DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restriction
This is the first office action in response to the Response to Election/Restriction received on 08/19/2025. Applicant’s representative elected to continue prosecution of the claims corresponding to Species I, corresponding to Claims 1-6, 11-16. Applicant’s representative did not provide rebuttal from the Requirement for Restriction therefor the election is considered without traverse.
Claims 1-6, and 11-16 are examined
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 11-16: Claims 11-16 recites the limitation “diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall […] diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear to what the diameters are larger. To further advance prosecution the above limitation is interpreted as “diameter increases toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall […] diameter increases toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsuki (US 2011/0039154).
Regarding Claim 1: Komatsuki discloses a method (the disclosure of the apparatus) for producing a power storage device (1000; Fig. 1) that comprises an electrode body (220; Fig. 1), an electrolyte ([055]), and a metal case (200 a,b; Fig. 1) accommodating the electrode body and the electrolyte, the metal case including: a circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154) provided in a side wall (200b; Fig. 2) constituting the metal case, the circular recessed portion being recessed toward an inside (see annotated figure ‘154) in a thickness direction (see annotated figure ‘154) of the side wall, the circular recessed portion being formed with a liquid inlet port (201; Fig. 3) in an annular bottom (see annotated figure ‘154) that forms a bottom surface (see annotated figure ‘154) of the circular recessed portion; a recess surrounding portion (see annotated figure ‘154) that surrounds the circular recessed portion; and a cap part (210; Fig. 4) welded to the recess surrounding portion to hermetically seal the liquid inlet port, wherein the method comprises: bringing an annular cap outer circumferential edge portion (see annotated figure ‘154) of an unwelded cap (Fig. 4) which will finally become the cap part, the cap outer circumferential edge portion being set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154), into contact with an inner peripheral surface (see annotated figure ‘154) of the circular recessed portion of the metal case over an entire circumference (see annotated figure ‘154); and welding the cap outer circumferential edge portion to the recess surrounding portion over an entire circumference (see annotated figure ‘154) by a laser beam ([0076]), while holding the cap outer circumferential edge portion in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion over the entire circumference (see Fig. 4 how the cap is inserted and hold before welding).
Regarding Claim 2: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses after bringing the cap outer circumferential edge portion into contact with the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion (see Fig. 4 how the cap is pressed down) but before welding the cap outer circumferential edge portion to the recess surrounding portion, temporarily fixing the cap outer circumferential edge portion to the circular recessed portion while holding the cap outer circumferential edge portion in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion over the entire circumference (see Fig. 4 how the cap is placed down, the radiall part of the cap pressing against the side wall and thus fixed before welding).
Regarding Claim 3: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the unwelded cap is configured such that the cap outer circumferential edge portion is radially expanded by a radially-expanding operation (see Fig. 4 wherein the cap is pressed down and thus the radial portion of the cap extend radially), and bringing the cap outer circumferential edge portion into contact with the inner peripheral (see Fig. 8) surface of the circular recessed portion includes: placing the unwelded cap so that at least the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion of the metal case (see Fig. 8); and radially expanding the cap outer circumferential edge portion by the radially expanding operation to bring the cap outer circumferential edge portion into contact with the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion over the entire circumference (see Figs. 5 and 8 and annotated figure ‘154).
Regarding Claim 4: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 2, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the unwelded cap is configured such that the cap outer circumferential edge portion is radially expanded by a radially-expanding operation (see Fig. 4 wherein the cap is pressed down and thus the radial portion of the cap extend radially), and bringing the cap outer circumferential edge portion into contact with the inner peripheral (see Fig. 8) surface of the circular recessed portion includes: placing the unwelded cap so that at least the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion of the metal case (see Fig. 8); and radially expanding the cap outer circumferential edge portion by the radially expanding operation to bring the cap outer circumferential edge portion into contact with the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion over the entire circumference (see Figs. 5 and 8 and annotated figure ‘154).
Regarding Claim 5: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the unwelded cap is made of a metal plate (see annotated figure ‘154) and has a two-dimensional bell curved outer shape (see annotated figure ‘154) that is rotationally symmetric about a cap axis (see annotated figure ‘154) the unwelded cap includes: a cap top portion (see annotated figure ‘154); and the cap outer circumferential edge portion located on an outside relative to the cap top portion in a cap radial direction (see annotated figure ‘154), and the radially-expanding operation is performed by: pressing the cap top portion inward (Fig. 4) in a cap axis direction (see arrow in Fig. 4) from the cap top portion toward the cap outer circumferential edge portion (see arrow in Fig. 4); and radially expanding the cap outer circumferential edge portion outward in the cap radial direction (see arrow in Fig. 4 that presses down on the cap and thus extends radially the cap).
Regarding Claim 6: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 4, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the unwelded cap is made of a metal plate (see annotated figure ‘154) and has a two-dimensional bell curved outer shape (see annotated figure ‘154) that is rotationally symmetric about a cap axis (see annotated figure ‘154) the unwelded cap includes: a cap top portion (see annotated figure ‘154); and the cap outer circumferential edge portion located on an outside relative to the cap top portion in a cap radial direction (see annotated figure ‘154), and the radially-expanding operation is performed by: pressing the cap top portion inward (Fig. 4) in a cap axis direction (see arrow in Fig. 4) from the cap top portion toward the cap outer circumferential edge portion (see arrow in Fig. 4); and radially expanding the cap outer circumferential edge portion outward in the cap radial direction (see arrow in Fig. 4 that presses down on the cap and thus extends radially the cap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsuki (US 2011/0039154) in view of Yoon (US 2006/0121336)
Regarding Claim 11: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Regarding Claim 12: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 2, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Regarding Claim 13: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Regarding Claim 14: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 4, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Regarding Claim 15: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 5, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Regarding Claim 16: Komatsuki discloses all the limitations of Claim 6, as stated above, and further discloses the unwelded cap includes a cap outer peripheral end face (see annotated figure ‘154) having a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall when the cap outer circumferential edge portion of the unwelded cap is set in the circular recessed portion (see annotated figure ‘154).
Komatsuki is silent regarding wherein the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall.
However, Yoon teaches a battery (100; Fig. 1) having a cap (400; Fig. 1) inserted in an inner peripheral surface (surface 470; Fig. 1) of the circular recessed portion of a case (300; Fig. 1) has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in a thickness direction of a side wall (330; Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1 wherein 470 is recessed in the radial direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of circular recessed portion of Komatsuki, to have the inner peripheral surface of the circular recessed portion of the metal case has a shape whose diameter is larger toward the inside in the thickness direction of the side wall, as taught by Yoon. Such a modification would enable to further affixed the cap.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited. Notably Byun (US 2017/0062779) teaches a power source with a cap inserted in a recess circular portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761