Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lanini (10,604,076).
Consider Claim 1, Lanini discloses a step, comprising a plurality of step segments (102, 104), at least one connection step segment (106) and a fastener (134), wherein adjacent step segments (102, 104) of the plurality of step segments comprise a first step segment (102) and a second step segment (104), the connection step segment (106) has a first end and a second end in a length direction of the connection step segment, the first end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably and detachably connected to the first step segment (102), the second end of the connection step segment (6) is slidably and detachably connected to the second step segment (104) (C2, L 20-25), and the fastener (134) is configured to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the first step segment (102) and to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the second step segment (104).
Consider Claim 2, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein an end of the first step segment (102) and an end of the second step segment (104), which are opposite to each other, are spaced apart from each other, so that a gap (126) is formed between the end of the first step segment and the end of the second step segment which are opposite to each other, to expose a portion of the connection step segment(106) (It is noted that the step segments (102 and 104) are only placed end to end and therefore the connection step segment (106) would not be sealed from the outside environment and therefore exposed to at least the atmosphere and moisture).
Consider Claim 3, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein an end of the first step segment (102) and an end of the second step segment (104), which are opposite to each other, abut against each other, so that a slit (126) is formed between the end of the first step segment and the end of the second step segment which are opposite to each other.
Consider Claim 4, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses comprising a decorative cover plate (112) configured to cover a slit (126) or a gap (126) between the adjacent step segments, wherein the decorative cover plate (112) is integrated or comprises a plurality of cover plate strips sequentially abutting against or connected with each other in the length direction of the connection step segment.
Consider Claim 5, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses comprising a closure head (120), wherein the plurality of step segments comprise two end step segments (102, 104), each of the two end step segments has a free end and a connecting end connected to the connection step segment, and the closure head is detachably mounted to the free end of the end step segment or is integrated with the end step segment.
Consider Claim 6, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of step segments (102, 104) is hollow and has a longitudinal hole extending along a length direction of the step segment, the first end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably fitted in a longitudinal hole of the first step segment, and the second end of the connection step segment is slidably fitted in a longitudinal hole of the second step segment.
Consider Claim 7, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein the plurality of step segments comprise two end step segments (102, 104), each of the two end step segments has a free end and a connecting end connected to the connection step segment (106), and an opening of the free end of the end step segment is blocked by a closure head (120).
Consider Claim 15, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein one of a step segment (102, 104) and the connection step segment comprises a sliding groove or a sliding hole, and an end of the other one of the step segment and the connection step segment (106) is slidably fitted in the sliding groove or the sliding hole.
Consider Claim 16, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein the fastener (134) is a threaded member (threaded bolt), a step segment has a fastening hole (136), the connection step segment has a connecting fastening hole (136), and the fastener is fitted in the fastening hole and the connecting fastening hole to fasten the step segment and the connection step segment.
Consider Claim 17, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses wherein two step segments (102, 104) are provided and one connection step segment (106) is provided.
Consider Claim 18, Lanini discloses all the limitations or the claimed invention, and further discloses comprising a first closure head (120) and a second closure head (120), wherein each of the two step segments (102, 104) is hollow and has a longitudinal hole extending along a length direction of the step segment, the connection step segment (106) is hollow and has a connecting longitudinal hole extending along the length direction of the connection step segment, the first end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably fitted in a longitudinal hole of the first step segment (102), the second end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably fitted in a longitudinal hole of the second step segment (104), part of the first closure head (120) is inserted in an opening of a free end of the first step segment (102) to block the opening of the free end of the first step segment, part of the second closure head (120) is inserted in an opening of a free end of the second step segment (104) to block the opening of the free end of the second step segment, the first step segment and the second step segment are symmetrical with respect to a slit or a gap (126) therebetween, and the first closure head and the second closure head are symmetrical with respect to the slit or the gap (126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanini (10,604,076) in view of Watson (2023/0021767).
Consider Claim 10, Lanini discloses wherein each of the plurality of step segments comprise a top wall, an inner side wall, an outer side wall, a bottom wall (Fig. 8) but does not disclose an extension part extending from the top wall and an upper part of the inner side wall.
Watson discloses an extension part (48) extending from the top wall and an upper part of the inner side wall (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lanini by further comprising an extension part in order to attach to an actuator.
Consider Claim 11, Lanini, as modified, discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses comprising a reinforcing slat (Watson, 28) and a locking slat (Watson, 24), wherein the extension part (48) has a groove therein (Watson, Fig. 3), the reinforcing slat (28) is fitted at least in the grooves of the adjacent step segments, and the locking slat (24) is connected to the reinforcing slat (28) by a threaded piece (Para 0030) and is in contact with the inner side wall.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanini (10,604,076).
Consider Claim 13. The step according to claim 1, wherein the step segment (102, 104) is hollow and has a longitudinal hole extending along a length direction of the step segment, the connection step segment (106) is hollow and has a connecting longitudinal hole extending along the length direction of the connection step segment, , but does not disclose an end of the first step segment and an end of the second step segment, which are opposite to each other are slidably fitted in the connecting longitudinal hole, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to slide the step segments into the connection segment instead of sliding the connection segment into the step segments, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Consider Claim 19, Lanini discloses a step device, comprising: a linkage mechanism (108); and a step comprising a plurality of step segments (102, 104), at least one connection step segment (106) and a fastener (134), wherein adjacent step segments of the plurality of step segments comprise a first step segment (102) and a second step segment (104), the connection step segment (106) has a first end and a second end in a length direction of the connection step segment, the first end of the connection step segment is slidably and detachably connected to the first step segment (102), the second end of the connection step segment is slidably and detachably connected to the second step segment (104), and the fastener (134) is configured to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the first step segment (102) and to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the second step segment (104), wherein the step is connected to the linkage mechanism (108) but does not disclose the step connected to the linkage mechanism to move between an extended position and a retracted position driven by the linkage mechanism.
Watson discloses the step (14) connected to the linkage mechanism (16) to move between an extended position and a retracted position driven by the linkage mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lanini by comprising a retracting linkage in order to stow the running board when operating the vehicle.
Consider Claim 20. A vehicle (C3, L 4-6), comprising a vehicle body and a step device, and the step device comprising: a linkage mechanism (108); and a step comprising a plurality of step segments (102, 104), at least one connection step segment (106) and a fastener (134), wherein adjacent step segments of the plurality of step segments comprise a first step segment (102) and a second step segment (104), the connection step segment (106) has a first end and a second end in a length direction of the connection step segment, the first end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably and detachably connected to the first step segment (102), the second end of the connection step segment (106) is slidably and detachably connected to the second step segment (104), and the fastener (134) is configured to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the first step segment (102) and to fasten the connection step segment (106) and the second step segment (104), wherein the step is connected to the linkage mechanism (108) but does not disclose the step connected to the linkage mechanism to move between an extended position and a retracted position driven by the linkage mechanism.
Watson discloses the step (14) connected to the linkage mechanism (16) to move between an extended position and a retracted position driven by the linkage mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lanini by comprising a retracting linkage in order to stow the running board when operating the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 12 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the prior art discloses all the limitations of the intervening claims, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with a contour of a cross section of the connecting longitudinal hole, and a contour of a cross section of the longitudinal hole are polygons similar to each other as required by Claim 8.
Claim 9 depends from Claim 8.
Although the prior art discloses all the limitations of the intervening claims the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with the inner flange extends downwards and then outwards from an inner edge of the top plate and catches the extension parts of the adjacent two step segments as required by Claim 12.
Although the prior art discloses all the limitations of the intervening claims the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with a contour of a cross section of the longitudinal hole, and a contour of a cross section of the connecting longitudinal hole are polygons similar to each other as required by Claim 14.
Conclusion
/BRYAN A EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613