DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
In Figures 1 and 3, reference number 28 is shown, but fails to be mentioned in the Specification.
In Figure 2, reference number 14D is shown, but fails to be mentioned in the Specification.
In Figure 4, reference number 12E is shown, but fails to be mentioned in the Specification.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the firsts sensor being electrically insulated from or electrically coupled to the second sensor must be shown or the features canceled from the claims (i.e. no insulating means or wiring shown). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation that the drum module is responsive to a signal from one of the first sensor and the third sensor and configured for triggering playback of a sound associated with the one of first and second sensors is indefinite. Please clarify how a playback sound of the second sensor can be triggered by a signal from the third sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US patent application publication to Toda (US 2003/0200860).
In terms of claim 1, Toda teaches an electronic cymbal (1), comprising: a cymbal body (11, 12) defining an exterior striking surface (11) having a perimeter edge (11c); a first sensor (16) disposed proximate the perimeter edge at a first angle (see Figure 1); and a second sensor (14) disposed proximate the perimeter edge at a second angle (see Figure 1) different from the first angle.
As for claim 2, Toda teaches a substantially rigid interior frame (11A) (see paragraph [0037]).
As for claim 3, Toda teaches at least one of the first (16) and second (14) sensors disposed on the frame (11A) interiorly of the striking surface (see Figure 1).
As for claim 4, Toda teaches the perimeter edge (11c) having at least a partially arcuate shape (see Figure 1), and wherein at least one of the first and second sensors having at least a partially arcuate shape (see Figure 1, and paragraph [0040], wherein sensor 14 is partially arcuate in shape to adhere to the partially arcuate shape of the striking surface and frame).
As for claim 5, Toda teaches the perimeter edge (11c) having a circumferential shape (see Figure 2), and wherein one of the first and second sensors having a circumferential shape (see paragraph [0041], sensor 16 ring shaped).
As for claim 6, Toda teaches the exterior striking surface (11) further defining a bell profile (11b), and wherein a third sensor (17) is disposed proximate the bell profile (see Figure 1).
As for claim 7, Toda teaches connection to a musical tone generator for producing playback sounds triggered by signals from the sensors (see paragraphs [0034] and [0042]).
In terms of claim 10, Toda teaches an electronic cymbal (1), comprising: exterior striking surface (11) having a thickness and defining a perimeter edge profile (11c) and a bell profile (11b); an interior frame (11A) disposed beneath the exterior striking surface and substantially mimicking the perimeter edge profile and the bell profile of the exterior striking surface; a first sensor (16) disposed intermediate the exterior striking surface and interior frame and proximate the perimeter edge profile; and a second sensor (17) disposed intermediate the exterior striking surface and interior frame and proximate the bell profile, wherein the thickness of the exterior striking surface proximate the first sensor and the second sensor is substantially uniform (see Figure 1).
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Japanese publication to Yasuda et al. (JP 2015028521 A) (English Translation provided by the Examiner).
In terms of claim 1, Yasuda et al. teaches an electronic cymbal (see Figure 1A and paragraph [0028]), comprising: a cymbal body (20, 30, 40) defining an exterior striking surface (see Abstract) having a perimeter edge; a first sensor (sA) disposed proximate the perimeter edge at a first angle (see Figure 3); and a second sensor (sB) disposed proximate the perimeter edge at a second angle (see Figure 3) different from the first angle.
As for claim 2, Yasuda et al. teaches a substantially rigid interior frame (21) (see paragraph [0034]).
As for claim 3, Yasuda et al. teaches at least one of the first and second sensors disposed on the frame (21) interiorly of the striking surface (see Figure 3).
As for claim 5, Yasuda et al. teaches the perimeter edge having a circumferential shape (see Figure 1b), and wherein one of the first and second sensors having a circumferential shape (see paragraph [0037], sensor (sA) disposed over the circumference of the outer peripheral edge).
As for claim 6, Yasuda et al. teaches the exterior striking surface further defining a bell profile (40), and wherein a third sensor (sC) is disposed proximate the bell profile (see Figure 3).
As for claim 7, Yasuda et al. teaches connection to a musical sound generator for producing playback sounds triggered by signals from the sensors (see paragraphs [0031] and [0060]).
In terms of claim 10, Yasuda et al. teaches an electronic cymbal (see Figure 1A and paragraph [0028]), comprising: exterior striking surface having a thickness and defining a perimeter edge profile (20) (see Figures 1 and 3) and a bell profile (40); an interior frame (21) disposed beneath the exterior striking surface and substantially mimicking the perimeter edge profile and the bell profile of the exterior striking surface (see Figure 3); a first sensor (sA) disposed intermediate the exterior striking surface and interior frame and proximate the perimeter edge profile; and a second sensor (sC) disposed intermediate the exterior striking surface and interior frame and proximate the bell profile, wherein the thickness of the exterior striking surface proximate the first sensor and the second sensor is substantially uniform (see Figure 3).
As for claim 11, Yasuda et al. teaches a third sensor (sB) disposed intermediate the exterior striking surface and interior frame and proximate the perimeter edge profile (see Figure 3).
As for claim 12, Yasuda et al. teaches the first sensor (sA) and the third sensor (sB) disposed in different planes relative to the interior frame (see Figure 3).
As for claim 13, Yasuda et al. teaches connection to a musical sound generator for producing playback sounds triggered by signals from the sensors (see paragraphs [0031] and [0060]).
As for claim 16, Yasuda et al. teaches the perimeter edge having a circumferential shape (see Figure 1b), and wherein one of the first and third sensors having a circumferential shape (see paragraph [0037], sensor (sA) disposed over the circumference of the outer peripheral edge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda in view of that which is well-known in the art.
Toda fails to explicitly teach electrically insulating or electrically coupling the sensors; however, Toda does teach the wiring and insulation of switches (see paragraph [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to use a similar configuration between the sensors of Toda.
Further, it would have been obvious to either insulate/ separate or couple together to sensors of Toda, given it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)), and it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the Notice of References Cited provided by the Examiner, in particular, the US patent to Wissmuller (8,785,758).
/CHRISTINA M SCHREIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 08/13/2026