DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This is in response to the amendment file d02/04/2026. Claims 21-23 have been added; claims 3,11 and 19 have been canceled; claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18 and 20-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 12-13, 16-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al US 2024/0056902 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses “sending to a secondary radio access network node” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; receiving, by the secondary node (SN), a request), “a first request for the secondary radio access network node to provide a multicast broadcast service for a terminal” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; receiving, by the secondary node (SN), a request, to request SN to provide a MBS service on-going at SN ); “where the first request comprises a first identifier corresponding to the multicast broadcast service” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; The request transmitted include information relating to the MBS service such as a TMGI, a session ID, and/or a MBS service ID). Also, Zhang teaches the claimed feature of “and receiving from the secondary radio access network node” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0140; upon receiving the MBS service, the SN may either accept or reject the request. If SN accepts the MBS service request, SN generates and provides MRB configuration information for that MBS service and sends to MN); “a first response that indicates that the secondary radio access network node agrees to provide the multicast broadcast service to the terminal device.” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0140; upon receiving the MBS service, the SN may either accept or reject the request. If SN accepts the MBS service request, SN generates and provides MRB configuration information for that MBS service and sends to MN); “further indicates that: the multicast broadcast service already exists on the secondary radio access network node, or a data transmission channel of the multicast broadcast service is already established on the secondary radio access network node (see Zhang ¶ 0090, ¶ 0091; a MN or a SN initiates a procedure to establish a corresponding MRB and transmits the MBS service data anchored at the SN to a UE due to a MN or a SN realizes that an existing MBS service of a UE's interest is on-going at the SN but not anchored at MN (e.g., the MN is not MBS supportive, or the MN is out of the MBS service area; the above clearly The MRB configuration information sent by the SN is based on the existence of the ongoing MBS service, and thus, the response implicitly indicates that the service already exists or that the channel is established); Also, Fig. 7 and ¶ 0140 discloses that the SN’s response (message 702) to the MN’s request (701). The SN’s response includes MRB configuration information for the requested MBS service. As described in [0140] and [0141], this MRB configuration information is generated specifically for an MBS service that is already ongoing at the SN); ¶ 0150, discloses that the MRB configuration information provided by the SN can be related to inform that the services interested by the UEs are MBS service that already at the SN).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Zhang further discloses “wherein the first response comprises: first interface address of a first interface between the secondary radio access network node and a core network, or second interface address of a second interface between the secondary radio access network node and a master radio access network node.”; (see Zhang ¶ 0140; The SN sends the MRB configuration information to MN, for instance, via a X2 interface message, a Xn interface message).
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Zhang further discloses “wherein the first request further comprises at least one of: a reference identifier of the multicast broadcast service, a session identifier of the multicast broadcast service, an access point (AP) identifier of the multicast broadcast service, an access and mobility management function identifier, a session management function identifier, a multicast broadcast-session management function identifier, or a multicast broadcast-function identifier”; (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; The request transmitted include information relating to the MBS service such as a TMGI, a session ID, and/or a MBS service ID).
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Zhang further discloses “wherein the first request further comprises an Internet Protocol (IP) multicast group address of the multicast broadcast service, and the IP multicast group address is used to receive data of the multicast broadcast service..”; (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; The request transmitted include information relating to the MBS service such as a TMGI (temporary mobile group identity), a session ID, and/or a MBS service ID).
Regarding claim 6, claim 2 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Zhang further discloses “wherein the method further comprises: sending a second request to the core network, wherein the second request comprises the first identifier and at least one of the following: the first interface address information or a second identifier corresponding to the secondary radio access network node..”; (see Zhang ¶ 0196; NOTE here that the second message is not specified here. With that being said, Zhang discloses a stop message can be sent to a core network node that include information relevant MBS service information (e.g., a TMGI, a session ID, and/or a MBS service ID) and relevant QoS flow information (e.g., a QoS flow ID)).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses “receiving a first request from a master radio access network node” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; receiving, by the secondary node (SN), a request), “wherein the first request requests a secondary radio access network node to provide a multicast broadcast service for a terminal device” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; receiving, by the secondary node (SN), a request, to request SN to provide a MBS service on-going at SN ); “and the first request comprises a first identifier corresponding to the multicast broadcast service” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0139; The request transmitted include information relating to the MBS service such as a TMGI, a session ID, and/or a MBS service ID). Also, Zhang teaches the claimed feature of “and sending a first response to the master radio access network node based on the first request” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0140; upon receiving the MBS service, the SN may either accept or reject the request. If SN accepts the MBS service request, SN generates and provides MRB configuration information for that MBS service and sends to MN); “wherein the first response indicates that the secondary radio access network node agrees to provide the multicast broadcast service for the terminal device” (see Zhang figure 7 and ¶ 0140; upon receiving the MBS service, the SN may either accept or reject the request. If SN accepts the MBS service request, SN generates and provides MRB configuration information for that MBS service and sends to MN).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses “wherein the method is performed
by a master radio access network node or a chip in a master radio access network node” (see Zhang figure 1 and ¶ 0037; MN 102 may refer to a radio access node), “the terminal device is dual-connected to the master radio access network node and the
secondary radio access network node;” (see Zhang figure 1 and ¶ 0035; the wireless communication system 100 may be a dual connectivity system 100, including at least one UE 101); “and an NG-U tunnel is established between the secondary radio access network node and the core network, or an Xn-U tunnel is established between the secondary radio access network node and the master radio access network node, or an Xn-U tunnel is established between the secondary radio access network node and another master radio access network node” (NOTE: according to the applicant current specification [¶ 0007], XN-U is an XN-U interface; with that being said; see Zhang figure 1 and ¶ 0036; MN 102 and SN 103 may be connected with each other via a network interface, for example, the Xn interface).
Claims 10, 12-13, 16 and 22 contain limitations similar to the limitations presented in the method claim 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21. Claims 10, 12-13, 16 and 22 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21.
Claims 17 – 18, 20 and 23 are the apparatus claims corresponding to the method claims 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21. Claims 17 – 18, 20 and 23 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1,2, 4 – 6 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al US 2024/0056902 A1
Most of the limitations of claim 7 have been noted in the rejection of claim 2. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2 above. Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose a receiving a third request from the secondary radio access network node, wherein the third request comprises at least one of the following: the first identifier, a second identifier corresponding to the secondary radio access network node, or the first interface address information between the secondary radio access network node and the core network; sending a fourth request to the core network, wherein the fourth request comprises at least one of the following: the first identifier, the second identifier, or the first interface address information; receiving a second response from the core network, wherein the second response comprises the first identifier or the second identifier; and sending a third response to the secondary radio access network node, wherein the third response comprises the first identifier or the second identifier. First, the third request, fourth request and the third response as recited in the above limitation are specified and broadly claimed to be interpreted as any communication between primary node, secondary node and a core network element. With that being said, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 01), communication 6d, communication 7 and communication 8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhang before him or her, to modify the invention of Zhang perform a third request by the secondary node, sending request to a core network and receiving a response from the core network. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve the performance of the system by improving handling a multicast broadcast service (MBS) at a radio access network (RAN) node (¶ 0001).
Most of the limitations of claim 8 have been noted in the rejection of claim -. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2 above. Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose a receiving data of the multicast broadcast service from the core network; and forwarding the data to the secondary radio access network node based on the second interface address information. However, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 04 and ¶ s 0074, 0075), sending modify signal for services from the core network and forwarding the confirmation of the modification to the secondary node. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhang before him or her, to modify the invention of Zhang perform sending, by the core network information of MBS data and forwarding such information to the secondary node. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve the performance of the system by improving handling a multicast broadcast service (MBS) at a radio access network (RAN) node (¶ 0001).
Claims 14-15 contain limitations similar to the limitations presented in the method claim 7-8 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 7-8. Claims 14-15 are rejected under the same rational as claims 7-8.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on February 04, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues in substance that:
The applicant argues that Zhang fails to teaches or suggest a " hat the first response further indicates that the multicast broadcast service already exists on the secondary radio access network node, or a data transmission channel of the multicast broadcast service is already established on the secondary radio access network node" as recited in Applicant's claim 1 .
In response. Examiner respectively disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Zhang (¶ 0090, ¶ 0091) clearly disclose that MN or a SN initiates a procedure to establish a corresponding MRB and transmits the MBS service data anchored at the SN to a UE due to a MN or a SN realizes that an existing MBS service of a UE's interest is on-going at the SN but not anchored at MN (e.g., the MN is not MBS supportive, or the MN is out of the MBS service area. This clearly shows that the MRB configuration information sent by the SN is based on the existence of the ongoing MBS service, and thus, the response implicitly indicates that the service already exists or that the channel is established). Also Zhang( Fig. 7 and ¶ 0140) discloses that the SN’s response (message 702) to the MN’s request (701). The SN’s response includes MRB configuration information for the requested MBS service. As described above in ¶ 0140 and also ¶ 0141, this MRB configuration information is generated specifically for an MBS service that is already ongoing at the SN. In addition, Zhang (¶ 0150) discloses that the MRB configuration information provided by the SN can be related to inform that the services interested by the UEs are MBS service that already at the SN. Thus, Zhang meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475