DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 21-30 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they are all method claims.
Claims 1-20 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the recitations of “one or more memories” and “one or more processors” provide sufficient structure to perform all claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 26-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siddiqui et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0237951 A1, Art of record IDS filed on 1/15/2025, and referred as Siddiqui hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1 as a representative claim, Siddiqui teaches a first network entity (see figures 14A-14B: housing 1408 comprises two wireless devices depicted at 1402a and 1402b and described in paras. [0171], [0175], [0180] and [0183]; each of 1408, 1420a and/or 1420b includes a transceiver 1414 having a transmitter 1410 and a receiver 1412; thus any one of 1408, 1420a, 1420b or 1414 or in combination thereof is the so-called network entity; this interpretation is consistent with instant spec. paras. [0004], [0156 and [0161], for example), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see memory depicted at 1406a in figure 14A and described in para. [0171] and at 1406b in figure 14B and described in para. [0180]); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to (see processor depicted at 1404 in both figures 14A (wireless device 1402a as a first network entity) and 14B (wireless device 1402b as a second network entity) and described in paras. [0171] and [0180]):
receive, at the first network entity, control signaling from a second network entity, the control signaling indicating an image mask representing a color filter array that is used to generate mosaic images at the second network entity (see para. [0183] (receiving information defining a configuration of the image sensor from one or more processors 1404 and the image sensor 1430; such information includes configuration information of the filters that filter light before it reaches the image sensor elements; such filtering is referred as masked per para. [0107]); para. [0052] (information of an image sensor configuration may include a size of each filter element in the CFA (color filter array per para. [0003]), periodicity of filter elements, the size of each filter element, and/or the size of each sensor element));
receive a first image at the first network entity from the second network entity over a wireless communications channel, wherein the first image is a single layer image comprising a mosaic pattern according to the color filter array (see para. [0183] (demosaic data generated by the image sensor 1430)); and
generate, at the first network entity, a second image based at least in part on the first image and the image mask, wherein the second image comprises multiple layers associated with colors of the second image (see paras. [0183] (“.. .Based at least on the received image sensor configuration information, the universal demosaic may demosaic data generated by the image sensor 1430 ....”) and [0060] (“FIG. 7 illustrates demosaicing of the single plane spectral image 500. In this example, the single plane spectral image 500 is processed by a method 1300, discussed with reference to FIG. 13A below, to produce a triple plane RGB image 700 .... “)).
Regarding claim 2, Siddiqui further teaches wherein generating the second image comprises applying, to the first image, a demosaicing filter that corresponds to the image mask to interpolate multiple layers of the second image from the first image (see para. ([0100] (...the sub-lattice parameters may be used to generate one or more modulation frequencies and/or a set of modulation coefficients. One or more of these generated components may be used to demosaic raw image data output by the particular image sensor...)).
Regarding claim 3, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the second image is generated at a physical layer of the first network entity (see para. ([0185] (...The wireless device 1402b may also include a digital signal processor (DSP) 1420 for use in processing signals…)).
Regarding claim 4, Siddiqui further teaches wherein, to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: receive a pattern of colors associated with the color filter array (see para. [0101] (...the spectral components of the CFA pattern)).
Regarding claim 5, Siddiqui further teaches wherein receiving the control signaling indicating the image mask comprises receiving an index associated with the color filter array selected from a plurality of indices associated with a plurality of color filter arrays (see para. [0099] (...information indicative of an image sensor hardware configuration and determine the hardware information by accessing a look-up table or other stored information using the received information…)).
Regarding claim 6, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: receive an indication of the plurality of indices associated with the plurality of color filter arrays (see para. [0099] (...one or more parameters defining the image sensor configuration may be hard coded or predetermined and dynamically read (or accessed) from a storage location by an electronic processor performing process 1300)).
Regarding claim 7, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: transmit, to the second network entity, the second image or a second mosaic image based on the second image (see figures 14A and 14B: image generated by sensor in wireless device 1402a is sent to wireless device 1402b).
Regarding claim 9, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the control signaling is received in response to establishing a connection between the first network entity and the second network entity (see figures 14A and 14B: each wireless device comprises an antenna 1416 for transmitting and receiving data between themselves so such connection is inherently included).
Regarding claim 10, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the first image is a single layer image (see para. [0094] (...the image data may be any single plane image...]).
Regarding claim 11, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the control signaling is radio resource control (RRC) signaling, uplink control information (UCI) signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, sidelink control information (SCI) signaling, or any combination thereof (see figures 14A and 14B: each wireless device comprises an antenna 1416 for transmitting and receiving data between themselves; para. [0040] (wireless connection); so such signaling is inherently included).
Regarding claim 12, Siddiqui teaches a first network entity (see para. [0171] (wireless device 1402a), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see [0171] (“Memory 1406a, which may include both read-only memory (ROM) and random access memory (RAM), may provide instructions and data to the processor 1404 ...”); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to (see para. [0171] (“…The processor 1404 typically performs logical and arithmetic operations based on program instructions stored within the memory 1406a ...”):
transmit, from the first network entity to a second network entity, control signaling indicating an image mask representing a color filter array that is used to generate mosaic images at the first network entity (see para. [0183] (information defining a configuration of the image sensor from one or more of the processor 1404 and/or the image sensor 1430); para. [0174] (An image sensor 1430 may capture images)); and
transmit a first image from the first network entity to the second network entity over a wireless communications channel, wherein the first image is a single layer image comprising a mosaic pattern according to the color filter array ([0183] (...data generated by the image sensor 1430 ...); para. [0174] (…The wireless device 1402a may also include a housing 1408 that may include a transmitter 1410 and/or a receiver 1412 to allow transmission and reception of data between the wireless device 1402a and a remote location. The transmitter 1410 and receiver 1412 may be combined into a transceiver 1414…); para. [0094] (...the image data may be any single plane image...)).
Regarding claim 13, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: transmit the control signaling indicating the image mask comprises transmitting a pattern of colors associated with the color filter array (see para. [0101] (...the spectral components of the CFA pattern.)).
Regarding claim 14, Siddiqui further teaches wherein transmitting the control signaling indicating the image mask comprises transmitting an index associated with the color filter array selected from a plurality of indices associated with a plurality of color filter arrays (see para. [0099] (... receive information indicative of an image sensor hardware configuration and determine the hardware information by accessing a look-up table or other stored information using the received information ....)).
Regarding claim 15, Siddiqui further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: transmit an indication of the plurality of indices associated with the plurality of color filter arrays (see para. [0099] (...one or more parameters defining the image sensor configuration may be hard coded or predetermined and dynamically read (or accessed) from a storage location by an electronic processor performing process 1300.)).
Regarding claim 18, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 9 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 19, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 10 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 20, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 11 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 21, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 22, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 2 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 23, Siddiqui further teaches receiving the control signaling indicating the image mask comprises receiving a pattern of colors associated with the color filter array (see para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 24, Siddiqui further teaches The method of claim 21, wherein receiving the control signaling indicating the image mask comprises receiving an index associated with the color filter array selected from a plurality of indices associated with a plurality of color filter arrays (see para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 26, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 12 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 27, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 13 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 28, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 14 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 30, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 18 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 18 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui.
The advanced statements as applied to claims 1-7, 9-15, 26-28 and 30 above are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 25, Siddiqui does not specifically teach wherein: the first image is a compressed image; and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to decompress the first image at the first network entity. However, using compression and decompression are well known in the art (Official Notice) in order to reduce data size for transmitting and receiving.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate such compression and decompression in combination with Siddiqui for that reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 16 and 29, the cited prior art does not teach or suggest claim limitations “wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first network entity to: receive a second image from the second network entity, the second image generated based at least in part on the first image and the image mask, and the second image comprising multiple layers associated with colors of the second image or a second mosaic image”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elgendy et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0265555A1) teaches image mask and image combination (see para. [0048] and figure 4).
OHBA et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2016/0080645A1) teaches a camera for capturing an image, demosaicing the image and transmit it to the terminal (figures 2-3).
DMD
2/2026
/DUY M DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662