DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed July 14, 2026, with respect to claim rejections under 112 have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are persuasive. The claim rejections under 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections based on Yonezawa (and/or Weber) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezawa US Patent Application Publication 2022/0082835, of record, in view of Bar-Zeev et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0113092.
In regards to claim 1 Yonezawa discloses an image display device (title e.g. figures 1-2 image display apparatus 100), comprising: an image light source (e.g. light source 10) disposed to project a display image (e.g. paragraph [0040] “light irradiated by the light source 10” see figure 2); a first lens set (e.g. condenser 20), receiving and collimates the display image (e.g. see figure 2); a diffractive optical element (e.g. SLM 30 paragraph [0041] “SLM 30 is a device that displays thereon an interference pattern (a diffraction pattern)”), receiving the collimated display image (e.g. see figure 2), and diffracting respective portions of the collimated display image to generate a plurality of image sub-beams (e.g. diffracted lights L1, L2 & L3); a second lens set (e.g. lens-array group 50), receiving the plurality of image sub-beams corresponding to the respective portions of the collimated display image (e.g. see figure 2), wherein the second lens set provides a focus length (axiomatic e.g. see figure 2), and focuses the plurality of image sub- beams according to the focus length to generate a plurality of zoomed image sub-beams corresponding to the respective portions of the collimated display image (axiomatic e.g. see figure 2); and (e.g. hologram lens 60), receiving the plurality of zoomed image sub-beams (e.g. see figure 2), reflecting the plurality of zoomed image sub-beams to a target plane (e.g. see figure 1), and causing the plurality of zoomed image sub-beams to form a plurality of image imaging points on the target plane (e.g. see figure 2); wherein the second lens set (e.g. 50) comprises: a first lens (e.g. 50b); and a second lens (e.g. 50c), arranged parallel to the first lens (e.g. see figure 2), wherein a spacing distance is between a center point of the second lens and a center point of the first lens (e.g. see figure 2); wherein in response to the spacing distance being a first distance, the second lens set provides a first focus length, and in response to the spacing distance being a second distance, the second lens set provides a second focus length, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance, and the first focus length is less than the second focus length (since 50b and 50c are both positive lenses, see paragraphs [0044 & 0051] note both 50b & 50c are convex lenses, i.e. they are both positive lenses – given the formula for determining the combined focal length (F) of two lenses separated by a distance (d) is
1
F
=
1
f
1
+
1
f
2
-
d
f
1
f
2
. Since the focal length of the first and second lenses (f1 & f2) are constant and positive as d increases F increases, as discussed above).
Yonezawa does not disclose the spacing distance (between the first and second lenses) is adjustable.
Bar-Zeev teaches a similar image display device (title e.g. see figure 2A-2B & 3C) including an image display source (e.g. microdisplay 120) and a lens set comprising a first lens (e.g. lens 122b) and a second lens (e.g. lens 122a) a distance therebetween (e.g. see figure 3C); further teaches the spacing distance is adjustable (inter alia paragraph [0082] notes “at least one lens in the lens system 122 may be changed instead or with changes in the displacement along the optical path” & paragraph [0153] “displacing at least one lens of the assembly”) for the purpose of changing a focal region (inter alia paragraph [0153]). Further, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954), see MPEP 2144.04.V. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the laser light source in the image display device as disclosed by Yonezawa to have the spacing distance between the first and second lenses be adjustable as taught by Bar-Zeev for the purpose of changing a focal region, and since the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev discloses the image display device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yonezawa further discloses wherein both of the first lens (e.g. 50b) and the second lens (e.g. 50c) are positive lenses (paragraphs [0044 & 0051] note both 50b & 50c are convex lenses, which are positive).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev discloses the image display device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yonezawa further discloses wherein the plurality of image imaging points are distributed on the target plane in an array (e.g. see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev discloses the image display device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yonezawa further discloses wherein an angle between a normal vector of the coupler (e.g. 60) and a forward direction of the zoomed image sub-beam (e.g. light from 50) is not at 0 degree (e.g. see figure 1, particularly incidence of light from 50 reflected to the eye would not be along the normal axis of 60).
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev discloses the image display device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yonezawa further discloses wherein center points of the first lens set (e.g. 20), the diffractive optical element (e.g. 30), and the second lens set (e.g. 50) are arranged on an optical axis of the plurality of image light beams (e.g. see figure 2 showing 20, 30 & 50 centered on an optical axis).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezawa US Patent Application Publication 2022/0082835, of record, in view of Bar-Zeev et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0113092 and in further view of Weber et al. US Patent 11,237,413, of record.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev discloses the image display device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yonezawa further discloses, wherein the image light source (e.g. 10) is a laser light source (paragraph [0039] “10 is typically a coherent light source such as a laser”). While Yonezawa suggests a scanning laser light source in paragraph [0002], Yonezawa and Barr-Zeev do not disclose or teach the laser light source is scanning laser light source. Weber teaches a similar image display device (title e.g. figure 3 head-mounted display/HMD 120) including a light source providing image light (e.g. display 312); and further teaches the display may be laser scanned (Weber column 7 lines 17-19) for the purpose of having a large field of view (Yonezawa paragraph [0002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the laser light source in the image display device as disclosed by the combination of Yonezawa as modified by Bar-Zeev to be a scanning laser light source as taught by Weber for the purpose of having a large field of view.
Conclusion
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 27, 2026