DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose or teach the amended limitation of “a variably transparent film coupled to and overlaid on the set of mechanical reels”, as recited in the amended independent claims (Remarks, filed 06/23/26, pp. 10 & 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Englman discloses where video images are reflected off of the partially reflective mirror so that they appear to a player to be superimposed over the mechanical reels ([0046-0047], further noting that the superimposed video images may be selectively made transparent, semi-transparent, or opaque). Accordingly, the partially reflective mirror is variably transparent such that a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the digital element (video images) is projected, as claimed. Therefore, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, as presented in detail below.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the mechanical reel” recited in claim 2, ln. 3 should likely read “[[the]]a mechanical reel”; and
“transparant” recited in claim 3, ln. 2 should likely read “transparent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman et al. (U.S. Pub. 2011/0183746 A1) (hereinafter “Englman”) in view of Pacey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2009/0075721 A1) (hereinafter “Pacey”).
Regarding claim 1, Englman discloses an electronic gaming machine (“EGM”) (Fig. 1a; [0008]; [0021], gaming machine (e.g., slot machine)) comprising:
a set of mechanical reels (Fig. 4B; [0029]; [0046], wherein the gaming machine may include a number of mechanical reels);
a display surface comprising a variably transparent film overlaid on the set of mechanical reels (Fig. 4B, #60; [0046-0047], partially reflective mirror positioned over the mechanical reels 54 such that video images are reflected off of the partially reflective mirror so that they appear to a player to be superimposed over the mechanical reels, and further, wherein the superimposed video images may be selectively made transparent, semi-transparent, or opaque); and
a projector configured to project a digital element on the variably transparent film (Fig. 4B, #58; [0046], video display (i.e., any suitable video projection display) for providing the video images which appear to be superimposed over the mechanical reels), the variably transparent film being located between the projector and the set of mechanical reels such that a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the digital element is projected on the variably transparent film (Fig. 4B; [0046-0047], a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the video images are projected on the partially reflective mirror, wherein the superimposed video images may selectively be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places, allowing the superimposed images to completely block certain areas of the display).
Englman may not further explicitly disclose the display surface coupled to the set of mechanical reels. However, Pacey, directed to gaming machines ([0003]), teaches wherein a projection surface (display surface) is mounted to a rotatable structure and has a radius of curvature that is similar to that of a mechanical reel or other rotatable mechanical structure within a typical slot machine (Fig. 5D; [0089]; [0093], wherein video display device (projector) is configured to project images onto the outside surface of the projection surface). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englman such that the display surface (projection surface) positioned over the mechanical reels is coupled to the mechanical reels (rotatable structures), as taught by Pacey, to allow the projector (video display device) to project images at a downward angle, upward angle, or from either the left or right of the projection surface onto the projection surface, and/or to achieve the claimed invention (Pacey, [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Englman further discloses wherein the variably transparent film is further configured to allow the set of mechanical reels to be viewed through the display surface ([0046-0047], wherein the partially reflective mirror is positioned over the mechanical reels and the video display is situated for providing video images which appear to be superimposed over the mechanical reels).
Regarding claim 4, Englman may not further explicitly disclose wherein the projector comprises a laser projector. Nevertheless, Pacey teaches this limitation ([0079], where the video display device is a projection device that transmits and projects images onto a transparent layer, wherein the video display device can be an LCD projection device, or rather, can include traditional projection technologies such as laser projection displays). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a laser projector, as taught by Pacey, as an alternative embodiment to achieve the same result of projecting images onto a display surface.
Regarding claim 9, Englman further discloses wherein the digital element comprises a virtual version of content on the set of mechanical reels (Figs. 5-6; [0046]; [0063-0065], wherein the video image comprises a virtual version of content superimposed on mechanical reels).
Regarding claim 10, Englman discloses an electronic gaming machine (“EGM”) (Fig. 1a; [0008]; [0021], gaming machine (e.g., slot machine)) comprising:
a controller comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 2; [0038], central processor unit 34, also referred to as a controller or processor, which executes one or more game programs stored in a computer readable storage medium); and
memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry and comprising machine-readable instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the EGM to perform operations (Fig. 2; [0038], memory 36 comprising the computer readable storage medium storing the one or more game programs executable by the central processing unit 34 coupled thereto) comprising: spinning a set of mechanical reels as part of a wagering game (Figs. 1a & 4B; [0024]; [0029]; [0038]; [0040-0042]; [0046]; [0049]; [0084], wherein a player pushes a button(s) or interacts with a touch screen (e.g., touch screen configured in cover/window 62) to operate the gaming machine comprising a plurality of mechanical reels); and
controlling a projector to display a digital element on a display surface comprising a variably transparent film overlaid on the set of the mechanical reels, the display surface being between the projector and the set of mechanical reels, wherein a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the digital element is projected on the variably transparent film (Fig. 4B; [0038]; [0040-0042]; [0046-0047]; [0049]; [0084], wherein a video display (i.e., any suitable video projection display) provides a video image (digital element) on a partially reflective mirror (display surface) positioned over the mechanical reels and between the plurality of mechanical reels and the video display, and a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the video images are projected on the partially reflective mirror, wherein the superimposed video images may selectively be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places, allowing the superimposed images to completely block certain areas of the display).
Englman may not further explicitly disclose the display surface coupled to the set of mechanical reels. However, Pacey, directed to gaming machines ([0003]), teaches wherein a projection surface (display surface) is mounted to a rotatable structure and has a radius of curvature that is similar to that of a mechanical reel or other rotatable mechanical structure within a typical slot machine (Fig. 5D; [0089]; [0093], wherein video display device (projector) is configured to project images onto the outside surface of the projection surface). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englman such that the display surface (projection surface) positioned over the mechanical reels is coupled to the mechanical reels (rotatable structures), as taught by Pacey, to allow the projector (video display device) to project images at a downward angle, upward angle, or from either the left or right of the projection surface onto the projection surface, and/or to achieve the claimed invention (Pacey, [0093]).
Regarding claim 11, Englman further discloses wherein the variably transparent film further comprises a reflective film overlaid on the set of mechanical reels ([0046-0047], wherein the partially reflective mirror is positioned over the mechanical reels and the video display is situated for providing video images which appear to be superimposed over the mechanical reels and which may be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places such that a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the video images (digital element) is projected), and wherein controlling the projector to display the digital element comprises blocking a portion of the set of mechanical reels from being visible through the display surface ([0046-0047], wherein the superimposed video images may selectively be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places, allowing the superimposed images to completely block certain areas of the display).
Regarding claim 18, Englman further discloses the operations further comprising: determining an outcome of the wagering game based on a result of the spinning the set of mechanical reels and the digital element (Fig. 1a; [0026]; [0052]; [0058]; [0073]; [0075-0076]; [0081], determining an outcome (e.g., winning outcome) based on the symbols of the set of mechanical reels and the displayed virtual images (e.g., flaming character symbols along a payline that could yield an award)).
Regarding claim 19, Englman discloses an electronic gaming machine (“EGM”) (Fig. 1a; [0008]; [0021], gaming machine (e.g., slot machine)) comprising:
a controller comprising processing circuitry (Figs. 2 & 4B; [0038-0039]; [0046], processor (CPU), also referred to as a controller, communicatively coupled to the primary display area 14 comprising the video display);
memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry and comprising instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the EGM to perform operations (Fig. 2; [0038-0039]) comprising:
determining physical content on a set of mechanical reels associated with a wagering game ([0075], wherein, for example, it is determined whether the combination of symbols (content) on a set of mechanical reels along a pay line comprises a winning combination); and
controlling a projector to display digital content on a display surface comprising a variably transparent film overlaid on the set of the mechanical reels, the variably transparent film being between the projector and the set of mechanical reels such that a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the digital element is projected on the variably transparent film (Fig. 4B; [0038]; [0040-0042]; [0046-0047]; [0049]; [0084], wherein a video display (i.e., any suitable video projection display) provides a video image (digital element) on a partially reflective mirror (display surface) positioned over the mechanical reels and between the plurality of mechanical reels and the video display, and a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the video images are projected on the partially reflective mirror, wherein the superimposed video images may selectively be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places, allowing the superimposed images to completely block certain areas of the display), the digital content based on the physical content (Figs. 5-6; [0046]; [0063-0065], wherein, for example, following a losing outcome, a virtual image (character 100) is activated and displayed).
Englman may not further explicitly disclose the display surface coupled to the set of mechanical reels. However, Pacey, directed to gaming machines ([0003]), teaches wherein a projection surface (display surface) is mounted to a rotatable structure and has a radius of curvature that is similar to that of a mechanical reel or other rotatable mechanical structure within a typical slot machine (Fig. 5D; [0089]; [0093], wherein video display device (projector) is configured to project images onto the outside surface of the projection surface). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englman such that the display surface (projection surface) positioned over the mechanical reels is coupled to the mechanical reels (rotatable structures), as taught by Pacey, to allow the projector (video display device) to project images at a downward angle, upward angle, or from either the left or right of the projection surface onto the projection surface, and/or to achieve the claimed invention (Pacey, [0093]).
Claims 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey, as applied to claims 1 and 10, and in further view of Baerlocher et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0101988 A1) (hereinafter “Baelocher”).
Regarding claim 2, Englman discloses where a portion of the set of mechanical reels is blocked from being viewed while the digital element is projected on the variably transparent film, as previously noted ([0046-0047]), and wherein the display surface comprises a reflective film overlaid on the set of mechanical reels ([0046], the partially reflective mirror is positioned over the mechanical reels). However, Englman may not further explicitly disclose the reflective film is configured to block visibility of the mechanical reel (an entire mechanical reel of the set of mechanical reels) by a user of the EGM at positions on the display surface receiving light from the projector. Nevetheless, Baelocher, directed to a gaming machine ([0003]), teaches allowing for all or part of the mechanical reels to be blocked or otherwise not viewable ([0024]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the one or more video images, which may be made selectively opaque, to block part or all of the mechanical reels (i.e. a mechanical reel, as opposed to a portion (e.g., a square/space) of a mechanical reel), as taught by Baerlocher, based on the desired video images to be displayed/to block visibility of the mechanical reel(s) (Baerlocher, [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Englman further discloses processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the projector (Figs. 2 & 4B; [0038-0039]; [0046], processor (CPU) communicatively coupled to the primary display area 14 comprising the video display); memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry and comprising instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the EGM to perform operations (Fig. 2; [0038-0039]) comprising: determining a winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels ([0052]; [0058]; [0073]; [0075-0076]; [0081]). Englman further discloses displaying the digital element over any one or more displayed symbols ([0063]; [0081-0082], wherein the displaying may be performed by a projector). However, Englman may not explicitly disclose displaying, using the projector, the digital element at a location on the display surface corresponding to a location of the winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels. Nevertheless, Baerlocher teaches wherein paylines may be superimposed over the mechanical reels (Figs. 3A-3C; [0036]; [0038], wherein a payline may correspond to a location of a winning combination of symbols if the symbols match/represent a winning combination along the payline). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to project, using the projector, the superimposed digital image on the display surface corresponding to a location of the winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels (e.g., in the form of a payline), as taught by Baerlocher, in order to clearly indicate a winning outcome (Baerlocher, [0036], wherein a winning combination formed along a payline can be easily ascertained).
Regarding claim 14, Englman further discloses the operations further comprising: determining a winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels ([0052]; [0058]; [0073]; [0075-0076]; [0081]). Englman further discloses displaying the digital element over any one or more displayed symbols ([0063]; [0081-0082]). However, Englman may not explicitly disclose wherein controlling the projector to display the digital element comprises controlling the projector to display the digital element at a location on the display surface corresponding to a location of the winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels. Nevertheless, Baerlocher teaches wherein paylines may be superimposed over the mechanical reels (Figs. 3A-3C; [0036]; [0038], wherein a payline may correspond to a location of a winning combination of symbols if the symbols match/represent a winning combination along the payline). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the superimposed digital image on the display surface corresponding to a location of the winning combination of symbols on the set of mechanical reels (e.g., in the form of a payline), as taught by Baerlocher, in order to clearly indicate a winning outcome (Baerlocher, [0036], wherein a winning combination formed along a payline can be easily ascertained).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Rothschild (U.S. Pub. 2004/0248642 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Englman further discloses a reel comprising one or more blank symbols, and wherein symbols may be superimposed over reel symbol positions ([0070]). However, Englman may not explicitly disclose wherein the set of mechanical reels comprises a mechanical reel with a blank portion, and wherein the projector is further configured to project the digital element on the display surface to cause the digital element to appear to a user of the EGM as through it is located on the blank portion. Nevertheless, Rothschild, directed to an electro-mechanical gaming machine ([0002]), teaches this limitation ([0056]; [0058], wherein a first variable display device (e.g., a projector and a partially reflective mirror) is configured to generate a virtual superimposed video graphic that may be interactive with the reels to transform blank spaces on the reel(s) into symbols). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide video images superimposed with blank portions of a reel, as taught by Rothschild, in order to provide video images that are interactive with the underlying reel(s) (Rothschild, [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Englman further discloses wherein a mechanical reel of the set of mechanical reels comprises a symbol that comprises a blank space ([0070], wherein a reel comprises one or more blank symbols). Englman further discloses wherein symbols may be superimposed over reel symbol positions ([0070]). However, Englman may not further explicitly disclose wherein the projector is further configured to project the digital element on the display surface to cause the digital element to appear to a user of the EGM as though it is located on the blank space, and wherein the digital element comprises an indication of additional information associated with the symbol. Nevertheless, Rothschild teaches these limitations ([0056]; [0058]; [0074]; [0109], wherein the first variable display device (e.g., a projector and a partially reflective mirror) is configured to generate a virtual superimposed video graphic that may be interactive with the reels to transform blank symbols on the reel(s) and may present additional information associated with the symbol, such as a winning symbol indicative of an award). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide video images superimposed with the blank symbols on the reels of Englman, as taught by Rothschild, in order to provide video images that are interactive with the underlying reel(s) and provide additional information to the player (e.g., an award) (Rothschild, [0058]; [0074]).
Claims 7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey, as applied to claims 1 and 10, and in further view of Burczyk et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0260860 A1) (hereinafter “Burczyk”).
Regarding claim 7, Englman further discloses processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the projector (Figs. 2 & 4B; [0038-0039]; [0046], processor (CPU) communicatively coupled to the primary display area 14 comprising the video display); memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry and comprising instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the EGM to perform operations (Fig. 2; [0038-0039]).
Englman further discloses determining symbol positions, and superimposing virtual symbol positions over the underlying reel symbol positions ([0070]). However, Englman may not further explicitly disclose wherein the operations comprise determining a symbol at a location on a reel of the set of mechanical reels while the reel is stationary; and displaying, using the projector, a virtual version of the symbol at a location on the display surface corresponding to the location on the reel while the reel is spinning. Nevertheless, Burczyk teaches these limitations (Fig. 4; [0016]; [0063]; [0073-0076], video display device 88 displays spinning virtual reels 80’ representative of the mechanical reels 80 and including symbols 82’ that are the same symbols 82 on the mechanical reels 80, wherein the virtual real is positioned the same as the mechanical reel). While Burczyk may not explicitly teach determining a symbol at a location on a reel of the set of mechanical reels while the reel is stationary, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a symbol on a mechanical reel while stationary to more clearly detect the symbol and/or its position on the reel. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display, using the projector, a virtual version of the symbol at a location on the reel while the reel is spinning, as taught by Burczyk, in the invention of Englman in order to provide a virtual/simulated display of the mechanical reel (Burczyk, [0016]; [0073-0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Englman further discloses the operations further comprising: determining symbol positions, and superimposing virtual symbol positions over the underlying reel symbol positions ([0070]). However, Englman may not further explicitly disclose determining a symbol at a location on a reel of the set of mechanical reels while the reel is stationary, wherein controlling the projector to display the digital element comprises controlling the projector to display a virtual version of the symbol at a location on the display surface corresponding to the location on the reel while the reel is spinning. Nevertheless, Burczyk teaches these limitations (Fig. 4; [0016]; [0063]; [0073-0076], video display device 88 displays spinning virtual reels 80’ representative of the mechanical reels 80 and including symbols 82’ that are the same symbols 82 on the mechanical reels 80, wherein the virtual real is positioned the same as the mechanical reel). While Burczyk may not explicitly teach determining a symbol at a location on a reel of the set of mechanical reels while the reel is stationary, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a symbol on a mechanical reel while stationary to more clearly detect the symbol and/or its position on the reel. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the projector to display the digital element comprising a virtual version of the symbol at a location on the reel while the reel is spinning, as taught by Burczyk, in the invention of Englman in order to provide a virtual/simulated display of the mechanical reel (Burczyk, [0016]; [0073-0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Englman further discloses the operations further comprising: determining content on the set of mechanical reels ([0075], wherein, for example, it is determined whether the combination of symbols (content) on the set of mechanical reels along a pay line comprises a winning combination). However, Englman may not further explicitly disclose wherein controlling the projector to display the digital element comprises controlling the projector to display a virtual version of the content at a position on the display surface corresponding to a location of the content on the set of mechanical reels. Nevertheless, Burczyk teaches these limitations (Fig. 4; [0016]; [0063]; [0073-0076], video display device 88 displays spinning virtual reels 80’ representative of the mechanical reels 80 and including symbols 82’ that are the same symbols 82 on the mechanical reels 80, wherein the virtual real is positioned the same as the mechanical reel). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the digital element comprising a virtual version of the content at a position on the display surface corresponding to a location on of the content on the set of mechanical reels, as taught by Burczyk, in the invention of Englman in order to provide a virtual/simulated display of the mechanical reel (Burczyk, [0016]; [0073-0076]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey, as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Maddox (U.S. Pub. 2018/0253931 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Englman discloses wherein the display surface is variably transparent, where the projected video images may variably block portions of the underlying mechanical reels, as noted above ([0046-0047], wherein the superimposed video images may selectively be made semi-transparent or opaque in selected places). Englman may not further explicitly disclose or teach wherein the display surface comprises a plurality of liquid crystals, the operations further comprising: applying an electric charge to the display surface to control an orientation of the plurality of liquid crystals to vary a transparency of the variably transparent film. However, Maddox, directed to an electronic gaming machine ([0019]), teaches where a display surface of an EGM may comprise a plurality of liquid crystals that varies in transparency in response to changes in electric current ([0021-0023]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an alternative display surface material, such as that described in Maddox, in the invention of Englman to achieve the same results of providing a variably transparent display (Maddox, [0023]; [0026], where the display varies in transparency, wherein an object behind the display is visible when in the transparent state).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey and Burczyk, as applied to claim 15, and in further view of Rasmussen et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0274298 A1) (hereinafter “Durham”).
Regarding claim 16, Englman may not further explicitly disclose the operations further comprising determining a configuration associated with the user, wherein controlling the projector to display the virtual version of the content comprises determining the virtual version of the content based on the configuration associated with the user, and wherein the configuration comprises a configuration associated with a visual impairment. However, Durham teaches these limitations ([0130-0138], wherein various lights from around the gaming environment of the user cause visual impairment of the user (e.g., affect the viewing of the display of the gaming machine), and wherein the display is adjusted accordingly (e.g., alters the images on the video reels)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a configuration associated with a user, the configuration associated with a visual impairment such as ambient lighting, and determining the virtual version of the content displayed accordingly, as taught by Durham, in order to avoid negatively impacting the user’s gaming experience and/or allow the virtual version of the content (e.g., simulated and/or superimposed mechanical reel) to appear more realistically (Durham, [0130]; [0138]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englman in view of Pacey, as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Aoki (U.S. Pub. 2011/0117987 A1) (hereinafter “Aoki”).
Regarding claim 17, Englman may not further explicitly disclose wherein controlling the projector to display the digital element on the display surface between the projector and the set of mechanical reels comprises controlling the projector to display the digital element on the display surface with an intensity based on a metric associated with play of the wagering game. However, Aoki, directed to a gaming machine with enhanced features provided by video images superimposed over a display of the gaming machine ([0001]), teaches this limitation ([0084], dynamic highlighting of payline indicators is provided, for example, wherein winning symbols or symbol locations may be highlighted while non-winning symbols or locations may be deemphasized (e.g., darkened, greyed out, etc.); Figs. 3 & 4b; [0091], wherein the visual appearance of underlying mechanical reels may be modified such that an overlapping display (transmissive display 54) may progressively change to a brighter shade of red to suggest the gaming machine is hot or on fire, and/or where the color or shading may also be used to indicate an amount of a wager). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the digital element (video image) on the display surface with an intensity based on a metric associated with the play of the wagering game (e.g., winning symbols/payline, hot machine, wager amount, etc.), as taught by Aoki, in the invention of Englman to further interact the digital element (video image) with the underlying mechanical reels (wagering game) and/or to provide a more interactive/entertaining game display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to disclose or teach wherein the variably transparent film, located between a set of mechanical reels and a projector which displays digital content on a display surface comprising the variably transparent film, comprises a reflective film overlaid on the set of mechanical reels, wherein the variably transparent reflective film comprises a plurality of liquid crystals that determine a transparency of the display surface based on their orientation, the operations further comprising: adjusting whether the set of mechanical reels are visible by a user of the EGM by applying an electric charge to the display surface, as required by claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA N BIANCAMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3715