DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12149971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
For claim 1, ‘971 discloses the limitations in claim 1.
For claims 2-19, ‘971 discloses the limitations in claims 2-19, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US 2023/0388840) [R1] in view of Oteri (US 2019/0140730) [R2].
For claims 1 and 10, R1 discloses establishing a sensing session between an AP as a sensing initiator and a non-AP STA as a sensing responder (paragraphs 235-245, Fig 4); performing a first measurement, wherein the AP acts as a sensing transmitter and the STA acts as a sensing receiver (paragraphs 235-245, Fig 4). R1 does not explicitly state in response to determining that a preset condition is met, switching from the first measurement to a second measurement, wherein the STA acts as a sensing transmitter and the AP acts as a sensing receiver. R2 discloses in response to determining that a preset condition is met, switching from the first measurement to a second measurement, wherein the STA acts as a sensing transmitter and the AP acts as a sensing receiver (paragraphs 194-200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to in response to determining that a preset condition is met, switching from the first measurement to a second measurement, wherein the STA acts as a sensing transmitter and the AP acts as a sensing receiver taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to estimate channels (R2 paragraph 194), to determine the best path (R2 paragraphs 194, 174, Fig 13B), and design choice.
For claims 2 and 11, R1 discloses transmitting, by the AP, a NULL Data Packet to the STA, and receiving, by the AP, a frame including an indication of CSI variation from the STA, wherein the CSI variation is calculated at least based on the measurement of the NULL Data Packet (paragraphs 212, 513, 526).
For claims 3 and 12, R1 discloses determining a duration of the CSI variation being less than a preset threshold; and in response to determining that the duration is equal to or longer than a preset duration threshold, determining that a preset condition is met (paragraphs 236-240).
For claims 4 and 13, R1 discloses receiving, by the AP, a NULL Data Packet from the STA, and determining, by the AP, CSI variation at least based on the measurement of the NULL Data Packet (paragraphs 223 and 235).
For claims 5 and 14, R1 discloses in response to determining that the CSI variation is above a preset threshold, switching from the second measurement to the first measurement (paragraphs 241, 238).
For claims 6 and 15, R1 discloses transmitting, by the AP, a sensing measurement termination frame including an identifier of the first measurement to the STA (paragraphs 340), transmitting, by the AP, a sensing measurement setup request including an identifier of the second measurement to the STA, and receiving, by the AP, a response including the identifier of the second measurement from the STA (paragraphs 235-245, 340, Fig 4).
For claims 7 and 16, R1 discloses the second measurement has less NDP transmission frequency than the first measurement, or the second measurement has less NDP transmission power than the first measurement, or the second measurement has less NDP transmission bandwidth than the first measurement (paragraphs 235-245, 340, 348, 363, 366, Fig 4).
For claims 8 and 17, R1 discloses a sensing measurement instance of the first measurement includes at least one of a polling phase, an NDPA sounding phase, and a reporting phase, a sensing measurement instance of the second measurement includes at least one of a polling phase and a Trigger frame sounding phase (paragraphs 219-225, 235-245, Fig 4).
For claims 9 and 18, R1 discloses transmitting, by the AP, to the STA, a Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame including an identifier of the first measurement, an indication of allocation of sensing roles, an indication of enabling threshold-based reporting, and an indication of duration threshold (paragraphs 235-245, 404, 340,238, 392, Fig 4).
For claim 19, R1 discloses a processor (paragraphs 235-245, 316-317 Fig 16), and a memory having stored there on computer programs which (paragraphs 235-245, 316-317 Fig 16), when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (paragraphs 235-245, 316-317Fig 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: OMER et al (US 2022/0386272) discloses sensing configurations for transmissions.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 4/