Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the limitation “if” is a conditional statement without corresponding "else" statements. If these limitations are not performed, then there is no defined process to be performed. The examiner understands that in this claim, the open conditional language causes this limitation to be omitted.
Processes can be considered as a series of steps to achieve a claimed task. When executing a process, each step is performed. However, upon reaching an "IF-THEN-ELSE" logical block, each TRUE/FALSE option is equally likely. A process step that includes only an "IF-THEN" logical question means that THEN result only occurs when the answer is TRUE. An answer equally likely is FALSE and therefore the THEN result will not occur.
The Examiner takes further guidance from the MPEP § 2106(11)C on how to handle these logical blocks. Specifically, "Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation." It is the Examiner's position that when a claimed invention includes a logical block that suggests another choice (FALSE), then the resulting action is not limiting as it may never be performed. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret this claim as best understood. Applicant can amend IF to When.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1029(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ricci (US 2018/0009330).
Regarding claim 1, Ricci teaches a battery system (see 1704, Fig. 17) comprising: a plurality of battery modules electrically connected to each other (see para 0142-0143), each of the plurality of battery modules comprising a memory (see para 0157-0158) ; and a first controller configured to: obtain module identification information for each of the plurality of battery modules from the memory of each of the plurality of battery modules (see para 0155 …the power manager 2108 reads, via the reader 2220, one or more identifier(s) 2300, from the battery pack 2304 or a component thereof… The reader 2220 can be any device able to read an identifier or tag 2300 on the battery pack. ); receive battery module information including specification information for each of the plurality of battery modules from an external server based on the module identification information (see para 0158 RFID tags contain at least two parts: an integrated circuit for storing and processing information, modulating and demodulating a radio-frequency (RF) signal, collecting DC power from the incident reader signal, and other specialized functions; and an antenna for receiving and transmitting the signal. The tag information is stored in a non-volatile memory. The RFID tag includes either fixed or programmable logic for processing the transmission and sensor data, respectively. Tags may either be read-only, having a factory-assigned serial number that is used as a key into a database, or may be read/write, where object-specific data can be written into the tag by the licensing server 2012 or manufacturer warranty server 2008. Field programmable tags may be write-once, read-multiple; “blank” tags may be written with an electronic product code by the user.); and restrict charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules according to the battery module information (see para 0169-0171 the power manager determines, from the successfully validated request, which identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) are to be provided to the manufacturer warranty server 2008 or licensing server 2012. The identifier(s) can be for the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof. The sensed parameter(s) can be one or more sensed parameter(s) associated with the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof and can be selected ones of multiple possible sensed parameters. In step 2412, the power manager retrieves the determined identifier(s) from the reader and sensed parameter(s) from sensor array output. In optional step 2416, the power manager compares the retrieved determined identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) with locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) to determine whether or not they match and whether or not the locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) need to be updated. In some applications, when the locally stored identifier(s) or sensed parameter(s) do not match, the power manager determines that the battery pack or component thereof is not licensed properly and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and licensing server 2012 or that the battery pack or component thereof has been altered or otherwise tampered with and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and manufacturer warranty server 2008).
Regarding claim 2, Ricci teaches wherein the first controller is further configured to: detect a battery module having different specifications from among the plurality of battery modules based on the battery module information; and block charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules if the battery module with different specifications is detected (see para 0169-0171 the power manager determines, from the successfully validated request, which identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) are to be provided to the manufacturer warranty server 2008 or licensing server 2012. The identifier(s) can be for the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof. The sensed parameter(s) can be one or more sensed parameter(s) associated with the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof and can be selected ones of multiple possible sensed parameters. In step 2412, the power manager retrieves the determined identifier(s) from the reader and sensed parameter(s) from sensor array output. In optional step 2416, the power manager compares the retrieved determined identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) with locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) to determine whether or not they match and whether or not the locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) need to be updated. In some applications, when the locally stored identifier(s) or sensed parameter(s) do not match, the power manager determines that the battery pack or component thereof is not licensed properly and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and licensing server 2012 or that the battery pack or component thereof has been altered or otherwise tampered with and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and manufacturer warranty server 2008).
Regarding claim 4 Ricci teaches wherein the first controller is further configured to: obtain state information for each of the plurality of battery modules; and control charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules based on the state information if all of the plurality of battery modules have the same specifications as each other, and wherein the state information includes information about at least one of voltage, temperature, or current of a corresponding battery module (see para 0146 he power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Regarding claim 5 Ricci teaches the battery module information further includes test result information of a corresponding battery module; and the first controller is further configured to: detect a battery module containing a defective battery cell from among the plurality of battery modules based on the battery module information; and
block charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules if the battery module containing the defective battery cell is detected (see para 0146 the power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Regarding claim 7 Ricci teaches the battery module information further includes usage history information of the corresponding battery module; and the first controller is further configured to update usage history information of the plurality of battery modules stored in the external server using the module identification information (see para 0146 the power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Regarding claim 10 Ricci teaches a charge/discharge control method of a battery system comprising a plurality of battery modules electrically connected to each other, the method comprising: obtaining module identification information for each of the plurality of battery modules from a memory of each of the plurality of battery modules; receiving battery module information including specification information for each of the plurality of battery modules from an external server using the module identification information; and
restricting charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules according to the battery module information (Please see claim 1).
Regarding claim 11 Ricci teaches wherein the restricting comprises: detecting a battery module with different specifications from among the plurality of battery modules based on the battery module information; and blocking charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules if the battery module with different specifications is detected (see para 0169-0171 the power manager determines, from the successfully validated request, which identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) are to be provided to the manufacturer warranty server 2008 or licensing server 2012. The identifier(s) can be for the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof. The sensed parameter(s) can be one or more sensed parameter(s) associated with the battery pack as a whole and/or for one or more modules, batteries, or cells thereof and can be selected ones of multiple possible sensed parameters. In step 2412, the power manager retrieves the determined identifier(s) from the reader and sensed parameter(s) from sensor array output. In optional step 2416, the power manager compares the retrieved determined identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) with locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) to determine whether or not they match and whether or not the locally stored identifier(s) and sensed parameter(s) need to be updated. In some applications, when the locally stored identifier(s) or sensed parameter(s) do not match, the power manager determines that the battery pack or component thereof is not licensed properly and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and licensing server 2012 or that the battery pack or component thereof has been altered or otherwise tampered with and sends a notice to the vehicle operator and manufacturer warranty server 2008).
Regarding claim 13 Ricci teaches further comprising obtaining state information for each of the plurality of battery modules, wherein the restricting further comprises controlling charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules based on the state information if the plurality of battery modules are all determined to be of the same specifications as each other, and wherein the state information includes information about at least one of voltage, temperature, or current of a corresponding battery module (see para 0146 he power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Regarding claim 14 Ricci teaches the battery module information further includes test result information of a corresponding battery module; and the restricting comprises:
detecting a battery module containing a defective battery cell from among the plurality of battery modules based on the battery module information; and blocking charge/discharge of the plurality of battery modules if the battery module containing the defective battery cell is detected (see para 0146 the power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Regarding claim 16 Ricci teaches the battery module information further includes usage history information of a corresponding battery module; and
the charge/discharge control method further comprises updating usage history information of the plurality of battery modules stored in the external server using the module identification information (see para 0146 the power source-related measurement can be sensed, captured, or otherwise collected by an on board sensor and can be a static or dynamic parameter. The parameter can be, for instance, an operating metric or other parameter associated with the vehicle power source or component thereof. Examples include winding temperature and/or rotor speed of on board electric motor(s), battery pack voltage, output current, state-of-charge, state-of-health, state-of-function, or temperature, motor controller current (and/or direction of current), voltage, temperature and leaking current, accelerator pedal voltage as a function of voltage position, and other power source-related measurements.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci in view of Stukenberg (US 2014/0340231).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Ricci teaches the battery system as claimed in claim 2 and 11, respectively yet does not disclose wherein the specification information includes at least one of capacity, active material, or charge/discharge characteristics of a corresponding battery module
However, Stukenberg teaches wherein the specification information includes at least one of capacity, active material, or charge/discharge characteristics of a corresponding battery module (see para 0003; Stukenberg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ricci with the teachings of Stukenberg having the specification information includes at least one of capacity, active material, or charge/discharge characteristics of a corresponding battery module in order to ensures optimal safety, peak performance, and longevity and prevent cell degradation, and accurately match cells in series or parallel configurations.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Ricci teaches the battery system as claimed in claim 5 and 14 respectively.
Yet does not disclose wherein the test result information is obtained during manufacturing of the plurality of battery modules.
However, Stukenberg teaches wherein the test result information is obtained during manufacturing of the plurality of battery modules (see Para 0019; Stukenberg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ricci with the teachings of Stukenberg by having wherein the test result information is obtained during manufacturing of the plurality of battery modules in order to ensures precision, quality control, and optimal cell matching. This data allows manufacturers to categorize cells, forecast degradation, and prevent costly safety failures like thermal runaway.
Regarding claim 8 Ricci teaches the battery system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises: the memory for storing the module identification information;
Yet, does not disclose a second controller configured to obtain state information for each of the plurality of battery modules, and transmit the state information or the module identification information to the first controller.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second controller configured to obtain state information for each of the plurality of battery modules, and transmit the state information or the module identification information to the first controller since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci and Stukenberg in view of Thomas (US 2020/0036056).
Regarding claim 9, Ricci and Stukenberg teaches the battery system as claimed in claim 8.
Yet does not disclose wherein the memory is an EEPROM.
However, Thomas in the same filed teaches wherein the memory is an EEPROM (see para 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ricci and Stukenberg with the teachings of Thomas having the memory as an EEPROM in order to provide the ability to selectively read, erase, and reprogram individual bytes of data electronically without removing the chip from the device providing tamper-proof storage for critical battery data and operating safely even when the battery is completely drained.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836