DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0121710 to Cheng et al.
As concerns claim 1, a method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device (0006), a target network slice group (0090-slice groups);
determining, by the terminal device, at least one candidate cell (0062-0064; 0081) based on the target network slice group (0090), wherein a frequency (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell) corresponding to the candidate cell supports the target network slice group (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell); and
performing, by the terminal device, the cell reselection based on the at least one candidate cell (0094-cell reselection; 0096); comprising:
selecting, by the terminal device, a criterion (0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection; 0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell ) for the cell reselection from a first criterion (0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value) and a second criterion (0063-determine candidate cells based on RSRP measurements; 0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection, measured RSRP value; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell) based on whether a priority (0080) of the target network slice group corresponding to a first cell in the at least one candidate cell is less than or equal to a priority of the target network slice group corresponding to a second cell in the at least one candidate cell (0100-frequency priority, neighbor frequency with highest frequency priority), wherein the first criterion is different from the second criterion (R-criterion vs S-criterion), and the first criterion and the second criterion are both non-priority criteria (R-criterion and S-criterion are “non-priority” criteria; “non-priority” criteria is given BRI), and
performing, by the terminal device, the cell reselection based on the selected criterion (0076-S-criteria values and R-criterion values for cells; 0077-determine suitable cell; 0078-0080; Fig. 5, 520, 525; Fig. 6, 625; Fig. 8, 825; 0097-ranking values).
As concerns claim 8, a communication apparatus, comprising:
a first determining unit circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to determine a target network slice group (0090-slice groups);
a second determining unit circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to determine at least one candidate cell (0062-0064; 0081) based on the target network slice group (0090), wherein a frequency (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell) corresponding to the candidate cell supports (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell) the target network slice group; and
a cell reselection unit circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to perform a cell reselection (0094-cell reselection; 0096) based on the at least one candidate cell comprising:
selecting a criterion (0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection; 0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell) for the cell reselection from a first criterion (0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value) and a second criterion (0063-determine candidate cells based on RSRP measurements; 0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection, measured RSRP value; 0096-0097-“second” R value for cell; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell) based on whether a priority (0080) of the target network slice group corresponding to a first cell in the at least one candidate cell is less than or equal to a priority of the target network slice group corresponding to a second cell in the at least one candidate cell (0100-frequency priority, neighbor frequency with highest frequency priority), wherein the first criterion is different from the second criterion (R-criterion vs S-criterion), and the first criterion and the second criterion are both non-priority criteria (R-criterion and S-criterion are “non-priority” criteria; “non-priority” criteria is given BRI), and
performing the cell reselection based on the selected criterion (0076-S-criteria values and R-criterion values for cells; 0077-determine suitable cell; 0078-0080; Fig. 5, 520, 525; Fig. 6, 625; Fig. 8, 825; 0097-ranking values).
As concerns claim 15, an apparatus, comprising:
a processor (0006); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (0006) including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to carry out a method including comprising:
determining, by a terminal device (0006), a target network slice group (0090-slice groups);
determining, by the terminal device, at least one candidate cell (0062-0064; 0081) based on the target network slice group (0090), wherein a frequency (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell) corresponding to the candidate cell supports (0090- slice groups, supported slices on a frequency in a cell) the target network slice group; and
performing, by the terminal device, a cell reselection (0094-cell reselection; 0096) based on the at least one candidate cell comprising:
selecting a criterion (0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection; 0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell) for the cell reselection from a first criterion (0096-0097-R value for cell; Note: see applicant’s specification 0259-0260 -criterion is R criterion, Rank value) and a second criterion (0063-determine candidate cells based on RSRP measurements; 0065-one or more suitability criteria “S-criteria” for cell selection, measured RSRP value; 0096-0097-“second” R value for cell; applicant’s specification at 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell) based on whether a priority (0080) of the network slice group corresponding to a first cell in the at least one candidate cell is less than or equal to a priority of the network slice group corresponding to a second cell in the at least one candidate cell (0100-frequency priority, neighbor frequency with highest frequency priority), wherein the first criterion is different from the second criterion (R-criterion vs S-criterion), and the first criterion and the second criterion are both non-priority criteria (R-criterion and S-criterion are “non-priority” criteria; “non-priority” criteria is given BRI), and
performing the cell reselection based on the selected criterion (0076-S-criteria values and R-criterion values for cells; 0077-determine suitable cell; 0078-0080; Fig. 5, 520, 525; Fig. 6, 625; Fig. 8, 825; 0097-ranking values).
As concerns claims 2, 9 and 16, the invention according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, first system information from an access network device (Fig. 4, 110) of a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, wherein the first system information comprises at least one of a network slice group supported by a frequency corresponding to the serving cell (0117-supported slice on a frequency in a cell) or a first priority of the network slice group supported by the frequency corresponding to the serving cell.
As concerns claims 3, 10 and 17, the invention according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, system information from an access network device (Fig. 4, 110) of a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, wherein the system information comprises at least one of a network slice group supported by a frequency corresponding to a neighboring cell (0100-identify neighbor frequency, switch to neighbor frequency) or (conditional statement, thus not all limitations need be chosen/addressed) a priority of the network slice group supported by the frequency corresponding to the neighboring cell, the system information comprises indication information corresponding to the network slice group supported by the frequency corresponding to the neighboring cell, and the indication information indicates whether the serving cell supports the network slice group supported by the frequency corresponding to the neighboring cell.
As concerns claims 4, 11 and 18, the invention according to claims 2, 9 and 16, wherein the system information comprises a second priority (0100-priority) of a network slice group supported by a frequency corresponding to a neighboring cell (0100-frequency priority, neighbor frequency with highest frequency priority).
As concerns claims 5, 12 and 19, the invention according to claims 2, 10 and 17, wherein the system information is at least one of the following: system information block (SIB) 1 (0114-SIB; Fig. 4), a SIB 2, a SIB 3, a SIB 4, a SIB 5, or a newly defined SIB.
As concerns claims 6, 13 and 20, the method according to claims 3, 10 and 17, wherein the determining of the at least one candidate cell based on the target network slice group comprises: determining the at least one candidate cell in the neighboring cell based on the target network slice group and the network slice group supported by the frequency corresponding to the neighboring cell (0100-identify neighbor frequency, switch to neighbor frequency).
As concerns claims 7, the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, by the terminal device, the cell reselection based on the at least one candidate cell comprises: selecting, by the terminal device, a to-be-camped-on cell based on the at least one candidate cell (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0082); determining, by the terminal device, whether the to-be-camped-on cell meets a reselection condition (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0006-reselection based on slice information; 0006-0008); and reselecting the to-be-camped-on cell when the to-be-camped-on cell meets the reselection condition (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0006-0008; 0054-0056).
As concerns claim 14, the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the cell reselection unit circuit comprises: a selection sub unit sub-circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to select a to-be-camped-on cell based on the at least one candidate cell (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0082); a determining sub unit sub-circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to determine whether the to-be-camped-on cell meets a reselection condition (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0006-reselection based on slice information; 0006-0008); and a reselection subunit sub-circuit (0043-controller/processor to perform techniques) configured to reselect the to-be-camped-on cell when the to-be-camped-on cell meets the reselection condition (Fig. 5-6, 8; 0006-0008; 0054-0056).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The applicant’s arguments are directed to newly amended claim limitations that have been addressed in the rejection cited above. The applicant’s specification at paragraphs 0259-0260 disclose criterion is R criterion, Rank value; and the applicant’s specification at paragraph 0269 disclose second criterion may be cell quality, the cell quality may be RSRP of the cell. The prior art of Cheng et al. ‘710 disclose equivalent elements (as cited above) to anticipate the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451