DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s election (received 4/20/2026). The examiner identified the error in indicating claim 2 as generic in the Restriction Requirement (mailed 2/20/2026). In remedying the error, the examiner contacted applicant’s representative, Mr. Wen Liu, to clarify and to give Mr. Liu an opportunity to change the election as requested in the response. Mr. Liu changed the election from Species C to Species A. The examiner agreed. See Interview Summary for details
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the interview on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden and the proof of burden among the species are without separate classification, separate status in the art or a different field of search. This is not found persuasive because the examiner demonstrated different field of search and also as evidenced by applicant’s disclosure. The alignment features are shown to be discrete protrusions formed in complementary grids (Fig. 1A-1B), the protrusions are not formed in grid but they are complementary to the respective protrusions (Fig. 2A-2C), and protrusions are designed using Non-Uniform Rational B-Splines curves, a computational geometry and CAD engineering design modeling, as shown in Fig. 5A-5B. The function and design of these protrusions are all different. However, should applicant consider the distinction of these species is in error, the examiner invites applicant to submit a statement on record indicating the species are obvious among the species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference numeral Ia and Ib as disclosed in Para [0081] of the Specification is not shown in the referenced Figs 2 or 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vallance et al. (US 2021/0239920 A1, herein “Vallance”).
Vallance discloses in Fig. 1 a passive alignment coupling (Para [0040]), comprising:
a first body (B1) defining a first base having a first planar surface (S1) on which a first array of alignment features (F1) is defined (Para [0042]-[0043]),
a second body (B2) providing an alignment reference to the first body (B1 and B2 are complementary to each other, Fig. 2A), wherein the second body defines a second base having a second planar surface on which a second array of alignment features (F2) is defined, wherein the first and second array of alignment features are complementary to each other (see alignment in Fig. 2A, Para [0046]);
wherein one of the first array of alignment features and the second array of alignment features comprises a first interstitial two-dimensional planar array of protrusions defining a first array of interstices (annotated square in the figure below) and another one of the first array of alignment features and the second array of alignment features comprises a second interstitial two-dimensional planar array of protrusions defining a second array of interstices (annotated as dots, Para [0049]),
wherein with the first body pressed against the second body with the first and second arrays of alignment features mating towards each other, the first and second arrays of protrusions intermesh with the protrusions defined on one of the first and second bodies received in corresponding interstices defined on the other one of the first and second bodies (Fig. 2C, Para [0054]), and
wherein protrusion surfaces of each adjacent pair of protrusions of the first and second arrays of protrusions are in point contact (Para [0057]),
whereby the first body is removably attachable to the second body to define a demountable coupling, with the first array of alignment features against the second array of alignment features to define an elastic averaging coupling, thereby passively aligning the first body to the second body (Para [0040]-[0041]).
Claim 2. Vallance discloses the passive alignment coupling as in claim 1, wherein each of the first (annotated with squares) and second (annotated with dots) arrays of protrusions comprises an array of discrete protrusions separated and isolated from one another by corresponding first and second interstices at the respective first and second planar surfaces. Base B2 and B1 are complementary wherein the pyramidal protrusions complement with the squares.
Claims 12-13. Vallance discloses the invention of claim 1, and further discloses the first body B1 is comprised in an optical connector 10 transmitting an optical signal (optical fiber array), and wherein the second body B2 is comprised in a foundation 12 providing an optical alignment reference (referencing around the PIC chip 100) to an external optoelectronic device (Para [0042]).
Claim 14. Vallance discloses the invention of claim 13, and further discloses the second body B2 is coupled as a separate part to a photonic integrated circuit (PIC chip 100) and the first body B1 is the optical connector 10 supporting an optical fiber array (Para [0042]).
Claim 15. Vallance discloses the invention of claim 1, and further discloses a compliant clip C biasing the first base B1 against the second base B2 with the first array of alignment features against the second array of alignment features (Para [0067]).
Claim 16. Vallance discloses a photonic apparatus comprising:
a support (S);
an optoelectronic device (PIC chip 100) attached to a top surface of the support (S); and
a passive alignment coupling as in claim 1 (F1 and F2 as referenced in Fig. 1A and 1B), wherein the first body B1 is comprised in an optical connector 10 transmitting an optical signal (optical fiber array), and wherein the second body B2 is comprised in a foundation 12 providing an optical alignment reference (referencing around the PIC chip 100),
wherein the foundation 12 is positioned relative (adjacent) to the optoelectronic device (PIC chip 100) to communicate optical signals with the optical connect that is demountably coupled to the foundation 12 (Para [0054]).
Claim 17. Vallance discloses the invention of claim 16, and further discloses the optoelectronic device comprises a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) chip (PIC chip 100) comprising optical elements (mirrors M1 and M2 shown in Fig. 1A and 1B) as an optical interface to external of the PIC chip (100), and wherein the foundation 12 is in optical alignment with the optical elements of PIC chip (Para [0046]).
Claim 18. Vallance discloses the invention of claim 17, and further discloses the foundation 12 comprises an edge coupler (foundation 12 is positioned as an edge coupler to PIC chip 100 in Fig. 6A and 6B) supported to the support in optical alignment with respect to the PIC chip, wherein the optical elements (mirrors M2) of the PIC chip route light to an edge of the PIC chip, wherein the edge coupler comprises an array of mirrors (mirrors M2) in optical alignment with the optical elements of the PIC chip, and light is transmitted along a light path L3 between a mirror in the array of mirrors and a corresponding optical element in the PIC chip (Para [0065]).
Claim 19. Vallance discloses a method for providing a connection between an optical connector and an optoelectronic device, comprising:
providing a support (Fig. 7: S) having a top surface on which the optoelectronic device (Fig. 7: PIC chip 100) is attached; and
providing a passive alignment coupling as in claim 1 (F1 and F2 as referenced in Fig. 1A and 1B), wherein the first body B1 is comprised in the optical connector (10) transmitting an optical signal (fiber array FA), wherein the second body B2 is comprised in a foundation providing an optical alignment reference (referencing around the PIC chip 100),
positioning the foundation 12 relative (adjacent) to the optoelectronic device (PIC chip 100), wherein the foundation 12 defines an aligned position for the optoelectronic device to communicate optical signals with the optical connector (via mirrors M1 and M2) that is demountably coupled to the foundation 12 (Para [0054]).
Claim 20. Vallance discloses the method of claim 19, and further discloses position the foundation 12 relative (adjacent) to the optoelectronic device comprises:
providing a master optical connector form (I/O chip 101 in Fig. 8A) conforming to the alignment features of the first body B1 and optical inputs/outputs of the optical connector 10;
demountably coupling the master optical connector form (chip 101 is removable) to the foundation 12;
actively aligning the master optical connector form (Para [0070]) by positioning the foundation relative to the optoelectronic device (ASIC chip 102) to obtain an optimum optical signal between the optoelectronic device (102) and the master optical connector form;
securing the foundation with respect to the optoelectronic device after actively aligning;
demounting the master optical connector form 101 form the foundation 12,
whereby thereafter, the optical connector can be repeatedly connected and disconnected and reconnected to the foundation non-destructively without losing original optical alignment obtained by active aligning the master optical connector form and the optoelectronic device (Para [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallance.
Vallance discloses each of the first and second arrays of protrusion (b) includes a rectangular staggered array of MxN (Fig. 1A and 1B) discrete protrusions, wherein M is preferably in a range of 3 to 10 and N is in a range of 3 to 10 for a coupling interface between the first body and the second body having a planar area of about 3 mm x 4 mm to achieve a coupling accuracy of less than 1 micrometer between the first body (optical connector) and the second body (foundation) (Para [0058]). The examiner notes, the dimension disclosed by Vallance (i.e., 3mm x 4mm is a typographical error and should be 3mm2 x 4mm2 for a “planar area”.
However, Vallance does not teach explicitly teach the planar area of about 5 mm2 to 50 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the disclosure of Vallance 3mm2 x 4mm2 is a close range with the bottom value of the claimed range 5mm2 wherein one having ordinary skill in the art would optimize the planar area for a suitable surface area of the device. Furthermore, the critical aspect of the array of protrusions is for providing passive alignment, and Vallance discloses for the planar area of 3mm2 x 4mm2 the coupling accuracy of less than 1 micrometer which is the same critical function of the recited claim. One motivation for optimizing the planar area to meet the claimed range is to accommodate a device with a larger aligning surface area such as a larger PIC chip or a connector that supports wider fiber ribbon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the LG1 and LG2 citations in the Nonfinal rejection do not read on the first array of alignment features defined on a first body and a second array of alignment features defined on the second body.
The examiner cited F1 and F2 as the alignment features on separate bodies B1 and B2. The citation of LG1 and LG2 though does not illustrates clearly the first and second alignment features. The examiner intended to show the grid of F2 fits into the LG1 and LG2 of the protrusions of F1 which the text clearly explains (Paras [0040]-[0043], [0046], [0049], and [0057]). For this reason, the examiner finds applicant’s argument not persuasive and maintains the ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892:A. Yi teaches passive alignment with elastic averaging for averaging the alignment accuracy.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874