DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, and 9 recite the limitation "removing the Cd from a pregnant leach solution" or “removing the Cd from a PLS” in line 3 of each claim. The limitation is indefinite as lines 1-2 of claim 1 recites “recovering valuable metals from black mass, wherein the black mass includes cadmium (Cd)”, but does not disclose the existence or production of pregnant leach solution or PLS, making unclear if the black mass is e.g., leached to form a pregnant leach solution or PLS, or if the pregnant leach solution or PLS has no relation to the black mass.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the valuable metals from a pregnant leach solution" in lines 4-5. The limitation is indefinite as line 1 of claim 1 recites “recovering valuable metals from black mass”, but does not disclose the existence or production of pregnant leach solution, making unclear if the black mass is e.g., leached to form a pregnant leach solution, or if the pregnant leach solution has no relation to the black mass.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "from a pregnant leach solution" in lines 4-5. The limitation is indefinite as the article “a” makes unclear if the pregnant leach solution from which valuable metals are recovered is the same as the pregnant leach solution from which Cd is removed in line 3, or a different pregnant leach solution.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the limitation “organic compound material” in line 2 of each claim. The term “organic compound material” is not defined by the instant specification nor does the term have an established meaning in the art, thus the term is interpreted according to its plain meaning, however “organic compound material” is ambiguous as it is unclear if it refers to merely an organic compound, or if the organic material is somehow “compound” (e.g., comprises multiple materials).
Claims 4 and 11 recite the limitation "includes organosulfur, organothiophosphate, and benzothiazole compounds or derivatives" in line 2. The limitation is indefinite as it is unclear if the organic compound must include each of organosulfur, organothiophosphate, and benzothiazole compounds (or their derivatives); or is intended to include organosulfur, organothiophosphate, or benzothiazole compounds (or their derivatives). The limitation is further indefinite as it is unclear for the case when derivatives are used, whether only one derivative of organosulfur, organothiophosphate, or benzothiazole need be present, or if derivatives of all three types must be present to read upon the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the valuable metals from a PLS" in line 4. The limitation is indefinite as line 1 of claims 7 and recites “recovering valuable metals from black mass”, but does not disclose the existence or production of PLS, making unclear if the black mass is e.g., leached to form a PLS, or if the PLS has no relation to the black mass.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "from a PLS" in line 4. The limitation is indefinite as the article “a” makes unclear if the PLS from which valuable metals are recovered is the same as the PLS from which Cd is removed in line 3, or a different PLS.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the valuable metals from a PLS" in line 5. The limitation is indefinite as line 1 of claim 9 and recites “recovering valuable metals from black mass”, but does not disclose the existence or production of PLS, making unclear if the black mass is e.g., leached to form a PLS, or if the PLS has no relation to the black mass.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “organic compound material” in line 4. The term “organic compound material” is not defined by the instant specification nor does the term have an established meaning in the art, thus the term is interpreted according to its plain meaning, however “organic compound material” is ambiguous as it is unclear if it refers to merely an organic compound, or if the organic material is somehow “compound” (e.g., comprises multiple materials).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "from a PLS" in line 5. The limitation is indefinite as the article “a” makes unclear if the PLS from which valuable metals are recovered is the same as the PLS from which Cd is removed in line 3, or a different PLS.
Claims dependent upon claims rejected above, either directly or indirectly, are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 113106257 B, original document and machine translation supplied with IDS filed 03/26/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of recovering valuable metals (Abstract, pg. 3 lines 2-3) from black mass (pg. 3 paragraphs 7-10). Zhang teaches wherein the black mass includes cadmium (Cd) (pg. 4 paragraph 9), and removing the Cd from a pregnant leach solution (PLS) (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9). Zhang teaches subsequently, precipitating and recovering the valuable metals from a pregnant leach solution (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the valuable metals include one or more of Ni, Mn, Co, and Li (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a method of recovering valuable metals (Abstract, pg. 3 lines 2-3) from black mass (pg. 3 paragraphs 7-10). Zhang teaches wherein the black mass includes cadmium (Cd) (pg. 4 paragraph 9), and removing the Cd from a PLS (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9). Zhang teaches subsequently, precipitating and recovering the valuable metals from a PLS (pg. 3 paragraph 12), wherein the valuable metals include one or more of Ni, Mn, Co, and Li (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 7 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Rickelton ("The removal of Cadmium Impurities from Cobalt-Nickel Solutions by Precipitation with Sodium Diisobutyldithiophosphinate", supplied with IDS filed 03/26/2025).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches removing cadmium from a PLS, but teaches doing so by extraction with P204 extractant (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9), where the PLS comprises cobalt and nickel (pg. 4 paragraph 3). Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Rickelton teaches removal of cadmium impurities from cobalt-nickel solutions by precipitation with diisobutyldithiophosphinate (Title), where cadmium impurities are present in cobalt-nickel solutions processed by solvent extraction for the recovery of cobalt (Abstract), and cadmium must be removed from the solution prior to solvent extraction (1. Introduction, paragraph 1) and nickel (e.g., pg. 340 paragraph 2), thus Rickelton and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to processes for removing cadmium from solutions comprising cobalt, nickel, and cadmium where cobalt and nickel are to be recovered. Rickelton teaches wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating as a diisobutyldithiophosphinate complex (i.e., an organo-complex) (pg. 342 paragraphs 1-3), which is intrinsically insoluble as it is precipitated from solution. Rickelton teaches the complex is formed by adding diisobutyldithiophosphinate (i.e., an organic compound material) to the solution (pg. 341: 2. Experimental: paragraph 1; pg. 343 paragraph 1). Rickelton teaches the sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to selectively remove cadmium from the solution without co-precipitating valuable metals (abstract, pg. 340 paragraph 2, pg. 344: 4. Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to precipitate cadmium prior to extraction as taught by Rickelton prior to the extraction with P204 of Zhang, as doing so would selectively remove cadmium impurities from the solution, further purifying the solution, and would do so at a point that is described as advantageous by Rickelton (prior to extraction).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Rickelton teaches wherein the organic compound material includes organothiophosphate compounds or derivatives and wherein the organic compound material includes dithiophosphinate (pg. 341: 2. Experimental: paragraph 1; pg. 343 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches removing cadmium from a PLS, but teaches doing so by extraction with P204 extractant (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9), where the PLS comprises cobalt and nickel (pg. 4 paragraph 3). Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Rickelton teaches removal of cadmium impurities from cobalt-nickel solutions by precipitation with diisobutyldithiophosphinate (Title), where cadmium impurities are present in cobalt-nickel solutions processed by solvent extraction for the recovery of cobalt (Abstract), and cadmium must be removed from the solution prior to solvent extraction (1. Introduction, paragraph 1) and nickel (e.g., pg. 340 paragraph 2), thus Rickelton and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to processes for removing cadmium from solutions comprising cobalt, nickel, and cadmium where cobalt and nickel are to be recovered. Rickelton teaches wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating as a diisobutyldithiophosphinate complex (i.e., an organo-complex) (pg. 342 paragraphs 1-3), which is intrinsically insoluble as it is precipitated from solution. Rickelton teaches the complex is formed by adding diisobutyldithiophosphinate (i.e., an organic compound material) to the solution (pg. 341: 2. Experimental: paragraph 1; pg. 343 paragraph 1). Rickelton teaches the sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to selectively remove cadmium from the solution without co-precipitating valuable metals (abstract, pg. 340 paragraph 2, pg. 344: 4. Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to precipitate cadmium prior to extraction as taught by Rickelton prior to the extraction with P204 of Zhang, as doing so would selectively remove cadmium impurities from the solution, further purifying the solution, and would do so at a point that is described as advantageous by Rickelton (prior to extraction).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a method of recovering valuable metals (Abstract, pg. 3 lines 2-3) from black mass (pg. 3 paragraphs 7-10). Zhang teaches wherein the black mass includes cadmium (Cd) (pg. 4 paragraph 9), and removing the Cd from a pregnant leach solution (PLS) (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9). Zhang teaches subsequently, precipitating and recovering the valuable metals from a pregnant leach solution (pg. 3 paragraph 12). Zhang teaches removing cadmium from a PLS, but teaches doing so by extraction with P204 extractant (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9), where the PLS comprises cobalt and nickel (pg. 4 paragraph 3).
Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Rickelton teaches removal of cadmium impurities from cobalt-nickel solutions by precipitation with diisobutyldithiophosphinate (Title), where cadmium impurities are present in cobalt-nickel solutions processed by solvent extraction for the recovery of cobalt (Abstract), and cadmium must be removed from the solution prior to solvent extraction (1. Introduction, paragraph 1) and nickel (e.g., pg. 340 paragraph 2), thus Rickelton and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to processes for removing cadmium from solutions comprising cobalt, nickel, and cadmium where cobalt and nickel are to be recovered. Rickelton teaches wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating as a diisobutyldithiophosphinate complex (i.e., an organo-complex) (pg. 342 paragraphs 1-3), which is intrinsically insoluble as it is precipitated from solution. Rickelton teaches the complex is formed by adding diisobutyldithiophosphinate (i.e., an organic compound material) to the solution (pg. 341: 2. Experimental: paragraph 1; pg. 343 paragraph 1). Rickelton teaches the sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to selectively remove cadmium from the solution without co-precipitating valuable metals (abstract, pg. 340 paragraph 2, pg. 344: 4. Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added sodium diisobutyldithiophosphinate to precipitate cadmium prior to extraction as taught by Rickelton prior to the extraction with P204 of Zhang, as doing so would selectively remove cadmium impurities from the solution, further purifying the solution, and would do so at a point that is described as advantageous by Rickelton (prior to extraction).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches wherein the valuable metals include one or more of Ni, Mn, Co, and Li (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Rickelton teaches wherein the organic compound material includes organothiophosphate compounds or derivatives and wherein the organic compound material includes dithiophosphinate (pg. 341: 2. Experimental: paragraph 1; pg. 343 paragraph 1).
Claims 3-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 7 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Yokota et al. (US 3755161 A).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd from the PLS includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Yokota teaches treatment process for removal of metals and treating agent therefor (Title), where metals are removed from liquid phase metal-containing material (analogous to a PLS) (Abstract), where the metal may be Cd (Col. 9 lines 3-7), thus Yokota and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to the removal of Cd from liquid phases. Yokota teaches the treatment comprises using a solid treating agent consisting of a carrier material with a compound deposited thereon (Abstract), where for removing Cd the compound is preferably 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or its alkali salts (i.e. an organic compound material) (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15). Yokota teaches the Cd is removed by depositing onto the organic compound material, and forming a mercaptide compound or coordinate chelate (i.e., an organo-complex) (Col. 3 lines 7-15), where as the Cd is removed from the solution and is deposited onto a solid, the removal of Cd includes precipitating as an insoluble organo-complex. Further, as the removal of Cd occurs by contact of the Cd in the solution with the organic compound material (e.g., Col. 7 lines 44-59), the precipitation occurs by adding the organic compound material to the PLS. Yokota teaches in prior art methods it is difficult to separate supernatant liquid from metal-containing precipitates when removing impurity metals (Col. 2 lines 12-23), while Yokota overcomes these difficulties and drawbacks and has greatly improved results (Col. 3 lines 7-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or an alkali salt thereof on a carrier as taught by Yokota to remove cadmium impurities from the PLS of Zhang, as doing so would avoid difficulties in separating supernatant from metal precipitates.
Further, it has long been held that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 (II). As in the instant case Zhang only differs from claim 1 in that the instant claim uses an organic compound to precipitate Cd as an insoluble organo-complex, while Zhang uses a P204 extraction to remove Cd from liquid solution, and Yokota uses a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as it would have been obvious to have substituted the use of 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution of Yokota into the method of Zhang to remove Cd from the liquid solution.
Regarding claims 4-5, Yokota teaches wherein the organic compound material includes a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof (i.e., wherein the organic compound material includes benzothiazole compounds or derivatives, wherein the organic compound material includes mercaptobenzothiazole (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 6, Yokota teaches wherein the organic compound material includes a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15), where the alkali salt thereof may be sodium 2-mercaptobenzothiazole (i.e., wherein the adding of the organic compound material includes adding sodium 2-mercaptobenzothiazole (NaMBT)) (Tables 3 and 4: Example 22).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Yokota teaches treatment process for removal of metals and treating agent therefor (Title), where metals are removed from liquid phase metal-containing material (analogous to a PLS) (Abstract), where the metal may be Cd (Col. 9 lines 3-7), thus Yokota and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to the removal of Cd from liquid phases. Yokota teaches the treatment comprises using a solid treating agent consisting of a carrier material with a compound deposited thereon (Abstract), where for removing Cd the compound is preferably 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or its alkali salts (i.e. an organic compound material) (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15). Yokota teaches the Cd is removed by depositing onto the organic compound material, and forming a mercaptide compound or coordinate chelate (i.e., an organo-complex) (Col. 3 lines 7-15), where as the Cd is removed from the solution and is deposited onto a solid, the removal of Cd includes precipitating as an insoluble organo-complex. Further, as the removal of Cd occurs by contact of the Cd in the solution with the organic compound material (e.g., Col. 7 lines 44-59), the precipitation occurs by adding the organic compound material to the PLS. Yokota teaches in prior art methods it is difficult to separate supernatant liquid from metal-containing precipitates when removing impurity metals (Col. 2 lines 12-23), while Yokota overcomes these difficulties and drawbacks and has greatly improved results (Col. 3 lines 7-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or an alkali salt thereof on a carrier as taught by Yokota to remove cadmium impurities from the PLS of Zhang, as doing so would avoid difficulties in separating supernatant from metal precipitates.
Further, it has long been held that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 (II). As in the instant case Zhang only differs from claim 1 in that the instant claim uses an organic compound to precipitate Cd as an insoluble organo-complex, while Zhang uses a P204 extraction to remove Cd from liquid solution, and Yokota uses a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as it would have been obvious to have substituted the use of 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution of Yokota into the method of Zhang to remove Cd from the liquid solution.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a method of recovering valuable metals (Abstract, pg. 3 lines 2-3) from black mass (pg. 3 paragraphs 7-10). Zhang teaches wherein the black mass includes cadmium (Cd) (pg. 4 paragraph 9), and removing the Cd from a pregnant leach solution (PLS) (pg. 3 paragraph 11, pg. 4 paragraphs 8-9). Zhang teaches subsequently, precipitating and recovering the valuable metals from a pregnant leach solution (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Zhang does not teach wherein the removal of the Cd includes precipitating an insoluble organo-complex by adding an organic compound material to the PLS.
Yokota teaches treatment process for removal of metals and treating agent therefor (Title), where metals are removed from liquid phase metal-containing material (analogous to a PLS) (Abstract), where the metal may be Cd (Col. 9 lines 3-7), thus Yokota and Zhang are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to the removal of Cd from liquid phases. Yokota teaches the treatment comprises using a solid treating agent consisting of a carrier material with a compound deposited thereon (Abstract), where for removing Cd the compound is preferably 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or its alkali salts (i.e. an organic compound material) (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15). Yokota teaches the Cd is removed by depositing onto the organic compound material, and forming a mercaptide compound or coordinate chelate (i.e., an organo-complex) (Col. 3 lines 7-15), where as the Cd is removed from the solution and is deposited onto a solid, the removal of Cd includes precipitating as an insoluble organo-complex. Further, as the removal of Cd occurs by contact of the Cd in the solution with the organic compound material (e.g., Col. 7 lines 44-59), the precipitation occurs by adding the organic compound material to the PLS. Yokota teaches in prior art methods it is difficult to separate supernatant liquid from metal-containing precipitates when removing impurity metals (Col. 2 lines 12-23), while Yokota overcomes these difficulties and drawbacks and has greatly improved results (Col. 3 lines 7-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or an alkali salt thereof on a carrier as taught by Yokota to remove cadmium impurities from the PLS of Zhang, as doing so would avoid difficulties in separating supernatant from metal precipitates.
Further, it has long been held that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 (II). As in the instant case Zhang only differs from claim 1 in that the instant claim uses an organic compound to precipitate Cd as an insoluble organo-complex, while Zhang uses a P204 extraction to remove Cd from liquid solution, and Yokota uses a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as it would have been obvious to have substituted the use of 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof to remove Cd from liquid solution of Yokota into the method of Zhang to remove Cd from the liquid solution.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches wherein the valuable metals include one or more of Ni, Mn, Co, and Li (pg. 3 paragraph 12).
Regarding claims 11-12, Yokota teaches wherein the organic compound material includes a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof (i.e., wherein the organic compound material includes benzothiazole compounds or derivatives, wherein the organic compound material includes mercaptobenzothiazole (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 13, Yokota teaches wherein the organic compound material includes a 2-mercaptobenzothiazole or alkali salt thereof (Col. 5 lines 4-10, Col. 9 lines 12-15), where the alkali salt thereof may be sodium 2-mercaptobenzothiazole (i.e., wherein the adding of the organic compound material includes adding sodium 2-mercaptobenzothiazole (NaMBT)) (Tables 3 and 4: Example 22).
Regarding claim 14, Yokota teaches wherein the step of adding the organic compound material to the PLS causes precipitation of Cu (Col. 9 lines 12-15).
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/NIKOLAS TAKUYA PULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1733