DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Submission filed on 02/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5- 6, 8, 10- 11, 13, 15-16, 18, 20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 3, 5- 6, 8, 10- 11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 20 have been amended and claim 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 19 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/09/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20250330846-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 1, 6, 11, 16, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
B) Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 5- 6, 8, 10- 11, 13, 15-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US-20240056872-A1), in view of Kumar (US-20250330846-A1).
As to claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10 see similar rejections to claim 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20 respectively.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Parichehrehteroujeni teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to (Fig. 12, [0087] and [0220], describe the UE in WCS has a RF transceiver circuitry and processor coupled with a memory and configured to perform the method functions as stated in [0197] “For example, processing circuitry 1170 may execute instructions stored in device readable medium 1180 or in memory within processing circuitry 1170. Such functionality may include providing any of the various wireless features, functions”, see Figs. 20-21), and transmit, to the base station, the QoE measurement report in an RRC connected state, wherein the QoE measurement report includes the result of the QoE measurement ([0053] and [0315], “The UE can send QoE measurement results via UTRAN to the Collecting Entity using the “Measurement Report” RRC message “. [0062]-[0063] describes that the UE can transmit the QoE report in RRC connected mode. [0066], [0120] and [0315] provide that the QoE report serves as a container for the results of QoE measurement, the report collects these results and transmits them to the BS),
Parichehrehteroujeni fails to teach receive, from a base station, configuration information for a quality of experience (QoE) measurement in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report, wherein the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is additional to an AS layer memory for a QoE paused measurement report.
However, Kumar teaches receive, from a base station, configuration information for a quality of experience (QoE) measurement in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0054] states the communication systems enable the UE to perform and report QoE measurements while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED). UEs may also, receive communications while operating in other states such as RRC idle and inactive states (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE), which implies the UE can receive information configuration and perform the and report the QoE accordingly. [0133] states “QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310)” which means that the UE can receive, from a BS, configuration information for QoE measurement in RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0006] describe the UE transition between states via RRC, such as from connected state to the idle/inactive states via RRC release message , as also confirmed in [0128]), store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 describes performing QoE measurements in inactive state. [0134] states “the UE 115-a may be configured to perform QoE measurements while operating in the idle/inactive state, and may be configured to store the QoE measurements (e.g., in memory, AS, APP layer) until the UE 115-a transitions to the connected state and is able to transmit a QoE report 315 indicating the stored QoE measurement” that implies the UE performed the QoE measurements during the idle/inactive state and store the results in AS layer memory, as shown in Fig. 4 Step 450), wherein the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is additional to an AS layer memory for a QoE paused measurement report (Fig. 4 Steps 430 and 450-480, the figure illustrates that the QoE measurement report (first set of QoE measurements) and the second set of QoE measurements ( QoE passed measurement set), which can be resumed as shown in Step 475, can be stored in AS layer memory. [0134] states “QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a AS or APP layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state … and may be configured to store the QoE measurements (e.g., in memory, AS, APP layer) until the UE 115-a transitions to the connected state and is able to transmit a QoE report 315 indicating the stored QoE measurements.” that confirms the AS layer memory for QoE measurement report in idle/inactive state is an additional functionality to the AS layer memory for paused QoE measurement report as shown in Figs. 4-5.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parichehrehteroujeni to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report to ensure reserving the results until the network resumes reporting, which improve the service quality (Kumar, [0056], lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Parichehrehteroujeni and Kumar teach the UE of claim 11.
Parichehrehteroujeni further teaches wherein, in case that the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report is full, at least one QoE measurement report is discarded based on a storage order or information indicating a priority of the configuration information, ([0172]-[0174] states “The UE deletes a report pertaining to a specific service type in accordance with a priority order, wherein this deletion leaves room for further measurement data [0173] The priority order may stipulate that lightweight QoE reports should be deleted first. [0174] The priority order may stipulate that regular QoE reports should be deleted first (i.e. keeping lightweight QoE reports in the memory is prioritized)”, [0181] and claim 54, these portions confirms that the UE can delete QoE reports with a priority order when the memory is full to save a space for further measurement data), and wherein the information indicating the priority of the configuration information is included in the configuration information ([0178] states “The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration.” That confirms the information configuration about the QoE report priority is included in the QoE measurement configuration information).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Parichehrehteroujeni and Kumar teach the UE of claim 11.
Parichehrehteroujeni fails to teach wherein the result of the QoE measurement is associated with an identity of the QoE measurement.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the result of the QoE measurement is associated with an identity of the QoE measurement ([0106], [0168], [0236], [0109], and [0128] describe several identifiers that can be associated with QoE measurement. E.g., [0128] states “the UE 115-a may be configured with a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration (e.g., QoE measurement configuration) which is usable for all RRC states, or may be configured with multiple QoE measurement and reporting configurations which are associated with (e.g., usable for) different states.” And [0133] states “QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310)”, [0166] states “the UE 115-b may be configured with a same QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for the connected, idle, or inactive states, or with separate QoE measurement and reporting configurations associated with the respective states.” These examples confirm that a unique identifier can be associated with QoE measurement to define the QoE measurement for different RRC states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parichehrehteroujeni to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report to ensure reserving the results until the network resumes reporting, which improve the service quality (Kumar, [0056], lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Parichehrehteroujeni teaches a base station comprising: at least one transceiver at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to (Fig. 12, [0087] and [0220], describe the UE in WCS has a RF transceiver circuitry and processor coupled with a memory and configured to perform the method functions as stated in [0197] “For example, processing circuitry 1170 may execute instructions stored in device readable medium 1180 or in memory within processing circuitry 1170. Such functionality may include providing any of the various wireless features, functions”, see Figs. 20-21), and receive, from the UE, a QoE measurement report in an RRC connected state, wherein the QoE measurement report includes result of the QoE measurement ([0053] and [0315], “The UE can send QoE measurement results via UTRAN to the Collecting Entity using the “Measurement Report” RRC message “. [0062]-[0063] describes that the UE can transmit the QoE report in RRC connected mode. [0066], [0120] and [0315] provide that the QoE report serves as a container for the results of QoE measurement, the report collects these results and transmits them to the BS),
Parichehrehteroujeni fails to teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a quality of experience (QoE) measurement in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein the result of the QoE measurement performed the RRC idle state the RRC inactive state is stored in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for the QoE measurement report, and wherein the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is additional to an AS layer memory for a QoE paused measurement report.
However, Kumar teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a quality of experience (QoE) measurement in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0054] states the communication systems enable the UE to perform and report QoE measurements while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED). UEs may also, receive communications while operating in other states such as RRC idle and inactive states (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE), which implies the UE can receive information configuration and perform the and report the QoE accordingly. [0133] states “QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310)” which means that the UE can receive, from a BS, configuration information for QoE measurement in RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0006] describe the UE transition between states via RRC, such as from connected state to the idle/inactive states via RRC release message , as also confirmed in [0128]), wherein the result of the QoE measurement performed the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is stored in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for the QoE measurement report (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 describes performing QoE measurements in inactive state. [0134] states “the UE 115-a may be configured to perform QoE measurements while operating in the idle/inactive state, and may be configured to store the QoE measurements (e.g., in memory, AS, APP layer) until the UE 115-a transitions to the connected state and is able to transmit a QoE report 315 indicating the stored QoE measurement” that implies the UE performed the QoE measurements during the idle/inactive state and store the results in AS layer memory, as shown in Fig. 4 Step 450), and wherein the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is additional to an AS layer memory for a QoE paused measurement report (Fig. 4 Steps 430 and 450-480, the figure illustrates that the QoE measurement report (first set of QoE measurements) and the second set of QoE measurements ( QoE passed measurement set), which can be resumed as shown in Step 475, can be stored in AS layer memory. [0134] states “QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a AS or APP layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state … and may be configured to store the QoE measurements (e.g., in memory, AS, APP layer) until the UE 115-a transitions to the connected state and is able to transmit a QoE report 315 indicating the stored QoE measurements.” that confirms the AS layer memory for QoE measurement report in idle/inactive state is an additional functionality to the AS layer memory for paused QoE measurement report as shown in Figs. 4-5.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parichehrehteroujeni to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report to ensure reserving the results until the network resumes reporting, which improve the service quality (Kumar, [0056], lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended) , Parichehrehteroujeni and Kumar teach the base station of claim 16.
Parichehrehteroujeni further teaches wherein, in case that the AS layer memory for the QoE measurement report is full, at least one QoE measurement report is discarded based on a storage order or information indicating a priority of the configuration information ([0172]-[0174] states “The UE deletes a report pertaining to a specific service type in accordance with a priority order, wherein this deletion leaves room for further measurement data [0173] The priority order may stipulate that lightweight QoE reports should be deleted first. [0174] The priority order may stipulate that regular QoE reports should be deleted first (i.e. keeping lightweight QoE reports in the memory is prioritized)”, [0181] and claim 54, these portions confirms that the UE can delete QoE reports with a priority order when the memory is full to save a space for further measurement data), and wherein the information indicating the priority of the configuration information is included in the configuration information ([0178] states “The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration.” That confirms the information configuration about the QoE report priority is included in the QoE measurement configuration information).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Parichehrehteroujeni and Kumar teach the base station of claim 16.
Parichehrehteroujeni fails to teach wherein the result of the QoE measurement is associated with an identity of the QoE measurement.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the result of the QoE measurement is associated with an identity of the QoE measurement ([0106], [0168], [0236], [0109], and [0128] describe several identifiers that can be associated with QoE measurement. E.g., [0128] states “the UE 115-a may be configured with a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration (e.g., QoE measurement configuration) which is usable for all RRC states, or may be configured with multiple QoE measurement and reporting configurations which are associated with (e.g., usable for) different states.” and [0133] states “QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310)” , [0166] states “the UE 115-b may be configured with a same QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for the connected, idle, or inactive states, or with separate QoE measurement and reporting configurations associated with the respective states.” These examples confirm that a unique identifier can be associated with QoE measurement to define the QoE measurement for different RRC states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parichehrehteroujeni to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding store, based on the configuration information, a result of the QoE measurement performed in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE for a QoE measurement report to ensure reserving the results until the network resumes reporting, which improve the service quality (Kumar, [0056], lines 24-32).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Kumar et al. (US-20220038934-A1), Johansson et al. (US-20220279385-A1), He et al. (US-20240236745-A1), Centonza et al. (US-20230231779-A1) and Babaei (WO-2023048127-A1) teach different methods of quality of experience (QoE) measurement and reporting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463