DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on April 28, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claim 2 is cancelled in the amendment.
Claims 3-5 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1 and 3-16 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watfa et al. (US 2022/0272623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Watfa, in view of Huang-Fu et al. (US 2020/0404552 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta et al. (US 2024/0073772 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gupta.
With respect to claim 1, Watfa teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, by a User Equipment (UE) in a mobile communication network maintaining a multi-access (MA) PDU session (set of one or more URSP rules, where a URSP rule is composed of a precedence value of the URSP rule identifying the precedence of the URSP rule among all the existing URSP rules, para. 0039-0040; the UE assesses on the basis of e.g., USRP rules in the UE, para. 0174), a request from upper layers for requesting information of the PDU session via which to send a PDU of an application (when the upper layers request information of the PDU session via which to send a PDU of an application; the UE shall evaluate the URSP rules, except the default URSP rule, with a traffic descriptor matching the application information in increasing order of their precedence values, para. 0071; when the UE gets a new request to establish a PDU session, the UE verifies the attributes of the request e.g., application ID, etc, and checks for a match with a URSP rule; the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application, para. 0066);
selecting a URSP rule containing a traffic descriptor, from one or more URSP rules, wherein the traffic descriptor of the selected URSP rule matches the application information (for a given URSP rule, the UE checks for a match with the traffic descriptor, and if so (i.e. if there is a match), then further verify the route selection descriptor (RSD) of the URSP rule for which there was a match with the traffic descriptor; if there is a match with the RSD (except for some attributes), the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application; otherwise, the UE continues to verify other RSDs within the current URSP rule if any, para. 0066; also see para. 0071);
selecting and evaluating a route selection descriptor (RSD) from a list of RSDs of the selected URSP rule to be matched with the multi-access (MA) PDU session (for a given URSP rule, the UE checks for a match with the traffic descriptor, and if so (i.e. if there is a match), then further verify the route selection descriptor (RSD) of the URSP rule for which there was a match with the traffic descriptor; if there is a match with the RSD (except for some attributes), the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application, para. 0066; the selected route selection descriptor includes the multi-access preference, para. 0088), and
determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the PDU session matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule (the URSP handling layer requests the UE Non-access stratum, NAS, layer to establish a PDU session providing the following PDU session attributes based on the selected route selection descriptor, para. 0090; the UE implementation which PDU session to select if there exist multiple PDU sessions matching the same route selection descriptor of the lowest precedence value, para. 0080; the existing PDU session that is chosen, or selected, to be the PDU session which is associated with the new request may be any PDU session for which there is a match between the other attributes (or other application information) with the attributes (or RSD components) of an existing PDU session, para. 0172).
Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein a PDN connection is established via an evolved packet system (EPS) PDN procedure as user plane resource for the MA PDU session, and
However, Huang-Fu teaches
wherein a PDN connection is established via an evolved packet system (EPS) PDN procedure as user plane resource for the MA PDU session (when UE 801 moves from 5GS to EPS, for both idle mode and connected mode mobility, the MA PDU session is moved to a corresponding PDN connection in EPS; the MA PDU session over 3GPP access is converted to a PDN connection in EPS for 3GPP access, para. 0043) in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005), and
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang-Fu to the method of Watfa in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005).
Watfa in view of Huang-Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the UE maintains UE-requested PDN parameters for the EPS PDN procedure; and
determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the UE-requested PDN parameters of the PDN connection matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule.
However, Gupta teaches wherein the UE maintains UE-requested PDN parameters for the EPS PDN procedure (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082); and
determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the UE-requested PDN parameters of the PDN connection matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the method of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 3, Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta teaches The method of Claim [[2]]1 as described above,
Further, Gupta teaches wherein the UE-requested PDN parameters is requested by the UE during the PDN connectivity procedure (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the method of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 4, Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta teaches The method of Claim [[2]]1 as described above,
Further, Gupta teaches wherein the PDN connection has different PDN parameters that are mapped from the parameters sent from the network to the UE upon activation of EPS bearer context for the PDN connection (PCRF updates the URSP rules in the UE 101 in EPS using a similar mechanism as in 5GS by encapsulating the generic message container IEs in ePCO during PDN connection establishment 1210, the network 120 can send the Activate Default Bearer Context Request message 1216 as part of the Attach Accept message to UE 101, which includes the ePCO. If the UE 101 has sent a separate standalone first time PDN Connectivity Request message, then the network just responds with a standalone Activate Default Bearer Context Request message 1216 to update URSP rules by including them in ePCO, para. 0094-0095) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the method of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 5, Watfa teaches The method of Claim [[2]]1, wherein the UE provides information on the MA PDU session that matches the RSD to upper layer (the DNN, if one or more DNNs are included in the traffic descriptor, and the DNN provided by the application is the same as the DNN requested by the UE during the PDU session establishment; if the UE has only one S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI (and optionally the matching URSP rule and/or matching route selection descriptor does not provide an S-NSSAI); the UE shall provide information on the PDU session that matches the route selection descriptor of the lowest precedence value to the upper layers;”, para. 0182-0184).
With respect to claim 6, Watfa teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 of the MA PDU session if the network has sent ESM cause is #50 "PDN type IPv4 only allowed" to the UE in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (matching at least one of the route selection descriptors of the URSP rule except the preferred access type and the multi-access preference, if any, wherein a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, para. 0074).
With respect to claim 7, Watfa teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 of the MA PDU session if the network has sent ESM cause is #51 "PDN type IPv6 only allowed" to the UE in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #51 “PDU session type IPv6 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, para. 0074).
With respect to claim 8, Watfa teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 or IPv6 of the MA PDU session if the UE has requested PDN type IPv4v6 but the network only allocates IPv4 or IPv6 in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (the UE finds the traffic descriptor in a non-default URSP rule matching the application information, and; if there is one or more PDU sessions: matching at least one of the route selection descriptors of the URSP rule except the preferred access type and the multi-access preference, if any, wherein a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, and a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #51 “PDU session type IPv6 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message; and established without requesting any parameter for which the matching route selection descriptor of the URSP rule does not provide a route selection descriptor component, and the DNN, if one or more DNNs are included in the traffic descriptor, and the DNN provided by the application is the same as the DNN requested by the UE during the PDU session establishment, para. 0072-0078).
With respect to claim 9, Watfa teaches A User Equipment (UE) (a user equipment (UE), para. 0011), comprising:
a request handling circuit that receives a request from upper layers for requesting information of the PDU session via which to send a PDU of an application (when the upper layers request information of the PDU session via which to send a PDU of an application; the UE shall evaluate the URSP rules, except the default URSP rule, with a traffic descriptor matching the application information in increasing order of their precedence values, para. 0071; when the UE gets a new request to establish a PDU session, the UE verifies the attributes of the request e.g., application ID, etc, and checks for a match with a URSP rule; the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application, para. 0066), wherein the UE maintains a multi-access (MA) PDU session in a mobile communication network (set of one or more URSP rules, where a URSP rule is composed of a precedence value of the URSP rule identifying the precedence of the URSP rule among all the existing URSP rules, para. 0039-0040; the UE assesses on the basis of e.g., USRP rules in the UE, para. 0174);
an upper layer handling circuit that selects a URSP rule containing a traffic descriptor from one or more URSP rules, wherein a traffic descriptor of the selected URSP rule matches the application information (for a given URSP rule, the UE checks for a match with the traffic descriptor, and if so (i.e. if there is a match), then further verify the route selection descriptor (RSD) of the URSP rule for which there was a match with the traffic descriptor; if there is a match with the RSD (except for some attributes), the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application; otherwise, the UE continues to verify other RSDs within the current URSP rule if any, para. 0066; also see para. 0071), wherein the UE selects and evaluates a route selection descriptor (RSD) from a list of RSDs of the selected URSP rule to be matched with the multi-access (MA) PDU session (for a given URSP rule, the UE checks for a match with the traffic descriptor, and if so (i.e. if there is a match), then further verify the route selection descriptor (RSD) of the URSP rule for which there was a match with the traffic descriptor; if there is a match with the RSD (except for some attributes), the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application, para. 0066; the selected route selection descriptor includes the multi-access preference, para. 0088), wherein a PDN connection is established as user plane resources for the MA PDU session (for a given URSP rule, the UE checks for a match with the traffic descriptor, and if so (i.e. if there is a match), then further verify the route selection descriptor (RSD) of the URSP rule for which there was a match with the traffic descriptor; if there is a match with the RSD (except for some attributes), the UE can use the existing PDU session for the requesting application; otherwise, the UE continues to verify other RSDs within the current URSP rule if any, para. 0066; also see para. 0071); and
a control circuit that determines the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the PDU session matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule (the URSP handling layer requests the UE Non-access stratum, NAS, layer to establish a PDU session providing the following PDU session attributes based on the selected route selection descriptor, para. 0090; the UE implementation which PDU session to select if there exist multiple PDU sessions matching the same route selection descriptor of the lowest precedence value, para. 0080; the existing PDU session that is chosen, or selected, to be the PDU session which is associated with the new request may be any PDU session for which there is a match between the other attributes (or other application information) with the attributes (or RSD components) of an existing PDU session, para. 0172).
Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein a PDN connection is established via an evolved packet system (EPS) PDN procedure as user plane resource for the MA PDU session, and
However, Huang-Fu teaches
wherein a PDN connection is established via an evolved packet system (EPS) PDN procedure as user plane resource for the MA PDU session (when UE 801 moves from 5GS to EPS, for both idle mode and connected mode mobility, the MA PDU session is moved to a corresponding PDN connection in EPS; the MA PDU session over 3GPP access is converted to a PDN connection in EPS for 3GPP access, para. 0043) in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005), and
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang-Fu to the UE of Watfa in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005).
Watfa in view of Huang-Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the UE maintains UE-requested PDN parameters for the EPS PDN procedure; and
determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the UE-requested PDN parameters of the PDN connection matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule.
However, Gupta teaches wherein the UE maintains UE-requested PDN parameters for the EPS PDN procedure (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082); and
determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the UE-requested PDN parameters of the PDN connection matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the UE of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 10, Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta teaches The UE of Claim 9 as described above,
Further, Huang-Fu teaches wherein the PDN connection is established via a PDN connectivity procedure in an evolved packet system (EPS) (when UE 801 moves from 5GS to EPS, for both idle mode and connected mode mobility, the MA PDU session is moved to a corresponding PDN connection in EPS; the MA PDU session over 3GPP access is converted to a PDN connection in EPS for 3GPP access, para. 0043) in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang-Fu to the UE of Watfa in order to improve the user experience, optimize the traffic distribution across various accesses as taught by Huang-Fu (para. 0005).
With respect to claim 11, Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta teaches The UE of Claim 10 as described above,
Further, Gupta teaches wherein the UE-requested PDN parameters is requested by the UE during the PDN connectivity procedure (the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure, para. 0081; UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application, para. 0082) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the UE of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 12, Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta teaches The UE of Claim 10 as described above,
Further, Gupta teaches wherein the PDN connection has different PDN parameters that are mapped from the parameters sent from the network to the UE upon activation of EPS bearer context for the PDN connection (PCRF updates the URSP rules in the UE 101 in EPS using a similar mechanism as in 5GS by encapsulating the generic message container IEs in ePCO during PDN connection establishment 1210, the network 120 can send the Activate Default Bearer Context Request message 1216 as part of the Attach Accept message to UE 101, which includes the ePCO. If the UE 101 has sent a separate standalone first time PDN Connectivity Request message, then the network just responds with a standalone Activate Default Bearer Context Request message 1216 to update URSP rules by including them in ePCO, para. 0094-0095) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the UE of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
With respect to claim 13, Watfa teaches The UE of Claim 10, wherein the UE provides information on the MA PDU session that matches the RSD to upper layer (the DNN, if one or more DNNs are included in the traffic descriptor, and the DNN provided by the application is the same as the DNN requested by the UE during the PDU session establishment; if the UE has only one S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI (and optionally the matching URSP rule and/or matching route selection descriptor does not provide an S-NSSAI); the UE shall provide information on the PDU session that matches the route selection descriptor of the lowest precedence value to the upper layers;”, para. 0182-0184).
With respect to claim 14, Watfa teaches The UE of Claim 9, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 of the MA PDU session if the network has sent ESM cause is #50 "PDN type IPv4 only allowed" to the UE in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (matching at least one of the route selection descriptors of the URSP rule except the preferred access type and the multi-access preference, if any, wherein a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, para. 0074).
With respect to claim 15, Watfa teaches The UE of Claim 9, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 of the MA PDU session if the network has sent ESM cause is #51 "PDN type IPv6 only allowed" to the UE in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #51 “PDU session type IPv6 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, para. 0074).
With respect to claim 16, Watfa teaches The UE of Claim 9, wherein the RSD with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 or IPv6 of the MA PDU session if the UE has requested PDN type IPv4v6 but the network only allocates IPv4 or IPv6 in a PDN connectivity procedure to establish the PDN connection as a user-plane resource of the MA PDU session (the UE finds the traffic descriptor in a non-default URSP rule matching the application information, and; if there is one or more PDU sessions: matching at least one of the route selection descriptors of the URSP rule except the preferred access type and the multi-access preference, if any, wherein a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv4 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message, and a route selection descriptor with PDU session type IPv4v6 matches also with PDU session type IPv6 if the network has sent 5GSM cause value #51 “PDU session type IPv6 only allowed” in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message; and established without requesting any parameter for which the matching route selection descriptor of the URSP rule does not provide a route selection descriptor component, and the DNN, if one or more DNNs are included in the traffic descriptor, and the DNN provided by the application is the same as the DNN requested by the UE during the PDU session establishment, para. 0072-0078).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s main argument is that “The rejection fails because even after combining Watfa with Huang-Fu and Gupta, the cited art does not teach or suggest using mapped parameters of UE-requested PDN parameters from an EPS PDN procedure to determine that an RSD matches an existing MA PDU session, as claim 1 expressly requires.” (Argument 1, REMARKS, page 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In response to Applicant’s Argument 1 that “The rejection fails because even after combining Watfa with Huang-Fu and Gupta, the cited art does not teach or suggest using mapped parameters of UE-requested PDN parameters from an EPS PDN procedure to determine that an RSD matches an existing MA PDU session, as claim 1 expressly requires.” it is noted that Watfa in view of Huang-Fu does not explicitly teach determining the RSD of the selected URSP rule matches with the MA PDU session when mapped parameters of the UE-requested PDN parameters of the PDN connection matches with the RSD of the selected URSP rule.
However, Gupta teaches the UE 101 requires an update of its 5G URSP rules it can operate to perform a re-synchronization via registration procedure (para. 0081); UE 101 can selectively update rules that are only applicable in the EPS of the 4GC 140; the parameters of the URSP rules from the 5G network in the EPS of the 4G network that are associated with the EPS of the 4G network for establishing the PDN connection could be provisioned, the parameters of the URSP rules that are associated with the EPS of the 4GC 140 network can be based on one or more of: an application associated with the PDN connection, a non-seamless non-3GPP offload indication, a DNN to derive an APN, an access type preference, a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, location information, or traffic category parameters for specific application (para. 0082) in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
Therefore, based on Watfa in view of Huang-Fu, and further in view of Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gupta to the method of Watfa in view of Huang-Fu in order to ensure security to resources, privacy and network compliance as taught by Gupta (para. 0051).
For the above reasons, Examiner believed that rejection of the last Office action was proper and within their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. See MPEP 2111 [R-1] Interpretation of Claims-Broadest Reasonable Interpretation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
May 30, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447