DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed 1/27/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, and 20. Claims 12 and 13 are cancelled. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/27/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Singhal (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0057213).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an interface hardware configured to in claim 8 described in ¶37.
a memory unit for in claim 8 described in ¶37.
a processing unit in claim 8 described in ¶37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess (U.S. Patent No 2020/0193643) in view of Singhal (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0057213).
Regarding Claim 1, Hess teaches a method for distance estimation of an object from a vehicle, comprising: obtaining an image frame including the object (¶23 The captured images may include a number of objects in the surrounding environment, for example, a light pole 220, a billboard 230, a road sign 240, a crosswalk 242, a road line 246, a curb 244, etc;)
identifying a first set of key points of the object from the image frame (¶24 the vehicle 210 may use a computing system to process the captured images, and to detect/extract a number of features from the captured images. In particular embodiments, the featured may be detected using one or more feature detectors which may classify the features into one or more classifications. In particular embodiments, a feature may be associated with a number of pixels and a descriptor. To detect a feature from an image, the computing system may first identify a group of pixels in the image (e.g., pixels associated with a corner, an edge, a shape, an object, etc.) and one or more associated attributes of the pixels (e.g., patterns, positions, areas, colors, etc.);)
obtaining a second set of key points that correlates to the first set of key points from a non-volatile memory (¶17 the computing system 120 may process collected data (e.g., image data, GPS location data, timestamp, motion sensor data, etc.) and transmit the processed results to a cloud 150 through a communication connection 152. For example, the computing system 120 may detect and extract a number of features (e.g., objects, corners, shapes, sizes, three-dimensional vectors, etc.) from the images and may transmit the extracted features and related data to the cloud 150 through a wireless connection… The server 160 may receive/access the extracted features and related data through the cloud 150;)
obtaining spatial information about the second set of key points (¶26 each image captured by the camera 212 may be associated with a GPS location as determined by a GPS sensor of the vehicle 210 to indicate where the image is captured. The GPS location together with the image itself may be used to determine relative positions (e.g., distances, directions) of objects or features in surrounding environment with respect to the vehicle 210) from the non-volatile memory (¶17 the computing system 120 may process collected data (e.g., image data, GPS location data, timestamp, motion sensor data, etc.) and transmit the processed results to a cloud 150 through a communication connection 152… The server 160 may receive/access the extracted features and related data through the cloud 150;) and
evaluating a distance of the object from the vehicle based on the first set of key points and the spatial information about the second set of key points (¶26 The GPS location together with the image itself may be used to determine relative positions (e.g., distances, directions) of objects or features in surrounding environment with respect to the vehicle 210. For example, the distance and geometric relationship between the vehicle 210 and the billboard 230 may be determined based on one or more images captured by the camera 212 using computer vision algorithms.)
Hess does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial information about the second set of key points is indicative of relative positions of the key points of the second set defined in distances and orientations.
Singhal is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Singhal teaches obtaining spatial information about the second set of key points, wherein the spatial information about the second set of key points is indicative of relative positions of the key points of the second set defined in distances and orientations (¶41 In step 302, process 300 can use one or more digital camera(s) 208 to obtain digital images of the landscape beneath the aircraft. In step 304, process 300 can identify key points in the landscape using a SIFT and/or other feature point detection algorithm; ¶29 Key point can be a spatial location in a digital image) and evaluating the key points (¶41 In step 306, process 300 can then analyze how key points have moved between frames to infer the motion of the aircraft. This can be relative to a previously determined position in terms of lat-long coordinates. In this way, the location of the aircraft can be determined. The direction, velocity, acceleration, and other aircraft travel datapoints can also be inferred as well.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hess by using spatial information to evaluate the key points that is taught by Singhal; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to improve “vehicle” navigation without GPS (Singhal¶4).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Hess in view of Singhal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image frame is captured by a device that is associated with a vehicle, a stationary object, or a drone (Hess, ¶16 the vehicle system 110 may include or may be associated with one or more cameras 112 (e.g., a mobile phone camera, a dash camera, a data collection device camera, a safety camera, a navigation camera, or any other suitable cameras).)
Regarding Claim 4, Hess in view of Singhal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the non-volatile memory includes descriptors associated with the first or the second set of key points (Hess, ¶23 The objects and the related features may be descripted by one or more geometric elements, for example, a line, a surface, a volume, a shape, a two-dimensional vector, a three-dimensional vector, a dot, an angle, a converging point, a pattern, etc; ¶24 a feature may be associated with a number of pixels and a descriptor.)
Regarding Claim 5, Hess in view of Singhal discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the distance of the object from the vehicle is evaluated based on the descriptors (¶39 The extracted features as descripted by the corresponding descriptors may be transmitted to the a sever, together with GPS location data, timestamp data, or other related data. The server may use the extracted features and associated data to identify the corner 414B and 420B as the reference features that match the corner 414A and 414A, respectively; ¶41 The server may directly compare a descriptor associated with a feature (e.g., corner 414A, 420A) extracted from the distorted images (e.g., image 400A) and a number of high definition features (e.g., corner 414B, corner 420B) that are within a threshold distance to the GPS location associated with the extracted feature. For example, the server may firstly identify the corners 414B, 420B, and a number other high definition features that are within a threshold distance to the GPS location of the corner 414A.)
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Hess further teaching on: an interface hardware configured to obtain an image frame (¶23 the camera 212 may capture a number of images or videos for the scenes in the surrounding environment of the vehicle 210;) a memory unit for storing the image frame (¶16 The computing system 120 may store the collected data at a local storage of the computing system 120 or/and transmit all or a representative portion (e.g., data process results) of data to a database in a cloud 150 through a communication connection 152;) a processing unit coupled to the interface hardware and the memory unit (Fig. 1, 120 computing system)
Claim 9 recites limitations similar to claim 2 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Claim 11 recites limitations similar to claim 4 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Claim 12 recites limitations similar to claim 5 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Hess further teaching on: a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer instructions executable by one or more processors to perform a method (Claim 19: One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media embodying software that is operable when executed by a first computing system)
Claim 16 recites limitations similar to claim 2 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Claim 18 recites limitations similar to claim 4 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Claim 19 recites limitations similar to claim 5 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess (U.S. Patent No 2020/0193643) in view of Singhal (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0057213) in view of Saxena (U.S. Patent No. 11080562).
Regarding claim 7, Hess in view of Singhal teaches the method of claim 1.
Hess in view of Singhal does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial information about the second set of key points is further indicative of size and dimensions of components represented by the key points of the second set of key points.
Saxena is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Saxena teaches wherein the spatial information about the second set of key points is further indicative of size and dimensions of components represented by the key points of the second set of key points (Col 5 Lines 11-19: Typically, the features 106 correspond to features that are small relative to the size of the object, and multiple key points are located on a single object, making key points useful for size and orientation estimation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hess in view of Singhal by determining size of the object based on key points that is taught by Saxena; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to accurately detect object (Saxena Background).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites limitations similar to claim 7 and is rejecter under the same reasoning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, no prior art teaches wherein evaluating the distance of the object
from the vehicle includes matching the spatial information about one or more of the second set of key points with spatial information about one or more of the first set of key points; wherein the spatial information about the first set of key points is indicative of relative positions of the key points of the first set defined in distances and orientations.
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, no prior art teaches wherein the object is a second vehicle, and the
method further comprises obtaining a make, a model, or a model year of the second vehicle from the non-volatile memory based on matching spatial information about the first set of key points with the spatial information about the second set of key points, wherein the spatial information of the second set of key points includes known relative positions specific to the identified make, model, or model year of the second vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN BILODEAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664