DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 requires a control system having controllers configured to receive a signal, but it is unclear where that data is coming from, determining a position however it is unclear how the position is determined from what data source and by what means, and issuing a control signal to move to a second position however it is unclear how a second position is determined. Claim 14 requires receiving a signal indicative of a mode of operation but it is unclear how the mode is determined and what is generating the signal or how the controller is signaled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vermander US 2025/0151654.
In re claim 1, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses, a pickup assembly for an agricultural harvester, the pickup assembly comprising: a pickup assembly frame comprising a forward portion and a rearward portion; at least one support wheel arm that is pivotally connected to the rearward portion of the pickup assembly frame; a pair of gauge wheels rotatably attached to the forward portion of the pickup assembly frame; and at least one support wheel rotatably attached to the support wheel arm.
In re claim 2, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the at least one support wheel comprises a pair of support wheels, wherein the at least one support wheel arm comprises a pair of support wheel arms that are pivotally connected to the rearward portion of the pickup assembly frame, wherein the pair of support wheels are respectively attached to respective ones of the pair of support wheel arms.
In re claim 3, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a length-adjustable arm, wherein the at least one support wheel arm is pivotally attached to the pickup assembly frame proximate a first end of the at least one support wheel arm and pivotally connected to the length-adjustable arm proximate a second end of the at least one support wheel arm, wherein the length-adjustable arm is pivotally connected to the pickup assembly frame.
In re claim 4, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the at least one support wheel arm comprises a bend located between the first and second ends of the at least one support wheel arm.
In re claim 5, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the at least one support wheel is rotatably attached to the at least one support wheel arm proximate the bend.
In re claim 6, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the length-adjustable arm is pivotally connected to the pickup assembly frame at a position spaced from the pivotal connection between the at least one wheel arm and the pickup assembly frame.
In re claim 7, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a suspension arrangement coupling the at least one support wheel and the at least one support wheel arm to the pickup assembly frame, wherein the suspension arrangement comprises the length-adjustable arm.
In re claim 8, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a support wheel actuator configured to move the at least one support wheel from a first position with respect to the pickup assembly frame to a second position with respect to the pickup assembly frame, wherein the support wheel actuator comprises the length-adjustable arm.
In re claim 9, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a suspension arrangement coupling the at least one support wheel and the at least one support wheel arm to the pickup assembly frame.
In re claim 10, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a support wheel actuator configured to move the at least one support wheel from a first position with respect to the pickup assembly frame to a second position with respect to the pickup assembly frame.
In re claim 11, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses an agricultural harvester .
In re claim 12, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the harvester configured to support the pickup assembly in an operational position during a crop collection operation, and in a transport position during movement of the agricultural harvester from one crop collection location to another, wherein, when the pickup assembly is in the transport position, the at least one support wheel is adjustable from a retracted position in which it does not make contact with a ground surface, to an extended position in which it does make contact with the ground surface.
In re claim 13, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses a control system for controlling the at least one support wheel, the control system comprising one or more controllers configured to: receive a first signal indicative of a ground surface location; determine a support wheel deployment position based on the ground surface location; and issue a control signal to cause the support wheel actuator to move the at least one support wheel to the second position.
In re claim 14, with reference to Figure 2, Vermander discloses the one or more controllers are further configured to: receive a second signal indicative of a mode of operation of the pickup assembly, wherein the second signal comprises a signal indicative of a first mode of operation indicative of use of the pickup assembly for crop collection, or a signal indicative of a second mode of operation indicative of transport of the agricultural harvester from one crop collection location to another; and determine the support wheel deployment position in dependence on the mode of operation.
Conclusion
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644