DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 27-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/05/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention Group l corresponding to claims 21-26 in the reply filed on 01/05/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Restriction Requirement fails to establish a proper basis for restriction under MPEP § 806.05(d), because the Restriction Requirement does not establish that the groups as claimed do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive, as required by MPEP § 806.05(d). … Given that these claims describe complementary sides of the same 3GPP standard signaling procedure, any prior art reference disclosing the "transmitting of roaming analytics request by a first NWDAF" (Group I) would inherently disclose or clearly suggest the "receiving of said request by a second NWDAF" (Group II). Searching for the unique features of the roaming analytics request mechanism would necessarily uncover references applicable to both the transmission and reception of that message. Therefore, Applicant respectively submits that examining these groups together would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner. Accordingly, the Restriction Requirement has not established that at least Groups I and II, as claimed, do not overlap in scope as required to establish restriction under MPEP § 806.05(d) (See Pages 3-4 of Applicant’s Response to Election filed on 01/05/26).
This is not found persuasive because the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed on 11/03/25 is proper for the following reasons seen below:
To begin with, the applicant’s arguments reciting “any prior art reference disclosing the "transmitting of roaming analytics request by a first NWDAF" (Group I) would inherently disclose or clearly suggest the "receiving of said request by a second NWDAF" (Group II).” is not the reasons for the restriction requirement as the examiner has already acknowledged said limitations as the common features of each invention group as can be seen in page 6 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election.
The reasons for the restriction requirement is based on the differences between each invention group not present in the others that indicates that said invention groups are non-overlapping and mutually exclusive of each other and the subsequent burden such differences present in accordance with the guidelines set forth by the MPEP which was clearly indicated by the examiner in pages 6-9 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election.
The examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of MPEP 806.04(f) Restriction Between Mutually Exclusive Species that recites “Where two or more species are claimed, a requirement for restriction to a single species may be proper if the species are mutually exclusive. Claims to different species are mutually exclusive if one claim recites limitations discussed for a first species but not a second, while a second claim recites limitations disclosed only for the second species and not the first. This may also be expressed by saying that to require restriction between claims limited to species, the claims must not overlap in scope” which clearly indicates that the MPEP considers different inventions to be mutually exclusive and non-overlapping in scope from each other if there is at least one difference in design, operation or effect disclosed in one invention and not the other and vice versa which are not obvious variants of each other which was clearly indicated by the examiner in pages 6-8 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election.
In addition, the examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of MPEP 808.02 Establishing Burden which clearly discloses that “the examiner in order to establish reasons for insisting upon restriction must explain why there would be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction is not required and the examiner must show by appropriate explanation one of the following: (A) Separate classification thereof, (B) A separate status in the art when they are classifiable together or (C) A different field of search: Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions e.g. … employing different search queries, a different field of search is shown even though the two are classified together” which clearly indicates that the MPEP considers a serious burden on the examiner if each of the inventions are directed towards a different field of search through the use of employing different search queries even though the inventions are classified together and such a different field of search employing different search queries would need to be employed when different inventions includes at least one difference in design, operation or effect disclosed in one invention and not the other and vice versa which are not obvious variants of each other which was also clearly indicated by the examiner in pages 8-9 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US Patent Publication 2022/0337486 herein after referenced as Hong) in view of DAO et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0228420 herein after referenced as Dao).
Regarding claim 21, Hong discloses:
A method performed by a first network data analytics function (NWDAF) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a consumer network function (NF), an analytics request for a roaming user equipment (UE); (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0158] discloses In the embodiment, it is assumed that a certain UE is registered in a network operator PLMN 2 and roams (i.e. reads on roaming) to a PLMN 1 and a V-NWDAF and a V-NRF represent network functions of the visited PLMN 1 and The H-NWDAF (i.e. reads on first NWDAF) and an H-SMF represent network functions of the home PLMN 2 (i.e. reads on first PLMN) and The NWDAF consumer may be a certain Network Function NF, an AF or an OAM of the 3GPP in the network and discloses The NWDAF consumer (i.e. reads on consumer NF function) sends (i.e. reads on receiving from) a message for requesting the analysis (i.e. reads on an analytics request) of the communication condition of the UE (i.e. reads on for a roaming UE) and The message may be an Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Subscribe message or an Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request message and The message carries a service analysis type e.g. a type of the communication condition of the UE, analysis target association information e.g. a UE-related identifier and other information and Fig. 10 shows the NWDAF consumer sending the request to the H-NWDAF in S1010; Hong, [0161] discloses An H-NWDAF network function receives the request; Hong, [0003] discloses the Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF is introduced and The NWDAF can collect network data from the Operations Administration and Maintenance OAM, the Application Function AF and the 5G Network Function NF, and feeds back network data analysis results after analyzing the network data; Hong, [0097] discloses The source NWDAF and the target NWDAF may belong to the same Public Land Mobile Network PLMN or may belong to different PLMNs).
determining that analytics or data from a second PLMN are required (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0162] discloses The H-NWDAF determines (i.e. reads on determining that) whether the network element functions e.g. the AF, V-SMF and H-SMF from which data (i.e. reads on analytics or data) is required to be collected are within the service area (i.e. reads on from a second PLMN are required) of the H-NWDAF and The V-SMF is not within the service area of the H-NWDAF, and S1050 is executed; Hong, Fig. 10 & [0167]-[0168] discloses In S1050, the H-NWDAF queries the NWDAF to which the V-SMF belongs and discloses Since the V-SMF is not within the service area of the H-NWDAF, the H-NWDAF queries the NWDAF network function to which the V-SMF belongs from the V-NRF through the H-NRF and The query message carries the network function type of the NWDAF and the V-SMF identifier and The H-NWDAF obtains the network function identifier of the V-NWDAF serving the V-SMF; Hong, Fig. 10 & [0158] discloses In the embodiment, it is assumed that a certain UE is registered in a network operator PLMN 2 and roams to a PLMN 1 and a V-NWDAF and a V-NRF represent network functions of the visited PLMN 1 and The H-NWDAF and an H-SMF represent network functions of the home PLMN 2).
based on the analytics request; (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0161] discloses An H-NWDAF network function receives the request (i.e. reads on based on the analytics request), determines that it is necessary to collect data from AF and SMF network functions for analyzing the communication condition of the UE and The NWDAF sends a query message to a UDM or an NEF to query the AF network function and the SMF network function associated with the UE and The NWDAF receives an AF identifier, a V-SMF identifier and an H-SMF identifier of the network functions associated with the UE fed back by a query result).
transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF) of the first PLMN, a query for discovering at least one NWDAF of the second PLMN, (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0168] discloses Since the V-SMF is not within the service area of the H-NWDAF, the H-NWDAF queries the NWDAF network function to which the V-SMF (i.e. reads on a query for discovering at least one NWDAF of the second PLMN) belongs from the V-NRF through the H-NRF (i.e. reads on transmitting to a NRF of the first PLMN) and The query message carries the network function type of the NWDAF and the V-SMF identifier and The H-NWDAF obtains the network function identifier of the V-NWDAF (i.e. reads on receiving information on a second NWDAF of the second PLMN) serving the V-SMF; Hong, [0010]-[0011] discloses The source NWDAF sends a query request message (i.e. reads on transmitting a query) to a Network Repository Function NRF (i.e. reads on to a NRF), where the query request message includes NWDAF selection assistance information, and the NWDAF selection assistance information includes home information of the at least one network function and discloses The source NWDAF receives (i.e. reads on receiving) a query response message sent by the NRF (i.e. reads on from the NRF), where the query response message includes information of the target NWDAF, and the at least one network function is located within a service area of the target NWDAF; Hong, Fig. 3 & [0080]-[0082] discloses Since the at least one network function from which data is required to be collected by the source NWDAF is not located within the service area of the source NWDAF, the source NWDAF cannot directly collect network data of the at least one network function and Before collecting the network data of the at least one network function, the source NWDAF may first send the query request message to the NRF, where the query request message includes the NWDAF selection assistance information, and the NWDAF selection assistance information includes the home information of the at least one network function and Then, after receiving the query request message, the NRF may determine the service area of which NWDAF the at least one network function is located within according to the home information of the at least one network function and discloses The NWDAF selection assistance information is related information for assisting in selecting the NWDAF to which the at least one network function belongs, and includes the home information of the at least one network function and The NWDAF selection assistance information includes at least one of the following pieces of information: slice information of the network function, an identifier of the network function, or location information of the network function and The location information of the network function represents a geographical location, a tracking area, an IP address, a cell, operator information, vendor information and other information of the at least one network function for effectively distinguishing between service areas and discloses In S3020, the source NWDAF receives a query response message sent by the NRF, where the query response message includes information of a target NWDAF, and the at least one network function is located within the service area of the target NWDAF).
transmitting, to the second NWDAF, a roaming analytics request for the roaming UE, the roaming analytics request including information for identifying the roaming UE and information indicating required analytics; (Hong, [0170] discloses An H-NWDAF consumer sends a message to the V-NWDAF (i.e. reads on transmitting, to the second NWDAF) to request data collection (i.e. reads on a roaming analytics request) from the V-SMF network function and The message carries information such as content of collected data (i.e. reads on information indicating required analytics) for example, session information related to the UE (i.e. reads on for the roaming UE), the network function identifier of the collected object V-SMF, etc.; Hong, [0143] discloses The NWDAF consumer sends the service analysis request and/or the subscription message to the NWDAF1 and The message includes at least the following parameter combinations: a service type, analysis target association information, an analysis result notification object, etc. and The analysis target association information is assistance information used to determine a network function from which data is required to be collected for service type analysis, for example, the analysis target association information may be location information, a network function identifier, a UE identifier (i.e. reads on information for identifying the roaming UE), an AF identifier, slice information or other association information that may be used for assisting in determining the analysis target; Hong, [0072] discloses A network function that sends a service request to an NWDAF may be referred to as an NWDAF consumer and The NWDAF consumer includes a network function that uses any service capability of the NWDAF, such as the NF, AF, OAM and the like shown in FIG. 1. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that message sent by the H-NWDAF to the V-NWDAF would include information indicating the UE and the information requiring the data analytics in order for the V-NWDAF to know the necessary information needed to be collected and analyzed).
and receiving, from the second NWDAF, a response (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0172] discloses In S1080, the V-NWDAF (i.e. reads on from the second NWDAF) returns the collected data (i.e. reads on receiving a response) to the H-NWDAF).
Hong discloses the H-NWDAF sending a query to the NRF that includes home and location information in order to discover NWDAFs and also discloses receiving a response from the V-NWDAF in response to a message requesting data collection but fails to explicitly disclose that the query to the NRF includes an ID of a PLMN and that the H-NWDAF receives a response indicating that the request was accepted and therefore fails to disclose “the query including an identifier (ID) of the second PLMN” and “a response indicating that the roaming analytics request is accepted.”
In a related field of endeavor, Dao discloses:
the query including an identifier (ID) of the second PLMN (Dao, [0113] discloses an NF instance/SI e.g. NF-A instance/SI 333, at step 410, needs to use a data analytic service of NWDAF and The NF-A instance/SI 333 sends a message (i.e. reads on the query) to the network repository function NRF e.g. NRF 401 to discover NWDAF set 310 and/or an NWDAF instance/SI e.g. NWDAF instance/SI 311 and The message may carry one or more of following information: Service type of the NF-A instance/SI 333, service type of NWDAF or Type(s) of Data Analytic Service of NWDAF e.g. mobility management, traffic routing, UPF load, IoT security, UE mobility pattern, UE communication pattern, duration to use the data analytic service such as start and end times the NF-A instance/SI 333 may use data analytic service(s), network information such as S-NSSAI(s), NSI-ID(s), DNN(s), PLMN ID(s) (i.e. reads on including an ID of the second PLMN), LADN ID(s), UE Information such as Internal Group ID, UE ID(s), Application information such as Application ID, NF information such as NF IDs and The data analytic service will be performed based on the input information; Dao, [0139]-[0140] discloses the NWDAF instance/SI 311 may need to collect data from one or multiple network functions, such as NF-A set 330 and NF-B set 340 and For illustration, the NWDAF instance/SI 311 may need to collect data from NF-A set 330. The NWDAF instance/SI 311 may send a request to discover NF(s), may include and not limited to, NF-A Set 330 and/or NF-A Subset, and/or NF-A instances/SIs 333 and 334, to the NRF 401 and The NWDAF instance/SI 311 may include one or more of following information: and discloses a. Network information: e.g. PLMN ID(s), S-NSSAI(s), NSI-ID(s), DNN(s), DNAI(s) to collect data from; Dao, [0094] discloses For example some functionalities of coordinator functions of NF Set such as NWDAF SI SCs 315 and 325, NF-A SI SC 335 and/or NF-B SI SC 345 may be implemented in the Data Storage Function and In one example shown in FIG. 3B, when the NWDAF SI SC 315 receives data request from NWDAF service instance(s) 311/312).
a response indicating that the roaming analytics request is accepted (Dao, [0213] discloses the selected NWDAF instance/SI 311 may send Data Analytic Response or Subscribe Acknowledgment (i.e. reads on a response indicating that the roaming analytics request is accepted) to the NF-A instance/SI 333. If the data required for analytics has been available in the NWDAF Set 310 or in the NWDAF instance 311, or the required analytics is available, the NWDAF instance/SI 311 may send Data Analytic Response to the NF-A instance/SI 333 in step 4118 and The message carries the requested analytics; Dao, [0433] discloses When the NWDAF 1104 sends the analytical results related to the UE and application, or other analytical results to the UDM, the NWDAF 1104 also sends associated information such as time information and location information, and confidence level, and network parameters, such as DNN, S-NSSAI, Application ID, DNAI, AF-Service ID, Internal Group ID and The location information may be described by, for example, one or more geographical locations such as two-dimensional or three-dimensional locations, one or more geographical zones, one or more (R)AN nodes or cell IDs, one or more registration areas, one or more tracking areas, one or more service areas of a network function such as AMF 1101, or SMF 1301, or UPF and For example, the UE behaviour parameters may be associated with one or multiple time periods and/or one or multiple locations and For example, from 9:00 AM to 11:59 AM, Monday to Friday, at a (R)AN node or cell ID numbered 100, the “expected UE activity behavior” is that the UE is more likely in CM-CONNECTED state, the “Expected HO behavior” is “0” which means highly probability of stationary (or no handover). In another time period, from 12:00-5:00 PM, the “Expected UE moving trajectory” is that the UE may move within a coverage area of three cells, from a cell numbered 100 to another cell numbered 120, to another cell numbered 130; Dao, [0211]-[0212] discloses the NRF 401 may provide either information of NWDAF set 310 such as NWDAF Set 310 Profile, or NWDAF instance or NWDAF SI NWDAF instance/SI 311 profile(s) and If the NF-A instance/SI 333 selects a NWDAF set 310, the NF-A instance/SI 333 may send the Data Analytic Request/Subscribe to the NWDAF SI SC 315, similar to step 414 of FIG. 4AA. If the NF-A instance/SI 333 selects an NWDAF instance/SI 311, at step 4114, the NF-A SI 333 may send the Data Analytic Request/Subscribe to the selected NWDAF instance(s)/SI(s) 311 and discloses At step 4116, if the data has been collected and available in the NWDAF Set 310, the NWDAF Instance/SI 311 may access the collected data and perform data analytics; Dao, [0094] discloses For example some functionalities of coordinator functions of NF Set such as NWDAF SI SCs 315 and 325, NF-A SI SC 335 and/or NF-B SI SC 345 may be implemented in the Data Storage Function and In one example shown in FIG. 3B, when the NWDAF SI SC 315 receives data request from NWDAF service instance(s) 311/312).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Dao for the purpose of providing the system with a means to select the NWDAF according to various types of input including PLMN ID (Dao, [0113]) and to be able to acknowledge the data analytic request (Dao, [0213]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF and a message requesting analytics data is sent to the NWDAF and receiving the requested data analytics from the NWDAF as taught by Hong) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF and a message requesting analytics data is sent to the NWDAF and receiving the requested data analytics from the NWDAF, wherein the discovery request includes a PLMN ID and wherein the NWDAF sends a message acknowledging the request together with the requested data analytics as taught by Dao) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF and a message requesting analytics data is sent to the NWDAF and receiving the requested data analytics from the NWDAF (i.e. as taught by both Hong & Dao) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 22, Hong in view of Dao discloses:
The method of claim 21, further comprising: (see claim 21).
generating network data analytics for the roaming UE based on data collected by the first NWDAF and analytics information received from the second NWDAF (Hong, [0102] discloses After receiving the network function data collection response, the source NWDAF may acquire the network data fed back by the at least one network function and The source NWDAF performs service analysis processing according to the received data to obtain the service analysis result, and then sends the service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer, thereby completing the service analysis across NWDAFs and If the source NWDAF needs to collect data from network functions located within multiple different NWDAFs, the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing after receiving the data fed back by all network functions from which data is required to be collected, and then the analysis result may be obtained. In this way, for various network functions in the network, service analysis can be performed at any location in the network, so that the centralized management and operation of the network are achieved).
Regarding claim 24, Hong in view of Dao discloses:
The method of claim 21, (see claim 21).
wherein the first PLMN is a home PLMN (HPLMN) of the roaming UE and the second PLMN is a visited PLMN (VPLMN) of the roaming UE (Hong, Fig. 10 & [0158] discloses In the embodiment, it is assumed that a certain UE is registered in a network operator PLMN 2 and roams to a PLMN 1 and a V-NWDAF and a V-NRF represent network functions of the visited PLMN 1 and The H-NWDAF and an H-SMF represent network functions of the home PLMN 2; Hong, [0170] discloses An H-NWDAF consumer sends a message to the V-NWDAF (i.e. reads on transmitting, to the second NWDAF) to request data collection (i.e. reads on a roaming analytics request) from the V-SMF network function and The message carries information such as content of collected data (i.e. reads on information indicating required analytics) for example, session information related to the UE (i.e. reads on for the roaming UE), the network function identifier of the collected object V-SMF, etc.).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US Patent Publication 2022/0337486 herein after referenced as Hong) in view of DAO et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0228420 herein after referenced as Dao) and further in view of SHARIAT et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0297843 herein after referenced as Shariat).
Regarding claim 23, Hong in view of Dao discloses:
The method of claim 22, (see claim 22).
Hong in view of Dao discloses the source NWDAF in a first PLMN performing data analysis on a combination of data received from a plurality of NWDAF but fails to explicitly disclose that the data analysis on the combination of the data received from a plurality of NWDAF may be implemented by other NWDAF in other PLMNs and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the analytics information is generated in a third NWDAF of the second PLMN.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shariat discloses:
wherein the analytics information is generated in a third NWDAF of the second PLMN (Shariat, [0023] discloses a network function service consumer sends a discovery request to a Network Repository Function, NRF, including all required Analytics ID(s) and an area of interest, the NRF responding with one or more of a set of NWDAF instance IDs, each covering a set of Analytics ID(s), and at least part of the area of interest supported and AP ID, or other identifier, per Aggregator NWDAF instance(s) indicating possible aggregation point(s), the network function service consumer, based on its internal selection criteria, considering registered NWDAF capabilities and information from NRF, selects at least one NWDAF as Aggregator NWDAF, the network function service consumer sends a subscription request to Aggregator NWDAF to designate as an aggregation point, including Analytics IDs and area of interest per NWDAF to aggregate from, and either a) Aggregator NWDAF identifies its designation as aggregation point, or b) Aggregator NWDAF based on configuration, implementation or queries to NRF decides on mapping to specific NWDAFs to aggregate analytics, Aggregator NWDAF subscribes to all NWDAFs, NWDAFs notify with analytics specific parameters per analytics ID in the set of Analytics IDs, Per analytics ID, Aggregator NWDAF aggregates the target of analytics reporting across different NWDAFs for corresponding area of interest, and Aggregator NWDAF notifies to the network function service consumer with analytics specific parameters per analytics ID for all aggregated analytics IDs per NWDAF; Shariat, [0026] discloses A single instance or multiple instances of NWDAF 40 may be deployed in a Public land mobile network PLMN and In case multiple NWDAF 40 instances are deployed, embodiments of the disclosure support deploying the NWDAF 40 as a central NF, as a collection of distributed NFs, or as a combination of both i.e. some centralized and some distributed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the consumer may be able to select an NWDAF from another PLMN as an aggregator NWDAF based on internal selection criteria and considering the NWDAF capabilities).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hong in view of Dao to incorporate the teachings of Shariat for the purpose of providing the system with a means to be able to select a NWDAF to serve as an aggregator NWDAF according to specific selection criteria (Shariat, [0023]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF as taught by Hong) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF, wherein the NWDAF discovery request allows the selection of an aggregator NWDAF in a PLMN according to internal selection criteria and considering the NWDAF capabilities as taught by Shariat) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of requesting data analytics wherein a NWDAF discovery request is sent to an NRF (i.e. as taught by both Hong & Shariat) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US Patent Publication 2022/0337486 herein after referenced as Hong) in view of DAO et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0228420 herein after referenced as Dao) and further in view of SHANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2026/0059293 herein after referenced as Shang).
Regarding claim 25, Hong in view of Dao discloses:
The method of claim 21, (see claim 21).
Hong in view of Dao discloses that a source NWDAF in a PLMN sends a data analytic request to a target NWDAF in another PLMN where an example is given of an NWDAF from a home PLMN performing the process of sending a request to a NWDAF from a visited PLMN but fails to explicitly disclose that the process can also be performed in reverse by the visited NWDAF and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the first PLMN is a visited PLMN (VPLMN) of the roaming UE and the second PLMN is a home PLMN (HPLMN) of the roaming UE.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shang discloses:
wherein the first PLMN is a visited PLMN (VPLMN) of the roaming UE and the second PLMN is a home PLMN (HPLMN) of the roaming UE (Shang, [0276] discloses when V-NWDAF receives the first request information sent by NF in VPLMN, it sends the first request information to H-NWDAF, thereby causing H-NWADF to obtain the user consent information of the first UE and Therefore, it is beneficial for H-NWDAF to obtain the user information of the first UE in the roaming scenario, and determine, based on the user consent information of the first UE, whether to send the data and/or analysis result of the first UE to NF in VPLMN and In this way, on the one hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result can be realized in the roaming scenario; and on the other hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result in the roaming scenario can be implemented based on the user consent information, thereby reducing the risk of privacy e.g., the data and/or analysis result being leaked in the roaming scenario; Shang, [0030] discloses a user consent result indicating whether the data and/or analysis result is allowed to be provided to HPLMN and/or VPLMN; Shang, [0097] discloses In some embodiments, the NWDAF is a V-NWDAF or an H-NWDAF; Shang, [0422] discloses H-NWDAF determines, based on the operator policy, VPLMN roaming agreement and the user consent information of UE specific to VPLMN, whether the data and/or analysis result from HPLMN is allowed to be provided to NF in VPLMN. If yes, H-NWDAF exposes the data and/or analysis result in the home network, and sends the analysis response to V-NWDAF, where the analysis response includes the data and/or analysis result for NF in VPLMN; Shang, [0437] discloses V-NWDAF determines, based on the operator policy, VPLMN roaming agreement and the user consent information of UE specific to VPLMN, whether to allow the analysis result from VPLMN to be provided to NF in VPLMN and If yes, V-NWDAF discovers H-NWDAF, and sends an analysis request to H-NWDAF).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hong in view of Dao to incorporate the teachings of Shang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to perform the data analytics process via a visited NWDAF in a visited PLMN to ensure the interaction of data and/or analysis result can be realized in the roaming scenario; and on the other hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result in the roaming scenario can be implemented based on the user consent information, thereby reducing the risk of privacy e.g., the data and/or analysis result being leaked in the roaming scenario (Shang, [0276] & [0097]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF as taught by Hong) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF, wherein the source NWDAF includes a visited NWDAF V-NWDAF and the target NWDAF includes a home NWDAF H-NWDAF and wherein the provision of data analytics requires user content as taught by Shang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF (i.e. as taught by both Hong & Shang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 26, Duan in view of Hong discloses:
The method of claim 21, further comprising (see claim 21).
Duan in view of Hong discloses sending a data analysis request for a roaming user but fails to explicitly disclose user consent and therefore fails to disclose “identifying user consent of the roaming UE for network data analytics.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shang discloses:
identifying user consent of the roaming UE for network data analytics (Shang, [0276] discloses when V-NWDAF receives the first request information sent by NF in VPLMN, it sends the first request information to H-NWDAF, thereby causing H-NWADF to obtain the user consent information of the first UE and Therefore, it is beneficial for H-NWDAF to obtain the user information of the first UE in the roaming scenario, and determine, based on the user consent information of the first UE, whether to send the data and/or analysis result of the first UE to NF in VPLMN and In this way, on the one hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result can be realized in the roaming scenario; and on the other hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result in the roaming scenario can be implemented based on the user consent information, thereby reducing the risk of privacy e.g., the data and/or analysis result being leaked in the roaming scenario; Shang, [0030] discloses a user consent result indicating whether the data and/or analysis result is allowed to be provided to HPLMN and/or VPLMN; Shang, [0097] discloses In some embodiments, the NWDAF is a V-NWDAF or an H-NWDAF; Shang, [0422] discloses H-NWDAF determines, based on the operator policy, VPLMN roaming agreement and the user consent information of UE specific to VPLMN, whether the data and/or analysis result from HPLMN is allowed to be provided to NF in VPLMN. If yes, H-NWDAF exposes the data and/or analysis result in the home network, and sends the analysis response to V-NWDAF, where the analysis response includes the data and/or analysis result for NF in VPLMN; Shang, [0437] discloses V-NWDAF determines, based on the operator policy, VPLMN roaming agreement and the user consent information of UE specific to VPLMN, whether to allow the analysis result from VPLMN to be provided to NF in VPLMN and If yes, V-NWDAF discovers H-NWDAF, and sends an analysis request to H-NWDAF).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hong in view of Dao to incorporate the teachings of Shang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to perform the data analytics process via a visited NWDAF in a visited PLMN to ensure the interaction of data and/or analysis result can be realized in the roaming scenario; and on the other hand, the interaction of data and/or analysis result in the roaming scenario can be implemented based on the user consent information, thereby reducing the risk of privacy e.g., the data and/or analysis result being leaked in the roaming scenario (Shang, [0276] & [0097]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF as taught by Hong) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF, wherein the source NWDAF includes a visited NWDAF V-NWDAF and the target NWDAF includes a home NWDAF H-NWDAF and wherein the provision of data analytics requires user content as taught by Shang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of requesting data analytics from a source NWDAF to a target NWDAF (i.e. as taught by both Hong & Shang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645