DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 8, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-3, and 24 have been amended.
Claims 1-5 and 7-27 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 8, 2025 regarding claims 1 and 24 have been fully considered but the arguments are essentially directed towards the newly introduced limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 14, 24 and 25-27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to read, “wherein the non-beacon power mode announcement frame indicates…” (line 7); “wherein a second WLAN device…. only the non-beacon power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device” (lines 9-10); “wherein the second WLAN device …receiving the non-beacon power mode announcement frame” (lines 11-12) to be consistent.
Similar issue is also noted in claims 2-2, 5, 7, 10, 14, 24, and 25-27.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, 19, 21, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, and further in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Patil discloses A method of network discovery in a WLAN (wireless local area network), the method comprising: (§Abstract A station entering the wireless network may scan identifying information from the access point to aid relatively quick discovery of the neighboring access points)
transmitting, by a first WLAN device, a first beacon frame and a second beacon frame; (¶0037 Fig. 1 The first access point 110 (first WLAN device) may broadcast a beacon frame that includes the information (e.g., the first neighbor report 114 and/or the first access point capability information) via the dedicated channel 150. For example, the first access point 110 may broadcast a beacon frame approximately once every 100 milliseconds (ms), indicates first and second beacon frame 100ms apart) and
transmitting, by the first WLAN device, a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames; (¶0037 in addition, the first access point 110 may broadcast a FILS discovery frame that includes the information (e.g., the first neighbor report 114 and/or the first access point capability information) via the dedicated channel 150. For example, the first access point 110 may broadcast a FILS discovery frame approximately once every 20 ms, indicates the FILS fames will be between the first and second beacon frames)
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device; (¶0028 An access point (first WLAN) may provide an RNR IE in a FILS discovery frame (non-beacon) to a mobile device (e.g., a mobile station (STA), second WLAN device) that is not associated with the access point to aid the unassociated mobile device to find a “preferred” access point). Since the FILS discovery is every 20ms, the STA may initially receive this before the beacon) and
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame. (¶0029 the mobile device may determine the operating channel and target beacon transmission time of the access point from the RNR IE, and the mobile device may therefore be able to receive a beacon from the access point, and initiate an authentication/association process with the access point, this indicates the second WLAN can initiate association in response to receiving the frame)
Though Patil discloses transmitting reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) in a non-beacon frame (i.e. FILS discovery frame) more frequently than the beacon to unassociated STA, Patil does not explicitly disclose power mode information in the frame:
transmitting, by the first WLAN device, a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames;
wherein the power mode announcement frame indicates whether the first WLAN device is in a power save mode or an active (non-power save) mode;
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device;
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame.
However, in the field of endeavor, Huang explicitly discloses:
transmitting, by the first WLAN device, a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure of an RNR element including a power management mode field. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name.)
wherein the power mode announcement frame indicates whether the first WLAN device is in a power save mode or an active (non-power save) mode; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A power management mode field in an RNR element 10 indicates PS (power save) mode and 00 indicates active mode (non-power save))
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure including the power management mode in RNR element. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name.)
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame. (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure including the power management mode in RNR element. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name. ¶187 the STA obtains information about a neighboring AP and select an appropriate AP for association)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding Claim 2, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil, and Huang further disclose:
further comprising transmitting the power mode announcement frame at least twice as often as the first beacon frame. (Patil ¶0037 discloses the first access point 110 (first WLAN device) may broadcast a beacon frame approximately once every 100 milliseconds (ms) and FILS discovery frame (including RNR element) approximately once every 20 ms, indicates FILS frame are transmitted more than twice as often Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A discloses RNR element includes a power management mode field)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding Claim 3, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil, and Huang further disclose:
further comprising transmitting the power mode announcement frame at a higher frame rate frequency than the first beacon frame. (Patil ¶0037 discloses the first access point 110 (first WLAN device) may broadcast a beacon frame approximately once every 100 milliseconds (ms) and FILS discovery frame (including RNR element) approximately once every 20 ms. Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A discloses RNR element includes a power management mode field. Therefore, the FILS discovery (i.e. including power mode announcement) transmission rate is at higher rate than the beacon)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding claim 7, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses:
wherein the power mode announcement frame includes a mode switch time indicating a time when the first WLAN device switches between the power save mode to the active mode or when the first WLAN device switches between the active mode to the power save mode. (Huang discloses the power management information field carries a wakeup field and the mode switch count field. [¶0048]. the wakeup delay field indicates the delay for the first AP to switch from the doze state to the awake state. [¶0276]. The mode switch count field indicates a remaining time for the first AP to switch from a current mode to a target mode. [¶0281]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding Claim 8, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil further discloses:
wherein the first WLAN device and the second WLAN device are part of a same BSS (basic service set). (Patil Fig. 1 discloses STA communicating with the AP. ¶0007 The mobile device may obtain information regarding the operating class of the preferred access point, the primary operating channel of the preferred access point, the basic service set identification (BSSID) of the preferred access point, indicates the first and second WLAN are part of same BSS.)
Regarding claim 9, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil further discloses:
wherein the first WLAN device is an access point (AP) and the second WLAN device is a non-AP station (STA) (Patil ¶0031 FIG. 1, a system 100 that is operable to enable fast initial link setup includes a first access point (AP) 110, and a STA 120 (non-AP STA))
Regarding claim 10, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil further discloses:
wherein the non-AP STA is an unassociated non-AP STA and is configured to send a probe request frame to the AP in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame. (Patil ¶¶0028, 0029 unassociated mobile device may use the operating channel information in the RNR IE (i.e. receiving the included power mode announcement) to send a probe request (in response) to the particular (e.g., preferred) access point to solicit a probe response. The probe response may include additional capability information (e.g., in one or more FILS fields) regarding the access point.)
Regarding claim 11, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses:
receiving, from the non-AP STA, a disable power save mode request (Huang discloses the non-AP MLD requests to wake up the corresponding link by sending a wakeup request carrying the ARR control field. [0233]. Table 1 discloses in PS mode [10], the AP is allowed to switch between the awake state and a doze state, where the AP is in the doze state by default, and the AP may switch to the awake state by using a wakeup request [¶0210];)
and remaining, by the AP, in the active (non-power save) mode. (Huang discloses when the power management mode field is set to a third value, it indicates that the first AP is in the active mode, the first AP keeps in the awake state, and state switching is not allowed [¶0208])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding claim 13, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses:
wherein the first WLAN device is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), the second WLAN device is a non-AP-MLD, and the AP-MLD is associated with the non-AP MLD. (Huang ¶0180 Fig. 2 discloses The communication system includes one or more AP MLDs and one or more non-AP MLDs. ¶0180 The AP MLD may set up association with the non-AP MLD on one link, to quickly implement association setup on a plurality of links.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding claim 19, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Huang further discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to disallow the non-AP-MLD usage of one or more of a set of MLD links using a TID to link mapping. (Huang discloses in Fig. 13B a possible format of the multi-link control field, including a TID-to-link mapping negotiation supported (TID-To-Link Mapping Negotiation Supported) field (occupying 2 bits). [¶0278]. Huang discloses AP MLD can disable a link (that is, the STA MLD associated with the AP MLD cannot map a traffic identifier (TID) of the STA MLD to the link) [¶0297])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding claim 21, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Huang further discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to negotiate with the non-AP-MLD regarding when the AP-MLD's power save mode is either enabled or disabled. (Huang discloses power management mode field is set to a second value, it indicates that the first access point is in the power save mode, and state switching is allowed (indicates power save mode is enabled). [¶0021]. In some power management modes, state switching of the first access point is not allowed. (indicates power save mode is disabled) [¶0019])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding claim 24, Patil discloses A first WLAN (wireless local area network) device configured as an access point (AP), (¶0037 Fig. 1 The first access point 110 (first WLAN device)) comprising:
a controller configured to, [¶0084,FIG. 7 processor 710]
transmit a first beacon frame and a second beacon frame; (¶0037 Fig. 1 The first access point 110 (first WLAN device) may broadcast a beacon frame that includes the information (e.g., the first neighbor report 114 and/or the first access point capability information) via the dedicated channel 150. For example, the first access point 110 may broadcast a beacon frame approximately once every 100 milliseconds (ms), indicates first and second beacon frame 100ms apart) and
transmit a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames; (Patil Fig. 1 ¶0037 in addition, the first access point 110 may broadcast a FILS discovery frame that includes the information (e.g., the first neighbor report 114 and/or the first access point capability information) via the dedicated channel 150. For example, the first access point 110 may broadcast a FILS discovery frame approximately once every 20 ms, indicates the FILS fames will be between the first and second beacon frames)
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device; (Patil ¶0028 An access point (first WLAN) may provide an RNR IE in a FILS discovery frame (non-beacon) to a mobile device (e.g., a mobile station (STA), second WLAN device) that is not associated with the access point to aid the unassociated mobile device to find a “preferred” access point). Since the FILS discovery is every 20ms, the STA may initially receive this before the beacon)
wherein the second WLAN device is configured to transmit a probe request to the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame; and (Patil ¶¶0028, 0029 unassociated mobile device may use the operating channel information in the RNR IE (i.e. receiving the included power mode announcement) to send a probe request (in response) to the particular (e.g., preferred) access point to solicit a probe response. The probe response may include additional capability information (e.g., in one or more FILS fields) regarding the access point.)
wherein the controller is configured to associate with the second WLAN device in response to the probe request. (Patil ¶0029 The mobile device send probe request to the particular access point to solicit a probe response including additional capability information. Accordingly, the mobile device associate with the access point)
Though Patil discloses transmitting reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) in a non-beacon frame (i.e. FILS discovery frame) more frequently than the beacon to unassociated STA, Patil does not explicitly disclose power mode information in the frame:
transmit a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames;
wherein the power mode announcement frame indicates whether the first WLAN device is in a power save mode;
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device;
wherein the second WLAN device is configured to transmit a probe request to the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame; and
However, in the field of endeavor, Huang explicitly discloses:
transmit a non-beacon power mode announcement frame between transmissions of the first and second beacon frames; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure of an RNR element including a power management mode field. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name.)
wherein the power mode announcement frame indicates whether the first WLAN device is in a power save mode; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A power management mode field in an RNR element 10 indicates PS (power save) mode and 00 indicates active mode (non-power save))
wherein a second WLAN device that is unassociated with the first WLAN device initially receives only the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure including the power management mode in RNR element. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name.)
wherein the second WLAN device is configured to transmit a probe request to the first WLAN device in response to receiving the power mode announcement frame; (Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure of an RNR element including a power management mode field. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang the FILS discovery frame teaches the power mode announcement regardless of the name. ¶187 the STA obtains information about a neighboring AP and select an appropriate AP for association) and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Regarding Claim 27, Patil, and Huang disclose claim 1. Patil and Huang further disclose:
wherein the power mode announcement frame is not included in either a beacon frame or a probe response frame. (Patil ¶0028 An access point (first WLAN) may provide an RNR IE in a FILS discovery frame (non-beacon) to a mobile device (e.g., a mobile station (STA), second WLAN device) that is not associated with the access point. Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A showing a frame structure of an RNR element including a power management mode field. The RNR element can be carried in the non-beacon/non-probe response FILS discovery frame as taught by Patil, therefore in combination of Patil and Huang teaches the FILS discovery frame carries the power mode announcement regardless of the name.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of
enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), and further in view of Gao et al. (US 20060285528 A1), hereinafter Gao.
Regarding Claim 4, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Although the references teach a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (Patil, [0028]), Patil, and Huang do not specifically disclose:
wherein the first beacon frame includes a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) interval indicating when the second beacon frame will be transmitted
However, Gao discloses:
wherein the first beacon frame includes a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) interval indicating when the second beacon frame will be transmitted. (Gao discloses a beacon frame includes the following fields: (b) beacon interval, Timing for the BSS is determined by the beacon interval specified in a beacon frame. The time interval between successive transmissions of beacon frames is called the "target beacon transition time" or TBTT. [Fig. 3, ¶0017,0018]). The instant application refers a beacon interval (e.g. Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT)) in the beacon frame. [0042]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of including beacon interval (TBTT) in the beacon frames as taught by Gao. Doing so allows power-saving techniques for beacon generation in an ad hoc computer network (e.g., IBSS). (Gao. ¶0028)
Regarding Claim 5, Patil, Huang, and Gao discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Patil, Huang, and Gao further disclose:
wherein the power mode announcement frame is transmitted before the TBTT interval ends. (Patil ¶0037 discloses the first access point 110 may broadcast a FILS discovery frame including RNR once every 20 ms, while beacon frames every 100ms. Huang ¶210 FIG. 7A discloses RNR element including a power management mode field. Gao ¶0042 discloses TBTT as the interval between the beacons. Therefore, the combination teaches the power mode announcement is transmitted before the TBTT interval ends.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of including beacon interval (TBTT) in the beacon frames as taught by Gao. Doing so allows power-saving techniques for beacon generation in an ad hoc computer network (e.g., IBSS). (Gao. ¶0028)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), and further in view of Seok et al. (US 20240064834 A1), hereinafter Seok.
Regarding claim 12, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 9. Patil, and Huang do not specifically disclose:
enabling the power save mode, by the AP, upon accepting association from a UHR STA.
Seok, however, discloses:
enabling the power save mode, by the AP, upon accepting association from a UHR STA. (Seok discloses each of MLD 110, MLD 115 and MLD 120 may be configured to utilize various schemes of UHR multi-link direct link operation. [Fig. 1, ¶0022]. when one or more multi-link off-channel direct links are established, in an event that one or more non-AP STAs operating on the multi-link direct link(s) has/have an association with one or more APs, each of the non-AP STA(s) may cause each corresponding link(s) to enter into a doze state in a power-save mode for an associated AP. [Fig. 1, ¶0025])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with supporting UHR non-AP MLD operation in a power-save mode for an associated AP as taught by Seok. Doing so enables preserving power or otherwise minimize power consumption. (Seok. ¶0024, 0026)
Claims 14-16, 18, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), and further in view of KIM et al. (US 20230327836 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to transmit the first and second beacon frame on a first link between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD and to transmit the power mode announcement frame on a second link between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD.
Kim, however, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to transmit the first and second beacon frame on a first link between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD and to transmit the power mode announcement frame on a second link between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD. (Kim discloses in Fig. 12, case of an AP/non-AP MLD supporting multi-link 1, 2 and 3. [¶0190, 0191]. in the EHT standard, a link may be classified as an anchored link or a non-anchored link in order to reduce power consumption. [¶0192]. an AP MLD supporting multi-link can be managed by designating each link as an anchored link or a non-anchored link. The AP MLD may support one or more links among a plurality of links as an anchored link. [¶0193] non-AP MLD can monitor only the anchored link for receiving beacons and management frames during the idle period. [¶0195] Kim discloses a method for an AP to notify (STA/non-AP MLD) critical update through an announcement frame other than a beacon [¶0214]. When a critical update (i.e. power mode change) occurs in any BSS of the AP MLD, it is broadcast at regular intervals using an (non-beacon) announcement frame through any link of the AP MLD. [¶0252, see Fig. 25 ¶0254 illustrating first and second beacon frames from AP-MLD], indicating Beacon can be configured on a first link and the announcement frame (FILS discovery/RNR/Power Mode, as taught by Patil and Huang) in a different second link.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Regarding claim 15, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
wherein a first set of links between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD are in the power save mode, and a second set of links between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD are in the active mode.
Kim, however, discloses:
wherein a first set of links between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD are in the power save mode, and a second set of links between the AP-MLD and the non-AP-MLD are in the active mode. (Kim discloses an AP MLD supporting multi-link can be managed by designating each link as an anchored link or a non-anchored link. [¶0193]. The non-AP MLD can monitor only the anchored link for receiving beacons and management frames during the idle period. Therefore, one or more Anchored Links must always maintain an enable state, indicates the second set for active mode. [¶0195]. In contrast, non-anchored links are used only for data frame exchange. Accordingly, a non-anchored link may enter doze during an idle period not using a channel/link, indicating the first set)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Regarding claim 16, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to announce on a first link with the non-AP-MLD, that a second link with the non-AP-MLD will be transitioned to the power save mode.
Kim, however, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to announce on a first link with the non-AP-MLD, that a second link with the non-AP-MLD will be transitioned to the power save mode. (Kim discloses each AP and STA may perform frame exchange through the connected Link. In addition, information of other APs on a different link or other STAs on a different link may be transmitted and received through one link, indicates the first link can announce about the second link. [¶0201])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Regarding claim 18, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Huang further discloses:
wherein the ML Probe Response includes a power save mode switch time. (Huang discloses a wakeup delay and mode switch count field in a PPDU indicating when mode switching will occur. [Huang ¶0281, 0282].)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil with the feature of enabling access point power mode announcement for awake state or doze state as taught by Huang. Doing so allows reducing power consumption. (Huang. ¶0054)
Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
wherein the AP-MLD receives an ML Probe Request from the non-AP MLD on a first link with the non-AP-MLD;
wherein the AP-MLD transmits an ML Probe Response on a second link with the non-AP-MLD;
Kim, however, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD receives an ML Probe Request from the non-AP MLD on a first link with the non-AP-MLD; (Kim discloses the AP MLD may support one or more links among a plurality of links as an anchored link. Anchored Link can be used for non-data frame exchange (i.e. Beacon and Management frame) [¶0193-0194] The PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used to transmit/receive frames of various types. The PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used for a management frame that may include a probe request frame, and a probe response frame. [Fig. 10, ¶0161], indicates receiving probe request in one anchored link (first link) as illustrated in Fig. 3 call flow [Fig. 3 ¶0100])
wherein the AP-MLD transmits an ML Probe Response on a second link with the non-AP-MLD; and (Kim discloses the AP MLD may consider various options for determining a link through which a broadcast message is transmitted. AP MLD can be sent to any links depending on AP selection, indicates probe response can be sent in a second anchored link. [¶0310, ¶0100])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Regarding Claim 25, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil further discloses:
wherein the second WLAN device, that is unassociated with either the first WLAN device or a third WLAN device, receives a beacon frame from the third WLAN device; and (Patil ¶0028 An access point (first WLAN) may provide an RNR IE in a FILS discovery frame (non-beacon) to a mobile device (e.g., a mobile station (STA), second WLAN device) that is not associated with the access point)
Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element to the STA in unassociated state and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
wherein the second WLAN device, that is unassociated with either the first WLAN device or a third WLAN device, receives a beacon frame from the third WLAN device; and
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to the power mode announcement frame received from the first WLAN device before receiving either the first or second beacon frames from the first WLAN device.
Kim, however, discloses:
wherein the second WLAN device, that is unassociated with either the first WLAN device or a third WLAN device, receives a beacon frame from the third WLAN device; and (Kim in Fig. 25, ¶0252, 0254-0255 illustrates STA1 (second WLAN) may receive critical update that occurs in AP 2 (as first WLAN device) after the first beacon transmitted from AP 1 (as third WLAN device). STA1 may receive the critical update through an announcement frame using a link currently in an awake state (i.e., cross-link signaling use))
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to the power mode announcement frame received from the first WLAN device before receiving either the first or second beacon frames from the first WLAN device. (Kim in Fig. 25, ¶0252, 0254-0255 illustrates STA1 (second WLAN) may receive critical update that occurs in AP 2 (as first WLAN device) before beacon from AP 2)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Regarding Claim 26, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Patil further discloses:
wherein the second WLAN device, that is unassociated with either the first WLAN device or a third WLAN device, (Patil ¶0028 An access point (first WLAN) may provide an RNR IE in a FILS discovery frame (non-beacon) to a mobile device (e.g., a mobile station (STA), second WLAN device) that is not associated with the access point))
wherein the second WLAN device associates with the first WLAN device in response to the power mode announcement frame received from the first WLAN device. (Patil ¶0029 the mobile device may determine the operating channel and target beacon transmission time of the access point from the RNR IE, and the mobile device may therefore be able to receive a beacon from the access point, and initiate an authentication/association process with the access point, this indicates the second WLAN can initiate association in response to receiving the frame)
Though Patil ¶¶0028, 0037 discloses transmitting non-beacon FILS Discovery frame including RNR element to the STA in unassociated state and Huang ¶¶0180, 0210 discloses RNR element includes power management mode, and the communication system including AP MLDs and non-AP MLDs, therefore in combination sending power mode announcement frame on a link, Patil, and Huang do not explicitly disclose separate link activities:
receives a beacon frame from the third WLAN device after receiving the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device but before receiving either the first or second beacon frames from the first WLAN device; and
Kim, however, discloses:
receives a beacon frame from the third WLAN device after receiving the power mode announcement frame from the first WLAN device but before receiving either the first or second beacon frames from the first WLAN device; and (Kim in Fig. 25, ¶0252, 0254-0255 illustrates STA1 (second WLAN) receive the second beacon transmitted from AP 1 (as third WLAN device) after the critical update that occurs in AP 2 (as first WLAN device). The AP 1 (third WLAN) second beacon happens before the second beacon frame from AP 2 (first WLAN). STA1 may receive the critical update through an announcement frame using a link currently in an awake state (i.e., cross-link signaling use).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with the feature of AP and non-AP MLD for power saving as taught by Kim. Doing so allows reducing overall frame overhead and performing efficient power saving. (Kim ¶0014)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), in view of KIM et al. (US 20230327836 A1), hereinafter Kim, and further in view of Cariou et al. (US 20210274500 A1), hereinafter Cariou.
Regarding claim 17, Patil, Huang, and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 16. Patil, Huang, and Kim do not specifically disclose:
wherein the announcement includes a BPCC (Beacon Parameters Change Count).
Cariou, however, discloses:
wherein the announcement includes a BPCC (Beacon Parameters Change Count) (Cariou discloses a MLD parameters subfield 1400, including BPCC (BSS parameters change count). BSS parameters change count 1408 subfield is an unsigned integer, initialized to 0, that increments when a critical update to the Beacon frame of the reported AP occurs.[Fig. 14 ¶0134])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, Huang, and Kim with
supporting communicating elements or fields transmitted by an access point (AP) of the MLD as taught by Cariou. Doing so allows efficient use of the resources of a wireless local-area network (WLAN) (Cariou. ¶0002, 0003)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20190327672 A1), hereinafter Hwang.
Regarding claim 20, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Patil and Huang discloses frame exchanges between the AP-MLD and non-AP MLD and enabling/disabling power save mode, Patil, and Huang do not specifically disclose the disassociation in:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to disassociate from the non-AP-MLD before the AP-MLD enables the power save mode.
Huang discloses the access point may receive and send message packets in the awake state and cannot receive or send message packets in the doze state [Huang, ¶0008], indicates the disassociation frame exchange to happen before enabling the power save mode. Hwang, additionally, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to disassociate from the non-AP-MLD before the AP-MLD enables the power save mode. (Hwang discloses the access point 700 may transmit the WUR disassociation frame to the low-power station 710 (Fig. 55, S5510). Accordingly, the low-power station 710 may release the WUR association with the access point 700. [¶0268])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with supporting operation method to further comprise releasing a WUR association in the access procedure between the low-power station and the access point as taught by Hwang. Doing so allows improving performance of the communication system. (Hwang. ¶0016, 0029)
Claims 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 20150282064 A1), hereinafter Patil, in view of Huang (US 20250016682 A1), and further in view of Shafin et al. (US 20220408355 A1), hereinafter Shafin.
Regarding claim 22, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Patil and Huang disclose frame exchanges between the AP-MLD and non-AP MLD and enabling power save mode (Huang discloses in FIG. 4-7A, a communication method sending first indication for a power state (mode) of the AP includes an awake state or the doze state. [Fig. 4, ¶0193, 0203]), Patil, and Huang do not specifically disclose the EHT STA association:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to enable the power save mode upon accepting an association from an EHT STA that support an individual TWT (target wake time).
Shafin, however, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to enable the power save mode upon accepting an association from an EHT STA that support an individual TWT (target wake time) (Shafin discloses AP 101 and AP 103 overlap with each other, and assuming that for an HE or EHT STA (e.g., STAs 113 and 114), an individual TWT agreement (or broadcast TWT schedule) is agreed upon between an AP and its associated STA (or group of STAs) [¶0071]. Shafin discloses MAC-level coordination mechanism for MAP coordination utilizing TWT features of high efficiency (HE) and extremely high throughput (EHT) STAs [¶0047] and can utilize many features existing in standards such as power saving modes and TWT features. [¶0046]. Fig. 3 illustrates the coordination after the “Associated AP capable of MAP coordination” = Yes. Fig. 6 and 7 discloses changing the power saving profile of the STA on Link-2. [¶0090])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with supporting individual TWT agreements between a STA and an AP as taught by Shafin. Doing so allows improving power efficiency. (Shafin. ¶0007)
Regarding claim 23, Patil, and Huang disclose all the limitations of claim 13. Though Huang discloses frame exchanges between the AP-MLD and non-AP MLD and enabling power save mode (Huang discloses in FIG. 4-7A, a communication method sending first indication for a power state (mode) of the AP includes an awake state or the doze state. [Fig. 4, ¶0193, 0203]), Patil, and Huang do not specifically disclose the EHT STA association:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to enable the power save mode upon accepting an association from an HE STA that supports an individual TWT.
Shafin, however, discloses:
wherein the AP-MLD is configured to enable the power save mode upon accepting an association from an HE STA that supports an individual TWT. (Shafin discloses AP 101 and AP 103 overlap with each other, and assuming that for an HE or EHT STA (e.g., STAs 113 and 114), an individual TWT agreement (or broadcast TWT schedule) is agreed upon between an AP and its associated STA (or group of STAs) [¶0071] Shafin discloses MAC-level coordination mechanism for MAP coordination utilizing TWT features of high efficiency (HE) and extremely high throughput (EHT) STAs [¶0047] and can utilize many features existing in standards such as power saving modes and TWT features. [¶0046]. Fig. 3 illustrates the coordination after the “Associated AP capable of MAP coordination” = Yes. Fig. 6 and 7 discloses changing the power saving profile of the STA on Link-2. [¶0090]))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Patil, and Huang with supporting individual TWT agreements between a STA and an AP as taught by Shafin. Doing so allows improving power efficiency. (Shafin. ¶0007)
Conclusion
/M.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417