This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 18496422.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 11 recites, “ another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion, wherein the plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads per inch being greater than the first threads per inch. However, the specification states, “The plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch. The second threads per inch is greater than the first threads per inch” therefore claim 11 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 for the above reasons. Please note that the Examiner may not have pointed out each and every example of indefiniteness. The applicant is required to review all the claim language to make sure the claimed invention is clear and definite.
All words in a claim must be considered in determining the patentability of theclaim against the prior art. If no reasonably definite meaning can be ascribed to certainterms in the claim, the subject matter does not become obvious, the claim becomesindefinite. In re Wilson, 424F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). The examiner's analysis ofthe claims, in particular claim language within the claims as rejected under 35 USC 112 above, indicates that considerable speculation as to the meaning of the terms employed and assumptions as to the scope of the claims needs to be made, as the examiner does not understand what is exactly being claimed by the applicant. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 should not be based on such speculations and assumptions. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,862 (CCPA 1962); Ex parte Head, 214 USPQ 551 (Bd.App. 1981). Accordingly, the applicant should not assume that any claims not rejected using prior art is considered allowable since the examiner can not clearly determine the limitations of the claim due to indefiniteness. The applicant should be aware that once the claims have been corrected to remove the problems concerning indefiniteness, prior art may be used to reject the claims and the next action made final or if the application is in a final status the amendment after final may not be entered as requiring further search and/or consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Johnson 2013/0160586. The applicant is reminded that the within claims 1-10, the actuator assembly and rotatable screw are not positively claimed therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the functions related to the actuator assembly and rotatable screw. The applicant is reminded that the within claims 12-20, aircraft engine door is not positively claimed therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the functions related to the aircraft engine door.
Johnson discloses claim:
1. A nut (200) for use in an actuator assembly having a rotatable screw, the nut comprising: an outer nut portion (210); an inner nut portion (220) removably coupled to the outer nut portion (210), the inner nut portion (220) being rotatably couplable to the rotatable screw (12) ; and at least one anti-rotation pin (locating pin not shown which is inserted into radial opening 211, see par. [0037]) positionable between the outer nut portion (210) and the inner nut portion (220) to restrict rotation of the inner nut portion relative to the outer nut portion.
2. The nut of claim 1, wherein the nut (200) is fixedly mounted within the actuator assembly such that the rotatable screw (12) is movable relative to the nut.
3. The nut of claim 1, wherein the nut (200) is translatable along an axis relative to the rotatable screw (12).
10. The nut of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of threads (221) arranged at an inner surface (221) of the inner nut portion (220), the plurality of threads being couplable to the rotatable screw (12).
12. An actuator assembly for controlling movement of an aircraft engine door comprising: a screw (12) rotatable about an axis; a nut (200) rotatably engaged with the screw, the nut (200) further comprising: an outer nut portion (210); and an inner nut portion (220) removably coupled to the outer nut portion, the inner nut portion being rotatably fixed to the outer nut portion.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the nut further comprises at least one anti-rotation pin (locating pin not shown which is inserted into radial opening 211, see par. [0037]) positioned between the outer nut portion (210) and the inner nut portion (220) to restrict rotation of the inner nut portion relative to the outer nut portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson 2013/0160586.
Johnson discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials; wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer; and wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
Johnson teaches that it is known within paragraph 0035 that the parts within the apparatus maybe made of various suitable materials such as metals and polymers therefore Johnson inherently teaches claims:
5. The nut of claim 1, wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials.
6. The nut of claim 5, wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer.
7. The nut of claim 5, wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Johnson to have wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials; wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer; and wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson 2013/0160586 in view of Yiwu CN112923035.
Johnson discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion; wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads; further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion, wherein the plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads per inch being greater than the first threads per inch; and further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion, the plurality of threads being couplable the screw.
Yiwu teaches that it is known to have claims:
8. The nut of claim 1, further comprising a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (2) and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion (1).
9. The nut of claim 8, wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads (see figure below).
11. The nut of claim 10, further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (outer threads of 2), wherein the plurality of threads (inner threads of 2) has a first threads (inner threads of 2) per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads (outer threads of 2) per inch being greater than the first threads (inner threads of 2) per inch.
17. The system of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion (2), the plurality of threads being couplable the screw.
18. The system of claim 12, further comprising a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (2) and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion (1).
19. The system of claim 18, wherein the first plurality of threads (outer threads of 2) and the second plurality of threads (inner threads of 1) are microthreads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Johnson to have a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion; wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads; further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion, wherein the plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads per inch being greater than the first threads per inch; and further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion, the plurality of threads being couplable the screw as taught by Yiwu for the purpose of controlling movement of the inner and outer members to allow for adjustments of the parts for incremental positioning for stability and firm attachment and/or being removably connected.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson 2013/160586 in view of Pandian 2023/0078972.
Johnson discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the cowl door and outer nut portion has a flange arranged at an exterior surface.
Pandian teaches it is known to have claims:
20. The system of claim 14, wherein the nut is coupled to a cowl door (102), the actuator assembly being operable to move the aircraft engine door between an open position and a closed position.
4. The nut of claim 1, wherein the outer nut portion has a flange (1221) arranged at an exterior surface thereof, the flange being connectable to a component to be moved by the actuator assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Johnson to have included wherein the nut is coupled to a cowl door, the actuator assembly being operable to move the aircraft engine door between an open position and a closed position and wherein the outer nut portion has a flange arranged at an exterior surface thereof, the flange being connectable to a component to be moved by the actuator assembly as taught by Pandian for the purpose of providing a better mechanical actuator assembly preventing failure and instability when positioning the engine door and a flange acts as an attachment means for the nut.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art discloses conventional nut members.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631