This is a Final office action for serial number 18/496,422.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Smith 4,436,278. In regards to claim 12, the applicant is reminded that the aircraft engine door is not positively claimed therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the functions related to the aircraft engine door.
Smith discloses claims:
1. A nut for use in an actuator assembly having a rotatable screw (191) , the nut comprising: an outer nut portion (150); an inner nut portion (190) removably coupled to the outer nut portion, the inner nut portion (190) being rotatably couplable to the rotatable screw; and at least one anti-rotation pin (200) positionable between the outer nut portion (150) and the inner nut portion (190) to restrict rotation of the inner nut portion relative to the outer nut portion, the at least one anti-rotation pin (200) extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the inner nut portion (190).
2. The nut of claim 1, wherein the nut is fixedly mounted within the actuator assembly (60) such that the rotatable screw (191) is movable relative to the nut (150/190).
3. The nut of claim 1, wherein the nut (150/190) is translatable along an axis relative to the rotatable screw.
4. The nut of claim 1, wherein the outer nut portion (150) has a flange arranged at an exterior surface thereof, the flange (near flange near ring 160) being connectable to a component (driven sprocket 140) to be moved by the actuator assembly.
10. The nut of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion (190), the plurality of threads being couplable to the rotatable screw (191).
12. An actuator assembly for controlling movement of an aircraft engine door comprising: a screw (191) rotatable about an axis; a nut rotatably engaged with the screw, the nut further comprising: an outer nut portion (150); and an inner nut portion (190) removably (since not fixedly coupled) coupled to the outer nut portion (150), the inner nut (190) portion being rotatably fixed to the outer nut portion (150); and at least one anti-rotation pin (200) oriented parallel to the axis and positioned between the outer nut portion (150) and the inner nut portion (190) to restrict rotation of the inner nut portion relative to the outer nut portion.
17. The system of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion (190), the plurality of threads being couplable the screw (191).
[AltContent: textbox (Threads of inner surface of inner nut portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Threads on screw)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith 4,436,278 in view of Ohm 20180257624.
Smith discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials inner nut portion is formed from a polymer or the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
Ohm teaches it is known to have claims:
5. The nut of claim 1, wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials.
6. The nut of claim 5, wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer.
7. The nut of claim 5, wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the inner nut portion is formed from a polymer.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the outer nut portion is formed from a metal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Smith to have wherein the outer nut portion and the inner nut portion are formed different materials inner nut portion is formed from a polymer or the outer nut portion is formed from a metal as taught by Ohm for the purpose of providing hard strength materials well known for safety-relevant areas external area and, in the tribologically relevant internal area for use in difficult tasks such as actuators.
. Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith 4,436,278 in view of Yiwu CN112923035.
Smith discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion; wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads; further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion, wherein the plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads per inch being greater than the first threads per inch; and further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion, the plurality of threads being couplable the screw.
Yiwu teaches that it is known to have claims:
8. The nut of claim 1, further comprising a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (2) and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion (1).
9. The nut of claim 8, wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads (see figure below).
11. The nut of claim 10, further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (outer threads of 2), wherein the plurality of threads (inner threads of 2) per inch off the plurality of threads is greater than the threads per inch of the another pluroaity of threads.
17. The system of claim 12, further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion (2), the plurality of threads being couplable the screw.
18. The system of claim 12, further comprising a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion (2) and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion (1).
19. The system of claim 18, wherein the first plurality of threads (outer threads of 2) and the second plurality of threads (inner threads of 1) are microthreads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Smith to have a first plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion and a second plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the outer nut portion; wherein the first plurality of threads and the second plurality of threads are microthreads; further comprising another plurality of threads arranged at an outer surface of the inner nut portion, wherein the plurality of threads has a first threads per inch and the another plurality of threads has a second threads per inch, the second threads per inch being greater than the first threads per inch; and further comprising a plurality of threads arranged at an inner surface of the inner nut portion, the plurality of threads being couplable the screw as taught by Yiwu for the purpose of controlling movement of the inner and outer members to allow for adjustments of the parts for incremental positioning for stability and firm attachment and/or being removably connected.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Smith 4,436,278 in view of Ohm 20180257624 in view of Pandian 2023/0078972.
Smith in view of Ohm discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the cowl door and outer nut portion has a flange arranged at an exterior surface.
Pandian teaches it is known to have claims:
20. The system of claim 14, wherein the nut is coupled to a cowl door (102), the actuator assembly being operable to move the aircraft engine door between an open position and a closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Johnson to have included wherein the nut is coupled to a cowl door, the actuator assembly being operable to move the aircraft engine door between an open position and a closed position as taught by Pandian for the purpose of providing a better mechanical actuator assembly preventing failure and instability when positioning the engine door.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631