Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor, the power source, the chuck as recited in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tian et al.(CN 114794716 A) hereinafter Tian.
Regarding Claim 20 Tian teaches a rotary tool comprising: a motor (210), a power source (215) electrically coupled to the motor (210), a chuck (212-213) coupled to the motor (210) and having a longitudinal bore therein (Fig 1), and a cleaning attachment (10), the cleaning attachment comprising: a housing (10), a plurality of bristles (110) coupled to the housing (10), and a drive shaft (2111) extending from the housing (10) in an axial direction, the drive shaft (2111) being coupled to the housing (10), whereby rotation of the drive shaft (2111) causes rotation of the housing (10); the housing (10) comprising: a reservoir (100) configured to contain a fluid, a valve (120) for dispensing the fluid from the reservoir (100), and at least one resilient element (122) surrounding an axis defined by the drive shaft (2111) (Fig 1); wherein the drive shaft (2111) is disposed within the longitudinal bore of the chuck (212-213) so that rotation of the chuck causes rotation of the housing (10) (Fig 1).
Reasons for Allowance.
Regarding Claim 1-19 are allowed. Regarding Claims 1-19 Tian et al.(CN 114794716 A) teaches a cleaning attachment for a rotary tool, the cleaning attachment comprising: a housing (10), a plurality of bristles (110) coupled to the housing (10), and a drive shaft (2111) extending from the housing (10) in an axial direction (Fig 1), the drive shaft (2111) being coupled to the housing (10), whereby rotation of the drive shaft (2111) causes rotation of the housing (10); the housing comprising: a reservoir (100) configured to contain a fluid (Fig 1), a valve (120) for dispensing the fluid from the reservoir (100), and at least one resilient element (122) surrounding an axis defined by the drive shaft (2111) (Fig 1-2).
However, Tian remains silent regarding wherein translation of the drive shaft along the axial direction causes compression of the resilient element, and wherein compression of the resilient element causes the valve to open to dispense fluid from the reservoir.
Hay (US 6,287,037 B1) does disclose a translating shaft (31) that causes compression of a resilient element (22) to open a valve structure (37). However, the shaft (31) of Hay is not rotatable and the rotation of the drive shaft doesn’t cause rotation of the housing. Furthermore, one cannot combine Tian with Hay since making the shaft of Tian non-rotatable would destroy the invention of Tian for its intended purpose.
Similarly, Del pozo Mattei (US 5,960,503), Walton (US 3,638,264) and Zieger (US 2023/0058414 A1) all teach similar devices that are pertinent to the claimed invention but they all fail to teach the above missing limitations.
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745