomposition on uplink channel information, and K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, in the analogous art, TOSATO explicitly discloses wherein the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information is determined based on K angle-delay pairs obtained by performing channel decomposition on uplink channel information, and K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0006 - a method for multi-channel communications, the method comprising: precoding, based on sounding reference signal received from a communication device, reference signal ports in spatial and frequency domain by determining pairs of spatial and frequency domain components where the frequency domain components are arranged in clusters comprising one or more frequency domain components, and pairing of at least one of the spatial domain components with at least two clusters of frequency domain components is enabled; sending information of the precoding to the other communication device; and combining the precoding with a report of precoding received in response from the other communication device. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0036 - a partial channel reciprocity can be assumed based on certain properties such as angles of departure (AoD), angles of arrival (AoA) and delays of the propagation multipath. UL-DL partial reciprocity properties can be taken into consideration in signalling between communicating devices. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0037 - to enhance MIMO CSI feedback operation by exploiting partial uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reciprocity of certain channel statistics such as the angle(s) and delay(s). It has already been suggested that enhancement on CSI measurement and reporting can be based on evaluation and, if needed, specifying port selection codebook enhancement (e.g. based on existing 3GPP Rel.15/16 Type II port selection) where information related to angle(s) and delay(s) are estimated at the gNB based on SRS by utilizing DL/UL reciprocity of angle and delay, and the remaining DL CSI is reported by the UE. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0055 - Enhancing FDD CSI reporting can be based on assumption of reciprocity of cluster delays and angles in FDD operations so that the gNB can estimate a set of dominant SD-FD component pairs and use them to precode the CSI-RS ports. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0056 - The gNB can estimate the UL channel by measuring the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) and determine P SD-FD pairs of vectors. These are denoted below by (v.sub.i.sub.p.sup.(UL),y.sub.f.sub.p.sup.(UL)), where v.sub.i.sub.p.sup.(UL) is an N.sub.t×1 vector and v.sub.f.sub.p.sup.(UL) is an N.sub.3×1 vector containing the precoding weights in the spatial and frequency domain, respectively. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0072 - In order to determine the linear combination coefficients for each SD-FD pair and receive antenna, the UE can form a P×N.sub.3 matrix, W′.sub.2.sup.(r), for r=0, . . . , N.sub.r−1 … W′.sub.2.sup.(r)=[ĥ.sub.0,r′,ĥ.sub.1,r′, . . . ,ĥ.sub.N.sub.a.sub.−1,r′]..(9) and calculate the coefficients by applying (8) to (9). This yields the P×1 vector (or P×M.sup.(DL) matrix, in general for M.sup.(DL)≥1). Fig. 1-10 & ¶0073 - At this stage the UE can determine the strongest spatial layers from linear combinations of the receive antennas. This operation can be performed by applying a single singular value decomposition (SVD) to the P×N.sub.r matrix, [{tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(0), {tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(1), . . . , {tilde over (w)}′.sub.2.sup.(N.sup.r.sup.−1)], (or PM.sup.(DL)×N.sub.r matrix) and obtaining the strongest v left eigenvectors:);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan550’s invention of a system and a method for signaling for frequency and spatial domain bases indication to aid enhanced NR type II CSI feedback using angle and delay reciprocity in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include TOSATO’s invention of a system and a method for signalling port information between communication devices in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and flexible mechanism, which allows in reducing number of spatial-domain (SD-FD) pairs used by a gNB in precoding CSI-RS ports (channel state information reference signal ports), in turns, reduces reference signalling overhead, therefore, accuracy of precoder matrix reconstruction from a PMI reports from a UE and the gNB own reciprocity-based calculations is improved, enables the gNB in providing more accurate estimation while operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0005/¶0043, TOSATO)
Re. Claims 4, 10 and 17, Muruganathan550 and TOSATO teach claims 1, 7 and 14.
Muruganathan550 further teaches wherein each of the Z layers corresponds to one or more of the N frequency domain base vectors. (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0081 - the maximum number of FD basis vectors that can be selected can be defined via higher layer parameters for each layer or per group of layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & Group A Embodiments / Page 39 - wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields (e.g., a bitmap of N3 bits or a bitmap of [log2 (N3 )l bits) each configured to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors for a respective one of a plurality of layers.)
Re. Claims 5, 11 and 18, Muruganathan550 and TOSATO teach claims 1, 7 and 14.
Muruganathan550 further teaches wherein frequency domain base vectors corresponding to at least two of the Z layers are not identical. (§1.3 - Embodiment with different number of selected FD basis vectors indicated for different number of layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0081 - the maximum number of FD basis vectors that can be selected can be defined via higher layer parameters for each layer or per group of layers. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & Group A Embodiments / Page 39 - wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields (e.g., a bitmap of N3 bits or a bitmap of [log2 (N3 )l bits) each configured to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors for a respective one of a plurality of layers.)
Re. Claims 6, 12 and 19, Muruganathan550 and TOSATO teach claims 1, 7 and 14.
Muruganathan550 further teaches wherein; the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information are carried in at least one of the following signaling: radio resource control (RRC), a media access control control element (MAC CE), or downlink control information (DCI) (Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0040 - methods for signaling a selected subset of frequency domain (FD) basis vectors among a full set of FD basis and/or a selected subset of CSI-RS ports among a full set of CSI-RS ports by gNB to a UE are proposed. Solutions based on both medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling and downlink control information (DCI) signaling are proposed to reduce overhead associated with signaling the subset of FD basis vectors and/or CSI-RS ports. Fig.8-9/Fig.11 & ¶0079 - the number of selected FD basis vectors may be indicated in a MAC CE per layer or per a group of layers. Figure 11 is an exemplary MAC CE configured according to another embodiment of the present disclosure for indicating the selected subset of FD basis vectors from the network node to the wireless device. As shown in Figure 11, for each layer l (l = 1, .... ,v), a field F:l),n E {0,1, ... ,N3 -1} consisting of a bitmap of bits (or rN3/ 81 octets) are used to indicate the selected subset of FD basis vectors for CSI feedback with a type II port selection codebook with l layers. Fig. 11 & ¶0089 - The signaling can be done in either DCI or MAC CE. In case of MAC CE, alternatively a bitmap of Pcsi-Rs/2 bits may be used, where each bit is associated with a CSI-RS port in each of the two polarizations. A pair of non-zero power CSI-RS ports in different polarizations can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit to "1" in the Pcsi-Rs/2 bits. This would provide more flexibility in case the N CSI-RS ports may be shared by multiple UEs and different UEs may use different CSI-RS ports. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or”); or the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information are[[/is]] predefined in a protocol.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan550, in view of TOSATO,further in view of Hao et al. (2023/0163911), Hao hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2, 8 and 15, Muruganathan550 and TOSATO teach claims 1, 7 and 14.
Yet, Muruganathan550 does not expressly teach wherein each of the Z layers corresponds to one or more of the P reference signal ports.
However, in the analogous art, Hao explicitly discloses wherein each of the Z layers corresponds to one or more of the P reference signal ports. (Fig. 4-5/Fig. 6A-B & ¶0098 - in selecting and reporting selected CSI-RS, the UE can determine/report the group index (or indices) of selected CSI-RS ports, and may further determine/report the port index of the selected CSI-RS ports within the groups. The group index and/or the CSI-RS port index may be determined/reported layer-specific or layer-common and rank-specific or rank-common. The port selection within each group can be same or different. FIG. 5 illustrates an example with the second and third CSI-RS ports chosen from the groups 0, 1, and 3, across both polarizations, for computing the PMI to report with CSI. Fig. 4-5/Fig. 6A-B & ¶0101 - UE can (freely) select any CSI-RS ports from the total P CSI-RS ports, up to the configured K0 number of CSI-RS ports per layer, and up to total 2 K0 CSI-RS across all layers. Fig. 4-5/Fig. 6A-B & ¶0126 - the BS may configure the UE with a maximum number of CSI-RS ports per-layer or per-rank for the UE to report linear combination coefficients.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan550’s invention of a system and a method for signaling for frequency and spatial domain bases indication to aid enhanced NR type II CSI feedback using angle and delay reciprocity in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and TOSATO’s invention of a system and a method for signalling port information between communication devices in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Hao’s invention of a system and a method for port selection for channel state feedback with analog feedforward in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in Channel estimation in adapting transmissions based on current channel conditions, which is useful for achieving reliable communication, in particular, with high data rates in multi-antenna systems operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0051-¶0052, Hao)
Re. Claims 3, 9 and 16, Muruganathan550 and TOSATO teach claims 1, 7 and 14.
Yet, Muruganathan550 does not expressly teach wherein ports corresponding to at least two of the Z layers are not identical.
However, in the analogous art, Hao explicitly discloses wherein ports corresponding to at least two of the Z layers are not identical. (Fig. 4-5/Fig. 6A-B & ¶0098 - in selecting and reporting selected CSI-RS, the UE can determine/report the group index (or indices) of selected CSI-RS ports, and may further determine/report the port index of the selected CSI-RS ports within the groups. The group index and/or the CSI-RS port index may be determined/reported layer-specific or layer-common and rank-specific or rank-common. The port selection within each group can be same or different.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan550’s invention of a system and a method for signaling for frequency and spatial domain bases indication to aid enhanced NR type II CSI feedback using angle and delay reciprocity in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and TOSATO’s invention of a system and a method for signalling port information between communication devices in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Hao’s invention of a system and a method for port selection for channel state feedback with analog feedforward in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in Channel estimation in adapting transmissions based on current channel conditions, which is useful for achieving reliable communication, in particular, with high data rates in multi-antenna systems operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0051-¶0052, Hao)
Response to Arguments
Earlier claim objection for claims 8-12 and 15-19 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 01/12/2026.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/12/2026 with respect to independent claims 1, 7 and 14 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 6-7 as submitted on 01/12/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Muruganathan550 fails to teach, “wherein the at least one of the first group configuration information or the second group configuration information is determined based on K angle-delay pairs obtained by performing channel decomposition on uplink channel information, and K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, TOSATO (2023/0412225 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference, See PTO-892), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 7 and 14.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan550, in view of TOSATO (2023/0412225 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan550, in view of TOSATO (2023/0412225 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 7 and 14, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467